HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St Christopher's Edinburgh Edinburgh Hostel

Above Belushis Bar, 9-13 Market Street, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 78%

Location 98%

Safety 88%

Staff 85%

Value 84%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 5.79EUR

Important Information

Please note that for groups of 10 or more people we require a security deposit of £100.
***Important Information***

Photo identification is required for check in. The accepted forms are a valid passport, national ID card or drivers licence. Room check-in from 2pm, room check-out is 11am unless by prior arrangement with the management.

Smoking is illegal throughout the hostel and bar. The property is 100% non-smoking. No alcohol is to be consumed in the hostel rooms.

Group bookings for more than 10 people must be made by request through email. We reserve the right to cancel group bookings which are not made in this way. All groups of 6 or more may be subject to a credit card security deposit, which will be refunded upon departure subject to a room check, behaviour and adherence to house rules.

Guests under the age of 18 must stay in a private room with guardians. Guests under 18-years of age are not permitted to share general dormitory rooms with people who are not part of their own group or family. Under 18s are not allowed in the bar after the end of food service.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 83%

Facilities 78%

Location 98%

Safety 88%

Staff 85%

Value 84%

Showing 1-10 of 127 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Well, we had problems with our luggage so it was apsolutely amazing that we had free laundry service. It was a life saver. The staff was friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Very close to Waverley station, lockers were useful to safely store luggage while visiting the city after already checked out.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: The lifts made life easy with bags, bathroom was clean.

Disliked: The heater was relatively ineffective

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks so much for your comments! Our apologies that the heater didn't seem to be fully operational during your time with us - we'll definitely ask our maintenance team to have a wee look at it to ensure that it's fixed for our future guests - cheers for the heads up! We hope you have many more amazing travels, and fingers crossed we get to see you again! Much love, the Edinburgh Team.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Mar 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It was a fyn place

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your amazing review! And thank you for visiting! Much love, the Edinburgh Team.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
41+

Liked: The location is super! The staff, marvellous! Breakfast, GREAT!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your review of your stay here in Edinburgh! We're so happy to hear that you had a great time, we absolutely loved having you stay. Fingers crossed we see you again in the near future! Until then, happy travels. Much love, the Edinburgh Team.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating


27 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome location in the heart of Edinburgh, two great pubs downstairs as well. Staff were all very nice and a good place to stay.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We're so glad to hear you had a great time with us. Hopefully we'll see you again very soon. Until then, happy travels! Love, the Edinburgh Team.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Pretty much everything was Nice

Disliked: No kitchenette or frig. And of course ,In a 10 dorm room it can be difficult to get to sleep

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay with us. We understand that it can be inconvenient without kitchen facilitates, however we do have a microwave, fridge and tea/coffee facilities available for use 24 hours a day in the chillout room. Any cutlery or bowls/plates that guests need can be acquired from the bars as well. I hope that this didn't hinder your stay with us in any way, and we would love to see you back here again soon. Kind regards, the Edinburgh Team.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Belushis and Jakes have great offers for food and drinks.

Disliked: Big hostel. Not easy to meet people.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Cheers for the feedback regarding your stay with us here in Edinburgh. We understand that it can be difficult to meet other travellers in larger hostels, so we have welcome drinks daily at 7pm to get people mingling and exchanging stories. We hope that this will enable guests to interact more with each other. Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay. We would love to see you back in the future. Until then, happy travels! Love, the Edinburgh Team.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Well located, good value

Disliked: No lounge area - either a loud bar, or a somewhat soulless quiet room (the banquette seating) - somewhere to sit on a sofa with a coffee would be great

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks again for taking the time to review your stay. We are trying to enlarge our chill out room and we would love to see you back in the future. Until then, happy travels! Love, the Edinburgh Team.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Nice location just near the coach station. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Will stay again for sure.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, Thanks for your review! Glad to hear you had a good time staying with us. We do hope to see your face again. Safe travels Love the Edinburgh Team

Check Availability