HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of City Centre Hostel Apartments

Hostel | 1 Inglis Court, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2JA

70.6% Overall Rating

109 out of 164 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/09/2013)

"The reviews I read before picking City Centre seemed about 50-50. We were SO HAPPY we ending up taking a chance here. The location was fantastic (we could see the castle from our bedroom window) and the nearby bars were…"

Read all City Centre Hostel Apartments reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 50.94
  • Towel USD 5.09

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Please check in between 1pm and 9pm at our Reception at - 13 West Port, Grassmarket which is beside the apartments. IMPORTANT - Check In 1pm - 9pm The hostel has a reception area open from 1pm - 9pm at 13 West Port, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, EH1 2JA. The apartments are located beside the reception. To avoid any problems and delays at check in please contact us in advance to confirm your arrival time so we can arrange for someone to let you into your room. Please text or call contact the hostel manager. IMPORTANT - Check In after 9pm We are only able to accept check ins after 9pm by prior arrangement. Check in's after 9pm require a late arrival fee of £15. If you do not make specific arrangements for a late check in and subsequently do not get into our room. Your credit card will be charged in full.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Kick Ass Hostels
20.38 USD

Hostel 95.0% 46 reviews
Portsburgh Square
42.45 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
The Grassmarket Hotel
104.01 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.5% 12 reviews
Unite-1 Portsburgh Court
72.17 USD

Apartment 87.1% 49 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
73.02 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
Castle Rock Hostel
25.47 USD

Hostel 92.7% 1880 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
101.04 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Budget backpackers
18.68 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1788 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.6%

Overall Rating

109 out of 164 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'City Centre Hostel Apartments'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
58.4%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
68.8%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 124 of 159 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a convenient location and a good size

Disliked: Our particular apartment faced road and was extremely noisy until around 5am

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The reviews I read before picking City Centre seemed about 50-50. We were SO HAPPY we ending up taking a chance here. The location was fantastic (we could see the castle from our bedroom window) and the nearby bars were great. (You get a 20% discount at the a Black Bull bar nearby for staying here. Great food, good atmosphere, wifi.) This location made Edinburgh much more accessible and fun! We only had other tourists to share an apartment with, so that might have made the difference (according to other reviews). The shared bathroom was a bit problematic, but other then that the stay was great!

Disliked: Shared bathroom.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Emil Vanko

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2013

Liked: good location - close to the downtown and nice pubs. Although the hostel was dirty and old, some kind of pleasant character of the building is undeniable (this belongs to building only - not rooms).

Disliked: All mentioned above - dirty, stinky, old rooms and bathrooms, mildew in the bathroom - poorly worth a single pound.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect just half a block from the lovely Grassmarket.

Disliked: The common areas(bathroom and kitchen) were not perfectly clean . And we missed a paperbin and som handsoap at the bathroom. The shower was not working perfectly so we missed an "instruction note" on how to make it work. We were also a bit concerned about fire-safety as the door to our flat (shared with other people) only could be looked from the inside with a key. This resulted in us(and our neghbours) not locking the front door at all.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2013

Liked: The location was great, right behind the castle in central Edinburgh.

Disliked: The door to the apartment was never lockable. We all had keys, but the door wouldn't lock. The lock to our room was shaky in the kind of flimsy door. When we stopped in to the office to discuss the security and toilet paper issues, we waited 10-15 minutes at midmorning and nobody appeared. The room was unbelievably small, with only a bunkbed and a small stand - no mirror even, and no other furniture would have fit in anyway. There were empty bottles under the bed from previous guests. The bathroom was never cleaned during our 2-night stay. Yuk.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 3 person bedroom possible

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The appartment was wonderful, clean and huge. also the owner of the Hostel was a nice guy and also very helpful. I loved my stay in Edinburgh and would recommend it to everybody.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You had your own rooms in an apartment. It was close to grass market and the staff where friendly and helpful too.

