HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel | 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

92.2% Overall Rating

1805 out of 1876 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/07/2014)

Karen Jones thinks…

"Absolutely amazing. Bye far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Can't wait to plan my next trip here."

Read all Castle Rock Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.05
  • Towel USD 0.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We don't accept any group larger than 6 people. Be aware that if you book for a big group your reservation will be cancelled and you will risk your 10% deposit paid online. If guests are under the age of 18 you must contact the hostel first for the manager’s approval You must be over the age of 18 to stay (no children)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

The Grassmarket Hotel
114.56 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.5% 12 reviews
Budget backpackers
18.67 USD

Hostel 88.3% 1787 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
22.06 USD

Hostel 94.6% 45 reviews
City Centre Hostel Apartments
25.46 USD

Hostel 70.6% 164 reviews
Portsburgh Square
42.43 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
100.98 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
21.81 USD

Hostel 68.1% 286 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
72.98 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.2%

Overall Rating

1805 out of 1876 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castle Rock Hostel'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1372 of 1527 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 54 | 55   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything, best hostel i've ever stayed in. big kitchen for cooking, quiet room for reading and surfing in internet. showers clean and plenty of them. location in very near the castle, great view from the hostel, not far from the bus station you get off when you're coming from the airport.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing. Bye far the best hostel I have ever stayed in. Can't wait to plan my next trip here.

Disliked: I don't dislike anything about this property.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. One of the best hostels I've been to.

Disliked: The internet was spotty at best. I couldn't get a strong enough connection to do any voice calls (skype) even to local phones. A real bummer when you need to make a local call. Thankfully, the hostel let me use their phone for free!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Medieval Theme throughout the hostel and the individual room themes.

Disliked: Rooms too small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration, the location. the hostel itself is huuuuuge but quiet and warm.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled out atmosphere, close to the main attractions, and great facilities

Disliked: Nothing, I would definitely recommend to fellow travellers and would happily stay here again!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofia Rodrigues-Berry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

11 July 2014 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: I loved everything about the castle rock hostel! The location, atmosphere, staff, rooms, common areas etc. it was all great! I've stayed at a lot of hostels and this was definetley one of the best I've been to. Staff was quite funny too :)

Disliked: Everything was faultless. Fantastic value for money.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Yeah, its a really good place to be. Nice stuff, dorms are clean. When you stay for a short time in Edinburgh, it's the perfect place to stay.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just as a great hostel should be; cheap, great location, very nice common areas, really friendly staff, fantastic atmosphere. I would definitely come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, friendly staff

Disliked: Small rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really quirky, helpful staff, awesome location and so many different lounge areas to hang out in. The rooms had plenty of space. Overall wish I had been staying longer!

Disliked: Nothing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

kyuree jung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 kyuree would recommend this property

Liked: 저렴한 가격과 주요 관광지와의 접근성이 장점입니다. 12베드 여자도미를 사용했는데 많은 인원이 들어가는 도미토리이지만 방이 널찍해서 그다지 답답함을 느끼지는 못했던 것 같네요,

Disliked: 처음 숙소에 찾아가는데에 어려운 점이 있었습니다. 지도를 보면서 열심히 따라갔는데 제가 선택했던 길이 오르막이 많았던 곳이라 힘들었던 기억이 나네요. 체크아웃하고 열차역으로 돌아갈 때에는 오르막이 없는 편한 길을 찾아 그쪽으로 가, 어렵지 않게 갈 수 있었습니다. 도미토리에 개인 락커가 하나씩 주어지는데, 락커 크기가 크지 않다보니 24인치 캐리어는 들어가지 않아 고생을 좀 했습니다. 2층 침대의 윗층을 사용했었는데, 물건 꺼낼때마다 내려가기가 번거로워서 아예 침대에 캐리어를 올려놓고 사용했었던 기억이 나네요.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ce Tan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Ce would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, large. And the location is good.

Disliked: The breakfast is a little bit expensive.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION WAS TERRIFIC.

Disliked: The showers did not have enough shelving/places for soap and shampoo, nor for towels and clothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yuk Wing Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Yuk Wing would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful Staff. Laundry service with reasonable price (£3.5)

Disliked: Yuk Wing left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Foster

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Location, the lounge areas were really convenient

Disliked: more selection on food would be nice

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Holly Hiltz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: You can't beat the location! The rooms are spacier than I thought and the hostel overall was huge in comparison to what I thought from pictures. Not bad, just different from the typical cramped hostel feel. Their quirky spirit is portrayed throughout. I can see no lift being a problem for some people, and some corners weren't the cleanliest, but I'd label this as one of my favorite hostels while trekking the UK! The staff is superb.

Disliked: Built up dust in some corners was the biggest qualm I could possibly have. Tip to others: no lift and co-ed bathrooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Greg McCullough

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. There are lockers right beside your bed, and the value for the price is pretty good. The staff also does a good job helping you find things to do in the area, whether they are free or finding you guided tours for things.

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't the cleanest and I wasn't sure if my sheets were actually clean. They try to charge you 1.50 for a breakfast of cereal and a roll.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere. Perfect location. Favourite hostel ever.

Disliked: Have never been in a hostel with so many dirty dishes...so other guests need to get their act together haha! Room 44 had a bit of vomit smell to it :( Could son with more mugs for tea! :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were great, the location was incredible and the staff was very helpful and extremely welcoming. It felt like we were at a resort hotel instead of a hostel.

Disliked: There was nothing that I didn't like about this hostel, it was amazing and super clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great as are the facilities. The hosel is amazingly clean and staff very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Nothing!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of facilities. Great staff!

Disliked: Its a really Big House.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Camille Le Prou

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2014 Camille would recommend this property

Liked: Pub crawl

Disliked: Bruce

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly helpful staff and great location. The hostel itself is big but still has a good atmosphere with lots of different rooms to hang out in.

Disliked: The bike storage is down two big flights of stairs!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Laura Lee

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic chilled out atmosphere, a great place to hang out. Free papers, magazines, coffee, comfortable couches & good music playing in the background. Movie room was great for watching Champions League Final, great atmosphere too!

Disliked: We stayed in a double room on the top floor which was very small so there wasn't room to put our clothes or toiletries anywhere. It was also too easy to hear people walking long the corridors at night - I would recommend earplugs.