HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart City Hostel by Safestay Edinburgh Hostel

50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 94%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.43USD

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.
Due to our kitchen closure for Christmas, our cooked breakfast will not be offered for the 24th- 26th of December 2014, apologies for the inconvenience.

Safestay has a maximum stay policy of 1 month. You are welcome to come back to Safestay, but with a minimum 1 months rest period. Or why don’t you take advantage and visit one of our other locations in London, York or Edinburgh.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 94%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Showing 51-54 of 54 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean & central

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location and large room.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean rooms & bathrooms, the staff was really friendly & helpful, a really good place to stay just in the middle of the city centre!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The rooms were pretty big

Disliked: It was clean, but they didn't clean the inside of the ovens... Every time someone used the oven I was afraid the fire alarm got offs amuse of the smoke....

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Room was spotless!! Great shower and comfy bed :-)

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's such a convenient location, close to the Royal Mile and a lot of attractions! There's a pub downstairs with a really relaxed atmosphere. The room was extremely clean and the staff were really friendly too.

Disliked: It was a little bit difficult to reach my room as I had a lot of luggage, it was quite a journey through the corridors and many doors, and the staff did not tell me there would have been a shortcut actually.. The room was also next to the pub's terrace, so it was quite difficult to sleep. Maybe they could ask the people to stay inside when it's late? Otherwise the hostel was a really comfortable experience!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location couldn't be better. it's on the royal mile, surrounded by shops, restaurants and bars. it's really clean. tons of bathrooms, AND there are toilets and showers in the room. Cabinets for your things in the room, but they don't lock, which was fine for us because there was only one other couple in the room. Restaurant downstairs is good. I don't remember them going out of there way to help us, but no one was rude, either. price is good for the quality of the hostel.

Disliked: Not a ton of character. If you are looking for a place to meet other travelllers there isn't really a space for that here. the bar is very large and spaced out and it was more "group" than smaller hostel bars where you feel comfortable striking up conversation.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly stuff, good bar downstairs, and perfect location.

Disliked: Definetely too much noise if your room is in a close proximity to the bar. Oh, and the fire alarm went off twice without any reason.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: - Perfect location. Not a far walk from Waverley station, and on a side street right in the centre of the Royal Mile. - Clean rooms with a washroom and shower room for each dorm (6 bed I stayed in anyway) - Great bar! Beer and food were great and reasonably priced for Edinburgh

Disliked: - They say you get 'slow' wifi in the rooms and you can upgrade and pay for 'fast' wifi. I got zero wifi in the room, which was annoying.- There was a huge line out of the building just to check in! Not impressed after a day of travelling that I had to wait 45 minutes outside with my backpack waiting to get into my room. 2 people working need to work faster or hire someone else to work at the desk. The line should NEVER be that long... - Really huge place, anyone can walk in an out. As there is an obvious second entrance from the bar to the hostel, non-hostel stayers could easily access all floors and luggage room

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the Fringe events that were going on, and the staff was definitely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that you couldn't take a shower without getting the toilet seat wet. A curtain between the two at the very least would be nice. Also, I know that it was Fringe and probably the most expensive time to go, but I felt like I was paying far too much for what I was actually getting.

Check Availability