HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel | 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

95.3% Overall Rating

1757 out of 1827 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

Pei Ling Gan thinks…

"We had a very pleasant stay. We love the hostel's decor! The reception staff were very friendly. We booked a double room with shared bathroom. It was an attic room at the top floor, there was no lift…"

Read all Castle Rock Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.02
  • Towel USD 0.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We don't accept any group larger than 6 people. Be aware that if you book for a big group your reservation will be cancelled and you will risk your 10% deposit paid online. If guests are under the age of 18 you must contact the hostel first for the manager’s approval You must be over the age of 18 to stay (no children)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

The Grassmarket Hotel
54.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.5% 12 reviews
Budget backpackers
16.78 USD

Hostel 93.6% 1758 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
16.78 USD

Hostel 97.1% 9 reviews
City Centre Hostel Apartments
25.17 USD

Hostel 70.6% 164 reviews
Portsburgh Square
41.95 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
46.14 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
72.15 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
City Stay Edinburgh.
16.78 USD

Apartment 81.2% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.3%

Overall Rating

1757 out of 1827 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castle Rock Hostel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 1335 of 1476 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 53 | 54   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pei Ling Gan

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Pei Ling would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very pleasant stay. We love the hostel's decor! The reception staff were very friendly. We booked a double room with shared bathroom. It was an attic room at the top floor, there was no lift but it wasn't a problem for us. We love the different themes they have thought of for the rooms. The kitchen is huge, with sufficient refrigerators and cooking utensils, and even has CCTVs installed to prevent food theft. The lounges are spacious as well, with more than enough space for everyone.

Disliked: Our minor suggestion for improvement is perhaps to add a few more hooks in the room for guests to hang a few more pieces of clothing apart from towels. The snooker pool at the lounge could perhaps be moved closer to the window rather than next to the stairs and sink. So that it's more convenient for the pool players who need to move about and sometimes clash with guests who need to use the sink.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, in both the rooms and bathrooms. Great location by the castle and on the edge of the old town. Friendly staff greeted us on arrival.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was amazing. I loved the decorations, the staff, and the fact that it was so spacious...even with it being rather busy. It has an absolutely amazing atmoshphere with a great location and I felt very safe.

Disliked: I had no problems with this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and outstanding location.

Disliked: Nil.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the absolute best hostels I've stayed in! It has everything and the staff is so helpful and nice! I was amazed by the cleanliness of both common rooms, bathrooms and sleeping area! This is perhaps the best place to stay in Edinburgh!

Disliked: There were quite a lot "long termers" when I was there. They stay for free (I think) in return for cleaning and maintenance. However, they take up a lot of space in the common rooms and it can feel a bit excluding because they only hang out with each other + not cool that you have to pay for using a computer and that wifi is only in the common rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

emily ayling

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014 emily would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the common rooms and atmosphere of the place - you can tell they've gone to lots of effort to make it interesting for guests. Great location, good price.

Disliked: The bed mattresses on the top bunks were very thin - was quite uncomfortable to sleep on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice location in the heart of the old city, all the sites are nearby within walking distance, staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean, bathrooms and kitchens are continually cleaned, really worth it. the fireplace in the posh lounge is a must.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and clean rooms, plus there was a sink in the bedroom. It was really near the Edinburgh Castle and staff were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Only con was thin walls.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Variety of communal areas depending on whether you want a quieter or more social time.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, the location was amazing, and the overall atmosphere of the hostel was very welcoming and comfortable. I would definitely stay again.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was genuinely perfect.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is extremely helpful, and there are plenty of rooms for hanging out, listwning to music, there is a movie room, and a quiet room for work.

Disliked: The kitchen didn't seem very clean and the showers are very small.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and helpful staff, clean facilities, cool vibe with all the paintings, and great location! Fun lounges as well. literally five mins from grassmarket and the castle.

Disliked: Not as social as I would have liked, not much interaction among hostellers as far as I could see. Also, not sure whether the hostel provides shower shoes or not, but they should.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy and clean, friendly staff and several common rooms with a cheerful and friendly atmosphere. We enjoyed the cheap breakfast buffe and the location close to the castle on a street with some nie restaurants very close. Comfortable beds and quiet at night.

Disliked: Luggage room could have a better security system, even though people that are not guests can't get in I wouldn't trust all the other guests. WiFi a bit slow in the evening and no access in bedrooms.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and cute themed rooms.

Disliked: The bathrooms and kitchen were rather grimy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The themed rooms had great character, the location was perfect (Edinburgh castle on your doorstep), amazing building. I felt at home here.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had such a fun vibe, I especially liked the room with all of records for "grooving."

Disliked: There could have been a few more showers available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Madigan

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in. Very clean, really helpful staff and fantastic location.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stuart Robertson

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 February 2014 Stuart would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, room was clean, 24hr recepetion.

Disliked: Stuart left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Svetoslava Yordanova

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 February 2014 Svetoslava would recommend this property

Liked: Еverything was great, excellent location!

Disliked: Еverything was great

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jessie Broadway

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014 Jessie would recommend this property

Liked: Love the different rooms to chill out in! HUGE kitchen

Disliked: on my last night i got heaps of bites, I presumes from bed bugs

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mehmet Hakan Koparan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 February 2014 Mehmet Hakan would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central and there is great friendly atmosphere there.

Disliked: Mehmet Hakan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tzu Lun Fang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014 Tzu Lun would recommend this property

Liked: Ive been Castle Rock for three times. This is obsolutely the best and must stay hostel In Uk!! The staffs are so nice and passionate. The rooms and bathroom are so clean!!

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hynek Pecinka

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 Hynek would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was cozy, everyone was friendly, the location of the hostel just a few steps from the castle is simply amazing...

Disliked: There was nothing to complain about

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lais Siqueira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Lais would recommend this property

Liked: Clima do hostel muito aconchegante. As salas comuns sao bem confortaveis. Os banheiros sao limpos varias vezes ao dia. Cozinha grande. Maquinas de lavar roupa. Otimo hostel!!!!!

Disliked: A escadaria mata qq mochileiro. Tres lances de escada.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in a lot of hostels and this was by far the most impressive. Lots of little things made the stay really enjoyable; free tea and coffee in the kitchen, (and warm pretzels the night we stayed), a comfy lounge, good systems for storing food and using facilities without any shouty signs, 20p towel hire, hair dryers available. And lots of big things, like friendly staff, great location in front of the castle, hot showers, a locker by the bed. Were it not for the fact you were sharing a room I'd say choose it above a hotel!

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked about this property.