HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh

Hostel

15 Johnston Terrrace, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 99%

Safety 96%

Staff 98%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 180.23RUB
  • Towel 24.03RUB

Important Information

OVER 18 ONLY - Sorry, no children.
No stag/hens parties allowed.
If you would like to book more than 5 people you need to contact us directly before you make the booking. Be aware that if you book for a group your reservation will be cancelled and you will lose the 12% deposit.
All guests must provide some form of identification (either passport, drivers licence or national ID card) at check in.
Cancellations must be notified before 2pm, 2 days before arrival, otherwise the first night will be charged

***AUGUST CANCELLATION POLICY: August bookings must be cancelled at
least 28 days prior to 2.00pm on the arrival date. If bookings are
cancelled within 28 days, the amount equal to the first night will be
charged. No shows will be charged the full amount of the booking.


**ROOM TYPES:
Please note: when booking private double rooms please bear in mind the room has 1 double bed.


SPECIAL CANCELLATION POLICY FOR NEW YEARS / HOGMANAY: All New Years /
Hogmanay reservations must be canceled 7 days in advance prior to 2pm on
the arrival date to receive a 90% refund. If it is less that 7 days in
advance, NO REFUND WILL BE GIVEN. FAILURE TO SHOW WILL RESULT IN THE
FULL AMOUNT OF YOUR RESERVATION BEING CHARGED.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 98%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 89%

Location 99%

Safety 96%

Staff 98%

Value 95%

Showing 1-10 of 349 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: One word: location. It's close to everything and all the major attractions are within walking distance. Transportation is not an issue here.

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: The hostel was well situated. It was literally a minute or two walk to find shopping, food and drinks, tour opportunities, and fantastic views. A major bonus is that its right across from Edinburgh castle. There was the option of separate sleeping and bathroom spaces for women should they feel uncomfortable doing so in the same area as men.

Disliked: My room was next to one of the people who live at the hostel and they tended to play loud music in the afternoons.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: I liked the location, friendly staff, facilities, common rooms, theater, clean washrooms and atmosphere filled with backpackers from around the world.

Disliked: The size of the beds were small and there were no guard rails to protect a guest from falling from the top bunk. As a result, it felt insecure and unsafe sleeping on the top bunk. I asked to switch my bed to a bottom bunk and the reception desk told me no and that I was to request this the next morning. I couldn't because the reception desk was busy and I was on a rush to catch my day trip excursion bus the following morning. They could have easily switched me to a bottom bunk bed since there were plenty available in my room. As a result, I felt uncomfortable being on the top bunk and this ruined my sleep throughout the night. Guard rails could have made it more safe to sleep on the top.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: Everything.

Disliked: Just the fact that in my opinion it lacks a bar or pub in the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I had a lovely room and the bathroom was very clean. The city centre was only a few minutes walk away and you have a very nice view from the hostel and the staff was very friendly

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great spot, great staff and large clean rooms

Disliked: The large amiunt of long termers creates a bit of an unfriendly environment as they have thier groups and dont tend to mix. Other then that a great place to stay

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked the common rooms and everyone was so friendly

Disliked: The beds werent the most comfortable

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good

Disliked: Bad Smalls

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: - Staff were friendly and helpful with activities to do in Edinburgh and would look things up for you if you weren't sure where they were located - Rooms were clean and well kept, with a storage locker for valuables - Common room was clean and busy most of the time creating a good vibe

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Me gusto mucho la ubicación del lugar, las duchas y las habitaciones muy amplias y hermosas. Los chicos de la recepción divinos todos!!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability