We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel | 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

96.3% Overall Rating

1871 out of 1944 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2015)

"The hostel itself is in a really nice, old building thats a short walk from the city centre and the surrounding attractions. Edinburgh is an amazing city and the Castle Rock Hostel made the trip very enjoyable. Theres…"

Read all Castle Rock Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.73
  • Towel USD 0.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

OVER 18 ONLY - Sorry, no children. No stag/hens parties allowed. If you would like to book more than 5 people you need to contact us directly before you make the booking. Be aware that if you book for a group your reservation will be cancelled and you will lose the 12% deposit. All guests must provide some form of identification (either passport, drivers licence or national ID card) at check in. Cancellations must be notified before 2pm, 2 days before arrival, otherwise the first night will be charged

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Budget backpackers
12.90 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1824 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
12.90 USD

Hostel 94.3% 94 reviews
Code Hostel
28.84 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Royal Overseas League Hotel
64.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
19.73 USD

Hostel 73.3% 294 reviews
Phoenix II
18.21 USD

Hostel 68.9% 9 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
65.27 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
City Stay Edinburgh
15.18 USD

Hostel 91.9% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.3%

Overall Rating

1871 out of 1944 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castle Rock Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
98.4%
Value
97.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 1428 of 1592 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 57 | 58   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfull staff and24 h reciption .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel itself is in a really nice, old building thats a short walk from the city centre and the surrounding attractions. Edinburgh is an amazing city and the Castle Rock Hostel made the trip very enjoyable. Theres many opportunities to meet new people and everyone is friendly. The hostel staff are helpful and kind, and the pub crawl on Thursday nights is a great way to meet others. Would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Enviroment

Disliked: carpit in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael semer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

22 April 2015 michael would recommend this property

Liked: My only complaint was that I had to leave so soon. If I didn't already have my flight booked I might have never left.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are friendly and helpful. Lockers and luggage room are also provided which could ensure the safety issue.

Disliked: Sometimes, it was quite noise in the corridor which may disturb sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keele Venable

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

21 April 2015 Keele would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the larger property and variety of spaces to hang out in. I liked the free tea, wifi, the cheap breakfast options, and the ease of borrowing adaptors, towels, etc. Its location was excellent - you can easily get to it and it allows you to do a variety of things. They also offer you discounts at a variety of places.

Disliked: The lockers were a bit small, and the luggage room did not always offer the security I would have liked. When I can't check in until later, I would like to be able to drop off my laptop and lock it up sometime. They only offer a gated area and a luggage room that they mostly allow people into after asking. It is secure, but I like locking my stuff. There weren't enough hooks or shelves in the bathrooms/showers/changerooms to treat it like a change room. It left things wet or easily falling on the floor. More shelves and hooks would be great. Not enough cuttlery. If you plan on eating during breakfast time, there were not enough knives and spoons left for everyone else. (These are all really small things - but I'd like them to improve it!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, right next to Edinburgh Castle. The hostel is nearby a lot of nice restaurants and it's not a far walk from the train station. Facilities were great and staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was pretty perfect!

Disliked: Nothing at all!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

MATTHEW ROSS THOMPSON

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2015 MATTHEW would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice atmosphere, great central location

Disliked: MATTHEW left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and a great price. Super friendly, helpful staff

Disliked: Could get a bit noisy at night but what hostel doesn't?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Varied common rooms. Some for those wanting peace and quiet, some for those who want to be loud.

Disliked: The sinks were all clogged with hair. A lot of loud people yelling across the room well into the night, but that seemed to be just a cultural thing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff

Disliked: Mixed gender toilets, room got very hot

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henrique Galvao

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Henrique would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt one of the best hostels i've been to. From staff members, to the building itself, other guests, everything was amazing and good fun. Everything was properly clean, cheap and good breakfast at £1.50, there was just a good vibe all around. Definitely recommend it to anyone who's visiting Edinburgh, give this hostel a go.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie O'Brien

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 February 2015 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: The themed rooms and themed sitting rooms including a lovely big and bright breakfast room

Disliked: The door to my room seemed to be permanently open

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely atmosphere very friendly :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ellen tattam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2015 ellen would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere and common rooms, great massive kitchen, clean rooms and bathrooms :-)

Disliked: ellen left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jesse Blackley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2015 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location, up one flight of stair and your at the castle, down one and your in the Grass market, and only a very short walk to the leaving points for various tours.The hostel was very clean and very pleasant to stay in, with a big and well-furnished common room, good wifi (only downstairs, but I expect that).

Disliked: The beds where very hard, no real mattresses just a piece of foam with a cover on it, might as well have been sleeping on the floor. No shelves in the showers for placing clothing on, only hooks, not enough for all the clothes one wears in winter. Although your issued with a security pass to be let in, staff didn't pay much attention to it and I get the feeling I could have just flashed any random piece of orange cardboard to get in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great hostel right in the heart of the old city of Edinburgh. The atmosphere was awesome and staff were super friendly and helpful. Common area is great with a pool table and lots of comfy lounges to socialise, plus a theatre room where they played Scottish movies. The pub crawl (on Thursday nights) was really fun - there was a huge group of different people, plus it was free (unlike so many of the pub crawls run by other hostels) and drinks were very cheap (particularly for Edinburgh). The bathrooms and rooms were clean and sleeping was no problem whatsoever. Would 100% stay here again and recommend to anyone coming to Edinburgh.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Allum

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 January 2015 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Had a really nice feel to the place and a fantastic atmosphere, staff were more than helpful and the showers were hot and powerful, all the optional extras were cheap and just made sense, no ridiculously expensive towels like other places, just a really nice place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YI GE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 YI would recommend this property

Liked: it deserves the honor to be the best hostel in edinburgh friendly staff a lot of information guiding your travel, you can always find them in the common room or consult one of the staffs great common room/public area/two kitchens wifi is ok, not so strong in private dooms there is limited space in the dooms, but you can always stay in the reading room or pack your stuff in the sofas in the corridor without disturbing your roommates free drinks i did not attend pub crawls or film nights, but i think they do offer these great opportunites

Disliked: only problem is their bathroom, i stay for 4 nights, i did not have hot baths for 3 nights, they did apologize the problem and agreed to fix it as soon as possible. i am not sure if the problem is fixed now ask for extra money for using the computer

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location as it's right next to the castle. Although we had to share bathroom facilities after booking a private room, there are plenty of showers and we never had to queue.

Disliked: Some of the day staff came across as cold and unfriendly. However, other staff were friendly and helped us plan our trip. We stayed in a large private room that was only furnished euthanasia a bed; could do with some chairs!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about the hostel. I was here for Christmas, and had the best day. Such a great atmosphere, great common areas to meet people. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is easy to access, and in a great spot, close to major attractions. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gio' Mattia Monacolli

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014 Gio' Mattia would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, nice people

Disliked: Gio' Mattia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the castle, great interiors

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well-located. The atmosphere is fun and safe. Definitely a hostel, but one of the best I've stayed at. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Only that the water pressure in the showers is not great. Everything else was super!