We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Westend Hotel

Hostel | 35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 5AU

90.7% Overall Rating

794 out of 890 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

"One of the best hostels we've stayed at! Actually it was more of a hotel which was a pleasant surprise. Staff were great, dorm room was carpeted which was a nice change, washing service was super efficient and cheap…"

Read all Westend Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.25
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

If you have booked with an agent online or in person, any deposit is made to them and is non-refundable. Our cancellation policy is by 2pm, 2 days prior to your arrival date. Cancelling within 2 days of the arrival date or failure to arrive at the hotel on your day of arrival will see one night’s room rate charged to the credit card details provided to us with the booking and your booking will be cancelled for any further nights you have booked. Due to the high demand for accommodation in Edinburgh over New Year, guests will be asked to settle 50% of their total amount, which is non-refundable, one month prior to arrival when booked into the hotel between: 29 December – 2 January (Inclusive) If cancelling for these dates we require no less than 2 weeks’ notice for there to be no further charges made to your credit card. Cancelling within 2 weeks of your arrival date will see the total remaining balance of your bill charged to the credit card details provided to us with your booking. Groups: If you are a group of 8 or more you will be asked to pay the remaining balance as a group (not individually) and leave a £20 security bond per person on arrival. This bond will be returned on departure once the room has been checked. Please allow time for your room to be checked as this can take up to 15 mins, if you fail to leave time for your room to be inspected, bonds will not be returned. If we require any damages to be inspected by the owner, bonds will be kept and returned to you later once a price has been determined for the damage. Disturbing other guests may also result in a penalty charge, the amount will be determined on a case by case basis.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Ballantrae West End Hotel
52.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.5% 81 reviews
Belford Hostel
20.29 USD

Hostel 77.8% 106 reviews
The Hostel
14.61 USD

Hostel 75.8% 1133 reviews
Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments
16.94 USD

Apartment 90.5% 15 reviews
Boutique Backpackers
16.23 USD

Hostel 66.1% 60 reviews
Caledonian Backpackers
19.47 USD

Hostel 84.7% 1418 reviews
Herald House Hotel
125.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.7% 43 reviews
Brooks Hotel
55.99 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

794 out of 890 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Westend Hotel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 671 of 785 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 26 | 27   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels we've stayed at! Actually it was more of a hotel which was a pleasant surprise. Staff were great, dorm room was carpeted which was a nice change, washing service was super efficient and cheap (2.50 pounds for a huge load), downstairs is a bar that had a fantastic live singer the night we were there as well as very cheap drinks. All round a GREAT place to stay in a beautiful city!

Disliked: The stairs showed how unfit we are every time we walked up to our third floor room... Apart from that - Perfect!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

BINGJIE KONG

Alone

Shopping

12 September 2014 BINGJIE would recommend this property

Liked: staff are nice, room is comfortable and clean,value for money

Disliked: the bed is not so good, it's soft but noisy, just move a little bit you will hear a loud noisy, all the bed in the room are the same.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very close to the train station and the city center, and the staff was quite helpful.

Disliked: There weren´t enough showers and toilets

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Irene Munro

Alone

Visiting friends or family

08 September 2014 Irene would recommend this property

Liked: I was only looking for a clean bed in the hostel part and I was happy with the all female dorm

Disliked: The vestibule is a bit clinical

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kathryn McClure

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were comfortable though a little squeaky. The kitchen is spacious and there is a nice, though small, common area. The location is just far enough out of the way to be pleasant, and it is really close to the Waters of Leith walkway

Disliked: I'm not sure the showers were cleaned the entire time I was there. I noticed an orange festival bracelet at the bottom of one shower early in the week and when I left it was still in the same position. Staff is more than a bit standoff-ish, bordering on unpleasant. There is a discount on the bar food and drink, but the prices are through the roof. After the discount my beer still cost me nearly £3

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was my second time staying in Edinburgh but the first time in this hostel. The place is more like a hotel with dorm room and reply cheap prices! I was booked into a 18 bed door which I thought like any other place would be crammed with beds but it wasn't. The shower room was great and hot powerful showers too. Food in the bar was yummy and you get a discount for staying there. I can't fault the place. Well done!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place and staff are friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Murphey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: My first visit to Edinburgh and I loved every minute and the hostel was fab. Staff are so helpful and could not do more for you. I will be back with my family soon!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff (barman) were very helpful and knew the answers to whatever questions were asked of them.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacob Hebditch

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great staff, rooms arranged well.

Disliked: If the bunk beds were a little less squeaky that would be good. But I understand most do that.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, spacious, and the beds were very comfy! The kitchen was amazing - very big and well stocked with pretty much anything you'd need to use, with more than enough room for everyone to store their stuff. I was very impressed with it. There is also a nice garden out the back to sit in with your meal!

Disliked: Didn't like that the only powerpoints were in little lockers in the corner of the dorm. We also tried to get some information about hiring a car but none of the staff could really help us out, so we had to look online. They were really friendly, just didn't really know about car hire, haha!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn klein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2014 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Nice modern decor, comfortable beds, nice location only a couple blocks from the train station, clean bathrooms with nice showers, friendly staff (though difficult to track down at times), nice kitchen with lots of cookware.

Disliked: Kathryn left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juil Yoon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Juil would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Lack of washrooms and space to work after 11pm.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

moira benoit

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 July 2014 moira would recommend this property

Liked: tastefully decorated in lovely building.

Disliked: No more relaxed area to play pool etc.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruth Lancaster

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Ruth would recommend this property

Liked: Stay very friendly, stayed in the 18 bed dorm, room still felt spacious and very clean. Best hostel I have stayed at so far on my travels. Really good value for money.

Disliked: Ruth left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aichi Chung

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Aichi would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, 18-bed dorm is large.

Disliked: Small common area, no power socket in the room due to safety reason is understandable, but a little inconvenient.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is up there with the best hostels I've stayed in while travelling for the last 2 years. On the West End of the city but within walking distance to all attractions.

Disliked: Nada

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phoebe Mornane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2014 Phoebe would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! The staff were super friendly and accommodating and went out of their way. The facilities are great and mega clean and comfortable!

Disliked: Phoebe left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gillian Taylor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2014 Gillian would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice old building but updated very njcely. I booked a 18 bedroom but was upgraded to a private double. The staffs very good too.

Disliked: Lots of stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Wallace

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 May 2014 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Modern and friendly

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Downy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this place! It is more like a Hotel than a Hostel. Staff are super friendly and are very helpfull with the local area. I will be back!!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gudrun Leitzenberger

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2014 Gudrun would recommend this property

Liked: style

Disliked: Gudrun left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014

Liked: Cant think of anyhthing

Disliked: There is no lobbey or common area. There are only a fee seats in the basement where you can sit and work at a computer or watch TV. Unfortunately, this is next to the kitchen and there was a terrile smell of burt oil and grease that made it hard to sot and relax in the area. There are no lockers or safe rooms to leave your bags! I was in the female only room with a private bathroom. There was only 1 bathroom and 1 shower for the 8 beds in the room! Beds were very tweeky and made a lot of noise at night.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big windows

Disliked: Flimsy mattresses/metal bunks

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

harshad bafna

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 harshad would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms and ambience

Disliked: Nothing