HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Argyle Backpackers

Hostel | 14 Argyle Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH9 1JL

90.5% Overall Rating

992 out of 1067 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/04/2014)

Matthew Batten-Carew thinks…

"Two well-stocked, comfortable and spacious kitchens, a great place for dining, games, instruments, a free-to-use computer and comfortable living room, and very friendly and helpful staff. TV with…"

Read all Argyle Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception opens from 9am to 10pm. Groups of 4+ people must phone to book. We won't accept bookings made directly on-line. Passport /driving license is required to check in. Guests under 18 y.o. can stay only in a private room with family member who is over 21. Cancellations must be made at least 48h in advance (by 10:30am on your arrival day). IIMPORTANT INFORMATION: -Reception is open from 09.00-22.00 (UK time).Late arrival is possible ONLY by early notice and arrangement. -Passport /driving licence is required to check in -TRIPLE ROOM can be : 3x1single bed or 1double bed +1single bed -A Twin ROOM can be: 2 single beds or a bunk bed -GROUPS OF 4+ PEOPLE MUST PHONE TO BOOK -Any guest under the age of 18 can stay only in a private room with family member who is over 21. -Cancellations must be made at least 48h in advance (by 10:30am on your arrival day) and it must be confirmed by reception via email. NEW YEAR'S EVE booking information on Overview, please read before booking!!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Summer Hostels - Meadowcourt
58.83 USD

Hostel 63.9% 22 reviews
Malone's Old Town Hostel
25.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lady Nicolson Court
84.05 USD

Apartment 87.3% 7 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
72.28 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
Budget backpackers
16.81 USD

Hostel 94.5% 1760 reviews
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
19.92 USD

Hostel 68.6% 285 reviews
STAY Central
50.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 33 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
57.15 USD

Hostel 81.0% 259 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.4%

Overall Rating

993 out of 1068 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Argyle Backpackers'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
95.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 725 of 843 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Humbert

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: clean, hot shower, big kitchen, well situated

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good price and central location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Batten-Carew

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Two well-stocked, comfortable and spacious kitchens, a great place for dining, games, instruments, a free-to-use computer and comfortable living room, and very friendly and helpful staff. TV with free-view in the private rooms, very nice upholstery and carpets, and general nice feel to the room. It was also a great walk through the Meadows into town, and interesting and useful shops were on Argyle Place and just up the street (e.g. charity shops, a Co-op, other grocery stores including an organic food mart, and a delicatessen close by). Also! Summerhall just down the road. Much epic. Such science. Wow.

Disliked: Nothing! It was awesome.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Roode

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 March 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: very neat, clean and tidy. nice place and I would gladly stay again

Disliked: not much to say really. I did find the front door unlocked once or twice late at night, which I thought was slightly unsafe. but apart from that, it's a lovely place

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Javier Alcalde

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 March 2014 Javier would recommend this property

Liked: staff, location, bedroom

Disliked: neighbours. We were in room 17. In room 16 both nights there were very impolite, rude, possibly drunk people who had too much fun during the night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the kitchen facilities good. Having two kitchens really reduces the dinner time congestion. There was always enough space to cook. I liked having an all girls room. The carpets in the room reduced the noise of people going in and out. In the living room the sofas are normal and comfortable and a decent TV.

Disliked: Outdoor shoes going inside. About 90% of people will have traces of poo on their shoes. Then it gets walked into the carpet. The living room was cold in the evenings. Not having a separate toilet from showers, if you just need to use the toilet, especially in the morning, there is a big chance that you have to wait ages if people are showering.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a quiet location, easily found and a direct walk from the centre.

Disliked: Reception closes from 8/9pm - 9am, so there is nobody around should you have a query. A phone number is provided only in case of real emergency. On our first night, we returned to our room at 9pm, to find that the radiator was not working properly. It was freezing, and there was only spare bed in our dorm from which we could steal a duvet. When reported the next day however, we were issued with a heater and extra duvets, which were lovely and warm!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was really nice here.

Disliked: Was a little out of the way compared to other accommodation, and staff not available 24 hours but otherwise fantastic!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Teresa Berg

Alone

Events / festivals

18 January 2014 Teresa would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful staff with great understanding of people's needs.Beautiful clean organised kitchen,and warm rooms

Disliked: Teresa left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels very homely, which is a real plus and the wifi is brilliant

Disliked: nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and location.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was super comfortable. The flat screen tvs in every room with cable were a nice touch as well.

Disliked: The bathroom could have been a little cleaner- but I have high standards for cleanliness.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very homey feeling. Amazing kitchen space and common areas. Really helpful and friendly staff. Plenty of space in 4 bed female room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet. Nice location away from the city centre. Very well looked after and comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing really.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beatriz Corral Millan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

13 November 2013 Beatriz would recommend this property

Liked: The staff there is amazing: we arrived at Edinburgh at 7am, so I contacted them to see if we could leave our luggage somewhere before the check-in. When we arrived there, we had a paper note on the door with our name written, and all the instructions to access our room. It was so nice and kind! We could go into the cousy room and sleep for a couple of hours before going out and of course, chek-in! The rest of the services are very good too, I'd highly recommend it.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Grant

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cozy and the rooms were big. It felt more like a bedroom than a dorm :)

Disliked: Natasha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

11 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, lovely double room with sink, television and safe. Shared bathroom and kitchen facilities were clean and well equipped.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stewart cowie

Alone

Business / conference

11 October 2013 stewart would recommend this property

Liked: Great place,, enjoyed my stay. Best value that you would find in EDinburgh:-) 5 star

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Hannah

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great building in a good location. Lovely kitchen facilities and a good vibe.

Disliked: We didn't have any issues.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Denysiak

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2013 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great stairs, comfy beds, friendly staff. I had to check in late, and they were very understanding, and gave me instructions on how to fetch the key etc. I would stay here again, pretty much all you need from a hostel!

Disliked: Not a hostel for partying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

devayangini verma

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 October 2013 devayangini would recommend this property

Liked: excellent place.. caretakers very friendly and helpful

Disliked: devayangini left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph El-Sheikha

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 October 2013 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: location is good, clean, safe and secure

Disliked: no this property is very good

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

29 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: the kitchen has not enough room to store your stuff

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tidy. House has a lot of character. Lots of services (kitchen, bathroom, lounge, garden) available.

Disliked: Long walk to main bus route.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location, nice rooms and well equipped kitchens.

Disliked: Staff could be more friendly