HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Hostel | 9 Haddington Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH7 4AL

85.5% Overall Rating

337 out of 356 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2014)

"Excellent hostel and was perfect for what we were looking for. Staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming."

Read all Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.41
  • Breakfast USD 7.68
  • Towel USD 3.41

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

The cancellation fee if cancelling less than 72 hours prior to arrival or in the case of a no show the fee is the full cost of the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Regent House Hotel
50.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.3% 38 reviews
Large luxury 4 bedroom central apartment
97.29 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Unite 2- McDonald Road
58.03 USD

Apartment 79.3% 29 reviews
St James Craig Court
76.80 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Snoozebox Hotel Edinburgh
102.41 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Edinburgh House Hotel
35.16 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.4% 84 reviews
Panmure Court
93.87 USD

Apartment 83.6% 4 reviews
Haggis Hostels
34.14 USD

Hostel 89.5% 56 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

337 out of 356 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 236 of 258 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel and was perfect for what we were looking for. Staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Only thing we didn't like was that the hostel was exceptionally hot!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff

Disliked: nothing was free... no internet, no baggage area... most hostels offer that for free, this hostel charged for everything!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 April 2014

Liked: The food was nice

Disliked: We were not asked to pay the remaining cost on arrival on the first night. We went out for the day and came back, our key cards were disabled. The manager was quite rude about the fact that we had not paid when it was in fact the staff who did not request payment on arrival. The staff were not very professional.This was my first time at a hostel and will probably be my last.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerie Heppel

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our checking in was just great, later we needed help with information re travel around Edinburgh, the staff were just so helpful. For value the accomodation was very good, would have no hesitation returning. Another point, we are older yet surrounded by younger people who made no difference to us.

Disliked: We cound not say that there was anyhing that we dislked about the property.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sara Marlow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great!

Disliked: The wifi was charged for and as the price of accommodation was fairly expensive it should have been included we thought!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ya ching Chen

Alone

City break

08 June 2013 ya ching would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very nice and kindly.

Disliked: ya ching left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic, very clean, great location and atmosphere, I was very impressed :)

Disliked: This wasn't a big issue to me but in my room there weren't enough lockers for 6 people but as I said it was fine as I had my own locks for my bag.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, environment "more formal" than what you would expect from a hostel, helpful and friendly staff, good facilities.

Disliked: It's quite expensive, you have to pay extra for everything! breakfast is not included, WIFI is very expensive (1£ for 20 min if you don't have your own computer and 1£ per hour if you do), they charge by the hour for lockers and if you have a late flight there is no way you can leave your luggage there because you will have to pay too much! So I had to carry my luggage for a whole day which was pretty bad because it was difficult to walk around since they don't allow them in museums etc.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

hasan yavuz unsal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 hasan yavuz would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel

Disliked: mitinglere

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Kiervin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 January 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very professional

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and professional.

Disliked: The fact that you need to pay for wifi, and that there is only lockers that you have to pay for, no luggage room. The little light at my bed didn't work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Said

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jason Royal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012

Liked: This hostel was very clean with a great location and spacious rooms.

Disliked: They nickel and dime you for breakfast. Compared to other hostels in the area, you can get much more value for your money if you are willing to walk a few more minutes.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, and a good price.

Disliked: No wi-fi included. Not a huge deal, but free wi-fi is always nice.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property was very clean and nice and facilities were good. It was nice that beds had own reading lights and little shelfs also.

Disliked: Hostel wasn´t in any guidebooks of Edinburgh, so it was little tricky to find. Fortunately the instructions from the hostel were good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was so close to everything, very well priced and good facilities. I ended up getting much more value than I expected, I booked an 8 bed dorm and ended up in a 3 bed do with a bottom double bunk. I was very impressed, the rooms were nice and clean and so much better than almost every hostel I've stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic self catering facilities. Very helpful staff. Walking distance to city.

Disliked: Nothing,it was great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central Location and Value for Money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities, spacious and very clean. A very well kept hostel.

Disliked: Location was a bit far from the city centre and restaurants.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great for walking into the city and the bus stop is just across the road.

Disliked: The left luggage system could be more secure. Residents are given the key and just levae and collect luggage as they wish and is not supervised or regulated.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was nice and quiet which was important as we were running the Edinburgh Marathon.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice room, good kitchen facilities. Fairly central location

Disliked: Our room overlooked the main road, and so was very noisy at night (it was really hot so had to leave the window open)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good. Also, we lost one of the access cards and the staff were nice enough to replace it for free.

Disliked: Had to pay for internet, the heater in the room was too small and it got a bit cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Stringer

Alone

Work / volunteering

03 March 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: security and cleanliness

Disliked: Very minor: sink in room didn't remove water very quickly