HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Haggis Hostels

Hostel | 5/3 West Register Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH2 2AA

89.5% Overall Rating

51 out of 56 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2013)

john GRAY thinks…

"great staff especially carmen from valenica in spain all the staff were so helpful"

Read all Haggis Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 58.75
  • Luggage Room USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 4.20

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation policy. ‘We usually operate a 48 hours cancellation policy although for special events or group bookings please refer to website. All bookings cancelled more than 48 hours prior to arrival will incur a 10% administration fee or a minimum of £5.00 whichever is the greater. This fee is per booking All bookings cancelled after 48 hours prior to scheduled arrival or no shows will be charged in full.’ group bookings are for 6 person or more. Special events refer to Hogmanay, Festivals, Concerts, Sporting events etc. We do ask that all customers refer to our terms and conditions and House Rules as a matter of course prior to arrival to avoid any misunderstandings and delays to check in or disruption to any guests stay. All terms and conditions are clearly visible on our website. www.haggishostels.co.uk.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Princes Street East Backpackers
18.47 USD

Hostel 78.2% 268 reviews
St James Craig Court
75.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Ballantrae Hotel
39.87 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.9% 11 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh
14.94 USD

Hostel 82.5% 682 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.79 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Regent House Hotel
49.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.3% 38 reviews
ALLGIRLZ (female only hostel)
26.86 USD

Hostel 94.9% 10 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
66.31 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

51 out of 56 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Haggis Hostels'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 46 of 56 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is unbeatable. The beds were ok.

Disliked: The price seems a wee bit too high.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

john GRAY

Alone

City break

30 August 2013 john would recommend this property

Liked: great staff especially carmen from valenica in spain all the staff were so helpful

Disliked: too stuffy in sleeping room could do with air conditioning and more space

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Mixed dorms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christiaan Conradie

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2013 Christiaan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, clean, would stay there again

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nestor Veas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Nestor would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, the service staff is very friendly and helpful and the place is nice tos stay and to be in general.

Disliked: Everything in general was OK, probably the only things were that the lockers weren't very big and you have to pay for them, same thing with the wifi.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Richard Rogler

As a family with children

Family Holiday

20 May 2013

Liked: staff was friendly

Disliked: Stairway entrance was dirty. Bunkroom for 4 was very small. Construction next door was noisey.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pierre Devos

With a large group / tour

City break

13 April 2013 Pierre would recommend this property

Liked: Top location, close to bus stop. Friendliness of staff. Possibility to use the kitchen

Disliked: Pierre left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to stay. Very clean warm and welcoming. I have only good things to say. Great facility's both at the hostel and the city witch is right on the doorstep. The staff we're very helpful and friendly made me feel like I was home. Thank you to all at the Haggis Hostel !!!!!!!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Also free internet access is good.

Disliked: Common area is a bit small.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, special thanks to Robbie who helped with my luggage! :) I'll definately come again if I visit Edinburgh :)

Disliked: The only negative thing I can come up with is the fact that there's only the spiral staircase.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

REDWANUL ISLAM

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 REDWANUL would recommend this property

Liked: co-operation of stuffs

Disliked: they dont have anything that made me think of betterment, so i dont dislike anything about them

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location and nice staffs!

Disliked: Everything is fine, but I met a weird guy in the room all day and he made the room messy and full of strange smells!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Burk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2012 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location, staff where awesome!! Small beds if your over 6 feet so be prepared to curl up a bit! No free wi fi but they make up for it a tad with free breakfast and free computers to use for internet( al real slow!) over all I would stay there anytime right in the heart of the action!!

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 September 2012

Liked: I got a 8er dorm whereas i made a reservation for a 10er. Hostel was generally good. The breakfast was a bit better than expected: they had pancakes next to toast with bread.

Disliked: I booked the hostel because it had a 90% rating. My experience was good, but the rating is too high though. There's hardly any spare place in the rooms, toilet and shower are out of the rooms. Kitchen and lounge could be more vibrant. I felt duped when the staff urged me to buy a ticket for the pub crawl in the hostel where it is more expensive than at the tour itself, where they also take credit card and don't charge you for it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just near the Prince Street, and 4 minutes from the Waverley Station. Very good location. Really nice and helpful staff !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness and the staff were great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andra Gheorghiu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 Andra would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the city centre, anything was reached within 10 minute's walk. Very clean. It's worth the money that, we have to admit, aren't that many. Friendly recommendation from my part.

Disliked: When entering the stairs it doesn't make you feel very confident and safe but once you reach the 3rd floor where it's based you're alright. GPS didn't indicate the exact location and their firm isn't posted in sight. Best thing would be to recommend customers to turn left once they reach the pub, which is very close to the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very nice and in a great location. The staff were awesome, always going out of their way to help you. A few reviews have mentioned the beds are uncomfortable, this is true but the owners are working on fixing that. If you find this all you have to do is mention it to the staff and they'll help you out!

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kam Tong Lek

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Kam Tong would recommend this property

Liked: Ok, good and clean place inside a classic exterior building. Good staff too.

Disliked: Kam Tong left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vidhu Gupta

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 May 2012 Vidhu would recommend this property

Liked: Easy access, very close to Edinburgh Rail Station, just behind Prince's Street. The hostel has an air of friendliness about it including the people in the reception. They were very generous and prepared breakfast for our 4 AM departure.

Disliked: Although the place is close to Edinburgh Rail station, but it's exact street and location make it a bit secluded from the main action in Edinburgh and one has to climb 3 floors via stairs to reach the reception. The bathrooms are a bit small especially the wash basins.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were so friendly and incredibly helpful. The atmosphere was very friendly and welcoming. The haggis meal is definitely worth a try. You can ask them, because I couldn't see any sign. The duvet was very comfortable. The bedroom, toilets, showers and the kitchen were all immaculately clean. The kitchen especially was very well equipped. The location is superb, close to the train station, a supermarket, shops, attractions, everything. The breakfast was simple, but very nice. You also get free coffee, tea and spread all day, which is a nice.

Disliked: As other people have mentioned, the spring mattress and the stairs can be an issue for some.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the City, nice location, good atmosphere

Disliked: Bathroom was alright

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite small and quiet, close to things without being on a main street. Clean

Disliked: Common room is very small. No wifi

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Throne criteria in which Haggis hostel completely exceeded was cleanliness. It was more than just good but sadly I can't give it a higher rating on this site. They check toilet hygiene every four hours with a tick of time sheet pinned to the bathroom door. Very encouraging. The other thing that was off the scale was staff friendliness. They're all legends. Keep up the good work!

Disliked: Minor points really. The entrance isn't very inspiring. It's covered in graffiti and whatnot. At first I was sure I was walking into some dodgy drug den by this turned out to be absolutely false. The hostel itself is lovely inside. Don't judge a book by its cover! The other minor thing was springy mattresses. Really springy mattresses. That is individual sprigs could be felt along my back but this is somewhat the norm for hostels so I wasn't too bothered and slept very well anyway.