HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

85.1% Overall Rating

1651 out of 1743 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Valentina De Palo thinks…

"Ottima la posizione centrale rispetto alla città e l'atmosfera presente in ostello e gli spazi. Anche se la stanza dove abbiamo soggiornato era un po' piccola (era da 4) era comunque pulita e ben…"

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
34.89 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
High Street Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1496 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 70.6% 263 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
18.18 USD

Hostel 90.2% 375 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
75.82 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
73.03 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
21.65 USD

Apartment 90.0% 4 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

1651 out of 1743 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 1246 of 1385 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, comfortable beds (and I was in a 8-person dorm), clean and functioning showers, friendly staff, affordable

Disliked: The food at downstairs could have been a bit more tasty (sadly, the vegetable fajitas gave me bad stomach cramps).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Strategic location. Great friendly staff.

Disliked: No free wifi in the room. Although there is free wifi in the bar downstairs, it is a hassle to go downstairs all the time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, only minutes to the castle, and other places of interest Had booked a triple but placed into a room with 5 beds so plenty of room. Staff very helpful. Really good laundry facilities and nice little bar.

Disliked: Not so much a dislike, the hostel is really tired, and in need of a major refurbishment. After staying in hostels thoughtful Europe, Where they have been well equipped, clean, with modern facilities we felt this hostel would have been much better. Probably the worst aspect are the carpets in the rooms, these should be removed and replaced with hard flooring, or the floorboards underneath polished. As its a large hostel maybe other rooms have already been upgraded. Free wifi in the rooms would also be good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kala O'Donnell

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 September 2012 kala would recommend this property

Liked: staff v helpful. Convenient & good value for money

Disliked: needs just a little fresh smell & more ventilation

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malgorzata Hekking

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 August 2012 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. It's clean, comfortable and overall a great deal.

Disliked: Dorm bathrooms provide little privacy (sounds). And I did not like the fact that they charge for wi-fi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elieth Miranda

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 August 2012 Elieth would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast and you have problems the personnel get your solutions

Disliked: sometimes you look the bath not clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, it is right beside the Royal Mile which was perfect since you can reach everything on foot really quickly (it also means it can be quite loud, but that didn't bother me that much). I also appreciated the fact that there are big lockers in the rooms to store your stuff safely (bring your own small lock) and that you can leave your luggage in a locker room before checking in/after checking out. It is clean compared to other hostels and the breakfast was good, too.

Disliked: I had to wait quite some time to check in because the queue was so long (probably because I was there in August during the Fringe Festival). Since I was in a bit of a hurry that meant a certain level of stress. Also, the hostel is like a maze and I found it quite hard to find my way around. Apart from that everything was fine and I might stay there again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, it is right beside the Royal Mile which was perfect since you can reach everything on foot really quickly (it also means it can be quite loud, but that didn't bother me that much). I also appreciated the fact that there are big lockers in the rooms to store your stuff safely (bring your own small lock) and that you can leave your luggage in a locker room before checking in/after checking out. It is clean compared to other hostels and the breakfast was good, too.

Disliked: I had to wait quite some time to check in because the queue was so long (probably because I was there in August during the Fringe Festival). Since I was in a bit of a hurry that meant a certain level of stress. Also, the hostel is like a maze and I found it quite hard to find my way around. Apart from that everything was fine and I might stay there again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ailsa Hardman

Alone

Events / festivals

28 August 2012 Ailsa would recommend this property

Liked: clean, modern. Free towel, the bar

Disliked: less character than some hostels I've stayed in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, nice bar downstairs to meet people

Disliked: Rooms can get quite warm, as the window only opens a little bit. Not a major issue though

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness

Disliked: No free WiFi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I went for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and it was soooo centrally located and convenientlysituated. Didn't use many of the facilities but was great to be able to store luggage.

Disliked: Needed to use earplugs to get to sleep but other than that was fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nearby the old town center. Dorms are clean and roomy (compared to majorrity of others youth hostels anyway).

Disliked: No keys on lockers. Breakfast staff was unfriendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Szu-Yun Lin

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 August 2012 Szu-Yun would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Szu-Yun left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2012

Liked: The location is excellent. Having the bar on site has the potential to be a real asset, but is poorly executed.

Disliked: The way wifi is handled is extremely disappointing. Also, the bar offers discounts to students but fails to give any discounts to the people actually staying there. It leaves you feeling generally exploited and just like a source of money to be squeezed. The number of local kids who seemed to be 16-18 drove out most of the backpackers. The bar would also benefit from long benches instead of small tables to facilitate socializing. Over all it's not a terrible hostel. There are just far better ones around that are more concerned with doing right by their customers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub

Disliked: Nothing, hard to find fault with the place

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar, nice atmosphere. The location was also really great.

Disliked: Food in the bar was average at best and i waited for an hour for a bowl of soup. The staff was friendly but not very active. I forgot a shirt in the bar but i never found it regardless of various enquiries. I had booked 2 person room but we were given a 4 person room with bunk beds (not so romantic).

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Richard Kelman

Alone

Events / festivals

20 August 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and good rooms.

Disliked: Richard left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kylie Davey

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 August 2012 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean, the beds resonably comfortable and lockers in the room great sized and lockable.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location for the Fringe Festival. Stayed in a 4 bed dorm with 3 friends - one of the better rooms we've stayed in. Comfy beds, lots of power sockets, big lockers. Have stayed before and would stay again

Disliked: Little bit noisy at night, but fine if you bring earplugs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicholas Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cost, for accommodation plus extras

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was good with good food. Two bathrooms in a 10 bed dorm room was brilliant!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a reasonably spacious dorm room with large lockers (bring your own lock). Eight bed dorms have 2 showers and 2 toilets which is great. Very central location; ideal for the festival. Everything looked reasonably clean and furniture was in good condition. Bed was comfortable. Good security.

Disliked: Internet/wifi isn't free; not much character (fine for us as we weren't looking to meet people); very early checkout (10am, but again wasn't a big problem for us); and we couldn't make tea in the morning as there were no mugs in the kitchen (this was quite annoying - we're English!). All in all, not one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in, but certainly not a bad option, especially for a short stay. We would stay here again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ben Robbins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: How close it was to the royal mile, the bar was nice as well with a cheap breakfast.

Disliked: They didn't have hash browns for two days. The carpet in the room didn't look very clean and there wasn't a toilet brush.