HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

82.7% Overall Rating

1645 out of 1737 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/08/2014)

"Great location, just off the royal mile. Everything seemed clean, especially compared to other hostels I've been in. It was nice to have en suit showers and toilets. Shower gel was provided with a dispenser in the…"

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.20

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
35.63 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
High Street Hostel
18.23 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1487 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
14.92 USD

Hostel 75.2% 257 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
24.13 USD

Hostel 90.1% 374 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
86.15 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
74.58 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
22.11 USD

Apartment 88.6% 3 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.57 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

1645 out of 1737 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 1240 of 1378 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lauren Boyle

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 January 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast buffet for £4.95 has great bacon (everybody loves bacon!) and is convenient Good location- right off the royal mile (far enough to be quiet) 2 toilets and 2 bathrooms in an 8 bed doorm which was great- no queues for public showers

Disliked: Only minor first-world problems- Wifi only works in the bar for 20 mins then kicks you off- no chance of it working in your room Our room card stopped working an hour before we were due to check out There were power points over each of the bunks except ours, which made charging our devices and phones a bit of a nightmare because it felt like an intrusion into other people's personal space

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place in a great location

Disliked: Very good place and cheap. students go there to go to the party and could be a little noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & central

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and large room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms & bathrooms, the staff was really friendly & helpful, a really good place to stay just in the middle of the city centre!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were pretty big

Disliked: It was clean, but they didn't clean the inside of the ovens... Every time someone used the oven I was afraid the fire alarm got offs amuse of the smoke....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Atkinson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 September 2013 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: Room was spotless!! Great shower and comfy bed :-)

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's such a convenient location, close to the Royal Mile and a lot of attractions! There's a pub downstairs with a really relaxed atmosphere. The room was extremely clean and the staff were really friendly too.

Disliked: It was a little bit difficult to reach my room as I had a lot of luggage, it was quite a journey through the corridors and many doors, and the staff did not tell me there would have been a shortcut actually.. The room was also next to the pub's terrace, so it was quite difficult to sleep. Maybe they could ask the people to stay inside when it's late? Otherwise the hostel was a really comfortable experience!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Tracey Moody

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013

Liked: I liked the Fringe events that were going on, and the staff was definitely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that you couldn't take a shower without getting the toilet seat wet. A curtain between the two at the very least would be nice. Also, I know that it was Fringe and probably the most expensive time to go, but I felt like I was paying far too much for what I was actually getting.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natasha Maris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: - Perfect location. Not a far walk from Waverley station, and on a side street right in the centre of the Royal Mile. - Clean rooms with a washroom and shower room for each dorm (6 bed I stayed in anyway) - Great bar! Beer and food were great and reasonably priced for Edinburgh

Disliked: - They say you get 'slow' wifi in the rooms and you can upgrade and pay for 'fast' wifi. I got zero wifi in the room, which was annoying. - There was a huge line out of the building just to check in! Not impressed after a day of travelling that I had to wait 45 minutes outside with my backpack waiting to get into my room. 2 people working need to work faster or hire someone else to work at the desk. The line should NEVER be that long... - Really huge place, anyone can walk in an out. As there is an obvious second entrance from the bar to the hostel, non-hostel stayers could easily access all floors and luggage room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stuff, good bar downstairs, and perfect location.

Disliked: Definetely too much noise if your room is in a close proximity to the bar. Oh, and the fire alarm went off twice without any reason.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joshua Grech

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: This property had a great feel to it. The facilities that were there were very beneficial for backpackers - especially during the Edinburgh Festival. The staff were extremely helpful and the food and drink were cheap.

Disliked: The room that we stayed in was extremely hot. To a point where it was unbearable at times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cledson Ramos Bezerra

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Cledson would recommend this property

Liked: Best point: excellent location.

Disliked: Slow Internet and only in the bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Smith

As a family with children

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean , helpfull and friendly staff, great location very good food at a great price.

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms were clean. The bathrooms were clean. There were enough bathrooms. It is located conveniently to a busy part of town. and to transportation.

Disliked: The luggage room did not seem very secure to me. They gave a key to anyone who said they were a guest without verifying they were a guest. People were constantly opening the door and everything was thrown in there haphazardly sometimes blocking the door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Schaub

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and spacious, there are multiple lifts, the restaurant/bar downstairs is cheap and quite good, the location is wonderful, in short I want to live there full time

Disliked: The main elevator is possessed and speaks in tongues between floors... could be a feature?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gilberto Pinheiro

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

08 August 2013 Gilberto would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean. The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible. Other than that, i really recommend.

Disliked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean. The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible. Other than that, i really recommend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Pass

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything wasn't just good it was REALLY good. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it. Brilliant location and VERY helpful and courteous staff.

Disliked: Street entrance could have been a little more inviting.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great.

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Jef Chiam

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013

Liked: clean convenient

Disliked: really really noisy & stuffy Not recommendable if you are finding a place for a good night rest

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Aiste Karvelyte

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Aiste would recommend this property

Liked: City center location.

Disliked: Our room was changed from 3 bed to 4 bed. Therefore, instead of having one double and one single bed we've got four single beds. Our room was just up the bar so we could hear music as well as people in the bar.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 4 person room. We had our own toilet and shower which was nice. I also liked having cabinet space and a desk in the room. Linens seemed to be clean. Nice kitchen facilities available.

Disliked: My only complaint is that the wifi never worked during our entire stay. Though they advertise free wifi in the commons area, none of the four people I stayed with were ever able to successfully access it and the hostel staff were of no help. However, the hostel conveniently had their own computers that charged a fee for internet.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Zsofia Muller

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 July 2013 Zsofia would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: carpet wasn`t vacuumed, bathroom was`t cleaned properly before we moved in