HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Brodies 93 Hostel

Hostel | 93 High St, The Royal Mile, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1SG

76.7% Overall Rating

185 out of 250 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/03/2014)

"The rooms are quite clean, even if there's a slight unpleasant selle from the bed sheets. The hostel is perfectly situated."

Read all Brodies 93 Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

High Street Hostel
18.49 USD

Hostel 89.6% 1445 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
20.71 USD

Hostel 89.3% 366 reviews
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
20.17 USD

Hostel 84.6% 1715 reviews
Edinburgh Metro
36.15 USD

Hostel 85.0% 227 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
66.41 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
75.66 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.81 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
33.62 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

185 out of 250 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Brodies 93 Hostel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 178 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is the best you can get, thats very good for seightseeing.

Disliked: Unsafe, got my shirt stolen, you have to pay extra for everything - wifi, lockers etc. Walls extremely thin so earplugs are a must. Remember this is not a bargain, you pay little you get extremely little. The whole place needs revitalization, I have stayed in a lot of hostels in eastern europe and asia and this is their level. Definitely not western europe but in the emd I am not compaining. And as for record I stayed in a dorm for 10 people.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014

Liked: The rooms are quite clean, even if there's a slight unpleasant selle from the bed sheets. The hostel is perfectly situated.

Disliked: The place seems to be cheap, but finally tout pay for the internet connection which is not worth It, the signal being weak. I could connect properly only in the morning when it was time to leave. I suppose one can use this card elsewhere but with free wifi everywhere I don't see the point. The staff is not very nice, still helpful.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Holly English

With a large group / tour

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: The staff couldn't have been better. They were really helpful and were able to answer all our questions.

Disliked: The rooms could have been a little cleaner but they weren't bad. The bathrooms were very clean though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the reception of the staff and the location

Disliked: You have to pay to use the wifi

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: centrally located, helpful staff

Disliked: room was not sound insulated (street noises audible as if window was open)

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 January 2014

Liked: The lady at front desk was lovely.

Disliked: Where to begin... At 3 am I woke up thinking I was in a riot (this hostel isn't great if you are tired). Everything in the the hostel is very old, there is an odd smell throughout the building. The smell was very pungent in the shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zdenek Sale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2013 Zdenek would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, airport bus stop near hotel, best location

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic- right on the Royal Mile!

Disliked: Shower doors were very difficult to close and looked like they needed a good scrub.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: no wifi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect, the rooms were secured and the staff was really helpful during our stay.

Disliked: The smell in the bathroom was awful. Our flight was delayed and we missed the check in, although we contacted the hostel nobody could be there for us and we waited until the morning to check in and paid the night whatsoever.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

anna maria driva

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013

Liked: only that it is located in the center and it;s easy to approach buses, shopping centers, restaurants etc.

Disliked: the doors were very noisy, the sewage system of the toiletes when flashing was VERY noisy and the walls too Slim so at night when tey are busy it was a torture to fall asleep.There are only 3 toiletes for boys and 3 for girls, whereas they are living more that 30 peopleo every night in there.The room with the showers don't have any window or fresh air so it's full of steam and too filthy in there.The sheets were ripped and finally we paid for an 8person dorm and we were living in a 10person dorm and therefore was too busy...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Cook

Alone

City break
Shopping

18 April 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely, fresh bedding and central location

Disliked: A little noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dr. A Moosani.

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2013 Dr. A would recommend this property

Liked: The comfort of the bed and bathroom showers. Location is good on the Royal Mile. Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff members.

Disliked: A few things; no breakfast, no 24 hours reception, no lounge or kitchen use after 12:00 am, no cleaning of the bedroom on a daily basis.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Browne

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay in Edinburgh, we actually stayed at number 12 high street (the 2nd building for the hostel) as we booked a private double room but this was only 50 meters away from the main reception. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The only downside to the trip was the noise from the street below - as the windows were very thin, then again being on the high street that is to be expected.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Luuk Arlar

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2012 Luuk would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great location.

Disliked: Not too clean, basic room price is cheap, but you pay a fee for internet, laundry, lockers etc.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 1. High accessible location from the main transportation stations such as Waverley Train station and Airport express bus stop which are away from the 5min walk distance 2. Free providing all kitchen stuffs for cooking such as plates, pots, microwave, and kettle. Even they provide free tea and coffee. 3. High accessibility to any convenient store, shops, restaurants and key tour points within walking distance

Disliked: The shower booth cannot be locked.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in Brodies for a gig at the Castle. Location on the Royal Mile was perfect. Would recommend for price and location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012

Liked: The excellent and heartfelt advise we got from several of the people working there. Ask for Paul and Richard if you need help with your itinerary :)

Disliked: There was bad (like moldy) smell in the corridors and bathrooms. The female bathroom didn't have soap for two days. One of the cleaners (not the other) reused the sheets in the bed instead of changing them. Internet was like £6 a day.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: a few plugs in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadege ANDRE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Nadege would recommend this property

Liked: A REAL GREAT STAFF. And a hostel really well located

Disliked: nothing. Everything was fine. truly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Clearness

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: 1 shower didn't work

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 May 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room was tiny and extremely cold.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and it was cheap and the offered free tea.

Disliked: The rooms were a little crowded and dark. The Hostel was quite difficult to find.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a good location.

Disliked: The kitchen is very small, as is the common area. The lockers are not free.