We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Argyle Backpackers

Hostel | 14 Argyle Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH9 1JL

87.1% Overall Rating

1067 out of 1148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/06/2015)

Brian posslenzny thinks…

"This hostel is great. It's very clean, and surprisingly cozy for having a number of rooms. Bathrooms and kitchen were always clean. The staff is wonderful and helpful. The lounge is nice and there's…"

Read all Argyle Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception opens from 9am to 10pm. Groups of 4+ people must phone to book. We won't accept bookings made directly on-line. Passport /driving license is required to check in. Guests under 18 y.o. can stay only in a private room with family member who is over 21. Cancellations must be made at least 48h in advance (by 10:30am on your arrival day). IMPORTANT INFORMATION: -Reception is open from 09.00-22.00 (UK time). - Our check-in time is 2pm - 10pm. PLEASE LET US KNOW IN ADVANCE IF YOU ARRIVE AFTER 11PM. If you fail to give us notice we will not check you in and will charge you for the first night. -Passport /driving licence is required to check in -GROUPS OF 4+ PEOPLE MUST PHONE TO BOOK, otherwise we won't accept the online booking and the deposit paid online will not be refunded. -Cancellations must be made at least 48h in advance (by 10:30am on your arrival day) and it must be confirmed by reception via email. -A TRIPLE ROOM can be: 3 x 1single bed or 1double bed + 1single bed -A Twin ROOM can be: 2 single beds or a bunk bed -Any guest under the age of 18 can stay only in a private room with family member who is over 21. -There is a charge of 1.2% for the use of credit/debit card (there is an ATM just around the corner form the hostel) You will be charged £10 (in cash) as a deposit for the room key, refundable upon check-out. Please remember to bring your Passport, Photo ID or Driving License in order for your check in (UK residents too). IMPORTANT information for AUGUST: You will be charged a non-refundable deposit for the first night shortly after you've made the booking on-line (This is the remaining 90% of the price for the first night; please note this charge is not what you are paying online at the moment of booking, but will be incurred afterwards). The other nights can be cancelled, however 72h notice must be given. In the case of no show up, you will be charged for the whole stay. There is a MINIMUM OF 3 NIGHTS stay from 5th to 27th August (exceptions could be made if there are gaps between the bookings). PLEASE CONTACT THE HOSTEL DIRECTLY IF YOU HAVE FURTHER ENQUIRIES. IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR THE NEW YEAR: There is a MINIMUM OF 3 NIGHTS stay required during New Years and we don't accept any cancellation after 19th November. Your c/c will be charged the outstanding amount shortly after the booking was made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Malone's Old Town Hostel
15.61 USD

Hostel 91.6% 15 reviews
Lady Nicolson Court
78.03 USD

Apartment 87.3% 7 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
67.10 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
20.29 USD

Hostel 72.7% 297 reviews
Budget backpackers
14.04 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1834 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
40.57 USD

Hostel 86.9% 285 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
17.17 USD

Hostel 91.8% 104 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
70.22 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

1067 out of 1148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Argyle Backpackers'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 784 of 921 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice quite place, not far from the centre of the city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian posslenzny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great. It's very clean, and surprisingly cozy for having a number of rooms. Bathrooms and kitchen were always clean. The staff is wonderful and helpful. The lounge is nice and there's a computer you can use. They also have a piano and multiple guitars to use.

Disliked: My only gripes are that its a little walk to the city center. And their wifi was sketchy, although they said they were fixing it and I believe them. Very nice stay and would recommend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Soerensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2015 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best hostel I've ever been. So beautiful and comfy! The staff is really cool and the rooms are big and clean, it's close enough to the center of Edinburgh (15min walk) and right beside Meadows Park. I am definitely staying in Argyle Backpackers again next time.

Disliked: I think it would'n kill to have a bigger locker in the room, but it's pretty safe and you can keep bagage with the staff if you need, so it's no problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean, comfortable, relaxed friendly hostel.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: flexibility

Disliked: the midnight fire alarm

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 May 2015

Liked: Small hand towel provided in shower rooms.

Disliked: Poor to nil Wifi. Fire alarm went off 9 times on first night. Staff said it was due to dust on sensor, not smoke. Sink in shower room taped off out of order. No toilet paper in toilets. Open sanitory buckets. Shower rooms mouldy and in need of repair. Key to bedroom would not lock door on leaving room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

erdem eroglu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2015 erdem would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite good ,they re warm and friendly

Disliked: It s a bit insecure

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the whole athmosphere in this hostel. The staff was nice and always willing to help. I got a free towel and also a hairdryer. The showers and toilets were always clean and also the room. Furthermore I liked the locker in the room, because not ever hostel I was in before had one. The location is cool. It's not far from the city centre but it's a quiet area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patrick Donoghue

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 May 2015 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: I think this place really ticked all the boxes - it was absolutely ideal for me. I was staying here whilst studying in Edinburgh for 4 weeks. A big thank you to all the staff.

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is very clean and well cared for, with friendly and helpful staff. It's in a great area, little bit out of the city centre but love being by the Meadows. It's got a great atmosphere but is very homely at the same time.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Erliz

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, lovely hostel will definitely book again.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though it wasnt very central it was located ated in a lovely area.

Disliked: Room was not ready for ages and door did not lock or open easily

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2015 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The location, just away from the City Centre but a really pleasant walk to it. The place was clean and the staff always helpful

Disliked: The room was a bit small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Argyle Backpacker's is in a great location. The walk to the city center doesn't take very long, and takes you through a beautiful park on the way. The quieter area makes sleep easier at night. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. We had a great stay!

Disliked: The hot water was a bit of an issue. The shower never got above lukewarm. Everything else was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Stewart

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 March 2015 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, and suitably comfortable for the price. Quiet, with friendly staff available to offer advice or aid as required. A small taxi ride to Princes Street. All in all for a short stay on a budget, perfect.

Disliked: Kyle left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Skye Cragg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015 Skye would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff, spacious

Disliked: They were doing testing of the fire alarm at 11pm. Seems very late to try it out. Shower on the bottom floor didn't have hot water

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Thomas

Alone

Business / conference

10 February 2015 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable hostel, wonderful house and well taken care of. Staff were incredibly helpful, this is probably the best hostel I've stayed in in Edinburgh.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price and the fact that I could have a room to myself

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Laing

Alone

Events / festivals

26 January 2015 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and comfortable plus it was only 15-20 min walk from town centre

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place to stay, very clean and friendly. The building itself has lots of character. They have a lot of respect for people sleeping at night. Would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Roemer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: what you probably notice first is how clean it is, everywhere - from kitchen to bathrooms, to the rooms and common area. my phone fell behind the couch once and it was even clean there. of course there are more central locations but since Edinburgh isn't that huge it is still conveniently located. the bus stop for services to the airport is approx a 10min walk away. we also thought that it had a great atmosphere and would definitely come back.

Disliked: the only thing coming to my mind is that the check in was a little chaotic. however I wouldn't be too surprised if someone called in sick (it was January 1) and they were simply a bit understaffed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were clean.

Disliked: Even though I had called and e-mailed to confirm that my friend would be paying her half when she arrived at the hostel, and I would pay my half of the stay when I arrived, I was told this was fine, my friend was still asked to pay for my amount. There needs to be better communication between staff members. The wifi was difficult to get on my computer.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy hassle free check-in

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Tate

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great welcome and atmosphere, lovely building and beds.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.