We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Belford Hostel

Hostel | 6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland EH4 3DA

77.8% Overall Rating

69 out of 106 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/10/2012)

susan graham thinks…

"The hostel was easy to find. Near to the Main Street. Impressive from outside good security with pass number.entrance system The bed was comfortable. The room adequate for sleeping with facility to…"

Read all Belford Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.87
  • Breakfast USD 4.87
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

You may cancel your booking up to 48hrs hours before arrival. Less than 48hrs notice the first night will be charged. ***In the event of a no-show (non arrival) without cancellation you will be charged the full amount.*** The Serious Stuff Due to our guests being of an adult age we do not accept under 12's in our dormitories. GBP10 key deposit per person is required at check-in. Debit Card Charge GBP 0.50 Credit Card Charge - 2% IMPORTANT information for AUGUST Bookings: (? Also - Rugby Dates - Easter/May Bank Holiday Dates) The hostel will charge your card the full amount 1 month before arrival if under 1 month within 24hrs of booking being made. If the card is declined your booking will be cancelled. Cancellations 1 month >14 days before arrival we will retain 25% or first night. Less than 14 days notice no refund will be given Special Event Booking – 14 - 16 November Rugby. Please Note - The hostel will charge your card the full amount 1 month before arrival if under 1 month within 24hrs of booking being made. Cancellations - 1 month > 14 days before arrival we will retain 25% or the first night - Less than 14 days notice no refund will be given. If your card is declined your booking will be cancelled. Special Event Booking – Hogmanay Special (28th December - 4th January). Please Note: For All Hogmanay Bookings, your credit card will be charged the full outstanding amount shortly after the booking is made. Cancellations made more than 14 days before the arrival date will receive a 50% refund. Cancellations made less than 14 days before the arrival date shall not receive any refund. If your card is declined your booking will be cancelled.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Westend Hotel
14.61 USD

Hostel 90.5% 891 reviews
Ballantrae West End Hotel
36.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.5% 81 reviews
The Hostel
11.36 USD

Hostel 75.0% 1135 reviews
Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments
16.05 USD

Apartment 90.5% 15 reviews
Edinburgh Lodge West End
40.57 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Boutique Backpackers
12.98 USD

Hostel 64.2% 61 reviews
Caledonian Backpackers
17.85 USD

Hostel 84.7% 1418 reviews
Phoenix West Princes Street
24.34 USD

Hostel 88.9% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

69 out of 106 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Belford Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 53 of 56 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was Fine

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

susan graham

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 October 2012 susan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was easy to find. Near to the Main Street. Impressive from outside good security with pass number.entrance system The bed was comfortable. The room adequate for sleeping with facility to charge phones etc Quiet. (October) Friendly downstairs room. With adequate seating. And comfy chairs cooking fasciitis were excellent. Plenty desk area for computer etc. toilets etc functional Desk staff. Helpful

Disliked: For the amount of money there was nothing to dislike

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012

Liked: The church concept was cool.

Disliked: This hostel has bed bugs - we were definitely bit by bed bugs on our stay at this hostel (we had not been staying at any previous hostel, so it had to be this one). Also, the bathrooms near the sleeping area were pretty sad - no soap, ever, in the dispensers. I really liked the idea of a gothic church converted into a hostel, but in chilly Sept, this equalled an unpleasant atmosphere. The 8 person bedrooms were extremely cramped. Also, even though the hostel appears pretty close to the city centre, we found it a long walk back and forth, when we got there. Altogther, I would recommend stayng somewhere else!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sleeping in a church is obviously an amazing experience. The place is cheap and well located and offers value for money.

Disliked: The toilets could be a bit cleaner but nothing really bad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private room was excellent, nice common room and the fact that it is in a converted church certainly makes it original!

