We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of High Street Hostel

Hostel | 8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

89.9% Overall Rating

1395 out of 1499 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/11/2014)

Rumika Ando thinks…

"Staffs are very friendly and helpful,kind. I wanted to contact to a friend of mine but I haven't got mobile phone then a guy , one of the staffs offered me to use his own mobile phone. That was…"

Read all High Street Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.08
  • Towel USD 0.32

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE - For bookings of more than 6 people - we will not confirm this booking unless it is made through the Online Groups Department. Just a few reminders; You will need photographic ID to sign. For a booking of 6 people or more please contact the hostel directly. No stag or hen parties please Minimum age to stay here is 18 years Please note that our bathrooms are unisex [but with private cubicles of course]. Our cancellation policy is 48 hours prior to 10:30am on the day of arrival. No-shows will be charged the equivalent of two nights stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Brodies 93 Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 70.6% 263 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
18.18 USD

Hostel 89.4% 377 reviews
Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
34.89 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
73.03 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
16.23 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
21.65 USD

Apartment 90.0% 4 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
55.18 USD

Hostel 87.1% 284 reviews
Snoozebox Hotel Edinburgh
97.37 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

1395 out of 1499 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'High Street Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 1039 of 1127 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 41 | 42   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rumika Ando

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 November 2014

Liked: Staffs are very friendly and helpful,kind. I wanted to contact to a friend of mine but I haven't got mobile phone then a guy , one of the staffs offered me to use his own mobile phone. That was really kind. I haven't asked his name.... I want to say to him Thanx again. I really enjoyed staying this hostel in reasonable price.

Disliked: Rumika doesn't leave negative comments.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cornelis Verver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

26 October 2014 Cornelis would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Warm and cozy. Quiet enough to normally sleep at night. And best part, at the center of the Royal Mile. Next to the best pub in Edinburgh, The Royal Mile Tavern.

Disliked: No complaints whatsoever!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean room and cheap breakfast.

Disliked: No wi-fi in room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the scenery,

Disliked: the smell is bad

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SUBRAMANIAM SHANMUGA SUNDARAM

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 SUBRAMANIAM would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi was good. Could access in Level 6 properly. One of the receptionist was kind enough to answer our queries patiently.

Disliked: My floor was in Level 6, and didn't have a lift. The other receptionist was a bit rude when I asked for help in carrying my stuff up.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014

Liked: Staff were great.

Disliked: Room was really cramped and there was a terrible smell in the building and the room (like sewerage and mold). I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christina Gawne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and good vibe in the common areas.

Disliked: Hallway smelled like bleach and annoying that wifi only works in the reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Casey Gardiner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location- weird setup with everyone hanging out in the main reception and not the lounge but I guess this has to do with the wifi access! Bathrooms are shared (male and female) this was fine by me but may be an issue for some? Overall great hostel

Disliked: Casey left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere in the lounge, friendly staff and customers, nicely laid out in the dorms and good value for money.

Disliked: Few charging facilities, not a problem in my dorm on this stay, but in previous stays it caused an inconvenience.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, good rooms and showers. Really good kitchen, they offer breakfast buffet for not too much money. Location is great, really close to the royal Mile. Good laundry service, wifi wwas available in the common area only.

Disliked: Joseph left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sarah Short

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful, friendly staff. Free hot choc Clean rooms and facilities

Disliked: Smelt of urine a bit in the hall ways Couldn't sleep as my room was right about the common area which was playing loud music, but hey it's a hostel.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just off the Royal Mile. Staff were wonderfully friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, easily accessible and very clean!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

John Chapman

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, well run hostel

Disliked: Kitchen needs more food boxes and new fridges also the kitchen cleaning time is rather inconvenient if you fancy a bit of a lie in.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Service, quietness, cleanliness

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellie Lewis

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 August 2014 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was excellent!

Disliked: Ellie left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

HUAN-KA CHIUNG

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 HUAN-KA would recommend this property

Liked: Really great place!!!!

Disliked: HUAN-KA left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty basic but very good value for money.

Disliked: some of the furniture was a bit knackered.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic stay at this conveniently located hostel. Staff was generally friendly and helpful and the kitchen has a good range of equipment and facilities.

Disliked: Sometimes it can get a bit noisy at night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kimberly Grant

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Bathroom facilities, two toilets and two showers for 16 people wasn't enough.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The prices, location and toilets.

Disliked: The many stairs

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dennis Tobi

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was fine.

Disliked: Nope.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jackie Manders

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: Location, great helpful and friendly staff, really good level of cleanliness

Disliked: The wifi didn't work in the rooms or the kitchen, but it was fine in the lounge area. Not really a big deal

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent! And the staff are really friendly.

Disliked: They are only minor things, the showers don't really have room to get changed in, pots and pans in the kitchen could do with replacing, the plugs in the rooms don't always work, but the location makes up for these little things. I would definitely stay here again.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David speed

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfy and great location. Staff were great too.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.