HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Belford Hostel Edinburgh Hostel

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 71%

Location 79%

Safety 81%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.19USD
  • Luggage Room 1.57USD
  • Towel 1.57USD

Important Information

You may cancel your booking up to 48hrs hours before arrival. Less than 48hrs notice the first night will be charged.

***In the event of a no-show (non arrival) without cancellation you will be charged the full amount.***

***Photo ID (Drivers Licence, Passport) is required to check-in to the hostel. If you are unable to produce photo ID on arrival we will not honour your booking.***

The Serious Stuff
Due to our guests being of an adult age we do not accept under 12's in our dormitories.

10 key deposits per person are required at check-in.

Debit Card Charge GBP 0.50 Credit Card Charge - 2%

Groups of six or more people may be subject to a GBP 20/person security deposit, which will be refunded upon departure, pending a room check and appropriate behaviour.

Smoking is now illegal in all public places; thus, the hostel is 100% non-smoking. There is a minimum charge of GBP 50 if you smoke in this hostel.

During the month of August/Rugby/Bank Holiday Weekends/Easter/Hogmanay The hostel will charge your card the full amount one month before arrival. If you will be arriving in less than a month the charge will be made within 24hrs. Cancellations - 1 month > 14 days before arrival we will retain 25% or the first night - Less than 14 days notice no refund will be given.

If your card is declined your booking will be cancelled.

Hogmanay Special Please Note: For All Hogmanay Bookings, your credit card will be charged the full outstanding amount shortly after the booking is made. Cancellations made more than 14 days before the arrival date will receive a 50% refund. Cancellations made less than 14 days before the arrival date shall not receive any refund.

If your card is declined your booking will be cancelled.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 57%

Facilities 71%

Location 79%

Safety 81%

Staff 86%

Value 79%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: Lovethelocation

Disliked: Ihadabadexperiencewithbadbugslhave beenbittenverybadlylthinktheplacedidn'thbeenbittenverybadlylthinktheplacedidn'thaveagoodlevelofigiene

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything was Fine

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was easy to find. Near to the Main Street. Impressive from outside good security with pass number.entrance systemThe bed was comfortable. The room adequate for sleeping with facility to charge phones etc Quiet. (October) Friendly downstairs room. With adequate seating. And comfy chairs cooking fasciitis were excellent. Plenty desk area for computer etc. toilets etc functionalDesk staff. Helpful

Disliked: For the amount of money there was nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The church concept was cool.

Disliked: This hostel has bed bugs - we were definitely bit by bed bugs on our stay at this hostel (we had not been staying at any previous hostel, so it had to be this one). Also, the bathrooms near the sleeping area were pretty sad - no soap, ever, in the dispensers. I really liked the idea of a gothic church converted into a hostel, but in chilly Sept, this equalled an unpleasant atmosphere. The 8 person bedrooms were extremely cramped. Also, even though the hostel appears pretty close to the city centre, we found it a long walk back and forth, when we got there. Altogther, I would recommend stayng somewhere else!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Sleeping in a church is obviously an amazing experience. The place is cheap and well located and offers value for money.

Disliked: The toilets could be a bit cleaner but nothing really bad.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Private room was excellent, nice common room and the fact that it is in a converted church certainly makes it original!

Disliked: A better breakfast, even if you had to pay for it, would have been good

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: kitchen, dining area and lounge was huge. free wifi and power sources in the dining area. Staff were really friendly and considerate. :)

Disliked: Everything else. We stayed here thinking it would be a unique experience to stay in a church, but we ended up staying in a small room with no windows. There were only two power sources in the room, which had 8 beds, and our lockers were outside the room. The beds have spring mattresses which would probably be okay for some, but I'm not used to them. And my friend was unfortunate enough to have BEDBUGS on his bed!!! He had like 5-6 swollen bitemarks on his back! My sheets had white stains on them, which I really hope isn't what I think it is.I wouldn't recommend staying in this hostel in the winter, as the entire place is generally cold! The shower area is horrible, with very small shower stalls (like stepping into a wash basin) and thin curtains that can't keep the cold draft of air at bay. The shower water is too cold as well, which is surprising because the tap is scalding hot. It's also freezing in the toilets. Our stay was not a very pleasant one, and not just because of the hostel. We had roommates that started noisily packing at 3am as they had to leave at 4am (something which they should have done the night before!). We also had a roommate that kept on passing gas in the room!The novelty of staying in a church quickly faded as you don't feel like you're staying in one at all.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It´s an amazing hostel. The staff was extraordinary friendly and helpful. And the lounge downstairs is nice and the rooms are good value for the price we paid. The atmosphere in general is just great.

Disliked: The showers were a little unclean.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere of the staff and guests

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Nice place

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability