HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh

Hostel | 9-13 Market street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1DE

84.7% Overall Rating

607 out of 684 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/04/2014)

Annabelle Bandigan thinks…

"The location, the security (I left my bag at the reception counter for 2 hrs., when i went back and claim it, not a single stuff was missing including my passport!). One of the staff named Jessica…"

Read all St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 8.39

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that for groups of 10 or more people we require a security deposit of £100. ***Important Information*** Photo identification is required for check in. The accepted forms are a valid passport, national ID card or drivers licence. Room check-in from 2pm, room check-out is 11am unless by prior arrangement with the management. Smoking is illegal throughout the hostel and bar. The property is 100% non-smoking. No alcohol is to be consumed in the hostel rooms. Group bookings for more than 10 people must be made by request through email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made in this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit, which will be refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules. Guests under the age of 18 must stay in a private room with guardians. Guests under 18-years of age are not permitted to share general dormitory rooms with people who are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the bar after the end of food service.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.78 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
57.05 USD

Hostel 81.0% 259 reviews
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
19.88 USD

Hostel 68.6% 285 reviews
Haggis Hostels
25.17 USD

Hostel 89.5% 56 reviews
STAY Central
54.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 33 reviews
Princes Street East Backpackers
18.46 USD

Hostel 78.2% 268 reviews
The Inn On The Mile
66.28 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
75.50 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

607 out of 684 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh'

Atmosphere
80.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
90.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 482 of 575 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Annabelle Bandigan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Annabelle would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the security (I left my bag at the reception counter for 2 hrs., when i went back and claim it, not a single stuff was missing including my passport!). One of the staff named Jessica was very nice and accommodating. I love her ribbon on her hair.

Disliked: The one who prepared the prepaid breakfast doesn't seem to love or know his job. The first day i ordered the American breakfast, the pancakes were rubbish! It was just made out of flour and water. The following day, the sausages were burnt!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, the bar downstairs and the free room upgrade

Disliked: Nothing in particular

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location, special offers for guests (welcome package), easy check-in/out

Disliked: dirty cutlery/dishes to some extent, cleanliness of ensuite bathrooms, room guest stayed in was too small and unsuitable for 5 double bunk beds

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: Unorganised breakfast, cooked breakfast unavailable even though I had paid for it.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lolu Obembe

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 April 2014 Lolu would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location

Disliked: Rooms were very small

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to train and bus stations, plus the main attractions in Edinburgh. They have a decent free breakfast and they serve pretty good food during the day at reasonable price.

Disliked: They only had a few plugs available in the rooms, so it was impossible for me to charge my phone overnight.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Anirban Ash

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Anirban would recommend this property

Liked: location & friendly staff

Disliked: some other travellers

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

david haxton

Alone

City break

01 April 2014 david would recommend this property

Liked: it was near town..receptionist was very friendly...even with me on my own i felt at ease staying in this establishment

Disliked: there was nothing to complain about

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms and beds and breakfast

Disliked: The common area was not very nice, so it was hard to interact with other guests there.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

LUCAS ZIEMBOWICZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 LUCAS would recommend this property

Liked: Different ambients, you had two pubs inside, as well as a chilling out room, the staff ws friendly and it had a very good location

Disliked: When I went to take shower the water was cold.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Carlos Gallardo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2014 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere in this hostel was awesome. They have a super lovely waitress called Mily, she was always ready when you need something. Also the people in reception they are all super kind girls.

Disliked: The toilet of the grupal room was not the cleanest toilet i've ever seen in my life. Actually the shower was pretty good, but the unisex toilet was a mess

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Maria Greene

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 February 2014 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The location is brilliant. Right next to the train station.

Disliked: The toilets weren't that clean.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent location, good price -breakfast included- and helpful staff.

Disliked: Rooms a little bit tiny; the shared room is really small (but is a bar available); you have to pay to let the luggage after check-out.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rocio Scasso

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2014 Rocio would recommend this property

Liked: Desayuno incluido, habitaciones amplias y comodas. wifi gratis

Disliked: un poco frio durante el invierno y wifi solo en planta baja y primer piso

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, facilities.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The restaurant it really cheap f you're staying there and the staff are really friendly. I found the rooms quite spacious and there was a good system for storing luggage.

Disliked: I had issues with the shower in my room. It would jump from really hot to really cold for about five minutes and then it was fine after that. I tried showers in two other rooms and they were fine. Also the food in the bar was either really good or slightly average depending on the chef at the time.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 January 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: see above

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very central to all the main attractions! It was kept clean and tidy at all times! The rooms where warm which helps when walking off the cold winter streets of Scotland!

Disliked: The only dislike I had was the stairs bit to be fair the reception did warn us when we arrived that walking to level four with out bags probably wasn't the best idea. We did make sure to use the lift from then on.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 January 2014

Liked: Bed was comfortable. Very good location.

Disliked: Don't bother staying here if you want even an hour of sleep! Music from the hostels bar downstairs and street noise was so loud I didn't sleep at all!! (And my form was on the third floor) Bathroom facilities were only just clean. 10 beds in a very small, cramped and stuffy room with no air con. While staff were friendly they lacked even basic knowledge of the city. Very disappointing and would definitely not stay here again.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff, great locker room, clean linen, silent hostel

Disliked: basic breakfast, not enough toilets

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Scott

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2013

Liked: Amazing central location, great secure storage, good deals and great tourist advice

Disliked: Lucy left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Philippa Currie

Alone

Business / conference

20 December 2013 Philippa would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely comfortable bed, great staff, safe, secure and happy place to be.

Disliked: ...but the room was tiny, and anyone any larger couldn't have fitted in the bathroom! I thought the room was a bit tacky, and needed renovation. Shame, because the location is great, and the staff wonderful, and nice to have somewhere for a quiet drink when you arrive.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lambros Karasoulas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2013 Lambros would recommend this property

Liked: everything was great

Disliked: ...

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Sanford

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

09 December 2013

Liked: Great location, right by the bus station, train station and shuttle stop to airport. Beds were comfortable and blankets were nice and warm.

Disliked: Shower and bathroom sink were gross when we arrived to our 4 person room. Room also smelled bad. I couldnt even bring myself to use the shower and Im not some sort of huge germ freak or anything! They should have been cleaned before we arrived. Staff was a bit unprofessional, kind of laid back and casual about everything. Didn't seem like they really treated their jobs as jobs or they weren't serious about it or something. Front desk area just seemed unkept and disorganized compared to other St. Christopher's I have stayed at. Free breakfast in the morning (toast and cereal) had such a long line I didnt get to have anything because I had to leave to catch my bus. Seems like there could be a better system so everyone isnt waiting so long for a simple piece of toast. No luggage room, had to pay 3 pounds to store our luggage in lockers because we arrived before check in. I didnt have the best experience, I would not stay at this hostel again.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Mafalda Ventura Mota

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2013 Ana Mafalda would recommend this property

Liked: The Hostel's pub is amazing and also the atomosphere!

Disliked: Ana Mafalda left no negative feedback.