HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Smart City Hostel by Safestay Edinburgh Hostel

50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 80%

Location 95%

Safety 93%

Staff 89%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.27USD

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.
Due to our kitchen closure for Christmas, our cooked breakfast will not be offered for the 24th- 26th of December 2014, apologies for the inconvenience.

Safestay has a maximum stay policy of 1 month. You are welcome to come back to Safestay, but with a minimum 1 months rest period. Or why don’t you take advantage and visit one of our other locations in London, York or Edinburgh.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 82%

Facilities 80%

Location 95%

Safety 93%

Staff 89%

Value 79%

Showing 31-40 of 72 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hostel situated on main city centre. very good for traveller to exploring the city. Neat and clean with good facility of wifi.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break

Liked: Friendly stafflocker in roomliftsspacious roomwifivery central!kitchen n laundry facilities!Bar serving food!

Disliked: Noisy in the evening if you happen to hv a room overlooking the bar.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is quite good. The room has lockers. It's clean

Disliked: The self kitchen is open from 8am to 11pm. But it's not a big problem.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Comfortable , great value for money, great location

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Almost a hotel :)

Disliked: Nothing specific

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location. Friendly staffs. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: WiFi did not work at all... signal is so bad that it wouldn't even connect!!!!

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: When I had a problem in the middle of the night, the night staff were very helpful, kind and understanding. It was sorted out immediately.

Disliked: I am a woman and was traveling alone. I booked into a mixed dorm with some hesitation as when I am traveling alone, I prefer to book into an all-female room. But it was a Saturday and I wasn't sure if I would be able to find a bed in an all feamle dorm. When I checked in I expressed my concerns about the mixed dorm, the staff looked up my room and told me I would be sharing with 5 females and 1 male, I was reassured. Later on however, I relaised i was the only woman. THere was one other lone male traveler and five blokes on a stag party. In the middle of the night, i was woken up by one of the stag party group rwho hadeturned alone to the dorm and started paying music, I was uncomfortable, but didn't want to get into an argument with the guy. He was very drunk and a tad agressive. I went to the reception and complained and they quickly moved me to another room. The staff handled the situation well, however I feel it was irresponsible to check a lone female traveler into the same drom as a stag party group.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, good pub, clean and tidy

Disliked: Nothing bad to say

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Central, good value and clean

Disliked: Can be noisy

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location was great and the staff were very friendly

Disliked: the showers and bathrooms were gross, the elevator was out of order so I had to climb the stairs with my bags. The wifi was out as well. The room smelled pretty awful and was so hot we were forced to keep the window (with no screen) open all night so it was very loud. It was also very noisy and you could hear doors slamming all night.

Check Availability