We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

86.9% Overall Rating

1652 out of 1744 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Valentina De Palo thinks…

"Ottima la posizione centrale rispetto alla città e l'atmosfera presente in ostello e gli spazi. Anche se la stanza dove abbiamo soggiornato era un po' piccola (era da 4) era comunque pulita e ben…"

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department. Due to our kitchen closure for Christmas, our cooked breakfast will not be offered for the 24th- 26th of December 2014, apologies for the inconvenience.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
34.89 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
High Street Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 89.9% 1499 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 70.6% 263 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
18.18 USD

Hostel 89.4% 377 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
73.03 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
21.65 USD

Apartment 90.0% 4 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
55.18 USD

Hostel 87.1% 284 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

1652 out of 1744 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 1247 of 1386 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ben Robbins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: How close it was to the royal mile, the bar was nice as well with a cheap breakfast.

Disliked: They didn't have hash browns for two days. The carpet in the room didn't look very clean and there wasn't a toilet brush.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, with a good bar and small outdoor seating area. Really good location. Most staff friendly and helpful. 24 hour check in useful.

Disliked: Very big, feels like a chain hotel but with dorms, so there isn't the friendly atmosphere you often get in hostels. No free wifi or free computer access. Breakfast also wasn't included. I know this is normal in a lot of hostels, I had just hoped either one would be included as it wasn't particularly cheap. I arrived late at night and the guy on reception didn't seem to have much of an idea of how to check me in on the computer. It took ages and he then sent me up 4 floors to my room without any bedding, so I had to come down and get it. Bit annoying, but maybe he was just tired..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near royal mile. Perfect location!! recommended

Disliked: very much noise from the hostels bar in the basement! Impossible to sleep. Even if the window was closed! If you don't want to party all night, you should stay at an other hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Brook

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the bar is fantastic and the location is so central Great hostel.

Disliked: The rooms were quite hot and the windows didn't open very wide but no major complaints. :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victoria Seddon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Size of room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taflan Kandemir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Taflan would recommend this property

Liked: Unbelievable atmosphere, great club/restoran (rich menu, cheap price, delicous food) nicely located, clean building...

Disliked: Staff could have smiled more we think. Everything was great except them, if they can be more helpfull this hostel could be great.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

YINRU HUANG

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: fully cooked English breakfast

Disliked: cold staff, broken lift, sticky floor at the bar, tiny shower room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well sound proofed rooms, nobody complained about us partying till 5am!

Disliked: N/A!!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, comfortable beds

Disliked: the toilet had no soap and we stayed two times in the hostel and both times there wasn't any soap. The carpet was NOT clean, shower and toilet had weren't really clean...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean & comfortable. Great facilities in the hostel itself. In a prime location for tourist attractions and nightlife.

Disliked: The only issues experienced were that it took a while to get checked in and the bar staff were noisy when tidying the outside seating area, which was below the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda McEwen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked Smart City Hostels. The room was good, the bar was great - it had a good atmosphere, and I loved the music. However, I would recommend trying to get a room above the first floor. We were right near the bar on the first floor and it was loud to the point where it kept you awake. However, we were in bed early (early risers), and the noise died down usually after 1am. The room was really good for a hostel, and so was the bathroom. The room were also secure, and I liked the location.

Disliked: Hm, maybe just one of the reception staff could have been more friendly. But maybe she was having a bad day. Also, we used the lockers to store our luggage since we had a late train to catch. The machine overcharged us, we payed for 2 hours, and came to collect them 20 minutes early. However, the time on the machine had mysteriously changed to become 40 minutes fast, forcing us to add more coins for 'overstaying' our allocated time. It was a hassle to try and get our money back from reception, especially when we had a train to catch. This was the only hiccup we encountered though, I would definitely stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, clean and large rooms, great staff, great food, great lounge/bar area!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Dooley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2012 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, bar downstairs, and really feels more like a budget hotel than a hostel.

Disliked: One rude bar worker really gave us a negative impression.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and central, comfortable bed.

Disliked: Noisy - Sunday night, room right next to bar in courtyard... Broken lock on window - had to shut firmly to deter casual snoopers. Hot, not well ventilated.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nancy Ward

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 June 2012 Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: We've stayed at this hostel before and the location is great.

Disliked: I booked what I thought was a twin room. Our room had two bunkbeds and that made the space seem cramped. Also, since we are older, the location of our room wasn't great. Our room was above the street entrance into Bar50, and it was noisy all night. Last time our room was located in a place where we didn't have the loud street noise.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Thomas Ponsonby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2012

Liked: Good location near the golden mile. The bar is pretty good and has free wifi.

Disliked: We had a lot of issues here, the staff and bookin system are clearly disorganized and they don't even care enough to try to help. The rooms were not cleaned very well, in my 10 bed dorm leftover foods including cheese were not cleaned up in the 3 days I was away in the highlands. The place has many groups of school children and so the atmosphere is not very good for backpackers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, spacious rooms

Disliked: Nothing I didn't like

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lewis Chang

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: Gd to stay and near station

Disliked: Gd

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sweet bar downstairs, good location, nice staff, rooms were really nice some of the best i've seen

Disliked: little bit expensive and no free breakfasts, difficult for travellers on a tight budget

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Riethmuller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff

Disliked: The floor creaked really badly so there was no way to sleep if anyone was moving around the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, room was clean, good value breakfast.

Disliked: Really loud every night - didn't get a decent night's sleep the whole time I was there. Were in the old part of the hostel which had very squeaky floorboards and our window looked over the bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diane Russell

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2012 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: Smart City Hostel has been a great place to stay! The dorms have toilets and showers in them, so it is not only convenient, but not at all awkward. The beds were comfortable enough, though I have to admit that I only spent a little time in mine. The rooms are lovely and clean and each bed has a built-in reading lamp, which is perfect. Bar 50 downstairs is a nice, fun atmosphere as well.

Disliked: There was a large group of high school kids running amok in the hostel. It is no reflection on Smart City Hostels itself, but was pretty irritating. The shower rooms in the dorms have enough space to wash easily, but there's just one small hook on the inside of the door and nothing to protect it from splashing water. Other than that, everything really was quite nice for me!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really fantastic in general. The bar downstairs was great and the food was excellent. Great student deals in there too. The reseption staff where really helpful and you felt welcome!

Disliked: It was all good really!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Shower was hot and beds were clean.

Disliked: Very creaky flooring and we could hear everyone walk by our room, even if they weren't talking at the top of their lungs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

jane peach

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 jane would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient to all forms of travel

Disliked: No TV in the room