We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget backpackers

Hostel | 39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1JR

88.8% Overall Rating

1746 out of 1824 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2015)

"Price was reasonably cheap for a bed in a mixed dorm. Staff was friendly. There's a noise curfew past 10 pm. Cool and vibrant interior."

Read all Budget backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.52
  • Towel USD 0.76

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we do not permit stag or hen parties. PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU NEED TO BOOK 8 PEOPLE OR MORE YOU MUST CONTACT THIS HOSTEL DIRECTLY TO MAKE THE BOOKING. Please note all Group bookings (over 8 people) must adhere to the Hostel Group Booking Policy also must be 2 nights minimum stay at the weekend. Please note that this hostel has a strict age limit of 18 and over. Any customers arriving who are under this age will unfortunately not be allowed to stay because of Scotland’s strict licensing regulations and will be charged for the first night accommodation. We will contact you at the time of booking for the CVV code in order to verify the card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Cowgate Tourist Hostel
19.74 USD

Hostel 73.3% 294 reviews
Castle Rock Hostel
16.70 USD

Hostel 96.3% 1944 reviews
Malone's Old Town Hostel
12.15 USD

Hostel 92.1% 8 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
51.62 USD

Hostel 87.1% 284 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh
15.03 USD

Hostel 88.1% 761 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
12.91 USD

Hostel 93.9% 93 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
68.33 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

1746 out of 1824 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget backpackers'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.8%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 1242 of 1390 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 49 | 50   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price was reasonably cheap for a bed in a mixed dorm. Staff was friendly. There's a noise curfew past 10 pm. Cool and vibrant interior.

Disliked: The shower facilities were under maintenance on one floor, so I had to go to another floor where there are only two shower cubicles. This means everyone must queue up to shower. I've never experienced such an issue in other accommodations that also provide shared bathroom amenities.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 30 bed dorm was MUCH better than we had hoped. It didnt feel that big, it was cosy, clean and had good beds. Nice cafe/bar downstairs where they had pool and a pingpong table.

Disliked: The lockers needed a special type of padlock, which they didnt tell us about. They sold them in the reception for an overprize.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, facilities and atmosphere. Showers, lockers etc all well thought out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Cortesi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 January 2015 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were decent size, bathrooms clean. Place was very funky. So close to everything

Disliked: The showers were cold.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location its pretty good

Disliked: THE STAFF they looked like if they had smoked weed. they gave the impression that the place its quite insecure.apart that they were rude and unhelpful, apart a blond girl who was really nice

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adinny Paramita Subagiyo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Adinny Paramita would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is near city centre and walking distance to Edinburgh Castle. The kitchen is nice and good. I am highly recommended the hostel.

Disliked: Tha bathroom is quite small, there are only 2 showers. We need to wait long time for the hot water.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, well kept, friendly staff. Cafe/Bar provided cheap and good meals. Good breakfast hours from 7-11am.

Disliked: Wifi connection was quite weak in our room. Showers are controlled by a push button for water saving purposes which was slightly annoying, and the temperature of the water couldn't be adjusted.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel has a comfy lounge where you can have drinks for reasonable prices, the shower rooms and bed dorm were clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kate lopez

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 January 2015 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Central, clean

Disliked: The shower didn't stay hot they were either boiling or cold. Someone that I assumed was cleaning in the morning jangled their keys like Jacob jangles his chains..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brayden Andrews

Alone

City break

27 December 2014 Brayden would recommend this property

Liked: Clean place with enough space. Comfortable beds and in a very good location.

Disliked: Sometimes it was hard to figure out what kind of activities were on offer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Butler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2014 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: One of the cheapest, yet we'll equipped hostels we've stayed in in the UK

Disliked: Rachel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ashley Johnson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was awesome and the facilities were great. Clean, spacious rooms, multiple options for food (could purchase or cook) and something going on every night! The location was close to pretty much everything. When I arrived the first day completely exhausted from my overnight bus they allowed my to put my bag in the lockers for FREE and use their hang out room to take a nap. I loved this hostel!

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great common area and very useful kitchen!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Huggett

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Epic location, nice wee rooms, comfey, fun building. AMAZING shower.

Disliked: Nothing. Although you must be fond of orange :P

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

04 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The music in the restaurant/bar area was always too loud. From morning till night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location, fun people yet everyone seemed to respect the 10pm to be quiet rule when we were there which is great to get a good night sleep

Disliked: It could be cheaper or include wifi or other services. The locker room is missing keys and does not feel secure. Don't forget to bring a lock with you for your belongings. They sell them at reception yet had none left when we arrived.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke Samuels

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

26 August 2014 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The bed linen was clean and fresh and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. The atmosphere was relaxed and calm and there were many different people there from places all over the world which I found very intriguing and interesting. I would definitely recommend Budget Backpackers to anyone looking for a friendly, affordable and memorable stay. Overall 10/10 for everything.

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike on my visit here. No complaints whatsoever.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Joseph Johnson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Good bar and common area downstairs where you can drink and get cheap food, good for meeting people. Wifi is good, available in the dorms.

Disliked: Most of the staff were very friendly and knowledgeable, there was one girl with black hair who didn't seem to want to help anyone, she was very rude.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Leila Roman Muñoz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2014 Leila would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the place. There was a very friendly atmosphere, we met awesome people and we had lots and lots of fun! the hostel is really great and so cool!!!!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicholas Moore

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

20 August 2014 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good, right in the centre of the city, room was decent size and clean.

Disliked: Nicholas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was on excellent location in the old part of the city. The atmosphere was relaxed. The staff was excellent, helpful and fun. I enjoyed my stay at the hostel very much.

Disliked: I did not like new guests coming into the doorm room in very late hours of the morning, it made it very difficult to have some normal uninterrupted sleep

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. good free wifi. big locker in room. nice mattress. good security. friendly staff. big bar downstairs.

Disliked: no free breakfast. shower no hot enough. some showers times out after 1 or 2 minute. free walking tour cancelled due to the Fringe festival.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Devin Leslie

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 August 2014 Devin would recommend this property

Liked: Staying here was my first experience staying at a hostel and I wasn't sure what to expect. The friendliness of the staff immediately put me at ease and everything else about the stay was exactly as I would have hoped. The free walking tour provided a great background of Edinburgh's history and was delivered by a great guide (I'm sorry I can't remember your name, but you're "probably the only actual Scottish hostel employee). The free pub crawl hosted by Megs was literally one of the best nights I've ever had. I got to meet people from all over the world and spend time playing drinking games (Bagawk, Big-Booty, some hands game) that I had never heard of, and enjoying good company - the dance-club at the end is something I'll never forget. Overall, I would definitely recommend this Hostel to anyone who is looking for an exciting and fun place to hang out and meet new people.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: colourfull and friendly comon room, lots of bathrooms, young and energetic hostel crew!!!!

Disliked: bathrooms could be cleaner;)