HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St Christopher's Edinburgh Edinburgh

Hostel

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 78%

Location 97%

Safety 89%

Staff 88%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 7.78USD

Important Information

Please note that for groups of 10 or more people we require a security deposit of £100.
***Important Information***

Photo identification is required for check in. The accepted forms are a valid passport, national ID card or drivers licence. Room check-in from 2pm, room check-out is 11am unless by prior arrangement with the management.

Smoking is illegal throughout the hostel and bar. The property is 100% non-smoking. No alcohol is to be consumed in the hostel rooms.

Group bookings for more than 10 people must be made by request through email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made in this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit, which will be refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Guests under the age of 18 must stay in a private room with guardians. Guests under 18-years of age are not permitted to share general dormitory rooms with people who are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the bar after the end of food service.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 80%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 78%

Location 97%

Safety 89%

Staff 88%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 156 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


27 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome location in the heart of Edinburgh, two great pubs downstairs as well. Staff were all very nice and a good place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We're so glad to hear you had a great time with us. Hopefully we'll see you again very soon. Until then, happy travels! Love, the Edinburgh Team.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pretty much everything was Nice

Disliked: No kitchenette or frig. And of course ,In a 10 dorm room it can be difficult to get to sleep

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. We understand that it can be inconvenient without kitchen facilitates, however we do have a microwave, fridge and tea/coffee facilities available for use 24 hours a day in the chillout room. Any cutlery or bowls/plates that guests need can be acquired from the bars as well. I hope that this didn't hinder your stay with us in any way, and we would love to see you back here again soon. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Belushis and Jakes have great offers for food and drinks.

Disliked: Big hostel. Not easy to meet people.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Cheers for the feedback regarding your stay with us here in Edinburgh. We understand that it can be difficult to meet other travellers in larger hostels, so we have welcome drinks daily at 7pm to get people mingling and exchanging stories. We hope that this will enable guests to interact more with each other. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay. We would love to see you back in the future. Until then, happy travels! Love, the Edinburgh Team.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Well located, good value

Disliked: No lounge area - either a loud bar, or a somewhat soulless quiet room (the banquette seating) - somewhere to sit on a sofa with a coffee would be great

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay. We are trying to enlarge our chill out room and we would love to see you back in the future. Until then, happy travels! Love, the Edinburgh Team.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nice location just near the coach station. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Will stay again for sure.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, Thanks for your review! Glad to hear you had a good time staying with us. We do hope to see your face again. Safe travels Love the Edinburgh Team

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Atmosphere, position, staff, the bars.What I especially appreciated this time was to notice improvements since my last stay a couple of years ago. I noticed that there are now two doors to unlock to get inside the corridor to the rooms. This might improve security but mostly looks nice as management is trying to offer better qualities for customers.

Disliked: No vegan options.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there! Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate all feedback from guests as it allows us to improve on our services and facilities. We're pleased to hear you think we're doing a good job. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The beds were alright in comfort. The location was good.

Disliked: The bathroom smelled and was always dirty. They never looked like they were cleaned once during my stay. There should be a mirror in each of the toilets for the small 1 over the main sink is not enough for 14 beds. There also were no paper towels or drying machines for washing hands.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there! Many thanks for your review, that can help us to find the way to resolve that problems. We do apologise for the mirror and hand dryer machine, we will look into this straight away. St Christopher's Staff.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and staff

Disliked: Toilet was clean but the shower couldn't drain which meant that it was perpetually flooding, which wasn't the best experience. The hostel can also get noisy at nights (both within the hostel and on the streets) so not perfect for those who want a good night's sleep.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there! Many thanks for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologise for the shower, we will look into this straight away. St Christopher's Staff.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This have been my second time in St Christopher Inn. I have been very satisfied with their service. Clean rooms, friendly staff and also other occupants were considerable and friendly.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks very much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again and again! St Christopher's Staff.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Location and friendliness of staff

Disliked: Limited storage and expensive private rooms

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thanks for your feed back and review! We are happy that you found our staff friendly and helpful! The price of the rooms are always changing during the weekend or depending of the season, we hope to see you again! Edinburgh Team

Check Availability