HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Caledonian Backpackers

Hostel | 3 Queensferry Street, Edinburgh, Scotland EH2 4PA

86.9% Overall Rating

1285 out of 1411 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2014)

Stella Lewis thinks…

"Was out a lot so didn't get to use the facilities properly but was very pressed with the general atmosphere and free breakfast."

Read all Caledonian Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.83

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Due to road works here are the directions to reaching us. You get off the bus at the Hope Street/Westend stop. When you get off the bus, turn left and walk around Ryan's Bar. We are right across the street from there ** Only people over 18 years of age may stay at Caledonian Backpackers. ** Please ensure you bring photographic identification to check in, such as a passport or drivers license. We operate a 24-hour reception and we do not have a curfew. Check-out: 12:00 (midday). Check out time for groups over 12 people: 10am This is a non-smoking property. You would have to go outside. We have towels available for a 50p cleaning charge. Linen is supplied free. You should bring your own padlock, or you can buy one for £2.50 from reception.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Phoenix West Princes Street
66.31 USD

Hostel 85.7% 6 reviews
Boutique Backpackers
18.24 USD

Hostel 67.8% 51 reviews
Smart at iQ
90.35 USD

Hostel 82.6% 10 reviews
Edinburgh Mansion Festival Hostel
66.31 USD

Hostel 67.0% 23 reviews
Herald House Hotel
128.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 43 reviews
Brooks Hotel
140.92 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Summer Hostels Canal Point
40.15 USD

Apartment 87.2% 33 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
73.77 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

1285 out of 1411 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Caledonian Backpackers'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 995 of 1125 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 39 | 40   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: No,I don't like it.

Disliked: It's dirty and bad smell.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stella Lewis

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

13 August 2014 Stella would recommend this property

Liked: Was out a lot so didn't get to use the facilities properly but was very pressed with the general atmosphere and free breakfast.

Disliked: One of the girls bathrooms was not clearly labelled and I had to find another which stank of strong chemicals.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The artwork and atmosphere, also the helpful staff during fringe.

Disliked: Lack of tea and coffee at the bar.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tomohawk McGinn

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 August 2014 Tomohawk would recommend this property

Liked: The casual nature of the hostel and the friendly atmosphere. I also like the spaciousness of the rooms and the quality of the bed/linen

Disliked: I disliked the poor water pressure in the showers and the lack of breakfast choices. Not that I don't appreciate the fact that breakfast is provided, but the way it was described seemed to suggest some kind of meat, at the very least and egg or two.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing, the building is beautiful with comfortable rooms and lovely places to chill out. I can't wait to come back here when I return to Edinburgh!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, worth a visit!

Disliked: Noisy group in my dorm :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything it was great met loads of people not got a bad word to say

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Umair Ali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 Umair would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere like home, felt like my own, one of the receptionist, Anna, is great help and very hospitable. Rooms were good enough, I stayed in a 8 bed mixed dorm. Warm water available every time, clean washrooms and showers. Clean rooms. A bar on first floor, cheap drinks, TV room. Living room, kitchen, great free breakfast. Great guide to visit places. Provided me with a noise free room at the last minute on my request. Funky and most artistic one in town. I loved it absolutely.

Disliked: Only one thing....Too few electric sockets in the room for charging your phone... and were distant from bed...so hard times charging phone, (Living in a dorm, I would never prefer to keep my cell away from bed for charging, might be stolen or I have to use as well). Couldn't stay and waste my time in the day to charge my phone, It also was my camera. Managed it difficultly. Though can charge at the bar, in the specialized charging lockers, or living room with ease, extensions available.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Markus Winkler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Theo room was defintely to hot to sleep. Some Guys in the room slept naked, because of that. Also the bathroom was a mess. It was really dirty , but that was because their wehre only two toilets and. some me pissed not in tue Toilett ans they cleaned it only once a day.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Stevenson

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 May 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: Close to city centre and easy transport links.

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie Valley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: the bar was a great place to hang out and meet people from all over!

Disliked: Nothing, it was a fanatic stay!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

GABRIELA CZUBERNAT

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2014 GABRIELA would recommend this property

Liked: very nice place with friendly staff, big & fully equipped kitchen, relaxing room... etc. everything is depend of the room which you will choose (if you want to have peace and quiet definitely is not gonna be 38 beds room ;) )

Disliked: nothing what I could complaint about

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wesley Rosa

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2014 Wesley would recommend this property

Liked: The Caledonian Backpeckers is at walking distance of everything, is the city center, with view for the Edinburgh Castle. the breakfast was good. The staffs were very helpful and friendly, they even let us use the common areas of the hostel after our checkout while we waited for the flight time.

Disliked: Despite the efforts of the staff members, every single day we had problems with internet. Depending on the bedroom that you are staying, you could hear the loud music of the bar area, not a problem if you like to party, but if you want to relax and sleep it could be difficult.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

simon Plume

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

14 April 2014 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Choice of beer at the bar

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Manny Ameh

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 March 2014 Manny would recommend this property

Liked: Location and Price

Disliked: Not too clean, and paying for a locker when it was advertised as part of the total package put me off a little. Plus street noise depending on the room you stay in can be a turn off.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and staff. You are provided with plenty of areas to relax and to have social life.

Disliked: Although it was low season, the hostel was full of damned teenegers running, drinking, making a rumble and pissing oneself off during all night. I couldn't sleep until 5 in the morning both nights Unfortunately, this hostel is not a good choice if you are tired and only want to have a rest.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

J v Morton

Alone

Business / conference

14 February 2014 J v would recommend this property

Liked: Always my first choice for Edinburgh! Efficiently run , friendly and relaxed.

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alan Jackson

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 February 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Its location; having a bar

Disliked: Only having bottled beer; loud music in the bar

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014

Liked: Location is ok. Wall art is funky.

Disliked: General atmosphere quite unfriendly. There seemed to be creepy guys just lurking in the corridors quite frequently... Not really going anywhere just standing there watching whatever we were doing. Staff also quite rude. Bathrooms had really nasTy smell and filthy! Stains on the bedding... I am sure for the price you can find much better hostels in Edinburgh!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice stay in Edinburgh. The hostel is well decorated, there is free unlimited breakfast (toast/tea/coffee) and the sanitories were alright. The atmosphere is very friendly. I really recommend it !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

02 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything, great staff, clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Francesco Piccinini

Alone

City break

27 December 2013 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere and cool decorations!

Disliked: ---

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming staff, colourful decor, nice atmosphere

Disliked: Bit noisy from pub at night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The localization

Disliked: Nothing