HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls

Hostel | 4/2 Kincaids Court, Cnr Cowgate and Guthrie Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1JT

83.8% Overall Rating

244 out of 271 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

"The room was very clean and ready for me when I arrived. Staff were friendly, helpful and organized."

Read all Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.39

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Now closed for 2009. We will reopen for the 2010 summer from June 11 to September 5.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

STAY Central
93.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 33 reviews
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
21.80 USD

Hostel 68.1% 286 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
76.34 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.96 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
133.59 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh
18.49 USD

Hostel 84.6% 721 reviews
Malone's Old Town Hostel
42.41 USD

Hostel 96.4% 4 reviews
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
30.53 USD

Hostel 79.3% 1725 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

244 out of 271 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 190 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Martin Staricny

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014

Liked: We could have a double room...

Disliked: facilities was not very good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sue Dyer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Sue would recommend this property

Liked: The price and location. Staff were amazingly helpful and friendly

Disliked: Stairs! We were on the 5th floor with no lift. Next time I'd ask for a low floor as I have some mobility difficulties.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julie Garneau

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: location was excellent and staff was very helpful

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and ready for me when I arrived. Staff were friendly, helpful and organized.

Disliked: The rooms and apartments are a bit souless with a lot of concrete and slammy doors.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liguo Zhang

Alone

Relaxation/spa

13 July 2014 Liguo would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: not easy to find

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom, kitchen and room were very clean. I had a very comfortable stay. The location was really good - gave me east access to everywhere i wanted to go (tour buses, train station, shops, pubs to watch the World Cup...)

Disliked: No hot water in the morning for shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: Cold showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, very clean, helpful staff and good group atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chien Lee Tzung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014 Chien Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Check the iron cover on the corner of the entrance.

Disliked: Chien Lee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lheann Carrel-Black

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2014 Lheann would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, staff and facilities.

Disliked: The mattress, springy!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very economical for the centre of Edinburgh in June

Disliked: It is basically a student hostel, so it is simple but adequate for a night's sleep. No luxury!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, convenience

Disliked: Dirty shower room, poor wifi signal in high floor, noise outside building

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013

Liked: The staff at the 24h reception was really helpful and nice (even at 2 in the morning). They always gave me the impression that I was welcome there. My room was old and used but alright for a few nights if you don't need cozy, especially since it was cheap.

Disliked: The hostel is located in a Studen Residence, so the hostel is not really responsible for the building and the state it is in. If it would have been responsible, I might have complained. The building is old and in a reallly, really horrible state. Carrying my suitcase up 5 floors on a narrow, old, ugly and also a bit dirty staircase and finding your way through a maze of old, not particularly pretty corridors was alright. My room was old and used, but kinda alright. But the shared bathroom (one for four rooms) was totally not alright - looks like last refurbished 30 years ago, smells like last cleaned 30 days ago and black with mould on walls and ceiling and in the shower. Ugh, really. The sink was also not draining well so I used that bathroom as little as possible and went to the bathroom in the next corridor for showers since it was lightly less mouldy. In short: You can live with it, but don't stay too long!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and price.

Disliked: The bathrooms were not ventilated.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ronan bolton

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2013 ronan would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for a single room. Excellent facilities.

Disliked: ronan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is very convinient. The location is great, just in Edinburgh`s center. The receptionosts were kind. Nice to have a single room.

Disliked: Cleaning of the rest room. There dirty toilet papers on the floor during at least two days.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION, KITCHEN

Disliked: charge for early booking, keeping the bags, confusion with rooms in the beggining

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no elevator, difficult to carry the luggage to the 3rd floor...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Great Value. Incredibly helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, friendly staff, cheap private room

Disliked: Noisy from street and from inside apartment (creaking doors and floors). Hardly any kitchen stuff (pans, plates). No lift, which meant walking up 5 floors

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful over and above what was necessary. The room was quiet, clean and adequately furnished. Location was excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: No plan of apartment, labels on doors

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and good location.

Disliked: Bathroom quite dirty.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Anna Hallett

Alone

Business / conference

07 September 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: It's very central to the town and most places of interest

Disliked: The building felt unloved. To come in via a building site into a corridor filled with bags of dirty washing was not a good start. The kitchen had very little in the way of cooking equipment, with most of the cupboards empty. The sink was continually filled with dirty glasses and cups, maybe because there were no drying towels. A piece of bread lying on the work surface became staler as time (6 days - I left it there to see what would be done about it. It probably is still there!) went by. There did not seem to be anyone in charge. The windows were filthy and made you feel that you were living in a slum. You definitely did not want to linger in the dining area, though some people sat there, in silence, working on their computer. My bedroom had 2 beds, end to end, crammed into it, one with the headboard askew. I chose to sleep in the one that had no dirty marks on the wall near the pillow end. A bedside table with a reading lamp would have been helpful but maybe students don't read in bed. Mid-week I arrived back to the hostel to find the toilet seat in the bathroom opposite my room broken off and lying on the floor. When I reported it the man behind the counter said he'd come and have a look. Three days later the situation had not altered. Altogether it felt as if no-one was actually bothered to make it a welcoming place. However, its position in town makes it a good site to be staying.