HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls

Hostel | Kincaids Court, Cnr Cowgate and Guthrie Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1JT

87.1% Overall Rating

255 out of 284 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

"The bed was comfortable, the room also had a desk which was a plus. I was very happy with my room and would definitely stay again. The location was good and staff friendly and helpful."

Read all Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.25

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls is open from June 5th until August 30th 2015. We are a no smoking hostel. A £20 refundable key deposit will be charged at check-in for each set of keys issued. Check in time is from 3pm onwards. Early check-in for 11.30am is available at a cost of £5 per room. Prior notification required. If cancelled up to 3 days (by 3pm) before date of arrival, 12 percent of the total price of the reservation will be charged. If cancelled later, 100 percent of the first night will be charged. In the case of no-show 100% of the total booking will be charged to a maximum of 7 days. Please note, reservations of over 6 people must be paid in full 28 days prior to arrival or your booking will be cancelled. You will be contacted when payment is due. Self-service laundry facilities are available and washing powder can be bought at reception. In fact, we sell all sorts of necessities at reception. From an extensive range of tours, activities and souvenirs to breakfast items and toothpaste, we’ve got it covered. Breakfast is not included in the room fee. We also have limited parking spaces available with an overnight charge of just 15.00 for guests. Parking must be booked with the hostel directly prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

STAY Central
57.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 33 reviews
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
19.23 USD

Hostel 72.8% 292 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
73.03 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
75.82 USD

Hotel 4 star 92.4% 3 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh
14.44 USD

Hostel 81.9% 736 reviews
Malone's Old Town Hostel
19.47 USD

Hostel 92.7% 7 reviews
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
16.23 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1743 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

255 out of 284 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 184 of 201 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, kitchen facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was comfortable, the room also had a desk which was a plus. I was very happy with my room and would definitely stay again. The location was good and staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I would not say dislike as such but the doors are very loud (possibly they have to be like that for safety reasons as they are firedoors) so earplugs are definitely a good idea. The common areas were cleaned every day and bathroom and kitchen looked very clean. There was a lot of dust in my room, though. I think the obvious surfaces and the floor had been cleaned but the heater and some other, less obvious places, looked really filthy. No big deal I wiped it myself but I wanted to explain why I did not give the highest marks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Griffin

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

15 August 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Individual private rooms are spacious.

Disliked: Not previously informed about noise from bar and club next door to the hostel, noise and vibrations traveled up through the building, keeping me awake till gone 4am

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent and the rooms and common areas were clean and well stocked. The staff were all really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: At night time there was quite a lot of noise from the nearby clubs/ venues.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there last year and it hasn't disappointed again this year. Lovely staff, clean room and clean bed linen. Perfectly adequate for my needs. Thanks Euro Hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenna Stone

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2014 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: central location to tourist hot spots such as the Castle and Royal Mile.

Disliked: having to keep flipping the lights on and off in the hallway.... having them on timer would be easier

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014

Liked: location is great. staff is friendly. internet connection is good.

Disliked: not enough bathrooms - very dirty! the matress was horrible. we could only sleep with our duvet lying between us and the matress it is very cheap - yes. but you should at least try to offer a minimum of comfort and cleanliness

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maeve Findlay-Shields

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Maeve would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location, walking distance to everything. Great value for the price, and the single room was spacious and comfortable. Very secure as you could lock the door to your bedroom and there was lots of room for stoage of bags. Full kitchen, living room and two bathrooms. Very private.

Disliked: Maeve left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Martin Staricny

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014

Liked: We could have a double room...

Disliked: facilities was not very good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sue Dyer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Sue would recommend this property

Liked: The price and location. Staff were amazingly helpful and friendly

Disliked: Stairs! We were on the 5th floor with no lift. Next time I'd ask for a low floor as I have some mobility difficulties.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julie Garneau

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: location was excellent and staff was very helpful

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and ready for me when I arrived. Staff were friendly, helpful and organized.

Disliked: The rooms and apartments are a bit souless with a lot of concrete and slammy doors.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liguo Zhang

Alone

Relaxation/spa

13 July 2014 Liguo would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: not easy to find

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom, kitchen and room were very clean. I had a very comfortable stay. The location was really good - gave me east access to everywhere i wanted to go (tour buses, train station, shops, pubs to watch the World Cup...)

Disliked: No hot water in the morning for shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: Cold showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, very clean, helpful staff and good group atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chien Lee Tzung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014 Chien Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Check the iron cover on the corner of the entrance.

Disliked: Chien Lee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lheann Carrel-Black

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2014 Lheann would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, staff and facilities.

Disliked: The mattress, springy!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very economical for the centre of Edinburgh in June

Disliked: It is basically a student hostel, so it is simple but adequate for a night's sleep. No luxury!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, convenience

Disliked: Dirty shower room, poor wifi signal in high floor, noise outside building

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013

Liked: The staff at the 24h reception was really helpful and nice (even at 2 in the morning). They always gave me the impression that I was welcome there. My room was old and used but alright for a few nights if you don't need cozy, especially since it was cheap.

Disliked: The hostel is located in a Studen Residence, so the hostel is not really responsible for the building and the state it is in. If it would have been responsible, I might have complained. The building is old and in a reallly, really horrible state. Carrying my suitcase up 5 floors on a narrow, old, ugly and also a bit dirty staircase and finding your way through a maze of old, not particularly pretty corridors was alright. My room was old and used, but kinda alright. But the shared bathroom (one for four rooms) was totally not alright - looks like last refurbished 30 years ago, smells like last cleaned 30 days ago and black with mould on walls and ceiling and in the shower. Ugh, really. The sink was also not draining well so I used that bathroom as little as possible and went to the bathroom in the next corridor for showers since it was lightly less mouldy. In short: You can live with it, but don't stay too long!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and price.

Disliked: The bathrooms were not ventilated.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ronan bolton

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 August 2013 ronan would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for a single room. Excellent facilities.

Disliked: ronan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price is very convinient. The location is great, just in Edinburgh`s center. The receptionosts were kind. Nice to have a single room.

Disliked: Cleaning of the rest room. There dirty toilet papers on the floor during at least two days.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION, KITCHEN

Disliked: charge for early booking, keeping the bags, confusion with rooms in the beggining