We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Caledonian Backpackers

Hostel | 3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH2 4PA

84.7% Overall Rating

1292 out of 1418 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

"Good vibe, friendly staff. Very fair prices for beds and for towels, toiletries, etc."

Read all Caledonian Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.81

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We operate a 24-hour reception and we do not have a curfew. Check-out: 10:00am We do not accept guests under the age of 18. This is a non-smoking property. Photographic identification must be presented at check-in. Now, for some more of those rule things.. As mentioned before, you must be over 18 years of age to stay. This is because we have a liquor license for the entire building, so the law states we cannot allow under 18's in, and we do not make exceptions. You should bring your own padlock, or you can buy one for £2.50 from reception. We have towels available for a 50p cleaning charge. Linen is supplied free. Frequently asked questions about the hostel: *Do you have a curfew/lock-out? - No. We think they are inconvenient and don't believe in them! *What time is check-out? - You can check out anytime but you don’t have to until 10am. *Do you provide bed linen? - Yes. Every person is provided with fresh linen so you can leave your sleeping bag at home! *Do you provide towels? - No, but you can rent one for the modest price of 50 pence. *Do you provide breakfast? - Yes. A simple breakfast is included in the price of your accommodation. Served from 7a.m. until 11p.m. *Is there a key deposit? - No, but all keys need to be returned at check-out. *Do you have internet access? - Yes.We have several computer terminals and they are FREE to use! *Do you have Wi-Fi? - Yes, and it's also FREE!...you don’t even need a password. *Do you have lockers? - Yes.You need to bring your own padlock or rent/buy one here for £2.50 *Do you have luggage storage? - Yes. We have a free luggage storage room *Do you have a kitchen? - Yes. There is a large self-catering kitchen equipped with all your cooking needs right at your disposal!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Phoenix West Princes Street
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.9% 8 reviews
Boutique Backpackers
12.98 USD

Hostel 64.2% 61 reviews
Herald House Hotel
125.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 43 reviews
Summer Hostels Canal Point
535.99 USD

Apartment 87.2% 42 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
51.93 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Unite-1 Portsburgh Court
68.97 USD

Apartment 87.2% 50 reviews
Ballantrae West End Hotel
31.92 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.5% 81 reviews
Light House Hostel
12.98 USD

Hostel 94.6% 176 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.7%

Overall Rating

1292 out of 1418 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Caledonian Backpackers'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
88.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 999 of 1133 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Liam Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Bar and pool table

Disliked: Shower/laundry facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe, friendly staff. Very fair prices for beds and for towels, toiletries, etc.

Disliked: Very noisy, in street side rooms especially. Not their fault, but people should know that in case they really need a good nights sleep. Breakfast was a little weak compared to other hostels.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Susana Centenera Zafra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Susana would recommend this property

Liked: Decoration Ambience

Disliked: Not curtains!! Cold in bathrooms!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Durbridge

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 August 2014 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Caldonian Backpackers was a really great place to stay. It was quite close to everything in town. We didn't have to take a taxi anywhere, we were able to just walk. The Hostel is clean and all the services are what you would expect.

Disliked: Didn't have enough time to hang out and get to know other people at the backpackers as we were at the festival all the time.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: No,I don't like it.

Disliked: It's dirty and bad smell.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stella Lewis

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

13 August 2014 Stella would recommend this property

Liked: Was out a lot so didn't get to use the facilities properly but was very pressed with the general atmosphere and free breakfast.

Disliked: One of the girls bathrooms was not clearly labelled and I had to find another which stank of strong chemicals.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The artwork and atmosphere, also the helpful staff during fringe.

Disliked: Lack of tea and coffee at the bar.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tomohawk McGinn

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 August 2014 Tomohawk would recommend this property

Liked: The casual nature of the hostel and the friendly atmosphere. I also like the spaciousness of the rooms and the quality of the bed/linen

Disliked: I disliked the poor water pressure in the showers and the lack of breakfast choices. Not that I don't appreciate the fact that breakfast is provided, but the way it was described seemed to suggest some kind of meat, at the very least and egg or two.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing, the building is beautiful with comfortable rooms and lovely places to chill out. I can't wait to come back here when I return to Edinburgh!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, worth a visit!

Disliked: Noisy group in my dorm :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything it was great met loads of people not got a bad word to say

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Umair Ali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Umair would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere like home, felt like my own, one of the receptionist, Anna, is great help and very hospitable. Rooms were good enough, I stayed in a 8 bed mixed dorm. Warm water available every time, clean washrooms and showers. Clean rooms. A bar on first floor, cheap drinks, TV room. Living room, kitchen, great free breakfast. Great guide to visit places. Provided me with a noise free room at the last minute on my request. Funky and most artistic one in town. I loved it absolutely.

Disliked: Only one thing....Too few electric sockets in the room for charging your phone... and were distant from bed...so hard times charging phone, (Living in a dorm, I would never prefer to keep my cell away from bed for charging, might be stolen or I have to use as well). Couldn't stay and waste my time in the day to charge my phone, It also was my camera. Managed it difficultly. Though can charge at the bar, in the specialized charging lockers, or living room with ease, extensions available.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Markus Winkler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Theo room was defintely to hot to sleep. Some Guys in the room slept naked, because of that. Also the bathroom was a mess. It was really dirty , but that was because their wehre only two toilets and. some me pissed not in tue Toilett ans they cleaned it only once a day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Stevenson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 May 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city centre and easy transport links.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie Valley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: the bar was a great place to hang out and meet people from all over!

Disliked: Nothing, it was a fanatic stay!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

GABRIELA CZUBERNAT

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2014 GABRIELA would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place with friendly staff, big & fully equipped kitchen, relaxing room... etc. everything is depend of the room which you will choose (if you want to have peace and quiet definitely is not gonna be 38 beds room ;) )

Disliked: nothing what I could complaint about

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wesley Rosa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Wesley would recommend this property

Liked: The Caledonian Backpeckers is at walking distance of everything, is the city center, with view for the Edinburgh Castle. the breakfast was good. The staffs were very helpful and friendly, they even let us use the common areas of the hostel after our checkout while we waited for the flight time.

Disliked: Despite the efforts of the staff members, every single day we had problems with internet. Depending on the bedroom that you are staying, you could hear the loud music of the bar area, not a problem if you like to party, but if you want to relax and sleep it could be difficult.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

simon Plume

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2014 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Choice of beer at the bar

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Manny Ameh

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 March 2014 Manny would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Price

Disliked: Not too clean, and paying for a locker when it was advertised as part of the total package put me off a little. Plus street noise depending on the room you stay in can be a turn off.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff. You are provided with plenty of areas to relax and to have social life.

Disliked: Although it was low season, the hostel was full of damned teenegers running, drinking, making a rumble and pissing oneself off during all night. I couldn't sleep until 5 in the morning both nights Unfortunately, this hostel is not a good choice if you are tired and only want to have a rest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

J v Morton

Alone

Business / conference

14 February 2014 J v would recommend this property

Liked: Always my first choice for Edinburgh! Efficiently run , friendly and relaxed.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alan Jackson

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Its location; having a bar

Disliked: Only having bottled beer; loud music in the bar

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014

Liked: Location is ok. Wall art is funky.

Disliked: General atmosphere quite unfriendly. There seemed to be creepy guys just lurking in the corridors quite frequently... Not really going anywhere just standing there watching whatever we were doing. Staff also quite rude. Bathrooms had really nasTy smell and filthy! Stains on the bedding... I am sure for the price you can find much better hostels in Edinburgh!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice stay in Edinburgh. The hostel is well decorated, there is free unlimited breakfast (toast/tea/coffee) and the sanitories were alright. The atmosphere is very friendly. I really recommend it !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything, great staff, clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.