HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls

Hostel | 4/2 Kincaids Court, Cnr Cowgate and Guthrie Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1JT

81.0% Overall Rating

232 out of 259 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2013)

"The staff at the 24h reception was really helpful and nice (even at 2 in the morning). They always gave me the impression that I was welcome there. My room was old and used but alright for a few nights if you don't need…"

Read all Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.35

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Now closed for 2009. We will reopen for the 2010 summer from June 11 to September 5.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Cowgate Tourist Hostel
19.87 USD

Hostel 68.2% 284 reviews
STAY Central
60.77 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 33 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
75.44 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.76 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
66.22 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh
14.92 USD

Hostel 82.2% 681 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
20.65 USD

Hostel 89.3% 366 reviews
Malone's Old Town Hostel
25.15 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

232 out of 259 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 165 of 176 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, convenience

Disliked: Dirty shower room, poor wifi signal in high floor, noise outside building

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013

Liked: The staff at the 24h reception was really helpful and nice (even at 2 in the morning). They always gave me the impression that I was welcome there. My room was old and used but alright for a few nights if you don't need cozy, especially since it was cheap.

Disliked: The hostel is located in a Studen Residence, so the hostel is not really responsible for the building and the state it is in. If it would have been responsible, I might have complained. The building is old and in a reallly, really horrible state. Carrying my suitcase up 5 floors on a narrow, old, ugly and also a bit dirty staircase and finding your way through a maze of old, not particularly pretty corridors was alright. My room was old and used, but kinda alright. But the shared bathroom (one for four rooms) was totally not alright - looks like last refurbished 30 years ago, smells like last cleaned 30 days ago and black with mould on walls and ceiling and in the shower. Ugh, really. The sink was also not draining well so I used that bathroom as little as possible and went to the bathroom in the next corridor for showers since it was lightly less mouldy. In short: You can live with it, but don't stay too long!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and price.

Disliked: The bathrooms were not ventilated.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ronan bolton

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2013 ronan would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for a single room. Excellent facilities.

Disliked: ronan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is very convinient. The location is great, just in Edinburgh`s center. The receptionosts were kind. Nice to have a single room.

Disliked: Cleaning of the rest room. There dirty toilet papers on the floor during at least two days.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION, KITCHEN

Disliked: charge for early booking, keeping the bags, confusion with rooms in the beggining

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no elevator, difficult to carry the luggage to the 3rd floor...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Great Value. Incredibly helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff, cheap private room

Disliked: Noisy from street and from inside apartment (creaking doors and floors). Hardly any kitchen stuff (pans, plates). No lift, which meant walking up 5 floors

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful over and above what was necessary. The room was quiet, clean and adequately furnished. Location was excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No plan of apartment, labels on doors

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good location.

Disliked: Bathroom quite dirty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Hallett

Alone

Business / conference

07 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It's very central to the town and most places of interest

Disliked: The building felt unloved. To come in via a building site into a corridor filled with bags of dirty washing was not a good start. The kitchen had very little in the way of cooking equipment, with most of the cupboards empty. The sink was continually filled with dirty glasses and cups, maybe because there were no drying towels. A piece of bread lying on the work surface became staler as time (6 days - I left it there to see what would be done about it. It probably is still there!) went by. There did not seem to be anyone in charge. The windows were filthy and made you feel that you were living in a slum. You definitely did not want to linger in the dining area, though some people sat there, in silence, working on their computer. My bedroom had 2 beds, end to end, crammed into it, one with the headboard askew. I chose to sleep in the one that had no dirty marks on the wall near the pillow end. A bedside table with a reading lamp would have been helpful but maybe students don't read in bed. Mid-week I arrived back to the hostel to find the toilet seat in the bathroom opposite my room broken off and lying on the floor. When I reported it the man behind the counter said he'd come and have a look. Three days later the situation had not altered. Altogether it felt as if no-one was actually bothered to make it a welcoming place. However, its position in town makes it a good site to be staying.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martina Mc Auley

Alone

Business / conference

31 August 2012 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Both the room and bathroom/showers were clean. The price was very good.

Disliked: My room was on the street side and at times, it was noisy but it didn't stop me getting a good night's sleep.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

elisa volpato maia

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012

Liked: Clean bedrooms and bathrooms. Single bedroom with a small desk and wardrobe. Very silent.

Disliked: The girls at reception where not very friendly and didn't know any other language besides english - we had to help them talking to some spanish girls. I'd assume that anyone working in a touristic place would have to know some basic spanish at least. My bed was really soft - I could feel the wires below it. Ended up leaving my mattress on the floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011

Liked: Location only

Disliked: Very noisy as it is in an area where lots of clubs are open all night. Rugs in rooms very dirty. Taps in bathrooms need adjusted as hard to use. Beds very old and uncomfortable

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They can provide places for a single that are safe and lockable as well as parking for cars.

Disliked: A bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

22 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: not really clean, expensive for what it is.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location. It is almost in the city centre. I could have a private single room, which I couldn't find in other motels.

Disliked: The bathroom was not very good.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Grzegorz Przybyszewski

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011

Liked: Location.

Disliked: There are university rooms designed for 1 person where they have pressed second bed in most rooms without any discount for the second person. That means they charge double. It is therefore much better to book 2 separate rooms as it cost the same as one they call "double". There is very, very little space in the room and no really any place where one could hang the wet clothes. Check in is first from 15:00 what is later then all other places and in weekends one have to stay half an hour or more in a queque to be checked in. Toilets and bathrooms are with many fails. There are delivered earplugs as hostel is very noisy in weekends. On the first floor is there arranged reception in place where it originally was eating room what means one have to prepare a meal in the kitchen and eat it in own room. All fridges in kitchen on this floor are marked "staff only" as they sell cold drinks which are in them - however I got permission to put some of my food in one of them after I have asked. All in all heavily overpriced place for the standard they offer for "double" rooms although it is resonably priced for solo travellers ( single rooms ). In addition luggage room which is free in most of the hostels costs 2 pounds per item, access to Wi-Fi internet which also usually is free in hostels costs 5,5 pounds for 24 hours and parkingplace 11 pounds per day.I was also surprised that although I´ve booked hostel many moths in advance had to pay 44 pounds for "double" room when I could rent it for 38 pounds at a time I came. That makes early bookings meaningless.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel helpfull staff big clean kittchen area

Disliked: had to pay to store our luggage- for each piece

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona J Isbister

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 June 2011 Fiona J would recommend this property

Liked: the beds

Disliked: The little bit that sold things next to reception did not have tea of coffee.