HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Westend Hotel

Hostel | 35 Palmerston Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH12 5AU

93.9% Overall Rating

761 out of 856 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

Christopher PENNY thinks…

"Very clean, welcoming, ideally situated near Haymarket station and very good value.The breakfast for just £2 was excellent too."

Read all Westend Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.36
  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

If you have booked with an agent online or in person, any deposit is made to them and is non-refundable. Our cancellation policy is by 2pm, 2 days prior to your arrival date. Cancelling within 2 days of the arrival date or failure to arrive at the hotel on your day of arrival will see one night’s room rate charged to the credit card details provided to us with the booking and your booking will be cancelled for any further nights you have booked. Due to the high demand for accommodation in Edinburgh over New Year, guests will be asked to settle 50% of their total amount, which is non-refundable, one month prior to arrival when booked into the hotel between: 29 December – 2 January (Inclusive) If cancelling for these dates we require no less than 2 weeks’ notice for there to be no further charges made to your credit card. Cancelling within 2 weeks of your arrival date will see the total remaining balance of your bill charged to the credit card details provided to us with your booking. Groups: If you are a group of 8 or more you will be asked to pay the remaining balance as a group (not individually) and leave a £20 security bond per person on arrival. This bond will be returned on departure once the room has been checked. Please allow time for your room to be checked as this can take up to 15 mins, if you fail to leave time for your room to be inspected, bonds will not be returned. If we require any damages to be inspected by the owner, bonds will be kept and returned to you later once a price has been determined for the damage. Disturbing other guests may also result in a penalty charge, the amount will be determined on a case by case basis.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Ballantrae West End Hotel
38.61 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.5% 81 reviews
Belford Hostel
20.98 USD

Hostel 77.8% 106 reviews
Ritz Hotel Edinburgh
40.29 USD

Hotel 3 star 87.1% 4 reviews
The Hostel
16.79 USD

Hostel 85.3% 1111 reviews
Lets Edinburgh - Private Apartments
22.11 USD

Apartment 90.8% 14 reviews
Smart at iQ
91.49 USD

Hostel 76.0% 5 reviews
Boutique Backpackers
16.79 USD

Hostel 73.6% 26 reviews
Caledonian Backpackers
20.14 USD

Hostel 85.8% 1393 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.9%

Overall Rating

761 out of 856 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Westend Hotel'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
93.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 644 of 751 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 25 | 26   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher PENNY

Alone

Work / volunteering

13 April 2014 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, welcoming, ideally situated near Haymarket station and very good value.The breakfast for just £2 was excellent too.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The level of security, the rooms, bathrooms and reception as well.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shih Wei Hsi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014 Shih Wei would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the stay! Perfect location, friendly staff and nice clean room. Definitely will stay again to see more of Edinburgh.

Disliked: Shih Wei left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very classy hostel. It was inexpensive and the hostel was very clean, warm, and inviting.

Disliked: The heat was on too high during the night and it was very hot while sleeping.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great and the room was very light and spaced out

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was a great last minute find. ideally located for the train station Haymarket is just 5 mins round the corner. Very cheap for the service received this included free wifi. Lots of hot running water in the showers and free shower gel !!!! All the staff I met were awesome Thank You !!!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Marco

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2014 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, well equipped bathrooms(with hair dryers), nice and cheap breakfast

Disliked: Bar is quite expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Baker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: This was the first time I've stayed in a hostel and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The place looks like it's recently had a refurb as everything looks new and clean. The Staff are polite and helpful and know a lot about the local area.

Disliked: If I had to pick any fault it would be it's slightly outside the City centre but is only 5 minute walk away.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean rooms, option of dorms for large parties

Disliked: Only one toilet per floor

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James McDonald

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 February 2014 James would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed one night and my first time at a hostel outside the SYHA network. Excellent value for money. Was quiet so got a good nights sleep and the showers were good but again I would need to stay longer for a more thorough review. Was left with a good impression despite my short stay.

Disliked: I arrived late and left early so I can't say anything negative about this hostel but a longer stay might reveal deficiencies but on this occasion nothing bad to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place. Nice staff and nice food for lunch

Disliked: Breakfast could be served later

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its the second time Ive stayed here and its always good. Very cosy and nice hot powerful showers. I did the pubcrawl too which is a good way to meet people when travelling alone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice big rooms that were very clean and warm. It is around the corner from the haymarket train station and it's very good value

Disliked: No lift

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Late checkin available (though there is a fee), quiet, comfortable

Disliked: £2 for continental breakfast? No thanks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jill Reilly07956443766

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2014 Jill would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here for 1 night as a stopover from Edinburgh Airport. The journey was good it only took 15 minutes max on the air bus which stops round the corner from the hostel. When I arrived the bar area had just closed but the young girl working asked if I wanted anything before she went to bed which I thought was nice. The lounge downstairs is quite small but ideal for socialising with other backpackers but there is also the bar to use at other times. wifi is free and fast speed. I stayed in A 18 person down which was huge and had lots of space unlike some hostels Ive stayed in the past. All in all it was a super clean place with a nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Steven Smith

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel was fantastic; the staff could not do enough for you. I was especially pleased with the drinks and food offers. Well worth the money and I would definitely recommend it to all.

