We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel | 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

93.5% Overall Rating

1924 out of 1998 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/08/2015)

"The location is really cool, right opposite the castle, and it is set up to look a bit castle-like with a knight's costume set up in the corridor. All the rooms have a theme as well with the beds named after the theme.…"

Read all Castle Rock Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.28
  • Towel USD 0.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

OVER 18 ONLY - Sorry, no children. No stag/hens parties allowed. If you would like to book more than 5 people you need to contact us directly before you make the booking. Be aware that if you book for a group your reservation will be cancelled and you will lose the 12% deposit. All guests must provide some form of identification (either passport, drivers licence or national ID card) at check in. Cancellations must be notified before 2pm, 2 days before arrival, otherwise the first night will be charged ***AUGUST CANCELLATION POLICY: August bookings must be cancelled at least 28 days prior to 2.00pm on the arrival date. If bookings are cancelled within 28 days, the amount equal to the first night will be charged. No shows will be charged the full amount of the booking. **ROOM TYPES: Please note: when booking private double rooms please bear in mind the room has 1 double bed. SPECIAL CANCELLATION POLICY FOR NEW YEARS / HOGMANAY: All New Years / Hogmanay reservations must be canceled 7 days in advance prior to 2pm on the arrival date to receive a 90% refund. If it is less that 7 days in advance, NO REFUND WILL BE GIVEN. FAILURE TO SHOW WILL RESULT IN THE FULL AMOUNT OF YOUR RESERVATION BEING CHARGED.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Budget backpackers
15.22 USD

Hostel 90.5% 1849 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
15.22 USD

Hostel 89.6% 114 reviews
Code Hostel
30.45 USD

Hostel 93.3% 3 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
105.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
18.04 USD

Hostel 73.4% 299 reviews
Phoenix II
18.27 USD

Hostel 75.2% 15 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
65.46 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
City Stay Edinburgh
12.18 USD

Hostel 79.0% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

1924 out of 1998 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castle Rock Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
97.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 1468 of 1646 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 58 | 59   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 September 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, great facilities and fun atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really cool, right opposite the castle, and it is set up to look a bit castle-like with a knight's costume set up in the corridor. All the rooms have a theme as well with the beds named after the theme. There is a locker under the bed with an additional "safe" compartment

Disliked: Breakfast was not included and it was not worth paying for, do yourself a favour and get breakfast elsewhere. One of the lights didn't work in one of the showers so it was unusable as the shower was pitch black. I informed the staff but it was not fixed during our stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David James

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2015 David would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location, well organised and all staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: Bit pricey but it was during the Festival so that was to be expected

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriella D'Amico

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2015 Gabriella would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, building, location, atmosphere, facilities, breakfast, free coffee and milk, everything is great in this hostel! I definitely recommend it as one of the best hostel you could stay at! And I have been at many..

Disliked: It's not that I disliked them, but mattresses could be changed for new more comfy ones. They would make this hostel perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Castle Rock was an excellent hostel, the location is great especially if you are visiting for the fringe festival. There is a large kitchen with a number of fridges so there is plenty of room for your food. The rooms are all very well kept and the beds are clean and comfortable, I was staying in a 16 bed dorm however the rooms are set up to still allow you some privacy which was great. The showers and bathrooms are regularly cleaned and the staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Castle Rock is definitely one of the best hostels I have stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

15 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well located and we loved its athmosphere. It has different common areas, some to chill out and some to socialise. There are also some activities organised within the hostel (language exchange, games..). The views from the dinning room are amazing, it was very pleasant chilling out there with a coffee! I would deffinitely recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie van der Meer

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2015 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: A really good hostel and nice rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cheap and simple breakfast.

Disliked: The water pressure in the showers was really bad. I could barely wash my self, or my hair. Also, the water went from cold to scolding hot, which you almost couldn't control.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alison Fong

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

15 August 2015 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Fun place

Disliked: Small rooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vivian Ng

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2015 Vivian would recommend this property

Liked: fabulous

Disliked: nth

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lynne Bartholomew

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 August 2015 Lynne would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very friendly and welcoming place, every inch of the place was spotless. It was also a quiet place no rowdy crowds wich I especially liked having stayed in hostels before it was refreshing not to have drunk random people trying to get into your room lol

Disliked: If I were to be very picky I would say the beds weren't the most comfortable in fact I didn't really sleep lol

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Game room

Disliked: No showers in suite.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Tasha Solomon

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2015 Tasha would recommend this property

Liked: Stage common areas like kitchen and lounges were spacious and comfortable. Having access to hot chocolate 24/7 was epic

Disliked: The bathrooms! The stoves did not work well.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Meliani

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 August 2015 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff, nice clean room, we had a fantastic time ?

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the Royal Mile and relatively close to Edinburgh Waverly train station. The bathrooms and showers were clean and the dorms were really large and nice. It was pretty close to bars, restaurants and attractions.

Disliked: I didn't really dislike anything related to the hostel, but my neighbors were a little bit too fond of hanging their wet laundry to dry in the open window at night. This left the carpet beneath my bed soaking wet, and it got cold while I was sleeping.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bradley Mcconnell

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

09 August 2015 Bradley would recommend this property

Liked: This is easily the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Woweee it's a beauty. Sure I paid a fair bit than normal to stay during the festival, and I'm not sure what they normally charge anyway. But seriously they have nailed it here. 2 pillows, excellent showers, secure rooms and lockers. It's perfect. Very happy to recommend it to everyone

Disliked: Bradley left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character, location, size

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ken Arroyo Ohori

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2015 Ken would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel in a beautiful old building very close to Edinburgh Castle.

Disliked: Ken left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ana Joaquin

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2015 Ana would recommend this property

Liked: it's very big, rooms are spacious and comfortable, location is great.

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Beatrice Soucy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2015 Beatrice would recommend this property

Liked: HUGE hostel! Friendly staff and 24-hour reception. The lockers are quite big which is very useful, and you don't need to bring your own lock. The breakfast is quite cheap and alright. Centrally located for all the attractions. Beds were pretty good

Disliked: The central location makes it rather noisy at night (the windows were open since it was hot out)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Shaw

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2015 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character, excellent location.

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stacey Farley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 July 2015 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful views from the common area; nice showers; art everywhere!; good charictor; other guests were really friendly; good location

Disliked: Being run by backpackers changes the vibe - the people who're staying long term as cleaners and reception staff don't really mix with the people who're only there a couple days. Everything else was good though. Would recommend to friends!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kara Gibson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2015 Kara would recommend this property

Liked: This was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in! Best location, staff were so helpful and friendly. Rooms and bathrooms were always clean, always had shot shower. Must stay hostel!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Collins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: HUGE kitchen, multiple common rooms, one huge one, a few smaller ones including a quiet common room, I stayed in a huge 16 person room, very clean, lots of wash rooms, also very clean, internet was great, staff were super helpful

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, staff really helpful with places to eat etc. The setup is great and the lockers are really nice too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Celine Haughey

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 June 2015 Laura Celine would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about this property. It is in my top three hostels I have stayed in EVER.

Disliked: Breakfast was a bit paltry - for what it was, I would think it should have been included in the price.