We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Caledonian Backpackers

Hostel | 3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH2 4PA

70.3% Overall Rating

1307 out of 1445 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/07/2015)

John Eyre thinks…

"Free breakfast, receptionist sometimes recognised me and talked to me as I came and went, no TV,"

Read all Caledonian Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.78

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We have a 24hr reception, with no curfew Check in time is from 2pm Check out is at 10am We can not accept guests under the age of 18 as we have a licenced bar Photo identification is essential on arrival Smoking is not permitted anywhere in the building Now, for some more of those rule things.. As mentioned before, you must be over 18 years of age to stay. This is because we have a liquor license for the entire building, so the law states we cannot allow under 18's in, and we do not make exceptions. You should bring your own padlock, or you can buy one for £2.50 from reception. We have towels available for a 50p cleaning charge. Linen is supplied free. Frequently asked questions about the hostel: *Do you have a curfew/lock-out? - No. We think they are inconvenient and don't believe in them! *What time is check-out? - You can check out anytime but you don’t have to until 10am. *Do you provide bed linen? - Yes. Every person is provided with fresh linen so you can leave your sleeping bag at home! *Do you provide towels? - No, but you can rent one for the modest price of 50 pence. *Do you provide breakfast? - Yes. A simple breakfast is included in the price of your accommodation. Served from 7a.m. until 11p.m. *Is there a key deposit? - No, but all keys need to be returned at check-out. *Do you have internet access? - Yes.We have several computer terminals and they are FREE to use! *Do you have Wi-Fi? - Yes, and it's also FREE!...you don’t even need a password. *Do you have lockers? - Yes.You need to bring your own padlock or rent/buy one here for £2.50 *Do you have luggage storage? - Yes. We have a free luggage storage room *Do you have a kitchen? - Yes. There is a large self-catering kitchen equipped with all your cooking needs right at your disposal!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Phoenix West Princes Street
46.85 USD

Hostel 79.6% 16 reviews
Boutique Backpackers
46.85 USD

Hostel 65.4% 62 reviews
Smart at iQ
34.35 USD

Hostel 81.4% 12 reviews
Summer Hostels Canal Point
39.04 USD

Apartment 87.2% 42 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
175.67 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Unite-1 Portsburgh Court
84.32 USD

Apartment 87.2% 50 reviews
Ballantrae West End Hotel
74.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 82 reviews
Light House Hostel
21.86 USD

Hostel 94.1% 195 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.3%

Overall Rating

1307 out of 1445 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Caledonian Backpackers'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
76.0%
Value
66.4%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 1022 of 1159 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 40 | 41   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

John Eyre

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 July 2015 John would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, receptionist sometimes recognised me and talked to me as I came and went, no TV,

Disliked: Having to queue to washup my breakfast plates. Shower water in male bathroom (near dorm 'O')was not hot, and bathroom was very dark. 10am checkout was rather early.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2015

Liked: It is in the perfect location, it is right underneath the castle and in a pretty central location when it comes to pubs and restaurants.

Disliked: The location was great. Everything was easy to get to, however, that hostel was really dirty. The window to our room wouldn't close so when it rained the carpet got soaked. There also wasn't any toilet paper in on bathroom and then the toilets wouldn't flush in the other. Lastly there was an odd run in with the grounds keeper who was kind of scary inappropriate. Probably not the best choice for a young girl who is traveling alone.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

29 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Parham

Alone

Business / conference

24 June 2015 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: This was a good hostel considering it only cost £16 per night!, The only problem I found was the showers were very cold and the bathrooms were a little dingy and dark. But It was a good nights sleep and the chances are I shall be back!

Disliked: The showers were cold

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere with plenty of events like salsa night and traditional dinners to connect people

Disliked: One night there was no hot water, half of the mens showers could not be used, very few outlets.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015

Liked: STAY AWAY! RUN, don't walk away. This place is horrible. Read the reviews! I wish I could post photos. The few pros: it's in a good location, wifi worked most places, they have free crappy breakfast, lockers

Disliked: Where do I start? All the men's bathrooms smelled of urine. The first night they didn't have toilet paper in THREE of the men's bathrooms. Thinking that was how they did things, I had to wipe with paper towel my first night. There are huge stains on carpet on all 3 floors. Some of the shower doors weren't even attached, but lying on its side away from the showers. The showers were filthy. One of the girls at reception was nice, the other was very bitchy. The cleaning people stole/threw out my flip flops after my first night. My only regret aside from staying here at all, was that I booked 2 nights and paid for it right away. I will say I stayed at Argyle Backpackers by the Meadow, and that place is heaven on earth in comparison.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Bar Free breakfast Beautiful building