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Vincent

Alone

City break

05 February 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and nice staff

Disliked: The stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kurt Valentino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2014 Kurt would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed 1 night in the hostel. I loved the hostel immediately. Staff are extremely friendly and their services are better than some 5-star hotels. The 18 bed room is so spacious and the bathroom has got excellent showers. The room is cleaned every day. I will tell all my friends!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Taylor

Alone

City break

10 January 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay on a budget. I stayed in a 18 person room which was very big and spacious. Food in the bar is very good and you get it cheaper for staing there, showers are very powerfull and hot.

Disliked: Just out of city centre but very good for airport.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SImon Alford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 SImon would recommend this property

Liked: Try this place out its awesome! A total Luxury for backpackers. I will be back :-)

Disliked: Slightly out from the City but this also means its quiet at night . Only takes 10 mins to walk into town though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Becca Ferguson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Becca would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a 18 bed mixed dormitory with around 6 other people, the room was very big and spacious and had plenty of room for luggage. They have lockers in the room with sockets in the back to charge mobile phones and small items which is good. The showers are the best I have experienced in my 2 years travelling so powerfull and HOT! The kitchen is fully equiped and has plenty of space and storage. There is a bar and restaurant in the hostel which is great as you get a good discount for staying there. Staff went out of there way to help you for anything you needed. I would recommend!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheila Wilson

Alone

City break

24 December 2013 Sheila would recommend this property

Liked: This is more like a Hotel with hostel prices. I was very immpressed with my stay here, eveything was perfect. I was in a 18 bed shared dormitory and there was so much room, unlike other hostels which cram people into there rooms. The place was spotlessly clean and the staff were there to help you with any needs. Even the Hostel was closing the day I depated the Manager aranged to store luggage for me till my flight at 3pm I would deffinately choose this hostel again if traveling to Edinburgh. Well done to the Staff and Happy Christmas!

Disliked: The only downfall would be the backpackers kitchen does not open till 08:00 howerer the staff will open early if requested.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

23 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel felt more like a hotel than many other hostels I have stayed in. It has lovely deco throughout, and rooms are clean and nicely decorated.

Disliked: The plugs in the room were all in one place, meaning to charge your phone it needs to be on the other side of the room.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2013

Liked: Very little. The shower has good pressure, but floods in two seconds. Pretty building, visually.

Disliked: This hostel is one of the worst I have ever stated at. The beds in or room all had long brown hair on the pillowcases or quilts, the shower flooded, the room had no heating and the cleaners left windows open all day in minus degree temperatures. The bar is not for guests, but rather seedy regulars. The staff were rude, unhelpful and rarely available. They were all inexperienced and unfriendly, and only helpful to one group if attractive young men, whilst ignoring other patrons or dismissing them quickly. On check in we told them we had to be on a bus tour at 8am so would miss breakfast (not free) so it was suggested we buy some food and make our own the next morning. We bought good, however as the kitchen did not open until 8am and we had to leave at 7:30, our food was locked downstairs and we were left without breakfast. There is a washing machine, however it is the same one used to clean the sheets, so is left filled with sheets all the time, as staff never seem to empty it. The "lounge" has about 6 seats in front of a tv near the commercial kitchen, and is freezing, the seats are uncomfortable and there is so little space that it is always full. The kitchen is clean, but filled with threatening notes by management. Finally, on our final full day, staff let someone check into our room at 9 am. She brought all of her luggage in loudly, thumped around the room and made phone calls, despite everyone still sleeping. That night they let the rest of her party check in at midnight. We had a 5 am fought, and they all turned lights on, jumped on beds, threw things at each other, played music and danced, and talked loudly. When we asked them to be quiet, they switched languages and continued to make noise, despite us still being sleeping. Check in should have told them they did not have to room to themselves and we had our sleep twice interrupted by loose procedures. It is a half hour walk to the city centre, food and groceries are limited, and the staff had no knowledge of the local area. Stay anywhere else but here. Trust me, it's worth the extra few dollars. I woke not recommend this place to anyone, and I certainly won't be back.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlie Cole

With my spouse / partner

City break

21 December 2013 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Excellent location, really good value, very pleasant and helpful staff. 10 mins walk to the middle of the city. Room was really nice too. Definitely recommended!

Disliked: Nothing