Disliked: We had to share the apartment with other people, there was only a tiny bit if toilet paper and no soap. The apartments looked quite shabby. The bedding was quite old and tired. They could of been made to look nicer with a bit if paint, curtains and better bedding. The waste desposal of leaving bin bags on the balcony looks bad. The three bed room apartment would if been better with bunk beds and a single giving room for the table and sofa.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Molins Renter

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

10 July 2013 Molins would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Small rooms. Rooms that you show in photos aren't real.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anja Eriksen

As a family with children

Family Holiday

10 July 2013 Anja would recommend this property

Liked: Basic, but it had what was needed.

Disliked: Window in our room was out towards the street, so we got no sleep what so ever! Cars passing by all night and people yelling outside - incredibly noisy! Also, the bathroom door couldn't open, especially from the inside because the handle didn't work properly. Might be minor things, but for these reasons I can not rate this accommodation vey highly.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Margaret Moore

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: Dirty dirty dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mike Trier

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

25 June 2013 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable; very good value; very friendly staff - one even texted me when I was on the train, asking me when I was arriving.

Disliked: Personally I found it too noisy. But that is the location, not the hostel. It's a function of Edinburgh being very lively, especially at night.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013

Liked: It was close to Edinburgh Castle but so are many other hostels.

Disliked: Dirty carpet, toilet and shower, a smelly stairwell toilet door handle hard to open, kitchen not clean (dishes still sitting on the bench waiting to be put away and rubbish still in the bin). We didn't even get the accommodation we paid for.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Ayham Nahas

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013

Liked: location is convenient

Disliked: We paid 70 pounds for a private room but unfortunately, we would have been better off paying a hotel or a motel for a little bit more than the price. Our room had a water pump and everytime someone used the hot water it would make a horrible noise that woke us up througout the night. For the price we paid for a bunk bed in a hostel, the room should have been much nicer and quieter but was not nor was it that clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff

Disliked: Though inside the apartments were clean, There was alot of garbage on the property parking lotand on the balcony outside some of the apartments. On the last day there was a dead mice right outside our front door bec the garbage on the balcony was not removed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erika Mankute

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff is very good - ready to help in all situations. The location of the hostel is perfect - very near the castle and the city center. If I will decide to come back to the capital if Scotland, I will stay in this hostel again! Guys, thank you for everything!

Disliked: Erika left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Amarjiva LOCHAN

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

11 June 2013 Amarjiva would recommend this property

Liked: The central location nd very cooperative staff! If these two things are missing in any property, other good points of a hotel/hostel becomes useless!

Disliked: The staircase for the shared room/apartment area is very dirty

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joy Telford

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013

Liked: The central locality was the only good thing.

Disliked: The whole situation of being put in an apartment with all the other rooms being occupied by long term people was totally unexepcted and very uncomfortable. Especially as they were slovenly, dirty and resentful of our presence. The bathroom was dirty,stank of mould and the showere leaked, the toilet paper ran out, we couldn't find more and it took 2 days for more to appear. The "de-luxe" bedroom had a shonky lock that didn't always work, had no rubbish bin or mirror, had one bedside lamp that had nobulb and would have been useless anyway since the closest power point was too far away from the one bedside cabinet. The bottom bunk had boards over the top of the springs sellotaped in place!! The living area was very definitely the semi permanant residents area full of their junk and filth and we were made to feel like intruders. The dishes were never done - until we did them because we needed to clear bench space for preparing our own food. There wasn't enough cups, glasses or bowls for the first 2 days. Then finally more appeared (perhaps they were all in the othere resdients bedrooms). I have been hostelling/backpacking for years and this place is most defintely the worst I have been to and the most expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amy miller

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 amy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, comfortable, welcoming. PERFECT location for pubs and clubs and for all the touristy thing on the Royal Mile. Planning on staying again during the fringe. Highly recommend!!

Disliked: amy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendliness of staff and willingness to carry my huge suitcase for me!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Esmira Mamedova

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

20 May 2013 Esmira would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect!!! Location, atmosphere, helpful staff and cleanliness as well. Kitchen equipment as at home. Clean and nice bathroom. Thank you.

Disliked: Esmira left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.