We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh

Hostel | 9-13 Market street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1DE

90.1% Overall Rating

690 out of 776 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2015)

Rachael Mckay thinks…

"The first room I had was an open floor/floor shower situation which is never ideal but worked alright, the room also had bed lights (only for the top bunks) and a cage stprage unit under the beds for…"

Read all St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 7.80

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that for groups of 10 or more people we require a security deposit of £100. ***Important Information*** Photo identification is required for check in. The accepted forms are a valid passport, national ID card or drivers licence. Room check-in from 2pm, room check-out is 11am unless by prior arrangement with the management. Smoking is illegal throughout the hostel and bar. The property is 100% non-smoking. No alcohol is to be consumed in the hostel rooms. Group bookings for more than 10 people must be made by request through email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made in this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit, which will be refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules. Guests under the age of 18 must stay in a private room with guardians. Guests under 18-years of age are not permitted to share general dormitory rooms with people who are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the bar after the end of food service.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
15.61 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
The Baxter
31.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
40.58 USD

Hostel 86.9% 285 reviews
Haggis Hostels
28.09 USD

Hostel 89.5% 56 reviews
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
34.34 USD

Hostel 73.9% 298 reviews
Princes Street East Backpackers
156.08 USD

Hostel 82.4% 285 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
70.24 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
18.73 USD

Hostel 91.3% 383 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

690 out of 776 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
88.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 550 of 669 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rachael Mckay

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2015 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: The first room I had was an open floor/floor shower situation which is never ideal but worked alright, the room also had bed lights (only for the top bunks) and a cage stprage unit under the beds for each guest. The second room had a proper shower but no bed lights and only 2 cage storage things for 4 people. The shared facilities seemed great though.

Disliked: Shower in first room, lack of lights and lockable storage units in second room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great view from the rooftop double room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julian Ashe

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 June 2015 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff, loads of space to lock luggage away under the beds.

Disliked: Was not a party hostel as described. It had a bar, but no encouraged drinking games.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KATIE RYAN

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 June 2015 KATIE would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, clean and not a bit loud had a great sleep!

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near Waverley train station and the Royal Mile, all the facilities you'd expect from a good hostel used to international backbackers. Nice hot showers. Excellent value for money and all around a very good hostel. Would recommend.

Disliked: For the number of people that can stay here there isn't loads of room. The reception and bar are really small, and so is the chill out lounge. Also all of the storage lockers were full when I was there. Not enough power points in the rooms and the showers didn't seem to ventilate properly.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Jerry Luty

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 June 2015 Jerry would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: No cookin facilities

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carolina Fagundez

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2015 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very clean, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast and the staff is very helpful.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Grear environment. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Chill out room is really nice. The bar downstairs is also a great place to chill. Beds are comfy and even the big dorms don't feel cramped and have a private bathroom.

Disliked: There is no wifi in the rooms only in the bar and chill out area. And wifi could be better.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

priscilla mensah

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 June 2015 priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and friendly environment

Disliked: priscilla left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

mark suen

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 June 2015 mark would recommend this property

Liked: The bars downstairs are nice and there was live music in one of them. The bars don't get too rowdy and unpleasant which is good. The beds were clean and very comfortable

Disliked: The shower room on 2nd floor felt quite damp and could do with a makeover

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Bell

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

05 May 2015 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, staff were brilliant, rooms were basic but had everything we needed. Would definitely stay here again, Highly recommend!

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Cortesi

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2015 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: It's awesome

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 April 2015

Liked: I like its location

Disliked: I didn't enjoy my night in the room allocated to me because other room member on my down bed decided to have sex making noise through out the whole night. unfortunately for me, the incidence happened on the down bed inwhich i was on the top bed so i was shook thoughout the whole night. St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh should ensure that coupples that book their facility goes for a single room.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is absolutly the best - just nearby Royal Mile, few minutes from the castle. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The En-suite double room is very small - there is space almost just for the double bed. WiFi is available just in the Chill-Out room that is dark.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and the staff was great.

Disliked: The bathroom door did not close completely and the hallway door had a very loud squeak sound.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annina Müller

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2015 Annina would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, clean rooms, charming hostel in the middle of the city.

Disliked: Annina left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Katelyn olive

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 March 2015 Katelyn would recommend this property

Liked: I loved how close it was to the train station and the beautiful view of the city from my bunk.

Disliked: I really didn't dislike anything about the property.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Evans

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere, and the location is ideal for traveling to and from the train station and is in the very center of town. Surprisingly, it was quite quiet - although perhaps the benefit of being on the fourth floor.

Disliked: I did not particularly like the toilets, as well as the staircase.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KARINA SAUCEDO RODRIGUEZ

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2015 KARINA would recommend this property

Liked: Just perfect location very close to the main attractions Everything was really good

Disliked: I just dislike that we report our window latch broken and because the strong wind, it opened some times and never came to fix it. But we figured out to closed it some it wasn't a big deal.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have never meet such helpful and gleeful staff. The location was perfect, about 6 minute walk to the Castle area.

Disliked: There was not a thing I dislike, its value for money is great

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds

Disliked: No kitchen for customer

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and pub

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2015

Liked: Great location - right in the city centre. Warm blankets. The girl who canceled my stay & checked me out was super sweet and nice.

Disliked: No WiFi - only in the chillout room which is more of a locker room with a couple of couches. No kitchen. (Not even a kettle to make your own coffee, really, nothing.) The lift is permanently out of order. The secure lockers are actually cages under the bed and you need to have your own padlock - they were out in the reception and I had to run to a shop to buy one. The door lock in my room was not working properly and had to be replaced. The room itself was tiny and cramped, not enough place for two people to stand, not to mention four. Nothing was really clean. Overall, a disappointing experience.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is absolutely great and the bed is very comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Luiza Rabelo Serpa

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Maria Luiza would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the common room and the atmosphere there! All staff seemed to be really nice and available to help.

Disliked: The connection with the internet was horrible! I couldn't connect when I was inside my room.

The property's response is...