We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of High Street Hostel

Hostel | 8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

85.7% Overall Rating

1434 out of 1540 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2015)

Ashlinn Sambrook thinks…

"The High Street Hostel has been amazing, the location is perfectly if you're visiting during the fringe and I'm sure at other times too. Really close to the Castle, it's on the Royal Mile and it is…"

Read all High Street Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.91
  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

We have a 48 hour cancellation policy (different conditions apply for August and Hogmanay – see below!). Cancellations must be made 48 hours before 10.30 am of the arrival date – otherwise they’ll be treated as no shows. No shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first two nights’ accommodation. – Guests cancelling outside of 48 hours prior to arrival will receive a refund of the full price minus the deposit. – We have a 28 days cancellation policy for any bookings in August. Please note that any bookings for AUGUST will be charged in FULL if not cancelled within 28 days prior to check-in date (before 10.30 am) Please note that there won’t be ANY REFUNDS for the whole of AUGUST when cancelled less than 28 days before check-in. In AUGUST any deposit paid is non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Brodies 93 Hostel
15.30 USD

Hostel 66.1% 278 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
18.36 USD

Hostel 91.3% 388 reviews
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
15.76 USD

Hostel 86.7% 1761 reviews
Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
32.89 USD

Hostel 84.6% 236 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
68.85 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
15.30 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
30.60 USD

Apartment 88.6% 5 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
52.02 USD

Hostel 83.2% 295 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.7%

Overall Rating

1434 out of 1540 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'High Street Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
88.8%
Value
80.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 1072 of 1168 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 42 | 43   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlinn Sambrook

Alone

Events / festivals
Work / volunteering

31 August 2015 Ashlinn would recommend this property

Liked: The High Street Hostel has been amazing, the location is perfectly if you're visiting during the fringe and I'm sure at other times too. Really close to the Castle, it's on the Royal Mile and it is perfectly located near to the Princes Street shops.

Disliked: Not much place to store large amounts of luggage but it is workable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel ever! The location is perfect (!!!) , the staff is extremely friendly and helpful, everything's clean, there's free wifi that works and is relatively fast (I had no trouble uploading high resolution photos). I stayed in a room for 16 people but the room is organised in such a way that you actually get some privacy and can't even see all the beds. The room also had lockers (you get the key with your room key), every bed had its own sockets (mine had 4, I had some trouble getting them to work but it was probably because of my adapter and at least one would always work so it was fine!). Each room has a "theme" and they assign your bed (which has a name, depending on the theme). There's also a laundry service and you get clean and dry clothes delivered to your bed in a couple of hours for only £3.50! The breakfast isn't included in the price, but it's really cheap. I can't tell you more than that as I never eat breakfast at hostels. There's free coffee and tea and the lounge areas are very nice! The bathrooms get cleaned regularly, the showers are good, there's hooks for all your things and there were even towels that you could use, idk if you had to pay for them, but they were right there on the hooks by the sinks and they changed them every day! All in all, perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

27 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and very central.

Disliked: None.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and relaxed athmosphere

Disliked: /

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Suze Berry

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2015 Suze would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Small rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

John Chapman

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 John would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel in a good location.

Disliked: The bathrooms are only average, a little cramped and the kitchen is closed from 10.30 to 12.30 which is a bit inconvenient.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the middle of the Old Town, next to the Royal Mile. I was in a 8-bed room with enough space for everyone.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chelsi Doyle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2015 Chelsi would recommend this property

Liked: It's located right off the Royal Mile, making it really easy to get to most places in Edinburgh on foot. The kitchen had lots of cookware. Wireless internet was available everywhere.

Disliked: The room had that weird smell that you get from lots of people staying in the same place and my rucksack smelled like it for a few days after we left.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent for exploring the Old Town and all the walking tours that leave from nearby on the Royal Mile. The massive kitchen and cheap breakfast made saving a few pounds easy. The big kichen also encouraged socalizing, which is essential to a true hostel experience.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect and it's clean.

Disliked: Some of the staff don't speak english and were not very friendly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, good showers, perfect location. two pillows!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

matteo airoldi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2015 matteo would recommend this property

Liked: Is the mostra centrale you can find... With a big kitchen to use, where you can Cook by yourself... Big room and confortable bed... Everything is ok.

Disliked: Nothing, no complaints at all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Stomp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: I loved that this hostel was close to everything on the royal mile. The staff were friendly and helpful with directions. The kitchen was also good for those who don't want to eat out every night.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is ideal to discover the centre of the city. The staff was frindly and always ready to help or answer our questions. You have to pay for the breakfast, but the products were of good quality (even if I still dilske English Breakfast tea !). I also like the themed-dormitories (our hallway was quite geeky with Batman, Ninja Turtles, Lord of The Rings...).

Disliked: We were on the last level and there were some problems with hot water at peak times. You have to go down a level to be sure to have a hot shower !

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Cheng Tat Seah

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2015 Cheng Tat would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price of it. It is very central.

Disliked: Very basic hostel, if you want towel need to pay extra and does not come with breakfast though breakfast is cheap.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Laura Pereyra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2015 Maria Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, always helpful for directions, how to save money, etc everything that budget traveler wants to know. Clean, breakfast for 2£, what more you can ask for it.

Disliked: Nothing in particular

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small shower rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome, walking distance to all the sights. Friendly staff and lockers in all the rooms.

Disliked: The room was a little bit smelly

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kimberley penrose

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 May 2015 kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and went above and beyond to be helpful

Disliked: If there were toilets on the 3rd floor I couldn't find them which meant walking down stairs at night to go to the bathroom.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Aimie Barnes

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 May 2015

Liked: Close to centre, big kitchen area

Disliked: We stayed in two hostels this trip aswell as numerous hostels around the world.We stayed in a 2 person room, very overpriced for a tiny box room with very uncomfortable beds. Bathrooms are average at best. Staff follow ridiculous policies like asking for a passport for a hairdryer which is worth about £2. Kitchen is big but common area is very run dow, dated DIY paintings on Walls. Do yourself a favour and check in at Smart City Hostel two buildings down! Exact same price, miles better in quality!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jacob Verter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2015 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice lounge areas, and easy 24 hour accessibility. Plus they let me leave my bags there after I checked out and before my train left!

Disliked: Probably my own fault, but i was in a huge dorm, so had to be very careful about locking stuff away (they do provide free lockers), even when I dipped out for a shower or into the hall for a phone call. Also, the bathrooms weren't amazing. Only 2 showers 2 stalls and 2 sinks for about 20 people. Make sure to bring your own towel! Also for two nights of my stay the man across from me was the loudest snorer I've ever had the misfortune to encounter. It woke me up almost every hour. Like a car engine..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Nancy Seckinger

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Emma Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Really clean. Cheap breakfast provided. Each bed had two plugs and a lovker for safekeeping. Great place to stay for the value.

Disliked: Overhall pretty good experience.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robin Seffrin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2015 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: nice small hostel, friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jhonny blanco medrano

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

05 April 2015 jhonny would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers in the hostel room were very different and helpful to other hostels i have stayed at before

Disliked: Snorer in the room :( can't be helped by the hostel though.