We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Smart City Hostels Edinburgh

Hostel | 50 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

85.1% Overall Rating

1651 out of 1743 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

Valentina De Palo thinks…

"Ottima la posizione centrale rispetto alla città e l'atmosfera presente in ostello e gli spazi. Anche se la stanza dove abbiamo soggiornato era un po' piccola (era da 4) era comunque pulita e ben…"

Read all Smart City Hostels Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 8.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note guests under the age of 18 years of age must stay in a private room with guardians they can not share in general dormitory rooms with persons that are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the smart city bar after end of food service. Any bookings for over 12 guests MUST be booked through our groups department.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
35.25 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
High Street Hostel
19.68 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1494 reviews
Brodies 93 Hostel
18.04 USD

Hostel 71.4% 261 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
20.20 USD

Hostel 90.2% 375 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
136.87 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
73.78 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
21.87 USD

Apartment 88.6% 3 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.40 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

1651 out of 1743 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Smart City Hostels Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 1246 of 1385 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central and cool

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul Williams

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: communal bar, clean toilet/bathroom, nice modern building. friendly staff/guests

Disliked: wifi was quite poor. bed was uncomfy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brianna Ford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Brianna would recommend this property

Liked: Location couldn't be better. it's on the royal mile, surrounded by shops, restaurants and bars. it's really clean. tons of bathrooms, AND there are toilets and showers in the room. Cabinets for your things in the room, but they don't lock, which was fine for us because there was only one other couple in the room. Restaurant downstairs is good. I don't remember them going out of there way to help us, but no one was rude, either. price is good for the quality of the hostel.

Disliked: Not a ton of character. If you are looking for a place to meet other travelllers there isn't really a space for that here. the bar is very large and spaced out and it was more "group" than smaller hostel bars where you feel comfortable striking up conversation.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So clean, stuff for self-catering is perfect, and well-organized!! excellent location and not noisy. room has 2 shower booths and toilets and 2 more basins. the room i stayed for 12 but spacious.

Disliked: the floor made noises when people were wallking. in the early morining, it was so irritated.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juan José Lunghi

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

06 January 2014 Juan José would recommend this property

Liked: Locación was good. Toilet are individuals There es a bar to drink something when you want Very clean

Disliked: Breakfast not included, costa 5 pounds, like any bar. Kitchen. The kitchen área es shared with the hostel's bar, open to anyone from street, and you are not allowed to drink nothing with alcohol in the area. Internet. Too slow in the rooms. You have to pay if you want a faster connection.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Neat and tidy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lauren Boyle

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 January 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast buffet for £4.95 has great bacon (everybody loves bacon!) and is convenient Good location- right off the royal mile (far enough to be quiet) 2 toilets and 2 bathrooms in an 8 bed doorm which was great- no queues for public showers

Disliked: Only minor first-world problems- Wifi only works in the bar for 20 mins then kicks you off- no chance of it working in your room Our room card stopped working an hour before we were due to check out There were power points over each of the bunks except ours, which made charging our devices and phones a bit of a nightmare because it felt like an intrusion into other people's personal space

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place in a great location

Disliked: Very good place and cheap. students go there to go to the party and could be a little noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean & central

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Location was perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and large room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms & bathrooms, the staff was really friendly & helpful, a really good place to stay just in the middle of the city centre!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were pretty big

Disliked: It was clean, but they didn't clean the inside of the ovens... Every time someone used the oven I was afraid the fire alarm got offs amuse of the smoke....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Atkinson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 September 2013 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: Room was spotless!! Great shower and comfy bed :-)

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's such a convenient location, close to the Royal Mile and a lot of attractions! There's a pub downstairs with a really relaxed atmosphere. The room was extremely clean and the staff were really friendly too.

Disliked: It was a little bit difficult to reach my room as I had a lot of luggage, it was quite a journey through the corridors and many doors, and the staff did not tell me there would have been a shortcut actually.. The room was also next to the pub's terrace, so it was quite difficult to sleep. Maybe they could ask the people to stay inside when it's late? Otherwise the hostel was a really comfortable experience!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Tracey Moody

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013

Liked: I liked the Fringe events that were going on, and the staff was definitely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that you couldn't take a shower without getting the toilet seat wet. A curtain between the two at the very least would be nice. Also, I know that it was Fringe and probably the most expensive time to go, but I felt like I was paying far too much for what I was actually getting.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natasha Maris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: - Perfect location. Not a far walk from Waverley station, and on a side street right in the centre of the Royal Mile. - Clean rooms with a washroom and shower room for each dorm (6 bed I stayed in anyway) - Great bar! Beer and food were great and reasonably priced for Edinburgh

Disliked: - They say you get 'slow' wifi in the rooms and you can upgrade and pay for 'fast' wifi. I got zero wifi in the room, which was annoying. - There was a huge line out of the building just to check in! Not impressed after a day of travelling that I had to wait 45 minutes outside with my backpack waiting to get into my room. 2 people working need to work faster or hire someone else to work at the desk. The line should NEVER be that long... - Really huge place, anyone can walk in an out. As there is an obvious second entrance from the bar to the hostel, non-hostel stayers could easily access all floors and luggage room

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly stuff, good bar downstairs, and perfect location.

Disliked: Definetely too much noise if your room is in a close proximity to the bar. Oh, and the fire alarm went off twice without any reason.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Joshua Grech

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: This property had a great feel to it. The facilities that were there were very beneficial for backpackers - especially during the Edinburgh Festival. The staff were extremely helpful and the food and drink were cheap.

Disliked: The room that we stayed in was extremely hot. To a point where it was unbearable at times.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cledson Ramos Bezerra

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Cledson would recommend this property

Liked: Best point: excellent location.

Disliked: Slow Internet and only in the bar

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Smith

As a family with children

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean , helpfull and friendly staff, great location very good food at a great price.

Disliked: none

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms were clean. The bathrooms were clean. There were enough bathrooms. It is located conveniently to a busy part of town. and to transportation.

Disliked: The luggage room did not seem very secure to me. They gave a key to anyone who said they were a guest without verifying they were a guest. People were constantly opening the door and everything was thrown in there haphazardly sometimes blocking the door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Schaub

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are clean and spacious, there are multiple lifts, the restaurant/bar downstairs is cheap and quite good, the location is wonderful, in short I want to live there full time

Disliked: The main elevator is possessed and speaks in tongues between floors... could be a feature?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gilberto Pinheiro

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

08 August 2013 Gilberto would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean. The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible. Other than that, i really recommend.

Disliked: It is a great place to stay, nice and clean. The only down side is that the WI-FI is horrible. Other than that, i really recommend.