Disliked: Room good have been cleaner, there was thick dust on some of the surfaces in the room

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dean KAHANA

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 June 2015

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Dirty and horrible place, kitchen missig a lot of utencills, dirty showers, floded and dark bathrooma.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fiona borthwick

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

31 May 2015 fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely friendly staff, brilliant location, ace hostel!

Disliked: Not for those wanting a peaceful hostel!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Rebecca Reader

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2015

Liked: Great location, clean room and friendly staff

Disliked: We arrived at around 4 o'clock to find one person working reception alone, it was fairly busy so we waited while they showed guests to their rooms. We were moved to a four bed room, despite paying for a three bed, because the hostel was fully booked and "everybody had to be moved around", we were not offered any sort of reimbursement for this. There were no lockers in this room as specified on the website. Windows were dirty and single glazed, this allowed a great deal of noise in from the street which continued throughout the night, I did not sleep. Room was cold and heater did not work. Picked this place for cheapness ahead of Edinburgh marathon and while I understand this is a budget hostel, I've stayed in nicer for half the price.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2015

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Messy, noisy, terrible beds, gone downhill from when I last stayed in 2013

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The great architecture of the building in itself (high ceiling and cool wall painting) and the fact that it was also a bar and was open 24/7.

Disliked: The Breakfast and dishes were a bit limited

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Old facilities

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2015

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleaning

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 April 2015

Liked: Horrible. Hard to understand how is it possible to keep an open business like this.

Disliked: Everything, apart from the location.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome interior with a weird and fantastic wall paintings; beautiful old home, close to all amenities; surprisingly satisfying breakfast

Disliked: loud and noisy at times, kitchen too small for so many beds, no hot showers in the third floor (without being told by reception)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities I got. It was really cool that we were able to get free breakfast every morning and to cook whatever we want to eat at the hostel. :)

Disliked: The only thing I disliked was that the bathroom was a bit dark and cold in the night.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

07 March 2015

Liked: the location is absolutely the winning feature of the hostel.

Disliked: it has been the worst hostel staying I have ever experienced. First day of my arrival the room I have been allocated was freezing and plugs werent working. had to change the room and the receptionist working there had mo idea where to put me. went up and down the hostel to realise an entire floor of the hostel wasnt available. people stole my food and as a result I had a massive argument with some of the visitors. kitchen facilities awful. Just two hobs were working while oven was completely off. cctv on the kitchen havw been disconnected by one of the people living there before my arrival and haven't been fixed. the room o have been assigned had no light working. replaced by two low energy lamps. windows were not double glazed and had to put two pillos to prevent freezinf cold from comings in. aweful staying as an overall.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, clean, good location

Disliked: Music blaring all night in the bar area, and bad internet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and accommodating. Fantastic artwork throughout.

Disliked: It's an old building but they are updating and renovating.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2015

Liked: Location is pretty good. Fortunately spent most of the weekend in a beer-induced delirium which reduced the effect of the unimaginable horror that is this hostel.

Disliked: -No lock on the room door. Staff said that the manager had to kick the door in and it would be fixed as soon as possible. It wasn't fixed at all. -After repeated nagging on our part they managed to fit a tiny lock you'd find on a garden shed on in a vain attempt to secure the room. When we returned on the first night to find it kicked in they insinuated we had lost the key and done it ourselves... despite us having a key with us with a spare at reception. Because normal people kick their own doors in at this place obviously. -Showers were so cold it would give a polar bear the shivers. -Decorated like the byproduct of a tin of Dulux and a bad acid-trip. -No lock on bathroom. Good for narcissists, bad for privacy. -Holes in the walls like someone had punched through it. Perhaps related to decorator's aforementioned acid-trip. -Staff were pretty rude. Calling guests liars perhaps not the best model for repeat business. -Street below can get pretty noisy. Didn't bother me but light sleepers may struggle.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Murilo José Violaro Pinto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2015

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: Wi-fi an heating wasnt working

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Liam Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2014 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Bar and pool table

Disliked: Shower/laundry facilities

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibe, friendly staff. Very fair prices for beds and for towels, toiletries, etc.

Disliked: Very noisy, in street side rooms especially. Not their fault, but people should know that in case they really need a good nights sleep. Breakfast was a little weak compared to other hostels.