We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Hostel | 9 Haddington Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH7 4AL

89.9% Overall Rating

360 out of 380 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/07/2015)

"It is located in the centre of the city. Very easy to get to wherever you want. It has a nice clientele and feels very family-friendly."

Read all Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.04
  • Breakfast USD 7.54
  • Towel USD 3.04

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

The cancellation fee if cancelling less than 72 hours prior to arrival or in the case of a no show the fee is the full cost of the booking. ***Please note our Group booking policy: • When booking for more than 9 persons, different policies and additional supplements will apply • Please note that no stag or hen parties are permitted at any youth hostel. • Full payment will be required within 8 weeks of arrival as otherwise the booking will automatically be cancelled • Full SYHA Hostelling Scotland Terms and Conditions will apply and be issued to all group bookings.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Regent House Hotel
40.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.1% 42 reviews
Large luxury 4 bedroom central apartment
30.45 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Edinburgh House Hotel
27.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.0% 87 reviews
Panmure Court
83.73 USD

Apartment 82.9% 6 reviews
The Baxter
33.49 USD

Hostel 97.1% 6 reviews
Haggis Hostels
36.54 USD

Hostel 89.5% 56 reviews
Princes Street East Backpackers
15.22 USD

Hostel 76.3% 289 reviews
Ballantrae Hotel
52.90 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.9%

Overall Rating

360 out of 380 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 253 of 282 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, reasonably-priced restaurant inside

Disliked: A little bit farther from the Royal Mile, staff wasn't particularly friendly

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It suited our needs and the staff were great and very helpful

Disliked: N/a

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

elly clemenkowff

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2015 elly would recommend this property

Liked: I loved we have a toilet/shower for ourselves. And we had a kitchen to use.

Disliked: It was an end walking out of the old city. But that has nothin to do with your comments....

91.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

23 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, spacious room.

Disliked: Slightly noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located in the centre of the city. Very easy to get to wherever you want. It has a nice clientele and feels very family-friendly.

Disliked: It was very noisy with all the traffic running past our window! I woke up all the time and slept rather poorly. Ear-plugs recommended. Also I would not recommend the breakfast, as it was very meagre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john scott

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2015 john would recommend this property

Liked: location ,price and ease of booking

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dian Yue Josef Zhu

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 June 2015 Dian Yue Josef would recommend this property

Liked: good management

Disliked: Dian Yue Josef left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inês Costa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2015 Inês would recommend this property

Liked: Great clean simple rooms With private toillets. Friendly staff. Clean kitchen!!! All comum spaces were clean. Truthly recommended.

Disliked: No free wi-fi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, we had a cooked breakfast which was really nice

Disliked: lockers are expensive to rent,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Smith

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, just what I needed and paid for. The cooked breakfast was amazing...

Disliked: The only complaint I have about the room is that there's no TV in the room...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

andrew small

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

10 March 2015 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,helpfull staff,airey rooms,clean, good facilities, secure, good breakfast,good atmosphere(even for the oldies group I was with)

Disliked: nothing, it is a good quality hostel in a good location, great for a 1/2 night stay..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

10 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness of the hostel is fantastic from the bedroom to the kitchen. it is not too far from the few attractions in Edinburgh too, about 12 mins walk to Carlton Hill and another 5 mins to the city centre. they have late check out service too.

Disliked: everything was fine. except the fact that the luggage storage facilities is not very considerate as it is based on an hourly rate, not free.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 December 2014

Liked: .

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic accommodation but better than I expected a hostel to be

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money.

Disliked: No kettle in the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Fred McGrath

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable accommodation in a great location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: A bit warm in the room but not unbearable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel and was perfect for what we were looking for. Staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Only thing we didn't like was that the hostel was exceptionally hot!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff

Disliked: nothing was free... no internet, no baggage area... most hostels offer that for free, this hostel charged for everything!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 April 2014

Liked: The food was nice

Disliked: We were not asked to pay the remaining cost on arrival on the first night. We went out for the day and came back, our key cards were disabled. The manager was quite rude about the fact that we had not paid when it was in fact the staff who did not request payment on arrival. The staff were not very professional.This was my first time at a hostel and will probably be my last.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerie Heppel

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our checking in was just great, later we needed help with information re travel around Edinburgh, the staff were just so helpful. For value the accomodation was very good, would have no hesitation returning. Another point, we are older yet surrounded by younger people who made no difference to us.

Disliked: We cound not say that there was anyhing that we dislked about the property.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sara Marlow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great!

Disliked: The wifi was charged for and as the price of accommodation was fairly expensive it should have been included we thought!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ya ching Chen

Alone

City break

08 June 2013 ya ching would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very nice and kindly.

Disliked: ya ching left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic, very clean, great location and atmosphere, I was very impressed :)

Disliked: This wasn't a big issue to me but in my room there weren't enough lockers for 6 people but as I said it was fine as I had my own locks for my bag.