We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

87.0% Overall Rating

1668 out of 1760 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2015)

Mae Samuels thinks…

"Very modern place, clean and new rooms with plenty of space. Very friendly and helpful staff!"

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 7.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department. Due to our kitchen closure for Christmas, our cooked breakfast will not be offered for the 24th- 26th of December 2014, apologies for the inconvenience.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
37.09 USD

Hostel 84.6% 235 reviews
High Street Hostel
17.00 USD

Hostel 84.3% 1539 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
13.91 USD

Hostel 66.5% 277 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
20.09 USD

Hostel 91.5% 387 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
69.55 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
30.91 USD

Apartment 88.6% 5 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
15.46 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
27.82 USD

Hostel 84.8% 293 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

1668 out of 1760 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
80.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1259 of 1401 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 50 | 51   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I went for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and it was soooo centrally located and convenientlysituated. Didn't use many of the facilities but was great to be able to store luggage.

Disliked: Needed to use earplugs to get to sleep but other than that was fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nearby the old town center. Dorms are clean and roomy (compared to majorrity of others youth hostels anyway).

Disliked: No keys on lockers. Breakfast staff was unfriendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Szu-Yun Lin

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 August 2012 Szu-Yun would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Szu-Yun left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2012

Liked: The location is excellent. Having the bar on site has the potential to be a real asset, but is poorly executed.

Disliked: The way wifi is handled is extremely disappointing. Also, the bar offers discounts to students but fails to give any discounts to the people actually staying there. It leaves you feeling generally exploited and just like a source of money to be squeezed. The number of local kids who seemed to be 16-18 drove out most of the backpackers. The bar would also benefit from long benches instead of small tables to facilitate socializing. Over all it's not a terrible hostel. There are just far better ones around that are more concerned with doing right by their customers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub

Disliked: Nothing, hard to find fault with the place

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar, nice atmosphere. The location was also really great.

Disliked: Food in the bar was average at best and i waited for an hour for a bowl of soup. The staff was friendly but not very active. I forgot a shirt in the bar but i never found it regardless of various enquiries. I had booked 2 person room but we were given a 4 person room with bunk beds (not so romantic).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Kelman

Alone

Events / festivals

20 August 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and good rooms.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kylie Davey

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2012 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean, the beds resonably comfortable and lockers in the room great sized and lockable.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the Fringe Festival. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm with 3 friends - one of the better rooms we've stayed in. Comfy beds, lots of power sockets, big lockers. Have stayed before and would stay again

Disliked: Little bit noisy at night, but fine if you bring earplugs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicholas Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cost, for accommodation plus extras

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was good with good food. Two bathrooms in a 10 bed dorm room was brilliant!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a reasonably spacious dorm room with large lockers (bring your own lock). Eight bed dorms have 2 showers and 2 toilets which is great. Very central location; ideal for the festival. Everything looked reasonably clean and furniture was in good condition. Bed was comfortable. Good security.

Disliked: Internet/wifi isn't free; not much character (fine for us as we weren't looking to meet people); very early checkout (10am, but again wasn't a big problem for us); and we couldn't make tea in the morning as there were no mugs in the kitchen (this was quite annoying - we're English!). All in all, not one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in, but certainly not a bad option, especially for a short stay. We would stay here again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ben Robbins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: How close it was to the royal mile, the bar was nice as well with a cheap breakfast.

Disliked: They didn't have hash browns for two days. The carpet in the room didn't look very clean and there wasn't a toilet brush.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, with a good bar and small outdoor seating area. Really good location. Most staff friendly and helpful. 24 hour check in useful.

Disliked: Very big, feels like a chain hotel but with dorms, so there isn't the friendly atmosphere you often get in hostels. No free wifi or free computer access. Breakfast also wasn't included. I know this is normal in a lot of hostels, I had just hoped either one would be included as it wasn't particularly cheap. I arrived late at night and the guy on reception didn't seem to have much of an idea of how to check me in on the computer. It took ages and he then sent me up 4 floors to my room without any bedding, so I had to come down and get it. Bit annoying, but maybe he was just tired..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near royal mile. Perfect location!! recommended

Disliked: very much noise from the hostels bar in the basement! Impossible to sleep. Even if the window was closed! If you don't want to party all night, you should stay at an other hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Brook

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the bar is fantastic and the location is so central Great hostel.

Disliked: The rooms were quite hot and the windows didn't open very wide but no major complaints. :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victoria Seddon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Size of room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taflan Kandemir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Taflan would recommend this property

Liked: Unbelievable atmosphere, great club/restoran (rich menu, cheap price, delicous food) nicely located, clean building...

Disliked: Staff could have smiled more we think. Everything was great except them, if they can be more helpfull this hostel could be great.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

YINRU HUANG

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: fully cooked English breakfast

Disliked: cold staff, broken lift, sticky floor at the bar, tiny shower room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well sound proofed rooms, nobody complained about us partying till 5am!

Disliked: N/A!!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, comfortable beds

Disliked: the toilet had no soap and we stayed two times in the hostel and both times there wasn't any soap. The carpet was NOT clean, shower and toilet had weren't really clean...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean & comfortable. Great facilities in the hostel itself. In a prime location for tourist attractions and nightlife.

Disliked: The only issues experienced were that it took a while to get checked in and the bar staff were noisy when tidying the outside seating area, which was below the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda McEwen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked Smart City Hostels. The room was good, the bar was great - it had a good atmosphere, and I loved the music. However, I would recommend trying to get a room above the first floor. We were right near the bar on the first floor and it was loud to the point where it kept you awake. However, we were in bed early (early risers), and the noise died down usually after 1am. The room was really good for a hostel, and so was the bathroom. The room were also secure, and I liked the location.

Disliked: Hm, maybe just one of the reception staff could have been more friendly. But maybe she was having a bad day. Also, we used the lockers to store our luggage since we had a late train to catch. The machine overcharged us, we payed for 2 hours, and came to collect them 20 minutes early. However, the time on the machine had mysteriously changed to become 40 minutes fast, forcing us to add more coins for 'overstaying' our allocated time. It was a hassle to try and get our money back from reception, especially when we had a train to catch. This was the only hiccup we encountered though, I would definitely stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, clean and large rooms, great staff, great food, great lounge/bar area!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.