HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Unite 2- McDonald Road

Apartment | 6 McDonald Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH7 4GT

79.3% Overall Rating

24 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/09/2012)

"There was a small ensuite kitchen, perfect for cooking on a budget, and the location was fantastic."

Read all Unite 2- McDonald Road reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Credit card surcharge 2%. Cancellation policy is 5 days, within that period 100% of the first night will be charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh House Hotel
35.16 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.4% 84 reviews
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
45.23 USD

Hostel 85.5% 356 reviews
Newly refurbished flat city center
59.74 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Regent House Hotel
50.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.3% 38 reviews
Caravel Guest House
51.20 USD

Guesthouse 86.7% 3 reviews
Summer Hostels - Beaverbank
0.02 USD

Hostel 79.1% 52 reviews
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
81.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
St James Craig Court
76.80 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.3%

Overall Rating

24 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Unite 2- McDonald Road'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a small ensuite kitchen, perfect for cooking on a budget, and the location was fantastic.

Disliked: Although there was a kitchen, it would have done with a few basic essentials such as some oil for cooking and some washing up liquid! These are things we would not buy as we were only staying for 2 days.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, studio apartment was good so we could make our own breakfast!

Disliked: A little bit of a walk to the fringe areas but Alrite if u don't mind walking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's only 10 minute walk to centre centre & old town and there are also many interesting shops, pubs and restaurants on the way. The location was easy to reach and I felt safe even walking alone in the middle of the night. With the key card you can come and go as you like. Room was clean and quite modest, but honestly, you don't really spent that much time sitting at your hotel room anyway, so it was perfect for my needs. Shower & toilet were clean and the shared kitchen & livingroom were also clean and spacious. Kitchen had all the bacis equipments and there were grocery stores right next to the hotel.

Disliked: I have nothing bad to say.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2010

Liked: The property is very safe and secure. And the view of the town from the kitchen area is also fairly good.

Disliked: The property is about 15 mins walk from the Waverly Station, so a little far in terms of accessibility. Also the washrooms have just enough room to stretch about 1 arm at a time:), kind of small for a big person like me. Also there has to be a specific instruction that the rooms do not get locked automatically unlike other hotels, you have to use your swipe card to lock the rooms as well- this has to be mentioned in particular as most of the inhabitants think otherwise.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a private double room and it was spacious and clean. The staff were helpful.

Disliked: It's a bit far away from the old town.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Terrible bed, shower didn't Work properly not the nicest room for 100quid

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

14 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Que tenía cocina

Disliked: La cama (el colchón estaba bastante malo) y algunos detalles de limpieza (por ejemplo, en la nevera había comida dejada por otro huésped, al parecer, hace bastante tiempo).

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robin Bartlett

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

09 August 2010 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: Private, affordable and easy.

Disliked: Someone came to view the room while we were staying in it by accident so staff were a little disorganised!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was spacious and clean and included most things we needed.

Disliked: Things like a dish cloth, soap, and a second towel would have been nice, but we made due. The location was a bit out of the way, but not unreasonably so. With all of the fringe activities going on, the quiet was nice.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

23 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: TV channels are good. Kitchen is clean and well stocked.

Disliked: No real complaints but the bed is very lumpy. You can feel every spring in the mattress.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Frinedly staff, recommended restaurants and let us check in early cos the room was free!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

19 September 2009

Liked: Almost every thing was good, except the small size (for two people) and the quality of the matress. You could feel the internal structure of the matress in all your bones!!! We asked to change the matress, but at the reception they told us that it was not possible. And also It was difficult to sleep because the noise of the fridge was rather high.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sally Gardner

24 August 2009 Sally would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely good value and perfect for a short break. Room was spacious and had good facilities including a very good shower and it's own kitchen.The member of staff we had contact with was extremely helpful and we were able to check in early!Excellent.

Disliked: Sally left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location and everything I needed just to crash during the festival.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

20 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was quite nice (despite the noisy fridge) and pretty cheap. Don't expect too much for that little money, but if you want to keep some change for sightseeing or local ales, it's worth staying here. Nevertheless I would prefer staying in the Old Town next time, it took about 25 minutes to walk there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very clean, private and secure place to stay. It's a bargain.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The studio apartment was ideal for myself and my friend, we had our own space and could eat, sleep and come and go as we liked. Very good value for money considering the property is so new and modern. It was only about 15-20 min walk from Princes Street and at night the taxi fare from anywhere back to the complex was never more than £5. We will definatly be returning.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Amelia Foraster

04 August 2009

Liked: The coffee machine doesn't work.

Disliked: Amelia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, very good experience. I would defenitely recomnend it to others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For a little extra cost if was fantastic to have the privacy and security of your own room. Fast internet as well.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: like a kettle order of order and light gone out had told reception but no one have charged or fixed them for us and the location is a little bit far from city center ... but other everything is perfect !! thank a lot !!! hope further will stay in your hostel !!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.