We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh

Hostel | 9-13 Market street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1DE

89.7% Overall Rating

679 out of 765 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/05/2015)

Simon Bell thinks…

"Amazing location, staff were brilliant, rooms were basic but had everything we needed. Would definitely stay here again, Highly recommend!"

Read all St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 7.81

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that for groups of 10 or more people we require a security deposit of £100. ***Important Information*** Photo identification is required for check in. The accepted forms are a valid passport, national ID card or drivers licence. Room check-in from 2pm, room check-out is 11am unless by prior arrangement with the management. Smoking is illegal throughout the hostel and bar. The property is 100% non-smoking. No alcohol is to be consumed in the hostel rooms. Group bookings for more than 10 people must be made by request through email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made in this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit, which will be refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules. Guests under the age of 18 must stay in a private room with guardians. Guests under 18-years of age are not permitted to share general dormitory rooms with people who are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the bar after the end of food service.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
15.61 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
The Baxter
31.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
53.08 USD

Hostel 87.1% 284 reviews
Haggis Hostels
31.22 USD

Hostel 89.5% 56 reviews
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
20.29 USD

Hostel 72.0% 296 reviews
Princes Street East Backpackers
17.17 USD

Hostel 83.4% 281 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
70.25 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
20.61 USD

Hostel 91.3% 382 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.7%

Overall Rating

679 out of 765 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 540 of 658 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Bell

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

05 May 2015 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, staff were brilliant, rooms were basic but had everything we needed. Would definitely stay here again, Highly recommend!

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Cortesi

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2015 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: It's awesome

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 April 2015

Liked: I like its location

Disliked: I didn't enjoy my night in the room allocated to me because other room member on my down bed decided to have sex making noise through out the whole night. unfortunately for me, the incidence happened on the down bed inwhich i was on the top bed so i was shook thoughout the whole night. St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh should ensure that coupples that book their facility goes for a single room.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is absolutly the best - just nearby Royal Mile, few minutes from the castle. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The En-suite double room is very small - there is space almost just for the double bed. WiFi is available just in the Chill-Out room that is dark.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the staff was great.

Disliked: The bathroom door did not close completely and the hallway door had a very loud squeak sound.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annina Müller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2015 Annina would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean rooms, charming hostel in the middle of the city.

Disliked: Annina left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katelyn olive

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2015 Katelyn would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how close it was to the train station and the beautiful view of the city from my bunk.

Disliked: I really didn't dislike anything about the property.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Evans

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, and the location is ideal for traveling to and from the train station and is in the very center of town. Surprisingly, it was quite quiet - although perhaps the benefit of being on the fourth floor.

Disliked: I did not particularly like the toilets, as well as the staircase.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KARINA SAUCEDO RODRIGUEZ

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2015 KARINA would recommend this property

Liked: Just perfect location very close to the main attractions Everything was really good

Disliked: I just dislike that we report our window latch broken and because the strong wind, it opened some times and never came to fix it. But we figured out to closed it some it wasn't a big deal.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have never meet such helpful and gleeful staff. The location was perfect, about 6 minute walk to the Castle area.

Disliked: There was not a thing I dislike, its value for money is great

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds

Disliked: No kitchen for customer

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and pub

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015

Liked: Great location - right in the city centre. Warm blankets. The girl who canceled my stay & checked me out was super sweet and nice.

Disliked: No WiFi - only in the chillout room which is more of a locker room with a couple of couches. No kitchen. (Not even a kettle to make your own coffee, really, nothing.) The lift is permanently out of order. The secure lockers are actually cages under the bed and you need to have your own padlock - they were out in the reception and I had to run to a shop to buy one. The door lock in my room was not working properly and had to be replaced. The room itself was tiny and cramped, not enough place for two people to stand, not to mention four. Nothing was really clean. Overall, a disappointing experience.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is absolutely great and the bed is very comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Luiza Rabelo Serpa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Maria Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the common room and the atmosphere there! All staff seemed to be really nice and available to help.

Disliked: The connection with the internet was horrible! I couldn't connect when I was inside my room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's perfect! The location is great...just in front of the train station and few blocks from everything,so you don't need to pay for public transport, the food is great and all the discounts you get are super helpful!

Disliked: My bed was good, but the things that support the mattress kept on falling, which annoyed me a bit...and also that the elevator doesn't work and I was on the 4 floor and all tired from walking. But I think those two are minimal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zi Kang Lim

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2014 Zi Kang would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness of the toilets

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ashleigh Neenan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2014 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very well located within easy walking distance from the main station in Edinburgh.

Disliked: Common area was very small and not well laid out. Limited power sockets in bedrooms. One evening our bathroom flooded with water seeping out of the bathroom and into the bedroom area, however must give credit to staff that when they were alerted to this they very promptly cleaned the area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Giulio Tani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2014 Giulio would recommend this property

Liked: the finishing of the interiors is ancient and really beautiful with engraved glasses and stuccos

Disliked: Giulio left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Shaikh Zafeer Anwar

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 October 2014 Shaikh Zafeer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location in city center

Disliked: Dorm room had a code to open door and not electronic card.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Bethany McClymont

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 September 2014 Bethany would recommend this property

Liked: Very good deals on meals at the bar, food was really nice with big portions and low prices. Staff where very friendly and easy to talk to, willing to give directions and had good knowledge of local area.

Disliked: It was very hot in the room at night, but thats just me being picky. Drinks at the bar were a bit daft, £2.80 for a glass of ice with a sprinkling of lemonade!!!!

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 September 2014

Liked: Staff was very friendly and the free breakfast was quite reasonable.

Disliked: The rooms are messy and dirty. The bathroom in our dorm in in desperate need of repair (ventilation is noisy as hell but you cannot turn it off seperately, so every time someone was in the bathroom you couldn't sleep at all). The upper bunk beds are uncomfortable and too short, there's no way to put your stuff anywhere and they are very shaky.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

06 September 2014

Liked: Very central location and extremely nice staff.

Disliked: Internet was unavailable in the room. Bathroom/room not cleaned frequently enough (only once a week for a room of 10). Breakfast unsatisfactory.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was included.

Disliked: Sometimes the noise from outside the bar could be heard up in the rooms. Also, one shower/toilet for 10 people was not sufficient.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the price and friendly atmosphere

Disliked: chillout room to small

The property's response is...