We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Argyle Backpackers

Hostel | 14 Argyle Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH9 1JL

84.1% Overall Rating

1038 out of 1116 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

"Staff we're very friendly on check in and check out. The whole place was quiet and clean, and the location is absolutely perfect for the Festival. Just a short walk across the meadows and you're in the heart of…"

Read all Argyle Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception opens from 9am to 10pm. Groups of 4+ people must phone to book. We won't accept bookings made directly on-line. Passport /driving license is required to check in. Guests under 18 y.o. can stay only in a private room with family member who is over 21. Cancellations must be made at least 48h in advance (by 10:30am on your arrival day). IMPORTANT INFORMATION: -Reception is open from 09.00-22.00 (UK time). - Our check-in time is 2pm - 10pm. PLEASE LET US KNOW IN ADVANCE IF YOU ARRIVE AFTER 11PM. If you fail to give us notice we will not check you in and will charge you for the first night. -Passport /driving licence is required to check in -GROUPS OF 4+ PEOPLE MUST PHONE TO BOOK, otherwise we won't accept the online booking and the deposit paid online will not be refunded. -Cancellations must be made at least 48h in advance (by 10:30am on your arrival day) and it must be confirmed by reception via email. -A TRIPLE ROOM can be: 3 x 1single bed or 1double bed + 1single bed -A Twin ROOM can be: 2 single beds or a bunk bed -Any guest under the age of 18 can stay only in a private room with family member who is over 21. -There is a charge of 1.2% for the use of credit/debit card (there is an ATM just around the corner form the hostel) You will be charged £10 (in cash) as a deposit for the room key, refundable upon check-out. Please remember to bring your Passport, Photo ID or Driving License in order for your check in (UK residents too). IMPORTANT information for AUGUST: You will be charged a non-refundable deposit for the first night shortly after you've made the booking on-line (This is the remaining 90% of the price for the first night; please note this charge is not what you are paying online at the moment of booking, but will be incurred afterwards). The other nights can be cancelled, however 72h notice must be given. In the case of no show up, you will be charged for the whole stay. There is a MINIMUM OF 3 NIGHTS stay from 5th to 27th August (exceptions could be made if there are gaps between the bookings). PLEASE CONTACT THE HOSTEL DIRECTLY IF YOU HAVE FURTHER ENQUIRIES. IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR THE NEW YEAR: There is a MINIMUM OF 3 NIGHTS stay required during New Years and we don't accept any cancellation after 19th November. Your c/c will be charged the outstanding amount shortly after the booking was made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Summer Hostels - Meadowcourt
56.99 USD

Hostel 63.9% 22 reviews
Malone's Old Town Hostel
24.43 USD

Hostel 92.7% 7 reviews
Lady Nicolson Court
81.42 USD

Apartment 87.3% 7 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
70.02 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
19.30 USD

Hostel 72.8% 292 reviews
Budget backpackers
16.28 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1808 reviews
STAY Central
74.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 33 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
55.37 USD

Hostel 84.2% 282 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

1038 out of 1116 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Argyle Backpackers'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 758 of 891 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 September 2014

Liked: within my price bracket , single room and location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean room.

Disliked: Door handle on room door was a bit hard to lock. Sign on bathroom door says to only use the bathrooms on ground floor between 11:30pm and 7:30am but does not detail why so this restriction seemed unnecessary.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014

Liked: It was close to the centre of the city

Disliked: The cleanliness was awful.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Blair

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

17 August 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very helpful and the room is exactly as I expected it to be.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff we're very friendly on check in and check out. The whole place was quiet and clean, and the location is absolutely perfect for the Festival. Just a short walk across the meadows and you're in the heart of everything.

Disliked: The room doors were tricky to lock. But the safe's in the rooms are secure so felt confident in leaving my stuff while out during the day.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy--just two houses turned into one, just south of the Meadows. Two kitchens, garden, conservatory, and very friendly staff. I had a very relaxing time and will book here again next time I'm in Edinburgh.

Disliked: Nothing really.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was surprisingly quiet, and a cozy layed-back atmosphere. Access to kitchens is great. Nice surprise was to fing a double bed, not bunks in our private room... it was not mentioned on the site.

