We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Argyle Backpackers

Hostel | 14 Argyle Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH9 1JL

88.1% Overall Rating

1075 out of 1156 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

Serguey Maximov thinks…

"The ambient was really good. The kitchen was clean and well organized. They had good tips for visiting the city. The best was the area outside the kitchen, when you can stay to work and some time…"

Read all Argyle Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

Reception opens from 9am to 10pm. Groups of 4+ people must phone to book. We won't accept bookings made directly on-line. Passport /driving license is required to check in. Guests under 18 y.o. can stay only in a private room with family member who is over 21. Cancellations must be made at least 48h in advance (by 10:30am on your arrival day). IMPORTANT INFORMATION: -Reception is open from 09.00-22.00 (UK time). - Our check-in time is 2pm - 10pm. PLEASE LET US KNOW IN ADVANCE IF YOU ARRIVE AFTER 11PM. If you fail to give us notice we will not check you in and will charge you for the first night. -Passport /driving licence is required to check in -GROUPS OF 4+ PEOPLE MUST PHONE TO BOOK, otherwise we won't accept the online booking and the deposit paid online will not be refunded. -Cancellations must be made at least 48h in advance (by 10:30am on your arrival day) and it must be confirmed by reception via email. -A TRIPLE ROOM can be: 3 x 1single bed or 1double bed + 1single bed -A Twin ROOM can be: 2 single beds or a bunk bed -Any guest under the age of 18 can stay only in a private room with family member who is over 21. -There is a charge of 1.2% for the use of credit/debit card (there is an ATM just around the corner form the hostel) You will be charged £10 (in cash) as a deposit for the room key, refundable upon check-out. Please remember to bring your Passport, Photo ID or Driving License in order for your check in (UK residents too). IMPORTANT information for AUGUST: You will be charged a non-refundable deposit for the first night shortly after you've made the booking on-line (This is the remaining 90% of the price for the first night; please note this charge is not what you are paying online at the moment of booking, but will be incurred afterwards). The other nights can be cancelled, however 72h notice must be given. In the case of no show up, you will be charged for the whole stay. There is a MINIMUM OF 3 NIGHTS stay from 5th to 27th August (exceptions could be made if there are gaps between the bookings). PLEASE CONTACT THE HOSTEL DIRECTLY IF YOU HAVE FURTHER ENQUIRIES. IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR THE NEW YEAR: There is a MINIMUM OF 3 NIGHTS stay required during New Years and we don't accept any cancellation after 19th November. Your c/c will be charged the outstanding amount shortly after the booking was made.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Malone's Old Town Hostel
18.48 USD

Hostel 91.6% 15 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
66.22 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
18.25 USD

Hostel 73.4% 299 reviews
Budget backpackers
15.40 USD

Hostel 91.1% 1848 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
52.36 USD

Hostel 83.2% 295 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
15.40 USD

Hostel 89.6% 113 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
69.29 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
30.80 USD

Apartment 88.6% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

1075 out of 1156 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Argyle Backpackers'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 789 of 929 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serguey Maximov

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 August 2015 Serguey would recommend this property

Liked: The ambient was really good. The kitchen was clean and well organized. They had good tips for visiting the city. The best was the area outside the kitchen, when you can stay to work and some time listen some music because there is a piano and several guitars you can use.

Disliked: The internet worked randomly in oru room, so we had to go to the common room to read or emails and work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrzej Gordon

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2015 Andrzej would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location, cleanliness, friendly atmosphere and affordable price is what I expected and I found

Disliked: Andrzej left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quieter location, good quality bathroom facilities, safe, secure and friendly

Disliked: Quality of beds is poor

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliest receptionst ever!!! Even though we had so many questions she tried to help wherever she could. Kitchens were very clean and provided with free coffee and tea. I especially loved the athmosphere.

Disliked: Wifi was not the best but okay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice, quiet, not far from centre. The best thing is free ground coffee

Disliked: the room where we stayed isn't that spacious

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice quite place, not far from the centre of the city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brian posslenzny

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2015 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great. It's very clean, and surprisingly cozy for having a number of rooms. Bathrooms and kitchen were always clean. The staff is wonderful and helpful. The lounge is nice and there's a computer you can use. They also have a piano and multiple guitars to use.

Disliked: My only gripes are that its a little walk to the city center. And their wifi was sketchy, although they said they were fixing it and I believe them. Very nice stay and would recommend.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Soerensen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 June 2015 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: It's the best hostel I've ever been. So beautiful and comfy! The staff is really cool and the rooms are big and clean, it's close enough to the center of Edinburgh (15min walk) and right beside Meadows Park. I am definitely staying in Argyle Backpackers again next time.

Disliked: I think it would'n kill to have a bigger locker in the room, but it's pretty safe and you can keep bagage with the staff if you need, so it's no problem.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean, comfortable, relaxed friendly hostel.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: flexibility

Disliked: the midnight fire alarm

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 May 2015

Liked: Small hand towel provided in shower rooms.

Disliked: Poor to nil Wifi. Fire alarm went off 9 times on first night. Staff said it was due to dust on sensor, not smoke. Sink in shower room taped off out of order. No toilet paper in toilets. Open sanitory buckets. Shower rooms mouldy and in need of repair. Key to bedroom would not lock door on leaving room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

erdem eroglu

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2015 erdem would recommend this property

Liked: It was quite good ,they re warm and friendly

Disliked: It s a bit insecure

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the whole athmosphere in this hostel. The staff was nice and always willing to help. I got a free towel and also a hairdryer. The showers and toilets were always clean and also the room. Furthermore I liked the locker in the room, because not ever hostel I was in before had one. The location is cool. It's not far from the city centre but it's a quiet area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patrick Donoghue

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 May 2015 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: I think this place really ticked all the boxes - it was absolutely ideal for me. I was staying here whilst studying in Edinburgh for 4 weeks. A big thank you to all the staff.

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is very clean and well cared for, with friendly and helpful staff. It's in a great area, little bit out of the city centre but love being by the Meadows. It's got a great atmosphere but is very homely at the same time.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Erliz

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely staff, lovely hostel will definitely book again.

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Even though it wasnt very central it was located ated in a lovely area.

Disliked: Room was not ready for ages and door did not lock or open easily

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Atkinson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2015 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: The location, just away from the City Centre but a really pleasant walk to it. The place was clean and the staff always helpful

Disliked: The room was a bit small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Argyle Backpacker's is in a great location. The walk to the city center doesn't take very long, and takes you through a beautiful park on the way. The quieter area makes sleep easier at night. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. We had a great stay!

Disliked: The hot water was a bit of an issue. The shower never got above lukewarm. Everything else was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kyle Stewart

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 March 2015 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, and suitably comfortable for the price. Quiet, with friendly staff available to offer advice or aid as required. A small taxi ride to Princes Street. All in all for a short stay on a budget, perfect.

Disliked: Kyle left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Skye Cragg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2015 Skye would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff, spacious

Disliked: They were doing testing of the fire alarm at 11pm. Seems very late to try it out. Shower on the bottom floor didn't have hot water

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Thomas

Alone

Business / conference

10 February 2015 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable hostel, wonderful house and well taken care of. Staff were incredibly helpful, this is probably the best hostel I've stayed in in Edinburgh.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price and the fact that I could have a room to myself

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eric Laing

Alone

Events / festivals

26 January 2015 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and comfortable plus it was only 15-20 min walk from town centre

Disliked: nothing