We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of High Street Hostel

Hostel | 8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1NE

90.1% Overall Rating

1414 out of 1519 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/05/2015)

"The location is awesome, walking distance to all the sights. Friendly staff and lockers in all the rooms."

Read all High Street Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.91
  • Towel USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

We have a 48 hour cancellation policy (different conditions apply for August and Hogmanay – see below!). Cancellations must be made 48 hours before 10.30 am of the arrival date – otherwise they’ll be treated as no shows. No shows shall be charged the equivalent of the first two nights’ accommodation. – Guests cancelling outside of 48 hours prior to arrival will receive a refund of the full price minus the deposit. – We have a 28 days cancellation policy for any bookings in August. Please note that any bookings for AUGUST will be charged in FULL if not cancelled within 28 days prior to check-in date (before 10.30 am) Please note that there won’t be ANY REFUNDS for the whole of AUGUST when cancelled less than 28 days before check-in. In AUGUST any deposit paid is non-refundable.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Brodies 93 Hostel
13.77 USD

Hostel 68.2% 271 reviews
Royal Mile Backpackers
21.88 USD

Hostel 91.3% 382 reviews
Smart City Hostels Edinburgh
21.42 USD

Hostel 87.3% 1754 reviews
Edinburgh Metro Youth Hostel
32.89 USD

Hostel 83.7% 231 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
68.84 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
15.30 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Drummond Street Apartments
22.95 USD

Apartment 88.6% 5 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
45.13 USD

Hostel 87.1% 284 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

1414 out of 1519 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'High Street Hostel'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 1055 of 1147 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 42 | 43   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is awesome, walking distance to all the sights. Friendly staff and lockers in all the rooms.

Disliked: The room was a little bit smelly

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kimberley penrose

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

17 May 2015 kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and went above and beyond to be helpful

Disliked: If there were toilets on the 3rd floor I couldn't find them which meant walking down stairs at night to go to the bathroom.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Aimie Barnes

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 May 2015

Liked: Close to centre, big kitchen area

Disliked: We stayed in two hostels this trip aswell as numerous hostels around the world.We stayed in a 2 person room, very overpriced for a tiny box room with very uncomfortable beds. Bathrooms are average at best. Staff follow ridiculous policies like asking for a passport for a hairdryer which is worth about £2. Kitchen is big but common area is very run dow, dated DIY paintings on Walls. Do yourself a favour and check in at Smart City Hostel two buildings down! Exact same price, miles better in quality!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jacob Verter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 May 2015 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice lounge areas, and easy 24 hour accessibility. Plus they let me leave my bags there after I checked out and before my train left!

Disliked: Probably my own fault, but i was in a huge dorm, so had to be very careful about locking stuff away (they do provide free lockers), even when I dipped out for a shower or into the hall for a phone call. Also, the bathrooms weren't amazing. Only 2 showers 2 stalls and 2 sinks for about 20 people. Make sure to bring your own towel! Also for two nights of my stay the man across from me was the loudest snorer I've ever had the misfortune to encounter. It woke me up almost every hour. Like a car engine..

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Nancy Seckinger

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2015 Emma Nancy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Really clean. Cheap breakfast provided. Each bed had two plugs and a lovker for safekeeping. Great place to stay for the value.

Disliked: Overhall pretty good experience.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robin Seffrin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 April 2015 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: nice small hostel, friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jhonny blanco medrano

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

05 April 2015 jhonny would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lockers in the hostel room were very different and helpful to other hostels i have stayed at before

Disliked: Snorer in the room :( can't be helped by the hostel though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Hannes Pircher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2015 Hannes would recommend this property

Liked: There was an option of getting really nice breakfast for cheap money in the morning.

Disliked: The windows were really thin and we were staying there during deep winter- it was cold in the rooms to sleep. Also, you could hear absolutely everything through the windows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good value for money and the location was excellent. Cheap breakfast too, clean etc. excellent value.

Disliked: nothing I can think of.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a Great Time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

amanda hutapea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2015 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just perfect. Most tourist attractions are accesible on foot! Very convenient!

Disliked: I hate the fact that we share toilet and bathroom with the entire floor and no female-male division

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacek Kupper

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 February 2015 Jacek would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and helpfulness of the staff and people

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very close to all center of the city and right along all the clubs and pubs. The reception was nice and helped us find things to do. The lockers were also good in the rooms, as well as the wifi.

Disliked: The property had a weird smell throughout the rooms and halls. Sheets felt not the cleanliest, I found some stains on my pillow, but still good value for the money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher forster

Alone

Work / volunteering

04 February 2015 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: City enter very good staff and hadcommon room and breakfast for a token sum

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Claro

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 December 2014 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, best on in Edinburgh. Friendly staff, terrific atmosphere, all amenities clean and in working order.

Disliked: Everything was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rumika Ando

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 November 2014

Liked: Staffs are very friendly and helpful,kind. I wanted to contact to a friend of mine but I haven't got mobile phone then a guy , one of the staffs offered me to use his own mobile phone. That was really kind. I haven't asked his name.... I want to say to him Thanx again. I really enjoyed staying this hostel in reasonable price.

Disliked: Rumika doesn't leave negative comments.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cornelis Verver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

26 October 2014 Cornelis would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Warm and cozy. Quiet enough to normally sleep at night. And best part, at the center of the Royal Mile. Next to the best pub in Edinburgh, The Royal Mile Tavern.

Disliked: No complaints whatsoever!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean room and cheap breakfast.

Disliked: No wi-fi in room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the scenery,

Disliked: the smell is bad

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SUBRAMANIAM SHANMUGA SUNDARAM

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 SUBRAMANIAM would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi was good. Could access in Level 6 properly. One of the receptionist was kind enough to answer our queries patiently.

Disliked: My floor was in Level 6, and didn't have a lift. The other receptionist was a bit rude when I asked for help in carrying my stuff up.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014

Liked: Staff were great.

Disliked: Room was really cramped and there was a terrible smell in the building and the room (like sewerage and mold). I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christina Gawne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and good vibe in the common areas.

Disliked: Hallway smelled like bleach and annoying that wifi only works in the reception.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Casey Gardiner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2014 Casey would recommend this property

Liked: Great location- weird setup with everyone hanging out in the main reception and not the lounge but I guess this has to do with the wifi access! Bathrooms are shared (male and female) this was fine by me but may be an issue for some? Overall great hostel

Disliked: Casey left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere in the lounge, friendly staff and customers, nicely laid out in the dorms and good value for money.

Disliked: Few charging facilities, not a problem in my dorm on this stay, but in previous stays it caused an inconvenience.