HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget backpackers

Hostel | 39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1JR

90.2% Overall Rating

1731 out of 1809 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

"Great central location, fun people yet everyone seemed to respect the 10pm to be quiet rule when we were there which is great to get a good night sleep"

Read all Budget backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 0.81

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note this hostel has an 18 year age restriction. PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU NEED TO BOOK 8 PEOPLE OR MORE YOU MUST CONTACT THIS HOSTEL DIRECTLY TO MAKE THE BOOKING. Please note all Group bookings (over 8 people) must adhere to the Hostel Group Booking Policy also must be 2 nights minimum stay at the weekend.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Cowgate Tourist Hostel
19.23 USD

Hostel 72.8% 292 reviews
The Grassmarket Hotel
74.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.5% 12 reviews
Castle Rock Hostel
21.10 USD

Hostel 90.2% 1912 reviews
Malone's Old Town Hostel
19.47 USD

Hostel 92.7% 7 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
55.18 USD

Hostel 87.1% 284 reviews
STAY Central
70.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 33 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh
12.82 USD

Hostel 81.8% 737 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
14.61 USD

Hostel 87.8% 73 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

1731 out of 1809 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 1230 of 1375 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area and very useful kitchen!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Huggett

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Epic location, nice wee rooms, comfey, fun building. AMAZING shower.

Disliked: Nothing. Although you must be fond of orange :P

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The music in the restaurant/bar area was always too loud. From morning till night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, fun people yet everyone seemed to respect the 10pm to be quiet rule when we were there which is great to get a good night sleep

Disliked: It could be cheaper or include wifi or other services. The locker room is missing keys and does not feel secure. Don't forget to bring a lock with you for your belongings. They sell them at reception yet had none left when we arrived.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Samuels

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

26 August 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The bed linen was clean and fresh and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. The atmosphere was relaxed and calm and there were many different people there from places all over the world which I found very intriguing and interesting. I would definitely recommend Budget Backpackers to anyone looking for a friendly, affordable and memorable stay. Overall 10/10 for everything.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike on my visit here. No complaints whatsoever.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joseph Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar and common area downstairs where you can drink and get cheap food, good for meeting people. Wifi is good, available in the dorms.

Disliked: Most of the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, there was one girl with black hair who didn't seem to want to help anyone, she was very rude.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Leila Roman Muñoz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2014 Leila would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the place. There was a very friendly atmosphere, we met awesome people and we had lots and lots of fun! the hostel is really great and so cool!!!!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicholas Moore

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

20 August 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good, right in the centre of the city, room was decent size and clean.

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was on excellent location in the old part of the city. The atmosphere was relaxed. The staff was excellent, helpful and fun. I enjoyed my stay at the hostel very much.

Disliked: I did not like new guests coming into the doorm room in very late hours of the morning, it made it very difficult to have some normal uninterrupted sleep

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. good free wifi. big locker in room. nice mattress. good security. friendly staff. big bar downstairs.

Disliked: no free breakfast. shower no hot enough. some showers times out after 1 or 2 minute. free walking tour cancelled due to the Fringe festival.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Devin Leslie

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2014 Devin would recommend this property

Liked: Staying here was my first experience staying at a hostel and I wasn't sure what to expect. The friendliness of the staff immediately put me at ease and everything else about the stay was exactly as I would have hoped. The free walking tour provided a great background of Edinburgh's history and was delivered by a great guide (I'm sorry I can't remember your name, but you're "probably the only actual Scottish hostel employee). The free pub crawl hosted by Megs was literally one of the best nights I've ever had. I got to meet people from all over the world and spend time playing drinking games (Bagawk, Big-Booty, some hands game) that I had never heard of, and enjoying good company - the dance-club at the end is something I'll never forget. Overall, I would definitely recommend this Hostel to anyone who is looking for an exciting and fun place to hang out and meet new people.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: colourfull and friendly comon room, lots of bathrooms, young and energetic hostel crew!!!!

Disliked: bathrooms could be cleaner;)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good stay, thank you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas Moran

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room itself was very clean and the decoration was cool. The kitchen was clean, spacious and well equipped.

Disliked: It was a big party place, very noisy at night. People screaming in the hallway in the middle of the night. The shared bathrooms did not seem clean at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our room (4 bed dorm) was pleasantly quiet and comfortable for a hostel in the heart of the city.

Disliked: None in particular

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonathan McHardy

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendly, room was clean and quite large, location was awesome.

Disliked: Jonathan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms, organized activities for backpackers, lounge, Internet fast everywhere, individual lights, rule that says 10PM quiet hours

Disliked: Mattresses and pillows not good, bathrooms could be cleaner

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is best for the young crowd. Free pub crawls can be great for breaking the ice, but if you're looking to get a good night sleep, the rambunctious groups spilling out onto the streets from the nearby pubs past midnight could pose a problem. I was up at 2:30am one morning and couldn't get back to sleep until 4:00am. I'm sure a pair of earplugs would help. I loved that they provided free wifi, and the common rooms/kitchen facilities were quite comfortable, and the lockers in the room were big enough to fit my rolling carry-on bag.

Disliked: Can get a little noisy, but not much else to complain about.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014

Liked: .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kathleen Zuk

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: From the minute we walked in, we knew we would like it. The staff was very welcoming, and were good at getting everybody involved in their activities. The pubcrawl is a must! Would definitely recommend staying here!

Disliked: The bathrooms could use a bit more cleaning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sankara Narayanan Raveekumar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 June 2014 Sankara Narayanan would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and lively atmosphere, service was very good, good location as it was very close to the major attractions and the rooms were great.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kick Ass Cafe!

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't very clean and the lights kept going out while I was in the shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MAURICIO PEIXOTO DOS SANTOS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 MAURICIO would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel with a great atmosphere. The walking tour and pub crawl were good for integration with other travelers.

Disliked: MAURICIO left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

19 May 2014

Liked: The location was central and an easy walk to main attractions.

Disliked: The heat didn't work and our room was always freezing.