HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Unite 2- McDonald Road

Apartment | 6 McDonald Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH7 4GT

79.3% Overall Rating

32 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"Walking distance from Waverley Station. Quiet. Kitchen facilities. Good price for August when the city is very busy."

Read all Unite 2- McDonald Road reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Credit card surcharge 2%. Cancellation policy is 5 days, within that period 100% of the first night will be charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh House Hotel
19.80 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.4% 84 reviews
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
29.13 USD

Hostel 84.2% 360 reviews
Newly refurbished flat city center
48.69 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Regent House Hotel
34.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.3% 38 reviews
Caravel Guest House
40.57 USD

Guesthouse 90.0% 4 reviews
Summer Hostels - Beaverbank
0.02 USD

Hostel 79.1% 52 reviews
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
77.90 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Ballantrae Hotel
52.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.9% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

32 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Unite 2- McDonald Road'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 35 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lucy Eyers

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 August 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Own kitchen came in useful

Disliked: Shower was a little small, had to wait half an hour for security to let us in. Were only given their number by ringing in advance during the day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance from Waverley Station. Quiet. Kitchen facilities. Good price for August when the city is very busy.

Disliked: Strict 2pm check-in (we arrived at 1:15pm and were made to wait after a long journey).

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The bed was slightly uncomfortable

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kim Kuwertz

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: very convenient and very close to a supermarket.

Disliked: no grill pan so I could not use the grill.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great studio with lots of storage space and a kitchen, quiet at night but close nough to some pubs and restaurants f you wanted some nightlife.

Disliked: The kitchen could have more saucepans etc and the reception hours are 10am to 10pm so very early or late check in you need to be aware that you ring security and might wait 20mins for them to arrive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zeljko Radic

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Zeljko would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious, quiet, comfortable. Will they to book next time I'm in Edinburgh.

Disliked: Everything was great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i liked the room.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a small ensuite kitchen, perfect for cooking on a budget, and the location was fantastic.

Disliked: Although there was a kitchen, it would have done with a few basic essentials such as some oil for cooking and some washing up liquid! These are things we would not buy as we were only staying for 2 days.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, studio apartment was good so we could make our own breakfast!

Disliked: A little bit of a walk to the fringe areas but Alrite if u don't mind walking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's only 10 minute walk to centre centre & old town and there are also many interesting shops, pubs and restaurants on the way. The location was easy to reach and I felt safe even walking alone in the middle of the night. With the key card you can come and go as you like. Room was clean and quite modest, but honestly, you don't really spent that much time sitting at your hotel room anyway, so it was perfect for my needs. Shower & toilet were clean and the shared kitchen & livingroom were also clean and spacious. Kitchen had all the bacis equipments and there were grocery stores right next to the hotel.

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2010

Liked: The property is very safe and secure. And the view of the town from the kitchen area is also fairly good.

Disliked: The property is about 15 mins walk from the Waverly Station, so a little far in terms of accessibility. Also the washrooms have just enough room to stretch about 1 arm at a time:), kind of small for a big person like me. Also there has to be a specific instruction that the rooms do not get locked automatically unlike other hotels, you have to use your swipe card to lock the rooms as well- this has to be mentioned in particular as most of the inhabitants think otherwise.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double room and it was spacious and clean. The staff were helpful.

Disliked: It's a bit far away from the old town.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Terrible bed, shower didn't Work properly not the nicest room for 100quid

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Que tenía cocina

Disliked: La cama (el colchón estaba bastante malo) y algunos detalles de limpieza (por ejemplo, en la nevera había comida dejada por otro huésped, al parecer, hace bastante tiempo).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robin Bartlett

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

09 August 2010 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Private, affordable and easy.

Disliked: Someone came to view the room while we were staying in it by accident so staff were a little disorganised!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was spacious and clean and included most things we needed.

Disliked: Things like a dish cloth, soap, and a second towel would have been nice, but we made due. The location was a bit out of the way, but not unreasonably so. With all of the fringe activities going on, the quiet was nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: TV channels are good. Kitchen is clean and well stocked.

Disliked: No real complaints but the bed is very lumpy. You can feel every spring in the mattress.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Frinedly staff, recommended restaurants and let us check in early cos the room was free!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

19 September 2009

Liked: Almost every thing was good, except the small size (for two people) and the quality of the matress. You could feel the internal structure of the matress in all your bones!!! We asked to change the matress, but at the reception they told us that it was not possible. And also It was difficult to sleep because the noise of the fridge was rather high.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Gardner

24 August 2009 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely good value and perfect for a short break. Room was spacious and had good facilities including a very good shower and it's own kitchen.The member of staff we had contact with was extremely helpful and we were able to check in early!Excellent.

Disliked: Sally left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location and everything I needed just to crash during the festival.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was quite nice (despite the noisy fridge) and pretty cheap. Don't expect too much for that little money, but if you want to keep some change for sightseeing or local ales, it's worth staying here. Nevertheless I would prefer staying in the Old Town next time, it took about 25 minutes to walk there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very clean, private and secure place to stay. It's a bargain.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The studio apartment was ideal for myself and my friend, we had our own space and could eat, sleep and come and go as we liked. Very good value for money considering the property is so new and modern. It was only about 15-20 min walk from Princes Street and at night the taxi fare from anywhere back to the complex was never more than £5. We will definatly be returning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.