HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

84.6% Overall Rating

1627 out of 1715 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2014)

"Very central. the breakfast was cheap and very good. The staff were very helpful. There were 2 showers and 2 toilets in the 8 bed dorm I was in, so no queues!"

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro
35.95 USD

Hostel 85.0% 227 reviews
High Street Hostel
18.39 USD

Hostel 89.6% 1445 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
15.05 USD

Hostel 76.7% 250 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
20.60 USD

Hostel 89.3% 366 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
66.04 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
75.24 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
33.44 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.72 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.6%

Overall Rating

1627 out of 1715 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 1225 of 1358 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 48 | 49   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nicholas Marshall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 August 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cost, for accommodation plus extras

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar was good with good food. Two bathrooms in a 10 bed dorm room was brilliant!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a reasonably spacious dorm room with large lockers (bring your own lock). Eight bed dorms have 2 showers and 2 toilets which is great. Very central location; ideal for the festival. Everything looked reasonably clean and furniture was in good condition. Bed was comfortable. Good security.

Disliked: Internet/wifi isn't free; not much character (fine for us as we weren't looking to meet people); very early checkout (10am, but again wasn't a big problem for us); and we couldn't make tea in the morning as there were no mugs in the kitchen (this was quite annoying - we're English!). All in all, not one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in, but certainly not a bad option, especially for a short stay. We would stay here again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ben Robbins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: How close it was to the royal mile, the bar was nice as well with a cheap breakfast.

Disliked: They didn't have hash browns for two days. The carpet in the room didn't look very clean and there wasn't a toilet brush.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, with a good bar and small outdoor seating area. Really good location. Most staff friendly and helpful. 24 hour check in useful.

Disliked: Very big, feels like a chain hotel but with dorms, so there isn't the friendly atmosphere you often get in hostels. No free wifi or free computer access. Breakfast also wasn't included. I know this is normal in a lot of hostels, I had just hoped either one would be included as it wasn't particularly cheap. I arrived late at night and the guy on reception didn't seem to have much of an idea of how to check me in on the computer. It took ages and he then sent me up 4 floors to my room without any bedding, so I had to come down and get it. Bit annoying, but maybe he was just tired..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

07 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near royal mile. Perfect location!! recommended

Disliked: very much noise from the hostels bar in the basement! Impossible to sleep. Even if the window was closed! If you don't want to party all night, you should stay at an other hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Brook

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in the bar is fantastic and the location is so central Great hostel.

Disliked: The rooms were quite hot and the windows didn't open very wide but no major complaints. :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Victoria Seddon

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Size of room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taflan Kandemir

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Taflan would recommend this property

Liked: Unbelievable atmosphere, great club/restoran (rich menu, cheap price, delicous food) nicely located, clean building...

Disliked: Staff could have smiled more we think. Everything was great except them, if they can be more helpfull this hostel could be great.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

YINRU HUANG

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012

Liked: fully cooked English breakfast

Disliked: cold staff, broken lift, sticky floor at the bar, tiny shower room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well sound proofed rooms, nobody complained about us partying till 5am!

Disliked: N/A!!!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, comfortable beds

Disliked: the toilet had no soap and we stayed two times in the hostel and both times there wasn't any soap. The carpet was NOT clean, shower and toilet had weren't really clean...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean & comfortable. Great facilities in the hostel itself. In a prime location for tourist attractions and nightlife.

Disliked: The only issues experienced were that it took a while to get checked in and the bar staff were noisy when tidying the outside seating area, which was below the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda McEwen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2012 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked Smart City Hostels. The room was good, the bar was great - it had a good atmosphere, and I loved the music. However, I would recommend trying to get a room above the first floor. We were right near the bar on the first floor and it was loud to the point where it kept you awake. However, we were in bed early (early risers), and the noise died down usually after 1am. The room was really good for a hostel, and so was the bathroom. The room were also secure, and I liked the location.

Disliked: Hm, maybe just one of the reception staff could have been more friendly. But maybe she was having a bad day. Also, we used the lockers to store our luggage since we had a late train to catch. The machine overcharged us, we payed for 2 hours, and came to collect them 20 minutes early. However, the time on the machine had mysteriously changed to become 40 minutes fast, forcing us to add more coins for 'overstaying' our allocated time. It was a hassle to try and get our money back from reception, especially when we had a train to catch. This was the only hiccup we encountered though, I would definitely stay there again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, clean and large rooms, great staff, great food, great lounge/bar area!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beth Dooley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2012 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good location, bar downstairs, and really feels more like a budget hotel than a hostel.

Disliked: One rude bar worker really gave us a negative impression.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and central, comfortable bed.

Disliked: Noisy - Sunday night, room right next to bar in courtyard... Broken lock on window - had to shut firmly to deter casual snoopers. Hot, not well ventilated.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nancy Ward

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 June 2012 Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: We've stayed at this hostel before and the location is great.

Disliked: I booked what I thought was a twin room. Our room had two bunkbeds and that made the space seem cramped. Also, since we are older, the location of our room wasn't great. Our room was above the street entrance into Bar50, and it was noisy all night. Last time our room was located in a place where we didn't have the loud street noise.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Thomas Ponsonby

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 June 2012

Liked: Good location near the golden mile. The bar is pretty good and has free wifi.

Disliked: We had a lot of issues here, the staff and bookin system are clearly disorganized and they don't even care enough to try to help. The rooms were not cleaned very well, in my 10 bed dorm leftover foods including cheese were not cleaned up in the 3 days I was away in the highlands. The place has many groups of school children and so the atmosphere is not very good for backpackers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, spacious rooms

Disliked: Nothing I didn't like

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lewis Chang

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: Gd to stay and near station

Disliked: Gd

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sweet bar downstairs, good location, nice staff, rooms were really nice some of the best i've seen

Disliked: little bit expensive and no free breakfasts, difficult for travellers on a tight budget

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Andrew Riethmuller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff

Disliked: The floor creaked really badly so there was no way to sleep if anyone was moving around the room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, room was clean, good value breakfast.

Disliked: Really loud every night - didn't get a decent night's sleep the whole time I was there. Were in the old part of the hostel which had very squeaky floorboards and our window looked over the bar.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diane Russell

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 June 2012 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: Smart City Hostel has been a great place to stay! The dorms have toilets and showers in them, so it is not only convenient, but not at all awkward. The beds were comfortable enough, though I have to admit that I only spent a little time in mine. The rooms are lovely and clean and each bed has a built-in reading lamp, which is perfect. Bar 50 downstairs is a nice, fun atmosphere as well.

Disliked: There was a large group of high school kids running amok in the hostel. It is no reflection on Smart City Hostels itself, but was pretty irritating. The shower rooms in the dorms have enough space to wash easily, but there's just one small hook on the inside of the door and nothing to protect it from splashing water. Other than that, everything really was quite nice for me!