HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Old Schoolhouse Hostel Apartments Edinburgh Hostel

5 Drummond Street, Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 76%

Location 93%

Safety 78%

Staff 91%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 46.83USD
  • Breakfast 9.37USD

Important Information

The hostel does not have a reception area so you are required to email or call the Hostel Manager to make arrangements for check in. Details are provided on your confirmation email. We do have a 24 hour lock box and can accommodate arrivals 24 hours a day.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 76%

Location 93%

Safety 78%

Staff 91%

Value 77%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very dirty bathroom. Smelly

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location was central.

Disliked: The bathroom was very dirty and there was a very bad smell in the corridor.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: On arrival, we were upgraded to an even more central location in Grassmarket, which was extremely convenient. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the flat had a good bathroom and kitchen, with plenty of hot water. The bedroom was a reasonable size with double bed and sofa.

Disliked: The major problem with our bedroom was that one of the windows did not have a blind, which meant we had to construct an arrangement with sofa cushions to ensure privacy and block light. The windows also overlooked a busy street which meant the room was quite noisy from traffic and a pedestrian crossing. This did not bother me particularly but other visitors might find this annoying. Another internal window (with a blind) looked into the kitchen so light and noise came through from other guests. Towels were not provided which I felt was fairly poor at this price and toilet paper was not regularly topped up so ran out. Overall I'm not sure this was value for money, if it had been cheaper I would have felt happier about the lack of facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its location was good! No noise in the room.

Disliked: It was dirty, especially the kitchen and bathroom. Stuff has forgoten give us the keys so as reception is not at the same place we had to go back. Then, they tried give un the room which was painted the day before (in the room we found brushes with painture!). Hopefully, after the key "accident" they didn't insist and gave us another room.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: kitchen O.K.

Disliked: room very small

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The friendiness of the staff, the ENVIABLE location

Disliked: The poor maintenance, the away-located reception. Actually my wife and daughter travelled, for the first time out of my daughter's student hostel, and initially got very very scared, paricularly after a rather tedious bus journey. It was kind of eerie there, they felt. But I Love such places. Please link this to Q 8 below

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Accessibility..

Disliked: Too compact..

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location! Very clean, and a nice place to stay! I recommend the place. the staff was friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: Not much. Everything went smoothly.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location, building itself, having your own appartment (privacy), nice kitchen, friendly staff.

Disliked: Shower could be cleaner.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All the major attractions were walking distance,Edinburgh castle,Royal mile etc.Friendly staff.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability