We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls

Hostel | Kincaids Court, Cnr Cowgate and Guthrie Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1JT

84.8% Overall Rating

264 out of 294 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/08/2015)

"Convenient for Fringe events. Excellent customer service from Jordan and manager Ashley when we had a serious complaint."

Read all Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Late check-out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.08

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls is open from June 5th until August 30th 2015. We are a no smoking hostel. A £20 refundable key deposit will be charged at check-in for each set of keys issued. Check in time is from 3pm onwards. Early check-in for 11.30am is available at a cost of £5 per room. Prior notification required. If cancelled up to 3 days (by 3pm) before date of arrival, 12 percent of the total price of the reservation will be charged. If cancelled later, 100 percent of the first night will be charged. In the case of no-show 100% of the total booking will be charged to a maximum of 7 days. Please note, reservations of over 6 people must be paid in full 28 days prior to arrival or your booking will be cancelled. You will be contacted when payment is due. Self-service laundry facilities are available and washing powder can be bought at reception. In fact, we sell all sorts of necessities at reception. From an extensive range of tours, activities and souvenirs to breakfast items and toothpaste, we’ve got it covered. Breakfast is not included in the room fee. We also have limited parking spaces available with an overnight charge of just 15.00 for guests. Parking must be booked with the hostel directly prior to arrival.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Cowgate Tourist Hostel
18.25 USD

Hostel 73.4% 299 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
69.29 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
15.40 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh
15.24 USD

Hostel 88.9% 783 reviews
Malone's Old Town Hostel
18.48 USD

Hostel 91.6% 15 reviews
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
16.94 USD

Hostel 87.0% 1760 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
18.48 USD

Hostel 91.3% 388 reviews
High Street Hostel
16.94 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1541 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

264 out of 294 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 190 of 212 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient for Fringe events. Excellent customer service from Jordan and manager Ashley when we had a serious complaint.

Disliked: Very noisy and rooms in apartment all at front instead of using courtyard rooms which were locked. Most seriously a member of staff let a woman into our apartment at 4.14 am for a shower! Not joking!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Chloe Hutchinson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2015

Liked: Right in the middle of edinburgh

Disliked: An uncomfortable stay,

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karthikeyan Viswanathan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Karthikeyan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and spacious; friendly staff; city centre easily accessible

Disliked: Fresh paint smell;

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Robert Batty

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: The property was close to all the action in Edinburgh - perfect if you want to have it all on your door step!

Disliked: No issues at all, just beaware that you'll be right in the middle of the party area - not always a bad thing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Hager

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2015 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: Top Location, great price.

Disliked: defect elevator control unit: elevator stops at the wrong floor

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and even though there were shared bathroom facilities we never had to wait and never even saw anyone.

Disliked: The fact that it is stated hat towels are free- they are not. They charge a few and a deposit fee also. Storing baggage should also be included in the price. All staff weren't very helpful, but some were great.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, kitchen facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bed was comfortable, the room also had a desk which was a plus. I was very happy with my room and would definitely stay again. The location was good and staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: I would not say dislike as such but the doors are very loud (possibly they have to be like that for safety reasons as they are firedoors) so earplugs are definitely a good idea. The common areas were cleaned every day and bathroom and kitchen looked very clean. There was a lot of dust in my room, though. I think the obvious surfaces and the floor had been cleaned but the heater and some other, less obvious places, looked really filthy. No big deal I wiped it myself but I wanted to explain why I did not give the highest marks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Griffin

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

15 August 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Individual private rooms are spacious.

Disliked: Not previously informed about noise from bar and club next door to the hostel, noise and vibrations traveled up through the building, keeping me awake till gone 4am

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent and the rooms and common areas were clean and well stocked. The staff were all really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: At night time there was quite a lot of noise from the nearby clubs/ venues.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there last year and it hasn't disappointed again this year. Lovely staff, clean room and clean bed linen. Perfectly adequate for my needs. Thanks Euro Hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenna Stone

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 August 2014 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: central location to tourist hot spots such as the Castle and Royal Mile.

Disliked: having to keep flipping the lights on and off in the hallway.... having them on timer would be easier

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014

Liked: location is great. staff is friendly. internet connection is good.

Disliked: not enough bathrooms - very dirty! the matress was horrible. we could only sleep with our duvet lying between us and the matress it is very cheap - yes. but you should at least try to offer a minimum of comfort and cleanliness

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maeve Findlay-Shields

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Maeve would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location, walking distance to everything. Great value for the price, and the single room was spacious and comfortable. Very secure as you could lock the door to your bedroom and there was lots of room for stoage of bags. Full kitchen, living room and two bathrooms. Very private.

Disliked: Maeve left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Martin Staricny

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014

Liked: We could have a double room...

Disliked: facilities was not very good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sue Dyer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Sue would recommend this property

Liked: The price and location. Staff were amazingly helpful and friendly

Disliked: Stairs! We were on the 5th floor with no lift. Next time I'd ask for a low floor as I have some mobility difficulties.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julie Garneau

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: location was excellent and staff was very helpful

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was very clean and ready for me when I arrived. Staff were friendly, helpful and organized.

Disliked: The rooms and apartments are a bit souless with a lot of concrete and slammy doors.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liguo Zhang

Alone

Relaxation/spa

13 July 2014 Liguo would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: not easy to find

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bathroom, kitchen and room were very clean. I had a very comfortable stay. The location was really good - gave me east access to everywhere i wanted to go (tour buses, train station, shops, pubs to watch the World Cup...)

Disliked: No hot water in the morning for shower

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location!

Disliked: Cold showers

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, very clean, helpful staff and good group atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chien Lee Tzung

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014 Chien Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Check the iron cover on the corner of the entrance.

Disliked: Chien Lee left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lheann Carrel-Black

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

15 June 2014 Lheann would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, staff and facilities.

Disliked: The mattress, springy!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very economical for the centre of Edinburgh in June

Disliked: It is basically a student hostel, so it is simple but adequate for a night's sleep. No luxury!