We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Castle Rock Hostel

Hostel | 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2PW

88.9% Overall Rating

1849 out of 1922 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/01/2015)

YI GE thinks…

"it deserves the honor to be the best hostel in edinburgh friendly staff a lot of information guiding your travel, you can always find them in the common room or consult one of the staffs great common…"

Read all Castle Rock Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.92
  • Towel USD 0.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

We don't accept any group larger than 6 people. Be aware that if you book for a big group your reservation will be cancelled and you will risk your 10% deposit paid online. If guests are under the age of 18 you must contact the hostel first for the manager’s approval You must be over the age of 18 to stay (no children) Special cancellation policy for New Years period: All bookings arriving from 29/12/14-31/12/14 (inclusive) have a 7 day cancellation policy. Cancellations must be advised more than 7 days in advance or the first night's accommodation will be charged. No shows will be charged the full amount of the booking. Each bed booked includes a ticket to the Hogmanay Street Party on 31/12/14. All bookings arriving on 29/12/14, 30/12/14, 31/12/14 have a 3 night minimum stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Budget backpackers
10.55 USD

Hostel 86.6% 1819 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
12.17 USD

Hostel 91.8% 77 reviews
City Centre Hostel Apartments
24.34 USD

Hostel 70.6% 164 reviews
Portsburgh Square
40.57 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Code Hostel
29.21 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Royal Overseas League Hotel
51.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Cowgate Tourist Hostel
19.23 USD

Hostel 73.1% 293 reviews
Phoenix II
19.47 USD

Hostel 68.9% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

1849 out of 1922 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Castle Rock Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 1410 of 1569 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 56 | 57   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Such a great hostel right in the heart of the old city of Edinburgh. The atmosphere was awesome and staff were super friendly and helpful. Common area is great with a pool table and lots of comfy lounges to socialise, plus a theatre room where they played Scottish movies. The pub crawl (on Thursday nights) was really fun - there was a huge group of different people, plus it was free (unlike so many of the pub crawls run by other hostels) and drinks were very cheap (particularly for Edinburgh). The bathrooms and rooms were clean and sleeping was no problem whatsoever. Would 100% stay here again and recommend to anyone coming to Edinburgh.

Disliked: Jessica left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YI GE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2015 YI would recommend this property

Liked: it deserves the honor to be the best hostel in edinburgh friendly staff a lot of information guiding your travel, you can always find them in the common room or consult one of the staffs great common room/public area/two kitchens wifi is ok, not so strong in private dooms there is limited space in the dooms, but you can always stay in the reading room or pack your stuff in the sofas in the corridor without disturbing your roommates free drinks i did not attend pub crawls or film nights, but i think they do offer these great opportunites

Disliked: only problem is their bathroom, i stay for 4 nights, i did not have hot baths for 3 nights, they did apologize the problem and agreed to fix it as soon as possible. i am not sure if the problem is fixed now ask for extra money for using the computer

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location as it's right next to the castle. Although we had to share bathroom facilities after booking a private room, there are plenty of showers and we never had to queue.

Disliked: Some of the day staff came across as cold and unfriendly. However, other staff were friendly and helped us plan our trip. We stayed in a large private room that was only furnished euthanasia a bed; could do with some chairs!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything about the hostel. I was here for Christmas, and had the best day. Such a great atmosphere, great common areas to meet people. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is easy to access, and in a great spot, close to major attractions. Highly recommend.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gio' Mattia Monacolli

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2014 Gio' Mattia would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, nice people

Disliked: Gio' Mattia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the castle, great interiors

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very well-located. The atmosphere is fun and safe. Definitely a hostel, but one of the best I've stayed at. Would definitely recommend.

Disliked: Only that the water pressure in the showers is not great. Everything else was super!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free lockers. Assigned bunk beds so since I arrived at midnight it was easier to find my bed, and the linen was already placed. Wished I could have stayed longer.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere is so good.

Disliked: room smells so bad

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very convenient location. They offered free wifi and offered reasonably price fees to rent towels, etc. I felt very safe at all times.

Disliked: They need more bathroom facilities with properly working toilets, and the bathrooms need to be cleaned more frequently. The toilets weren't the cleanest and were often unflushed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roslyn Stephens

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2014 Roslyn would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy to get everywhere. Staff are really friendly and give good tips on tours and sights to see. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms clean and provided with clean hand towels.

Disliked: Roslyn left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Priscilla Tan

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2014 Priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: location, interior design

Disliked: dirty toilets and shower rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pablo Bertoglia

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel is fine, has a fantastic location, people at the front desk are super friendly, common are is quite cozy, i had a lot of fun during the pub crawl

Disliked: you should get 2 extra showers hall at second floor smells pretty bad

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big open kitchen with free tea and coffee readily available. Spacious rooms with lockers.

Disliked: Showers are not ventilated enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Aston

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Great location just below the castle. Staff were very helpful & most pleasant! All areas were clean & there was a very Scottish decor with knights in shining armour around to help you feel safe. Loved the lounge room areas that were both comfortable, well decorated & inviting! We will be back !

Disliked: Nil

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kelly McLeod

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014

Liked: It was close to the castle

Disliked: There is only one bathroom on the floor and it's co ed. Not ideal.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

02 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nice coupling with MacBackpackers for tours.

Disliked: The entire bottom floor had no power points (electrical plugs) in any rooms or toilets. The staff makes this up by having chargers and free use, when they remember to put anything on charge. We had an issue one night with a staffer being rude when we came in, but this was isolated, all the others were lovely.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the sheets!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sorrel Dendy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Sorrel would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully decorated, sat right at the heart of a Edinburgh, easy to get to and from!

Disliked: I couldn't afford to stay for longer!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lukas Lehmann

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Lukas would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just awsome. Its just no other way to say it. Its great to meet new people because there are some big rooms (one silent for reading, one big one with pool billiard, one for watching films or listening to music) to meet everyone. Also the kitchen is huge, so theres always enough space to cook something, because it is getting really expensive in Edinburgh ...

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, cheap breakfast, great location

Disliked: Lots of beds in a room -- loud at all hours!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amosphere

Disliked: Nothing particular

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is incredible.

Disliked: Bathrooms smell

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal location for touring the city and Frindge festival, friendly and laid back atmosphere in the hostel with very helpful staff.

Disliked: The only criticism I have is the foam mattresses for the beds. For someone tall and big like myself it was difficult to get comfortable for any lengthy period because I could feel the hard wooden board underneath the mattress.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pascal Fliegner

Alone

Visiting friends or family

16 August 2014 Pascal would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, clean, everything available

Disliked: Bed was kinda hard, noise from outside