HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

80.3% Overall Rating

1641 out of 1733 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

ESTEVAO CORREIA BATISTA ROSA thinks…

"Clse to the royal mile, comfy beds, good food at the bar downstairs and nice atmosphere."

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
35.64 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
High Street Hostel
18.24 USD

Hostel 89.5% 1484 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
14.92 USD

Hostel 75.2% 257 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
33.42 USD

Hostel 90.3% 373 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
103.58 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
74.60 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
33.16 USD

Apartment 88.6% 3 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.58 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.3%

Overall Rating

1641 out of 1733 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
84.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 1236 of 1373 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious, good facilities and value for money.

Disliked: Nothing really it was all fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy check-in and check-out. Felt safe. Staff was helpful. Rooms were very clean and shower was warm. Bar seemed nice although I did not visit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really convenient. The bar had reasonably good food, drinks, and breakfast buffet at decent prices. Overall this hostel was fine and I would stay there again.

Disliked: These are a little nitpicky, but the bathroom in our room smelled moldy though it was clean. Internet cost one pound for 20 minutes, and if you log out before you use the entire 20 minutes you lose the rest of your time (they had free wifi in the bar though, if you had your own device). The staff did not go out of their way to be very friendly. Would have been nice if breakfast was included.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

constanza musso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 constanza would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Very comfortable in all aspects

Disliked: Breakfast not included

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012

Liked: It's clean and modern, and they have a nice bar and nice bathroom facilities. The location is great, as well.

Disliked: There was no common room, other than the bar, which made the place feel more like a hotel. There was not really much coziness or sense of community, and the communal kitchen was locked after 11pm. Plus, the bar closes late at night. And unless you're at the bar, you have to pay for wifi. The worst part, though, was the sound. I was in room 108, which is right next to two outdoor patios. It's like having a room full of loud people talking next to you while you sleep--the sound just goes right through the huge window, and you can hear everything they say. I wasn't able to go to sleep until 4am. I asked the guy at the next to tell the people they needed to talk somewhere else, but he never did (even though he said he would). If the place is so poorly designed that I can hear people talking outside at 4am, they shouldn't let people talk out there that late! Also, while the location is great, it's centrality also means drunk people partying and screaming all night. Of course, it was a Saturday, so maybe it wouldn't be that bad other nights.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Kinsella

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 November 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location just off the Royal Mile, very cheap, friendly staff. I liked that we had an ensuite!

Disliked: We were on the first floor which meant a window that opened onto the bar smoking area, this made it feel a bit unsafe to leave our window open as anyone could just get through, also meant a lot of noise from the bar. Rooms were very hot which was also bad because we couldn't leave our window open! WIFI should be free all over hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Deshazo

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cool bar, staff let us leave our stuff in the storage room for the time that we weren't checked in.

Disliked: could only use wifi in the bar unless you wanted to pay. Also, no shower curtains....just a toilet in the shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location. Comfortable bed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, location and renovated

Disliked: Shower and toilets together, no curtan in there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, central. Awesome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liam Bradburn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great bar downstairs. Triple room was a good size

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms. Only in the bar

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a carpet and the service was good.

Disliked: Not so clean bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the bar area. Was a good location too.

Disliked: Staff weren't that helpful

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean- esp beds. Great food in the bar.

Disliked: Slightly noisy at night because we were near the ground level where the bar was. Staff weren't very friendly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, and the room is big.

Disliked: The room is very noisy because there are tables of a cafe outside the window. The bed number is not clear at all, which made me change my bed once and make my bed three times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, comfortable beds (and I was in a 8-person dorm), clean and functioning showers, friendly staff, affordable

Disliked: The food at downstairs could have been a bit more tasty (sadly, the vegetable fajitas gave me bad stomach cramps).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Strategic location. Great friendly staff.

Disliked: No free wifi in the room. Although there is free wifi in the bar downstairs, it is a hassle to go downstairs all the time.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, only minutes to the castle, and other places of interest Had booked a triple but placed into a room with 5 beds so plenty of room. Staff very helpful. Really good laundry facilities and nice little bar.

Disliked: Not so much a dislike, the hostel is really tired, and in need of a major refurbishment. After staying in hostels thoughtful Europe, Where they have been well equipped, clean, with modern facilities we felt this hostel would have been much better. Probably the worst aspect are the carpets in the rooms, these should be removed and replaced with hard flooring, or the floorboards underneath polished. As its a large hostel maybe other rooms have already been upgraded. Free wifi in the rooms would also be good.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kala O'Donnell

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 September 2012 kala would recommend this property

Liked: staff v helpful. Convenient & good value for money

Disliked: needs just a little fresh smell & more ventilation

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malgorzata Hekking

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 August 2012 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. It's clean, comfortable and overall a great deal.

Disliked: Dorm bathrooms provide little privacy (sounds). And I did not like the fact that they charge for wi-fi.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Elieth Miranda

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 August 2012 Elieth would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast and you have problems the personnel get your solutions

Disliked: sometimes you look the bath not clean

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, it is right beside the Royal Mile which was perfect since you can reach everything on foot really quickly (it also means it can be quite loud, but that didn't bother me that much). I also appreciated the fact that there are big lockers in the rooms to store your stuff safely (bring your own small lock) and that you can leave your luggage in a locker room before checking in/after checking out. It is clean compared to other hostels and the breakfast was good, too.

Disliked: I had to wait quite some time to check in because the queue was so long (probably because I was there in August during the Fringe Festival). Since I was in a bit of a hurry that meant a certain level of stress. Also, the hostel is like a maze and I found it quite hard to find my way around. Apart from that everything was fine and I might stay there again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, it is right beside the Royal Mile which was perfect since you can reach everything on foot really quickly (it also means it can be quite loud, but that didn't bother me that much). I also appreciated the fact that there are big lockers in the rooms to store your stuff safely (bring your own small lock) and that you can leave your luggage in a locker room before checking in/after checking out. It is clean compared to other hostels and the breakfast was good, too.

Disliked: I had to wait quite some time to check in because the queue was so long (probably because I was there in August during the Fringe Festival). Since I was in a bit of a hurry that meant a certain level of stress. Also, the hostel is like a maze and I found it quite hard to find my way around. Apart from that everything was fine and I might stay there again.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ailsa Hardman

Alone

Events / festivals

28 August 2012 Ailsa would recommend this property

Liked: clean, modern. Free towel, the bar

Disliked: less character than some hostels I've stayed in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, nice bar downstairs to meet people

Disliked: Rooms can get quite warm, as the window only opens a little bit. Not a major issue though