HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Brodies 93 Hostel

Hostel | 93 High St, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1SG

70.6% Overall Rating

192 out of 263 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/09/2014)

"location is perfect. Regualar visitor to Edinburgh and have stayed in several hostels there. this one does not deserve the low rating it has"

Read all Brodies 93 Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

High Street Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1496 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
18.18 USD

Hostel 90.2% 375 reviews
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
16.23 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1743 reviews
Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
34.89 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
75.82 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
73.03 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
21.65 USD

Apartment 90.0% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.6%

Overall Rating

192 out of 263 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Brodies 93 Hostel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 160 of 191 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect. Regualar visitor to Edinburgh and have stayed in several hostels there. this one does not deserve the low rating it has

Disliked: not the best but certainly not the worst hostel in Edinburgh. Usual standards if your a backpacker.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 September 2014

Liked: i don't recommend. but, it's cheap

Disliked: soso

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014

Liked: It´s location

Disliked: lack of hygiene, four out of eight showers didn´t work, the kitchen is a mess, matrasses, pillows and blankets were really smelly

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2014

Liked: Edinburgh is an old city yes, but that doesn't mean renovations can't be done inside the building. There was a new mural painted in the hall, but there is no dish washer so you don't know how well dishes have really been cleaned. The toilets were always clogged, there was no hand soap, the carpets are not vaccumed and are VERY dirty. There is a good security system to prevent non guests from coming in the building and rooms, but as far as security and lockers inside the rooms to protect items from other guests, there is nothing, so get a suitcase lock! And the smell... But I mean, you get what you pay for! As long as you spend the whole day out doing stuff, you will really only be there for a few hours to sleep, so for ~13$ a night, I mean it's reasonable!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 August 2014

Liked: It was cheap.

Disliked: It was really cheap - however, I don't think it was worth the price. Bad air & claustrophobic was the worst things about it.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2014

Liked: Veeery friendly staff, perfectly located

Disliked: Extremely small rooms, very hot and Not aerated, Fels like sauna -> sleeping not possible, toilets and showers also like in sauna and also not very clean..

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is the best you can get, thats very good for seightseeing.

Disliked: Unsafe, got my shirt stolen, you have to pay extra for everything - wifi, lockers etc. Walls extremely thin so earplugs are a must. Remember this is not a bargain, you pay little you get extremely little. The whole place needs revitalization, I have stayed in a lot of hostels in eastern europe and asia and this is their level. Definitely not western europe but in the emd I am not compaining. And as for record I stayed in a dorm for 10 people.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014

Liked: The rooms are quite clean, even if there's a slight unpleasant selle from the bed sheets. The hostel is perfectly situated.

Disliked: The place seems to be cheap, but finally tout pay for the internet connection which is not worth It, the signal being weak. I could connect properly only in the morning when it was time to leave. I suppose one can use this card elsewhere but with free wifi everywhere I don't see the point. The staff is not very nice, still helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Holly English

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: The staff couldn't have been better. They were really helpful and were able to answer all our questions.

Disliked: The rooms could have been a little cleaner but they weren't bad. The bathrooms were very clean though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the reception of the staff and the location

Disliked: You have to pay to use the wifi

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: centrally located, helpful staff

Disliked: room was not sound insulated (street noises audible as if window was open)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 January 2014

Liked: The lady at front desk was lovely.

Disliked: Where to begin... At 3 am I woke up thinking I was in a riot (this hostel isn't great if you are tired). Everything in the the hostel is very old, there is an odd smell throughout the building. The smell was very pungent in the shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zdenek Sale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Zdenek would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, airport bus stop near hotel, best location

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic- right on the Royal Mile!

Disliked: Shower doors were very difficult to close and looked like they needed a good scrub.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: no wifi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, the rooms were secured and the staff was really helpful during our stay.

Disliked: The smell in the bathroom was awful. Our flight was delayed and we missed the check in, although we contacted the hostel nobody could be there for us and we waited until the morning to check in and paid the night whatsoever.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

anna maria driva

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013

Liked: only that it is located in the center and it;s easy to approach buses, shopping centers, restaurants etc.

Disliked: the doors were very noisy, the sewage system of the toiletes when flashing was VERY noisy and the walls too Slim so at night when tey are busy it was a torture to fall asleep.There are only 3 toiletes for boys and 3 for girls, whereas they are living more that 30 peopleo every night in there.The room with the showers don't have any window or fresh air so it's full of steam and too filthy in there.The sheets were ripped and finally we paid for an 8person dorm and we were living in a 10person dorm and therefore was too busy...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Cook

Alone

City break
Shopping

18 April 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, fresh bedding and central location

Disliked: A little noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dr. A Moosani.

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Dr. A would recommend this property

Liked: The comfort of the bed and bathroom showers. Location is good on the Royal Mile. Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff members.

Disliked: A few things; no breakfast, no 24 hours reception, no lounge or kitchen use after 12:00 am, no cleaning of the bedroom on a daily basis.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Browne

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay in Edinburgh, we actually stayed at number 12 high street (the 2nd building for the hostel) as we booked a private double room but this was only 50 meters away from the main reception. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The only downside to the trip was the noise from the street below - as the windows were very thin, then again being on the high street that is to be expected.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luuk Arlar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Luuk would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location.

Disliked: Not too clean, basic room price is cheap, but you pay a fee for internet, laundry, lockers etc.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. High accessible location from the main transportation stations such as Waverley Train station and Airport express bus stop which are away from the 5min walk distance 2. Free providing all kitchen stuffs for cooking such as plates, pots, microwave, and kettle. Even they provide free tea and coffee. 3. High accessibility to any convenient store, shops, restaurants and key tour points within walking distance

Disliked: The shower booth cannot be locked.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in Brodies for a gig at the Castle. Location on the Royal Mile was perfect. Would recommend for price and location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012

Liked: The excellent and heartfelt advise we got from several of the people working there. Ask for Paul and Richard if you need help with your itinerary :)

Disliked: There was bad (like moldy) smell in the corridors and bathrooms. The female bathroom didn't have soap for two days. One of the cleaners (not the other) reused the sheets in the bed instead of changing them. Internet was like £6 a day.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: a few plugs in the room