HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

85.4% Overall Rating

1649 out of 1741 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Valentina De Palo thinks…

"Ottima la posizione centrale rispetto alla città e l'atmosfera presente in ostello e gli spazi. Anche se la stanza dove abbiamo soggiornato era un po' piccola (era da 4) era comunque pulita e ben…"

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.21

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
35.68 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
High Street Hostel
18.25 USD

Hostel 90.2% 1488 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
18.25 USD

Hostel 73.5% 258 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
24.16 USD

Hostel 90.1% 374 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
112.38 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
74.68 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
22.14 USD

Apartment 88.6% 3 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.59 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

1649 out of 1741 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
88.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 1244 of 1383 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Krzysztof Rychlik

Alone

City break

27 January 2013 Krzysztof would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, friendly staff, good locations

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YASHODHAN ANSARWADEKAR

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 January 2013 YASHODHAN would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, amazing atmosphere in bar and lounge. Rooms are clean .

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were tidy and clean with adjoining bathroom facilities... Bar was amazing but a little expensive for breakfast etc. wifi :) modern design and location is very central to the city so good for sightseeing

Disliked: The staff didn't tell me any information unless I asked.. But I guess finding out is easy If you find the right info sign

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Duggleby

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, clean and secure.

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Tuson

Alone

City break

31 December 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well located.

Disliked: Apart from the bar area, not a quiet place to mingle and get to know people. A lot of large groups there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joao Vitor Martins

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Joao Vitor would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, clean kitchen, rooms are good. Bar closes a bit early but its still a great choice to drink a beer before going out in the night.

Disliked: Joao Vitor left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean rooms and bathroom, central locAtion

Disliked: N/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious, good facilities and value for money.

Disliked: Nothing really it was all fine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy check-in and check-out. Felt safe. Staff was helpful. Rooms were very clean and shower was warm. Bar seemed nice although I did not visit.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really convenient. The bar had reasonably good food, drinks, and breakfast buffet at decent prices. Overall this hostel was fine and I would stay there again.

Disliked: These are a little nitpicky, but the bathroom in our room smelled moldy though it was clean. Internet cost one pound for 20 minutes, and if you log out before you use the entire 20 minutes you lose the rest of your time (they had free wifi in the bar though, if you had your own device). The staff did not go out of their way to be very friendly. Would have been nice if breakfast was included.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

constanza musso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 constanza would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Very comfortable in all aspects

Disliked: Breakfast not included

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012

Liked: It's clean and modern, and they have a nice bar and nice bathroom facilities. The location is great, as well.

Disliked: There was no common room, other than the bar, which made the place feel more like a hotel. There was not really much coziness or sense of community, and the communal kitchen was locked after 11pm. Plus, the bar closes late at night. And unless you're at the bar, you have to pay for wifi. The worst part, though, was the sound. I was in room 108, which is right next to two outdoor patios. It's like having a room full of loud people talking next to you while you sleep--the sound just goes right through the huge window, and you can hear everything they say. I wasn't able to go to sleep until 4am. I asked the guy at the next to tell the people they needed to talk somewhere else, but he never did (even though he said he would). If the place is so poorly designed that I can hear people talking outside at 4am, they shouldn't let people talk out there that late! Also, while the location is great, it's centrality also means drunk people partying and screaming all night. Of course, it was a Saturday, so maybe it wouldn't be that bad other nights.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sarah Kinsella

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 November 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location just off the Royal Mile, very cheap, friendly staff. I liked that we had an ensuite!

Disliked: We were on the first floor which meant a window that opened onto the bar smoking area, this made it feel a bit unsafe to leave our window open as anyone could just get through, also meant a lot of noise from the bar. Rooms were very hot which was also bad because we couldn't leave our window open! WIFI should be free all over hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Deshazo

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, cool bar, staff let us leave our stuff in the storage room for the time that we weren't checked in.

Disliked: could only use wifi in the bar unless you wanted to pay. Also, no shower curtains....just a toilet in the shower.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location. Comfortable bed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean, location and renovated

Disliked: Shower and toilets together, no curtan in there

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern, central. Awesome.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liam Bradburn

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Had a great bar downstairs. Triple room was a good size

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms. Only in the bar

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a carpet and the service was good.

Disliked: Not so clean bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the bar area. Was a good location too.

Disliked: Staff weren't that helpful

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean- esp beds. Great food in the bar.

Disliked: Slightly noisy at night because we were near the ground level where the bar was. Staff weren't very friendly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good, and the room is big.

Disliked: The room is very noisy because there are tables of a cafe outside the window. The bed number is not clear at all, which made me change my bed once and make my bed three times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, comfortable beds (and I was in a 8-person dorm), clean and functioning showers, friendly staff, affordable

Disliked: The food at downstairs could have been a bit more tasty (sadly, the vegetable fajitas gave me bad stomach cramps).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. Strategic location. Great friendly staff.

Disliked: No free wifi in the room. Although there is free wifi in the bar downstairs, it is a hassle to go downstairs all the time.