We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

86.9% Overall Rating

1652 out of 1744 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Valentina De Palo thinks…

"Ottima la posizione centrale rispetto alla città e l'atmosfera presente in ostello e gli spazi. Anche se la stanza dove abbiamo soggiornato era un po' piccola (era da 4) era comunque pulita e ben…"

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bar(s)
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department. Due to our kitchen closure for Christmas, our cooked breakfast will not be offered for the 24th- 26th of December 2014, apologies for the inconvenience.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
34.89 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
High Street Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 89.9% 1499 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 70.6% 263 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
19.99 USD

Hostel 89.4% 377 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
73.03 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
21.65 USD

Apartment 90.0% 4 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
55.18 USD

Hostel 87.1% 284 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

1652 out of 1744 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 1247 of 1386 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gilberto Pinheiro

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

08 August 2013 Gilberto would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean. The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible. Other than that, i really recommend.

Disliked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean. The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible. Other than that, i really recommend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Pass

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything wasn't just good it was REALLY good. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Brilliant location and VERY helpful and courteous staff.

Disliked: Street entrance could have been a little more inviting.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Jef Chiam

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013

Liked: clean convenient

Disliked: really really noisy & stuffy Not recommendable if you are finding a place for a good night rest

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aiste Karvelyte

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Aiste would recommend this property

Liked: City center location.

Disliked: Our room was changed from 3 bed to 4 bed. Therefore, instead of having one double and one single bed we've got four single beds. Our room was just up the bar so we could hear music as well as people in the bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 4 person room. We had our own toilet and shower which was nice. I also liked having cabinet space and a desk in the room. Linens seemed to be clean. Nice kitchen facilities available.

Disliked: My only complaint is that the wifi never worked during our entire stay. Though they advertise free wifi in the commons area, none of the four people I stayed with were ever able to successfully access it and the hostel staff were of no help. However, the hostel conveniently had their own computers that charged a fee for internet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zsofia Muller

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2013 Zsofia would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: carpet wasn`t vacuumed, bathroom was`t cleaned properly before we moved in

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

chris astill

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

05 July 2013 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean well kept

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Gault

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 June 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, cheap,clean, friendly staff, super breakfast! what more do you need:-)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Gehlhaar

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: With a group of 19 we enjoyed every minute of our stay: located right in the centre of everything, comfortable and clean rooms, wonderful and rich breakfast buffet with rich choice (continental and Scottish) as well as an in-house bar room (free WiFi) to gather and spend time at any time of day. Even airport bus (35) almost in front of the door. All this for a decent price. Lovely!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing to complain about

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Forrest Crawford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

13 June 2013 Forrest would recommend this property

Liked: Great, modern design. Clean, safe feeling. Great amenities. Awesome kitchen, laundry facilities.

Disliked: Wifi for your room costs 5 pounds for 24 hours, and is terribly slow and cuts out frequently. Had issues when I asked for a refund since the internet was completely down at one point.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location. The bar was good and reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful

Disliked: We had a triple room which was very small and not much room for three people to move around

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel was really the best Hostel I have stayed in so far. It is located perfectly from the train and city. There was friendly people around and the staff was really the best!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Kane

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing everyone was so friendly. We also felt safe leaving our baggage there during the day in the luggage room! the breakfast was unbelievable!

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

GLEN SHAW

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 GLEN would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Clean. Spacious

Disliked: Nothing in particular

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Resch

Alone

City break

01 June 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area is really nice, and so is the lobby. It is quite easy to find also.

Disliked: The staff were nice but didn't go out of their way to welcome me- as a female traveling alone this is something I really value at a hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: The front-desk staff was always very friendly. The rooms were excellent and clean.

Disliked: The atmosphere was inorganic and there was only fri wifi at the bar. The bar felt more like a cafeteria and the atmosphere wasn't really conducive to meeting people.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean!

Disliked: no

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stanislav Kapulkin

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 May 2013 Stanislav would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are clean and nice.

Disliked: Wi-Fi is free, as written in description, but only in the Bar 50 - bar, that integrates with the hostel. So, there is no Wi-Fi in rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirby Munn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Kirby would recommend this property

Liked: clean, modern and central to the city! The bar was also good and cheap!

Disliked: Not much

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: well decorated, gerat location and reasonable price

Disliked: check in time was quite late..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good private room that was good value for money

Disliked: very noisy until after midnight on a Tuesday night!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Business / conference

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to come and go. Unfussy

Disliked: No hooks in room to hang coats etc

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jade Ford

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2013 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: As a 24 year old woman traveling on my own, safety, location, cleanliness and atmosphere are really important to me. This hostel was great. The rooms are secure with lockers, the staff was helpful, the location is within easy walking distance to everything in the city and the atmosphere of the Bar downstairs is great. I went mid week in the middle of March and still there was a lounge filled with travelers looking to have a good time (not too wild).

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything about the property. The only thing was that I had one bed in a five bed dorm and was put in with an Italian family of 5. I felt very safe obviously, but would have been nice to be with some girls my age instead

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PETER MAGOWAN

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

25 March 2013 PETER would recommend this property

Liked: all very good quality accommodation, bar and food

Disliked: some of the bar staff could be a bit friendlier.one girl in particular