HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Safestay Edinburgh Edinburgh Hostel

50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 93%

Staff 89%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.26USD

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.
Due to our kitchen closure for Christmas, our cooked breakfast will not be offered for the 24th- 26th of December 2014, apologies for the inconvenience.

Safestay has a maximum stay policy of 1 month. You are welcome to come back to Safestay, but with a minimum 1 months rest period. Or why don’t you take advantage and visit one of our other locations in London, York or Edinburgh.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 82%

Location 96%

Safety 93%

Staff 89%

Value 83%

Showing 21-30 of 52 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the staff are excellent, there is never any hassle just a warm friendly atmosphere. love meeting new people which this hostel offers in abundance. is always clean and warm.

Disliked: nothng all is excellent

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Clean, safe, cheap drinks at bar downstairs.Great location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Check out was 10am. It could have been 11am at least.Breakfast was a bit confusing and a let down. We were late though so maybe in peak times it would be better. We were also super hung over haha.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was really near the city centre and easily accessible.The breakfasts were yummy and good value for money.

Disliked: The wifi was really slow.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good lobby and clean and crisp dining and chill out area

Disliked: Wifi was not as strong as I would have liked in the rooms themselves

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Safe, good location

Disliked: Fire alarm went off 4 mornings in a row, staff told us check out was 11 then tried to bill us when they said it was actually at 10

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Safe, clean and light...in contrast to some dingier hostels in edinburgh. Great and reasonable restaurant menu with a bar that was lively but friendly and not rowdy. Staff lovely.

Disliked: Guest kitchen seemed small.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great location just off the Royal Mile, lockers in rooms, good breakfast, showers and toliets in room.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Great location, just off the royal mile. Everything seemed clean, especially compared to other hostels I've been in. It was nice to have en suit showers and toilets. Shower gel was provided with a dispenser in the showers which was handy. Breakfast was good - the usual deal for a cooked breakfast - up to 6 items , plus unlimited toast. Free wifi is provided throughout the hostel.

Disliked: It had a slightly more 'hotel' rather than hostel feel to it, it seemed to be missing some of the atmosphere I often expect with a hostel. It would've been useful for more power sockets in the dorms.I had booked a 6 bed dorm but was put in an 8 bed, with free breakfast provided as compensation. The free breakfast was good but I would be wary about booking here again in case I got placed in a bigger form than expected. The rooms aren't carpeted so it can be difficult to move around quietly if you come back later at night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location was perfect and close to the places we needed to be near the pubs 👍 the room was perfect for our group of 10. The bar had a lot of character. Great place 10/10

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Ottima la posizione centrale rispetto alla città e l'atmosfera presente in ostello e gli spazi.Anche se la stanza dove abbiamo soggiornato era un po' piccola (era da 4) era comunque pulita e ben servita.Staff cordiale e disponibile 24h/24h

Disliked: La connessione wi-fi era a scadenza, ma comunque presente non come in altri ostelli inglesi.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability