We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Caledonian Backpackers

Hostel | 3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH2 4PA

68.3% Overall Rating

1314 out of 1456 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2015)

Tera White thinks…

"The location is great and the people that work and also stay there are so nice and friendly."

Read all Caledonian Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.77

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We have a 24hr reception, with no curfew Check in time is from 2pm Check out is at 10am We can not accept guests under the age of 18 as we have a licenced bar Photo identification is essential on arrival Smoking is not permitted anywhere in the building Now, for some more of those rule things.. As mentioned before, you must be over 18 years of age to stay. This is because we have a liquor license for the entire building, so the law states we cannot allow under 18's in, and we do not make exceptions. You should bring your own padlock, or you can buy one for £2.50 from reception. We have towels available for a 50p cleaning charge. Linen is supplied free. Frequently asked questions about the hostel: *Do you have a curfew/lock-out? - No. We think they are inconvenient and don't believe in them! *What time is check-out? - You can check out anytime but you don’t have to until 10am. *Do you provide bed linen? - Yes. Every person is provided with fresh linen so you can leave your sleeping bag at home! *Do you provide towels? - No, but you can rent one for the modest price of 50 pence. *Do you provide breakfast? - Yes. A simple breakfast is included in the price of your accommodation. Served from 7a.m. until 11p.m. *Is there a key deposit? - No, but all keys need to be returned at check-out. *Do you have internet access? - Yes.We have several computer terminals and they are FREE to use! *Do you have Wi-Fi? - Yes, and it's also FREE!...you don’t even need a password. *Do you have lockers? - Yes.You need to bring your own padlock or rent/buy one here for £2.50 *Do you have luggage storage? - Yes. We have a free luggage storage room *Do you have a kitchen? - Yes. There is a large self-catering kitchen equipped with all your cooking needs right at your disposal!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Phoenix West Princes Street
23.18 USD

Hostel 79.6% 16 reviews
Boutique Backpackers
18.55 USD

Hostel 65.4% 62 reviews
Smart at iQ
66.46 USD

Hostel 77.3% 18 reviews
Summer Hostels Canal Point
38.64 USD

Apartment 87.2% 42 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
107.42 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Unite-1 Portsburgh Court
65.69 USD

Apartment 87.2% 50 reviews
Ballantrae West End Hotel
51.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 82 reviews
Light House Hostel
18.55 USD

Hostel 89.6% 205 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.3%

Overall Rating

1314 out of 1456 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Caledonian Backpackers'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
64.0%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 1034 of 1171 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 41 | 42   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

roberta palmucci

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2015

Liked: location

Disliked: We had two nights in this hostel, whose only redeeming factor is the location close to the city center. We stayed in a 12 mixed room with shared bathroom. Apart from the awful smell found entering the room, the bad cleaning is the host. The sheets that had to be cleaned, do not seem at all !!! cabinets they were all available without security lock, some were struggling even to close. Not to mention the terrible conditions of the carpet, the chairs, the table of the poor, etc. The disorganization and mismanagement have made that in two nights one of us has had to change the bed 3 times !! none of the front desk was able to solve the problem and perhaps even boring had the interest to do it !! Almost a joke! Compared to everything else, the bathrooms can be considered decent though not spacious. The breakfast is fairly minimal! The price is definitely not commensurate with the quality of service and structure. The worst ever experienced in my life and definitely the last place among all those frequented during this Scottish holiday. To forget it hurry !!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Deborah Forbes

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

26 August 2015 Deborah would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to find and very central, big well equipped kitchen, rooms are spacious.

Disliked: Only one light in our dorm but I was told this is getting fixed. Really needs repainted.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tera White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 August 2015 Tera would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the people that work and also stay there are so nice and friendly.

Disliked: There was a lot of construction happening in and around our room at all hours and the workers didn't have much consideration for your personal space.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victoria Calvete

Alone

Events / festivals

23 August 2015 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: The lovely staff who were helpful and cheery, who also facilitated space for some extra bags in their storage free of charge. Also the fact that it was a very central area meant very nice walks around the city and the best shopping and leisure opportunities.

Disliked: The fact that my room did not have any chargers, which made life harder since living without a phone or tablet has become impossible...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Petra Schuster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2015 Petra would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of staff

Disliked: Shower is not so nice, but for a Hostel it's still okay

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 August 2015

Liked: Nothing. Honestly, sounds miserable but I enjoyed nothing about my stay here.

Disliked: Unmade beds, dirty sheets, windows that you can't close at the same level as beds, floors in dire need of vacuum cleaning, no enforced beds from staff and worst of all, the staff took 15 minutes to locate our £10 deposits for room keys, then accused us of stealing money until they realised their mistake and stopped following us down the street. I would not stay here again if it was free.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2015

Liked: nothing

Disliked: The key cards were impossible! Ours did not work, a staff member "fixed" them for us, and they still did not work. They refused to give us back our deposit for the key cards when we checked out an hour late (at 11am), though we had never been warned about this penalty. They also refused to allow us to leave our bags at the hostel on the day of checkout after I asked if we could do so for free. The staff member said to me "You don't make your own rules" and shut the luggage store door room on me. I asked if I could pay to store my luggage but was denied. Overall, possibly the worse hostel I have ever stayed in. In the email information it specifically says they do not require a deposit for keys, which in fact they did. In addition the hostel smelt of a mixture of damp and BO, there was no soap in the bathrooms, the shower glass was not glazed (aka everyone in the bathroom seeing your naked body), and there was no hot water.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, character and location.

Disliked: Cleanliness and breakfast (very horrible breakfast).

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and good atmosphere in the pub

Disliked: Pricey, but then it is high season with the fringe festival

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015

Liked: It is located in the centre of Edinburgh with lots of places of interest in walking distance.

Disliked: We stayed at Caledonian Backpackers Edinburgh for five days and none of the days were the toilets properly equipped. There never were any paper towels so you could not dry your hands, they regularly ran out of toiletpaper and for two or three days in a row there were no sope for washing hands. The water in the showers were cold even when you were the only one using water. The breakfast was sparse but could have been acceptable had not the milk been placed on a table unrefrigerated. You had to do your dishes yourself after eating breakfast but there were no washing-up brush or dish towels, only a few cloths. The worst thing were that at three a.m. our second night at the hostel all the light were suddenly turned on and a man in a black t-shirt entered the dormitory. People of course waked up and after a while a woman got up and turned the light back off again. Then the man shouted at her that when he had turned the light on no one should turn it off and she hurried back to bed. Some one else apparently got in his way because he then angrily pronounced that he was trying to work and afterwards he went around the room looking at people lying in their beds. Then he disappeared and after five or ten minutes the light was turned off. Not until the next day did we find out that the man was an employee at the hostel just not wearing a uniform or at least a name sign. This happened again the two following nights and on the last of these my travelling partner was woken up by the man and asked her reservation number as was a number of other sleeping at the dormitory. I understand that they have to turn people out if they are not clients at the hostel but waking up radom people is no way of doing so.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Robertson

Alone

Events / festivals

14 August 2015 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Open spaces and great vibe to party or chill

Disliked: All good

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rhiann Mead

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

12 August 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: My things were stolen from my room while I slept, the manager simply said 'people are people'. No security, people entered my room with a key card who weren't staying in the room - staff called me a liar when I mentioned this to them. Dirty bathroom with no locks on the door so people walked in while showering. Very aggressive manager who simply raised his voice to the point I felt threatened. Breakfast cleared away before 11am

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

John Eyre

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 July 2015 John would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, receptionist sometimes recognised me and talked to me as I came and went, no TV,

Disliked: Having to queue to washup my breakfast plates. Shower water in male bathroom (near dorm 'O')was not hot, and bathroom was very dark. 10am checkout was rather early.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2015

Liked: It is in the perfect location, it is right underneath the castle and in a pretty central location when it comes to pubs and restaurants.

Disliked: The location was great. Everything was easy to get to, however, that hostel was really dirty. The window to our room wouldn't close so when it rained the carpet got soaked. There also wasn't any toilet paper in on bathroom and then the toilets wouldn't flush in the other. Lastly there was an odd run in with the grounds keeper who was kind of scary inappropriate. Probably not the best choice for a young girl who is traveling alone.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Parham

Alone

Business / conference

24 June 2015 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good hostel considering it only cost £16 per night!, The only problem I found was the showers were very cold and the bathrooms were a little dingy and dark. But It was a good nights sleep and the chances are I shall be back!

Disliked: The showers were cold

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere with plenty of events like salsa night and traditional dinners to connect people

Disliked: One night there was no hot water, half of the mens showers could not be used, very few outlets.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015

Liked: STAY AWAY! RUN, don't walk away. This place is horrible. Read the reviews! I wish I could post photos. The few pros: it's in a good location, wifi worked most places, they have free crappy breakfast, lockers

Disliked: Where do I start? All the men's bathrooms smelled of urine. The first night they didn't have toilet paper in THREE of the men's bathrooms. Thinking that was how they did things, I had to wipe with paper towel my first night. There are huge stains on carpet on all 3 floors. Some of the shower doors weren't even attached, but lying on its side away from the showers. The showers were filthy. One of the girls at reception was nice, the other was very bitchy. The cleaning people stole/threw out my flip flops after my first night. My only regret aside from staying here at all, was that I booked 2 nights and paid for it right away. I will say I stayed at Argyle Backpackers by the Meadow, and that place is heaven on earth in comparison.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Bar Free breakfast Beautiful building

Disliked: Room good have been cleaner, there was thick dust on some of the surfaces in the room

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dean KAHANA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2015

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Dirty and horrible place, kitchen missig a lot of utencills, dirty showers, floded and dark bathrooma.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fiona borthwick

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 May 2015 fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely friendly staff, brilliant location, ace hostel!

Disliked: Not for those wanting a peaceful hostel!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Rebecca Reader

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2015

Liked: Great location, clean room and friendly staff

Disliked: We arrived at around 4 o'clock to find one person working reception alone, it was fairly busy so we waited while they showed guests to their rooms. We were moved to a four bed room, despite paying for a three bed, because the hostel was fully booked and "everybody had to be moved around", we were not offered any sort of reimbursement for this. There were no lockers in this room as specified on the website. Windows were dirty and single glazed, this allowed a great deal of noise in from the street which continued throughout the night, I did not sleep. Room was cold and heater did not work. Picked this place for cheapness ahead of Edinburgh marathon and while I understand this is a budget hostel, I've stayed in nicer for half the price.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Messy, noisy, terrible beds, gone downhill from when I last stayed in 2013

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The great architecture of the building in itself (high ceiling and cool wall painting) and the fact that it was also a bar and was open 24/7.

Disliked: The Breakfast and dishes were a bit limited

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Old facilities