We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Budget backpackers

Hostel | 39 Cowgate, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 1JR

91.1% Overall Rating

1767 out of 1848 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2015)

Solene Godin thinks…

"The location was perfect. There is a bar in the hostel. I felt very safe since you need your key to go through many doors. Not noisy. Very nice hostel. Great kitchen and very well organised. There…"

Read all Budget backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.53
  • Towel USD 0.76

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we do not permit stag or hen parties. PLEASE NOTE: IF YOU NEED TO BOOK 8 PEOPLE OR MORE YOU MUST CONTACT THIS HOSTEL DIRECTLY TO MAKE THE BOOKING. Please note all Group bookings (over 8 people) must adhere to the Hostel Group Booking Policy also must be 2 nights minimum stay at the weekend. Please note that this hostel has a strict age limit of 18 and over. Any customers arriving who are under this age will unfortunately not be allowed to stay because of Scotland’s strict licensing regulations and will be charged for the first night accommodation. We will contact you at the time of booking for the CVV code in order to verify the card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Cowgate Tourist Hostel
18.13 USD

Hostel 73.4% 299 reviews
Castle Rock Hostel
19.89 USD

Hostel 93.5% 1998 reviews
Malone's Old Town Hostel
18.36 USD

Hostel 91.6% 15 reviews
Euro Hostel Edinburgh Halls
52.02 USD

Hostel 83.2% 295 reviews
St Christopher's Inn - Edinburgh
15.15 USD

Hostel 89.4% 784 reviews
Kick Ass Hostels
16.83 USD

Hostel 89.6% 114 reviews
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
15.30 USD

Hostel 79.2% 153 reviews
Summer Hostels - Cowgate
68.85 USD

Hostel 74.4% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

1767 out of 1848 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Budget backpackers'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
93.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 1261 of 1413 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 50 | 51   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location

Disliked: Blinds at window let light in. Window didn't stay open

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

30 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Plent of showers and always hot plus lots of good areas to sit

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Solene Godin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2015 Solene would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. There is a bar in the hostel. I felt very safe since you need your key to go through many doors. Not noisy. Very nice hostel. Great kitchen and very well organised. There were lockers in the room and a nice night light for every bed :)

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For the price, the hostel offered great value. Room was spacious, everything was clean and the beds were comfy.

Disliked: Showers weren't the best, one didn't have a door and the hot water was patchy.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything you need

Disliked: mouse in the chill-out room

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a really nice bar. Must be one of the best hostel bars I've seen anywhere.

Disliked: On our corridor, the men's shower + toilet was sub-par. Luckily there were other toilet facilities on the same floor.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location in Old town free wifi luggagae storage nice ans spacious kitchen

Disliked: bathrooms too tiny too big, it is not personal, you are a number for them not a person

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, and big nice kitchen and eating space, kind and friendly staff. Perfect!!

Disliked: Just one thing. When I arrived thee was relatively elderly guys, looks like workers not travelers, I think they were guest as well. One of them looked at me and said ni-hao, and it was annoying. I am not Chinese anyway, but I felt like unsafe in the property at that time. But lest of the stay I never met them again in the property, so it was fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Robertshaw

Alone

Events / festivals

09 August 2015 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Beyond my expectations. Never stayed in a hostel before. It was clean bright with brilliant staff 24/7. Felt safe and above all slept well in a lovely clean bed.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Frith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2015 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

jo callaby

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 July 2015 jo would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aine Proctor

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2015 Aine would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere and comfort

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giyoun Seo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2015 Giyoun would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: No breakfast for free

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

21 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - right next to tourist attractions but also near to bars and clubs as well as not too far from Princes Street for shopping. Toilets and showers were pretty clean and weren't overcrowded, rooms and other facitilies were clean as well. Plug and USB charge point as well as reading light and small "shelf" next to every bed (no fighting over charge points!). Really secure luggage room (probably the most secure I've come across) - monitored entry and lockers for bags, your stuff will be safe here! Really excellent hostel, would thoroughly recommend!

Disliked: There's nothing I would really fault with this property. I suppose some of the food items (croissants, tea etc) could be a little cheaper but that is nitpicking!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melina Guerette

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2015 Melina would recommend this property

Liked: Big lockers directly in the room beside your bed. Bedlamp and nightshelf right beside bed! Lots of space and a sink.

Disliked: The kitchen is a bit small and half off the cooking utensils are broken.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Danielle Craik

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2015 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really central to everything and the staff were really helpful with whatever you needed.

Disliked: The walls seemed to be quite thin we could hear people loudly stumbling in in the early hours of the morning.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large, open, close to everything.

Disliked: Showers were problematic to operate.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere, friendly staff, Nice location.

Disliked: Sometimes too crowded. No place to sit in common area.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

imanol perez

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2015 imanol would recommend this property

Liked: everything was fine :)

Disliked: imanol left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price was reasonably cheap for a bed in a mixed dorm. Staff was friendly. There's a noise curfew past 10 pm. Cool and vibrant interior.

Disliked: The shower facilities were under maintenance on one floor, so I had to go to another floor where there are only two shower cubicles. This means everyone must queue up to shower. I've never experienced such an issue in other accommodations that also provide shared bathroom amenities.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 30 bed dorm was MUCH better than we had hoped. It didnt feel that big, it was cosy, clean and had good beds. Nice cafe/bar downstairs where they had pool and a pingpong table.

Disliked: The lockers needed a special type of padlock, which they didnt tell us about. They sold them in the reception for an overprize.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, facilities and atmosphere. Showers, lockers etc all well thought out.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Cortesi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 January 2015 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were decent size, bathrooms clean. Place was very funky. So close to everything

Disliked: The showers were cold.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location its pretty good

Disliked: THE STAFF they looked like if they had smoked weed. they gave the impression that the place its quite insecure.apart that they were rude and unhelpful, apart a blond girl who was really nice

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adinny Paramita Subagiyo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2015 Adinny Paramita would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is near city centre and walking distance to Edinburgh Castle. The kitchen is nice and good. I am highly recommended the hostel.

Disliked: Tha bathroom is quite small, there are only 2 showers. We need to wait long time for the hot water.

The property's response is...