Disliked: A better breakfast, even if you had to pay for it, would have been good

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2012

Liked: kitchen, dining area and lounge was huge. free wifi and power sources in the dining area. Staff were really friendly and considerate. :)

Disliked: Everything else. We stayed here thinking it would be a unique experience to stay in a church, but we ended up staying in a small room with no windows. There were only two power sources in the room, which had 8 beds, and our lockers were outside the room. The beds have spring mattresses which would probably be okay for some, but I'm not used to them. And my friend was unfortunate enough to have BEDBUGS on his bed!!! He had like 5-6 swollen bitemarks on his back! My sheets had white stains on them, which I really hope isn't what I think it is. I wouldn't recommend staying in this hostel in the winter, as the entire place is generally cold! The shower area is horrible, with very small shower stalls (like stepping into a wash basin) and thin curtains that can't keep the cold draft of air at bay. The shower water is too cold as well, which is surprising because the tap is scalding hot. It's also freezing in the toilets. Our stay was not a very pleasant one, and not just because of the hostel. We had roommates that started noisily packing at 3am as they had to leave at 4am (something which they should have done the night before!). We also had a roommate that kept on passing gas in the room! The novelty of staying in a church quickly faded as you don't feel like you're staying in one at all.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s an amazing hostel. The staff was extraordinary friendly and helpful. And the lounge downstairs is nice and the rooms are good value for the price we paid. The atmosphere in general is just great.

Disliked: The showers were a little unclean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere of the staff and guests

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mario Corchero

As a family with children

Family Holiday

24 January 2012 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place

Disliked: Mario left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: no window in the rooms :(

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2011

Liked: Original

Disliked: Not clean

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vitor Alcantara

With a large group / tour

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 May 2011 Vitor would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is huge and the environment in the lounge is nice, suitable to make friends. Are there good facilities.

Disliked: Cold water on mornings. Toilets number is undersized.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen was well-equipped, and the recreational room's atmosphere was wonderful. The staff was very friendly, and even though the rooms were'nt very big and were a bit noisy at times I felt as if I had some privacy. Getting there was very easy - even easier than the description on the site. We also found the luggage room useful.

Disliked: The walls are basically plywood; when new people checked in they were'nt always told just how good the acoustics were. The toilets weren't all that many, and the place had a sort of old smell to it - not all in a bad way. The showers were uneven, either very hot or quite cold. If you choose to cook yourself, remember to bring some spices.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere, the church like style of the hostel, the staff, meeting people, the pool, the staff

Disliked: the showers were not always warm but it was not a big deal as the overall was GREAT!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rizwan shahid

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2011 Rizwan would recommend this property

Liked: it is very clean and everything it has what you expect from price.

Disliked: rooms bit colder and noisy.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great experience! I've never slept in a church before~nice people.

Disliked: The shower is a bit cold.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Leticia Aparicio

20 November 2009 Leticia would recommend this property

Liked: interesting

Disliked: Leticia left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 November 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very cheap and confortable. however, the hostel was a bit cool at night, the heating wasn't enough.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

marieke pingen

28 September 2008 marieke would recommend this property

Liked: cool to sleep in a kirk once, but it was pretty noisy in the dorms. The private room was excellent, very nice bathroom, fantastic beds. Very nice staff.

Disliked: marieke left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: an hotel in a church

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ishbel Orla Whitehead

30 June 2008

Liked: The building.

Disliked: Ishbel Orla left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sandra Huster-Stemke

23 June 2008 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: the buliding, the staff-service

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 June 2008

Liked: A lot of services offered at the hostel: kitchen complete, tv room with DVD player, nice sallon with bar, billiard, books, games, iron...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Lee

09 May 2008 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: the location in the old church was cool.very homey feel.comfortable beds.

Disliked: Aaron left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Santiago Barreiro Tobon

06 May 2008 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: I think it's a very nice hostel, the style and concept of the building is very particular, very helpful staff and great atmosphere, it's a great complement if you visit Edinburgh!!!

Disliked: Santiago left no negative feedback.