HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

79.9% Overall Rating

1634 out of 1724 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2014)

"When I had a problem in the middle of the night, the night staff were very helpful, kind and understanding. It was sorted out immediately."

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.42

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
47.64 USD

Hostel 85.0% 227 reviews
High Street Hostel
23.82 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1474 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
15.31 USD

Hostel 77.7% 256 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
24.77 USD

Hostel 90.7% 372 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
142.02 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
76.56 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
27.22 USD

Apartment 88.6% 3 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
17.01 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.9%

Overall Rating

1634 out of 1724 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
78.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 1230 of 1366 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Deshazo

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cool bar, staff let us leave our stuff in the storage room for the time that we weren't checked in.

Disliked: could only use wifi in the bar unless you wanted to pay. Also, no shower curtains....just a toilet in the shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location. Comfortable bed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, location and renovated

Disliked: Shower and toilets together, no curtan in there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, central. Awesome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liam Bradburn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great bar downstairs. Triple room was a good size

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms. Only in the bar

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a carpet and the service was good.

Disliked: Not so clean bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the bar area. Was a good location too.

Disliked: Staff weren't that helpful

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean- esp beds. Great food in the bar.

Disliked: Slightly noisy at night because we were near the ground level where the bar was. Staff weren't very friendly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, and the room is big.

Disliked: The room is very noisy because there are tables of a cafe outside the window. The bed number is not clear at all, which made me change my bed once and make my bed three times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, comfortable beds (and I was in a 8-person dorm), clean and functioning showers, friendly staff, affordable

Disliked: The food at downstairs could have been a bit more tasty (sadly, the vegetable fajitas gave me bad stomach cramps).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Strategic location. Great friendly staff.

Disliked: No free wifi in the room. Although there is free wifi in the bar downstairs, it is a hassle to go downstairs all the time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, only minutes to the castle, and other places of interest Had booked a triple but placed into a room with 5 beds so plenty of room. Staff very helpful. Really good laundry facilities and nice little bar.

Disliked: Not so much a dislike, the hostel is really tired, and in need of a major refurbishment. After staying in hostels thoughtful Europe, Where they have been well equipped, clean, with modern facilities we felt this hostel would have been much better. Probably the worst aspect are the carpets in the rooms, these should be removed and replaced with hard flooring, or the floorboards underneath polished. As its a large hostel maybe other rooms have already been upgraded. Free wifi in the rooms would also be good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kala O'Donnell

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 September 2012 kala would recommend this property

Liked: staff v helpful. Convenient & good value for money

Disliked: needs just a little fresh smell & more ventilation

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malgorzata Hekking

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 August 2012 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. It's clean, comfortable and overall a great deal.

Disliked: Dorm bathrooms provide little privacy (sounds). And I did not like the fact that they charge for wi-fi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elieth Miranda

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 August 2012 Elieth would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast and you have problems the personnel get your solutions

Disliked: sometimes you look the bath not clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, it is right beside the Royal Mile which was perfect since you can reach everything on foot really quickly (it also means it can be quite loud, but that didn't bother me that much). I also appreciated the fact that there are big lockers in the rooms to store your stuff safely (bring your own small lock) and that you can leave your luggage in a locker room before checking in/after checking out. It is clean compared to other hostels and the breakfast was good, too.

Disliked: I had to wait quite some time to check in because the queue was so long (probably because I was there in August during the Fringe Festival). Since I was in a bit of a hurry that meant a certain level of stress. Also, the hostel is like a maze and I found it quite hard to find my way around. Apart from that everything was fine and I might stay there again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, it is right beside the Royal Mile which was perfect since you can reach everything on foot really quickly (it also means it can be quite loud, but that didn't bother me that much). I also appreciated the fact that there are big lockers in the rooms to store your stuff safely (bring your own small lock) and that you can leave your luggage in a locker room before checking in/after checking out. It is clean compared to other hostels and the breakfast was good, too.

Disliked: I had to wait quite some time to check in because the queue was so long (probably because I was there in August during the Fringe Festival). Since I was in a bit of a hurry that meant a certain level of stress. Also, the hostel is like a maze and I found it quite hard to find my way around. Apart from that everything was fine and I might stay there again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ailsa Hardman

Alone

Events / festivals

28 August 2012 Ailsa would recommend this property

Liked: clean, modern. Free towel, the bar

Disliked: less character than some hostels I've stayed in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, nice bar downstairs to meet people

Disliked: Rooms can get quite warm, as the window only opens a little bit. Not a major issue though

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness

Disliked: No free WiFi

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I went for the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and it was soooo centrally located and convenientlysituated. Didn't use many of the facilities but was great to be able to store luggage.

Disliked: Needed to use earplugs to get to sleep but other than that was fine.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, nearby the old town center. Dorms are clean and roomy (compared to majorrity of others youth hostels anyway).

Disliked: No keys on lockers. Breakfast staff was unfriendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Szu-Yun Lin

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 August 2012 Szu-Yun would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: Szu-Yun left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2012

Liked: The location is excellent. Having the bar on site has the potential to be a real asset, but is poorly executed.

Disliked: The way wifi is handled is extremely disappointing. Also, the bar offers discounts to students but fails to give any discounts to the people actually staying there. It leaves you feeling generally exploited and just like a source of money to be squeezed. The number of local kids who seemed to be 16-18 drove out most of the backpackers. The bar would also benefit from long benches instead of small tables to facilitate socializing. Over all it's not a terrible hostel. There are just far better ones around that are more concerned with doing right by their customers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

22 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pub

Disliked: Nothing, hard to find fault with the place