HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

79.3% Overall Rating

1635 out of 1725 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/06/2014)

"When I had a problem in the middle of the night, the night staff were very helpful, kind and understanding. It was sorted out immediately."

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
47.40 USD

Hostel 85.0% 227 reviews
High Street Hostel
23.70 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1477 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
22.01 USD

Hostel 77.7% 256 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
24.65 USD

Hostel 90.7% 372 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
119.99 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
76.18 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
33.86 USD

Apartment 88.6% 3 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.93 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

1635 out of 1725 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
77.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 1231 of 1367 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Tracey Moody

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013

Liked: I liked the Fringe events that were going on, and the staff was definitely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that you couldn't take a shower without getting the toilet seat wet. A curtain between the two at the very least would be nice. Also, I know that it was Fringe and probably the most expensive time to go, but I felt like I was paying far too much for what I was actually getting.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natasha Maris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: - Perfect location. Not a far walk from Waverley station, and on a side street right in the centre of the Royal Mile. - Clean rooms with a washroom and shower room for each dorm (6 bed I stayed in anyway) - Great bar! Beer and food were great and reasonably priced for Edinburgh

Disliked: - They say you get 'slow' wifi in the rooms and you can upgrade and pay for 'fast' wifi. I got zero wifi in the room, which was annoying. - There was a huge line out of the building just to check in! Not impressed after a day of travelling that I had to wait 45 minutes outside with my backpack waiting to get into my room. 2 people working need to work faster or hire someone else to work at the desk. The line should NEVER be that long... - Really huge place, anyone can walk in an out. As there is an obvious second entrance from the bar to the hostel, non-hostel stayers could easily access all floors and luggage room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stuff, good bar downstairs, and perfect location.

Disliked: Definetely too much noise if your room is in a close proximity to the bar. Oh, and the fire alarm went off twice without any reason.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joshua Grech

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: This property had a great feel to it. The facilities that were there were very beneficial for backpackers - especially during the Edinburgh Festival. The staff were extremely helpful and the food and drink were cheap.

Disliked: The room that we stayed in was extremely hot. To a point where it was unbearable at times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cledson Ramos Bezerra

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Cledson would recommend this property

Liked: Best point: excellent location.

Disliked: Slow Internet and only in the bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Smith

As a family with children

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean , helpfull and friendly staff, great location very good food at a great price.

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms were clean. The bathrooms were clean. There were enough bathrooms. It is located conveniently to a busy part of town. and to transportation.

Disliked: The luggage room did not seem very secure to me. They gave a key to anyone who said they were a guest without verifying they were a guest. People were constantly opening the door and everything was thrown in there haphazardly sometimes blocking the door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Schaub

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and spacious, there are multiple lifts, the restaurant/bar downstairs is cheap and quite good, the location is wonderful, in short I want to live there full time

Disliked: The main elevator is possessed and speaks in tongues between floors... could be a feature?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gilberto Pinheiro

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

08 August 2013 Gilberto would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean. The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible. Other than that, i really recommend.

Disliked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean. The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible. Other than that, i really recommend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Pass

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything wasn't just good it was REALLY good. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Brilliant location and VERY helpful and courteous staff.

Disliked: Street entrance could have been a little more inviting.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Jef Chiam

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013

Liked: clean convenient

Disliked: really really noisy & stuffy Not recommendable if you are finding a place for a good night rest

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aiste Karvelyte

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Aiste would recommend this property

Liked: City center location.

Disliked: Our room was changed from 3 bed to 4 bed. Therefore, instead of having one double and one single bed we've got four single beds. Our room was just up the bar so we could hear music as well as people in the bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 4 person room. We had our own toilet and shower which was nice. I also liked having cabinet space and a desk in the room. Linens seemed to be clean. Nice kitchen facilities available.

Disliked: My only complaint is that the wifi never worked during our entire stay. Though they advertise free wifi in the commons area, none of the four people I stayed with were ever able to successfully access it and the hostel staff were of no help. However, the hostel conveniently had their own computers that charged a fee for internet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zsofia Muller

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2013 Zsofia would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: carpet wasn`t vacuumed, bathroom was`t cleaned properly before we moved in

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

chris astill

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

05 July 2013 chris would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean well kept

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Gault

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

27 June 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, cheap,clean, friendly staff, super breakfast! what more do you need:-)

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Gehlhaar

With a large group / tour

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: With a group of 19 we enjoyed every minute of our stay: located right in the centre of everything, comfortable and clean rooms, wonderful and rich breakfast buffet with rich choice (continental and Scottish) as well as an in-house bar room (free WiFi) to gather and spend time at any time of day. Even airport bus (35) almost in front of the door. All this for a decent price. Lovely!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing to complain about

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Forrest Crawford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

13 June 2013 Forrest would recommend this property

Liked: Great, modern design. Clean, safe feeling. Great amenities. Awesome kitchen, laundry facilities.

Disliked: Wifi for your room costs 5 pounds for 24 hours, and is terribly slow and cuts out frequently. Had issues when I asked for a refund since the internet was completely down at one point.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location. The bar was good and reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful

Disliked: We had a triple room which was very small and not much room for three people to move around

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hostel was really the best Hostel I have stayed in so far. It is located perfectly from the train and city. There was friendly people around and the staff was really the best!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Kane

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing everyone was so friendly. We also felt safe leaving our baggage there during the day in the luggage room! the breakfast was unbelievable!

Disliked: Karen left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

GLEN SHAW

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 June 2013 GLEN would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Clean. Spacious

Disliked: Nothing in particular

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kate Resch

Alone

City break

01 June 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: The bar area is really nice, and so is the lobby. It is quite easy to find also.

Disliked: The staff were nice but didn't go out of their way to welcome me- as a female traveling alone this is something I really value at a hostel.