Disliked: The only detail which was understandable but frustrating when staying on the 3rd floor, was to have to use the Groung floor WC after 11:30pm... for noise reasons of course. And the confort of the bed was far from great, the mattress was quite lumpy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hazel Hay

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Hazel would recommend this property

Liked: It had a homely feel with a comfy living room, two excellent kitchens and a lovely outside courtyards.

Disliked: Limited number of showers......could be a problem...although in fairness it wasn't when I was there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the twin room - the beds were comfy and it had a decent TV. Even though we stayed on a Saturday night, it wasn't very noisy. The dining area in the conservatory was good, as was the garden. We arrived late and they made it very easy for us to do this. Loved the location - right next to the meadows, nice area, loads of cafés etc nearby and a short pleasant walk into town and to Arthur's seat.

Disliked: Generally good comfy hostel, but one of the showers was cold, and toilet roll ran out in the evenings.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pleasant terrace/garden, friendly atmosphere, rooms with fewer beds, convenient food shopping very nearby, quiet yet convenient neighborhood.

Disliked: The bathroom near my room could have been in better working order. There was no hot water there. But there were other bathrooms to use.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

18 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. The location was also quite good - a 10 min walk from the old town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bonnie Cowan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2014 Bonnie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a lovely warm feeling to it, with a delightful outdoor seating area. Being slightly out of the city (a 20 minute walk) meant that it was quiet and filled with friendly travellers.

Disliked: The showers were a little chilly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mikyla horne

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 mikyla would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were good, kitchen was big and well equipped and the dorm rooms were huge.

Disliked: Not enough toilets and showers.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Le personnel était accueillant.

Disliked: Ne convient pas à des familles car il n'y a que des lits superposés.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, nice outdoor area to enjoy the sun. And quiet atmosphere

Disliked: Was a bit far from central Edinburgh, about a 20 minute walk.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the facilities.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Barlow

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2014 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: The location was ideal and it was quiet.

Disliked: Jacqueline left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tadas Medelis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 May 2014 Tadas would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect Hotel! Wery nearly Edinburgh Old Town - cross park, max 5min. Friendly staff. Garden - we not used, but fun ;). Nearly Train station -~15 min walk. Wifi free! Lovely place. Promise, if we going back to Edinburgh we stay in this hotel! :)

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rachel Reid

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a really nice area, not too far from the centre of the city and with some shops and cafes nearby. The building itself is lovely with a big clean kitchen and clean bathrooms. I also liked the curved staircase and sloped roof at the top!

Disliked: At one point the staff member wasn't at the desk and didn't seem that confident, but generally staff were friendly and helpful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was so good, and the room was perfect.

Disliked: The guy in te reception was a bit weird, he barely talked to us and made us feel a bit uncomfortable.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: probably location, and relatively cheap on comparison. Dorms had good space and not over crowded

Disliked: the matress, could feel the metal springs which meant not the best sleep was had and also the metal bunkbeds meant that as soon as the person on the top moved or turned it was really noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the first time I'd stayed at Argyle Backpackers, and I was very pleasantly surprised. There had been an issue with my reservation (on my end, not theirs), but they were very accommodating nonetheless and I had a fantastic stay. Unlike many of the hostels in Edinburgh, this one is on the far side of the university from the High Street, and therefore far from all the loud nights that are so common, even during the week. Subsequently, it also feels a lot safer, even for a girl traveling alone. The staff is extremely helpful and nice, and the facilities are very clean, especially compared to many other hostels I've stayed at. I will absolutely be staying here again next trip.

Disliked: N/a, property was neat, clean, and a great location.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise Kealaher

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2014 Louise would recommend this property

Liked: The homely atmosphere and the facilities provided, including free tea and coffee.

Disliked: It could be very creaky as it is an older house, but not too bad that you couldn't sleep

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clare Bonsall

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2014 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were warm, welcoming, and very professional and efficient - very valuable assets when in the service of tired travelers, and the accommodations were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The kitchens were lovely and gave the place a homey feel - they were clean and bright and inviting.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Krott

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty nice are the personal in the hostel. Very helpful and nice. The Room was really good.

Disliked: everything was nice!