HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Portsburgh Court Edinburgh

Hostel

56 Lady Lawson Street, Edinburgh, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 83%

Location 96%

Safety 94%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Pool Table
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

Credit card surcharge 2%.

Cancellation policy is 5 days, within that period 100% of the first night will be charged.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 83%

Location 96%

Safety 94%

Staff 88%

Value 83%

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We stayed in the flat accessable from the courtyard. It was a pleasant surprise. It was very spacious! We loved it.

Disliked: The flat didnt have enough curtains to cover all the windows, which is unfortunate when there are many buildings surrounding and overlooking the property. Also, it would be useful to have a guide to assist with the operation of appliances in the property.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping

Liked: staff helpful and friendly by e.mail before stay and while staying there.close to all amenetiesopen clean airy with what we required

Disliked: needed twin rooms not double beds

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, just a 10 minute walk from the Royal Mile, and most other places I was interested in seeing related to the Fringe Festival. Very clean apartment, with a fully stocked kitchen (stove, microwave, pots and pans, plates, cutlery).

Disliked: Internet was not wireless, so you needed a laptop to get a wired internet connection. Also, reception was only open until 11pm, although they do say that if you'll be arriving later than that to check in, you can just let them know.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: It's very central and close to the castle. The studio we rented had an oven, a microwave, plates and cutlery, as well as a fridge so we could eat there and cook.

Disliked: There was no soap in the bathroom

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife

Liked: the location, the security but above all the value for money

Disliked: nothing!!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: No curfew, easy access.

Disliked: There were no cleaning of my room and no wi-fi.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Kitchen.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Perfect location for visiting Fringe venues, clean and basic with everything you need, towels etc provided and a great little kitchen with microwave, oven, hob, fridge, etc. I stayed in a studio flat, all self contained so completely secure.

Disliked: Not much, a bit characterless, but all the more reason to get out and see stuff.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: location

Disliked: sterile, slightly expensive for what it was

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: This was super accommodation. I stayed for a week during the Edinburgh Fringe Festival and it catered perfectly for my needs. I stayed in a 1 bedroom Studio Apartment and it was excellent. The bed was a great size, with pillows and a duvet provided. I had an amazing view of the castle! The kitchen was a good size with everything provided that you might need including cutlery and crockery which I wasn't expecting. The bathroom was also fab. The accommodation itself had laundry and a common room facility for use which was great. The staff were lovely. It was in a great location for getting to different venues and everywhere was pretty much within easy walking distance. Value for money was great - even though I spent quite a bit, it was excellent for Fringe accommodation .

Disliked: Sometimes my key card wouldn't let me into the front door until after I'd put it in about 15 times (I found if I pushed it right in, it tended to work better) but that was just a very minor issue

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability