HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Unite-1 Portsburgh Court

Apartment | 56 Lady Lawson Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH3 9DH

87.2% Overall Rating

48 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/08/2014)

Fay Hayden thinks…

"We stayed in the flat accessable from the courtyard. It was a pleasant surprise. It was very spacious! We loved it."

Read all Unite-1 Portsburgh Court reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Elevator / lift(s)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Credit card surcharge 2%. Cancellation policy is 5 days, within that period 100% of the first night will be charged.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Portsburgh Square
40.57 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
City Centre Hostel Apartments
24.34 USD

Hostel 70.6% 164 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
14.61 USD

Hostel 87.8% 73 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
69.78 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
Summer Hostels Canal Point
535.99 USD

Apartment 87.2% 42 reviews
The Grassmarket Hotel
74.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.5% 12 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Castle Rock Hostel
21.10 USD

Hostel 90.2% 1912 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

48 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Unite-1 Portsburgh Court'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 45 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fay Hayden

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Fay would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in the flat accessable from the courtyard. It was a pleasant surprise. It was very spacious! We loved it.

Disliked: The flat didnt have enough curtains to cover all the windows, which is unfortunate when there are many buildings surrounding and overlooking the property. Also, it would be useful to have a guide to assist with the operation of appliances in the property.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cheryl ball

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping

26 August 2012 cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: staff helpful and friendly by e.mail before stay and while staying there. close to all ameneties open clean airy with what we required

Disliked: needed twin rooms not double beds

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Onur Aksu

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

04 September 2011 Onur would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the security but above all the value for money

Disliked: nothing!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect for Fringe visitors, because you can walk everywhere and you get at anytime back to your hostel (you get a keycard for the door)

Disliked: rooms are small

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just a 10 minute walk from the Royal Mile, and most other places I was interested in seeing related to the Fringe Festival. Very clean apartment, with a fully stocked kitchen (stove, microwave, pots and pans, plates, cutlery). <5 minute walk from a Sainsburys supermarket. Linens and towels provided.

Disliked: Internet was not wireless, so you needed a laptop to get a wired internet connection. Also, reception was only open until 11pm, although they do say that if you'll be arriving later than that to check in, you can just let them know.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very central and close to the castle. The studio we rented had an oven, a microwave, plates and cutlery, as well as a fridge so we could eat there and cook.

Disliked: There was no soap in the bathroom

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No curfew, easy access.

Disliked: There were no cleaning of my room and no wi-fi.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location for visiting Fringe venues, clean and basic with everything you need, towels etc provided and a great little kitchen with microwave, oven, hob, fridge, etc. I stayed in a studio flat, all self contained so completely secure.

Disliked: Not much, a bit characterless, but all the more reason to get out and see stuff.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kelly Da Silva

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ros Broome

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

19 August 2011 Ros would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and staff available to answer questions.

Disliked: Bed mattress was saggy in the middle.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: sterile, slightly expensive for what it was

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Gillett

Alone

Events / festivals

16 August 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: This was super accommodation. I stayed for a week during the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and it catered perfectly for my needs. I stayed in a 1 bedroom Studio Apartment and it was excellent. The bed was a great size, with pillows and a duvet provided. I had an amazing view of the castle! The kitchen was a good size with everything provided that you might need including cutlery and crockery which I wasn't expecting. The bathroom was also fab. The accommodation itself had laundry and a common room facility for use which was great. The staff were lovely. It was in a great location for getting to different venues and everywhere was pretty much within easy walking distance. Value for money was great - even though I spent quite a bit, it was excellent for Fringe accommodation .

Disliked: Sometimes my key card wouldn't let me into the front door until after I'd put it in about 15 times (I found if I pushed it right in, it tended to work better) but that was just a very minor issue

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristina Garcia Ruiz

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Cristina would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent! It's a nice resident, close to the city center, just 5 minutes. Our flat was completely new. Approximately 20 m2 with kitchen, bathroom...it's almost an appartment. Very confortable! :)

Disliked: Everything was perfect!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Parneet Gill

Alone

Business / conference

07 August 2011 Parneet would recommend this property

Liked: great size

Disliked: internet not easy to use, tv didn't have working channels on it

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really close to everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We found the little kitchen in the rooms very convenient.

Disliked: No Wi-Fi, only cable internet in the rooms.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect with kitchen and close to city and Sainsbury's.

Disliked: Missing kitchen-utensils like plates for eating for example, or something to wash dishes with, fan for stove was not functioning.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

21 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, near most famous Edinburgh attractions (and pubs!). The staff is kind and helpful

Disliked: not extremely clean, but it's ok if you're young and stay a few days. The ensuite bathroom is definitely small

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very centrally located property. The staff were very helpful and fiendly. My room was clean although my friends bathroom was less so. I liked that the single rooms had double beds. The Double rooms being mini studios was brilliant as we could self cater and cook in our rooms which saved loads of cash.

Disliked: Nothing actually. Satisfied with my experiance there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michelle O'Dea

Alone

12 August 2010 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: A good location and reasonably priced during the festival.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

David Cannon

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

03 August 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: Private room, secure, view of the castle, kitchen

Disliked: Unfortunately, while there was a kitchen, the toaster was broken and we weren't provided with any washing up equipment - tea towels, sponge, detergent, etc. Would've been handy. Ended up having to buy stuff from the Sainsbury's down the road and wasting most of it cos we couldn't take it on our outbound flight - over 100mL.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Low priced studio with kitchen, within 10 minutes of the city centre.

Disliked: Not superclean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

31 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Having a small kitchen in our room!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kunal Asgaonkar

22 August 2009 Kunal would recommend this property

Liked: The place is value for money. The twin suite is ideal for family as well.

Disliked: Kunal left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Schaefer

20 August 2009 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Location Location Location. Large modern rooms with excellent individual showers. Unfortunately no communal breakfast Room where to meet the cool clientele.

Disliked: Nick left no negative feedback.