We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Hostel | 9 Haddington Place, Edinburgh, Scotland EH7 4AL

86.6% Overall Rating

350 out of 370 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/06/2015)

Inês Costa thinks…

"Great clean simple rooms With private toillets. Friendly staff. Clean kitchen!!! All comum spaces were clean. Truthly recommended."

Read all Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 3.05
  • Breakfast USD 6.86
  • Towel USD 3.05

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

The cancellation fee if cancelling less than 72 hours prior to arrival or in the case of a no show the fee is the full cost of the booking.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

Regent House Hotel
37.73 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 41 reviews
Large luxury 4 bedroom central apartment
30.49 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Edinburgh House Hotel
27.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.9% 85 reviews
Panmure Court
83.84 USD

Apartment 82.3% 5 reviews
The Baxter
33.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Haggis Hostels
27.44 USD

Hostel 89.5% 56 reviews
Princes Street East Backpackers
16.77 USD

Hostel 81.6% 283 reviews
Ballantrae Hotel
66.69 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.4% 12 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.6%

Overall Rating

350 out of 370 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 247 of 273 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dian Yue Josef Zhu

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 June 2015 Dian Yue Josef would recommend this property

Liked: good management

Disliked: Dian Yue Josef left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inês Costa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2015 Inês would recommend this property

Liked: Great clean simple rooms With private toillets. Friendly staff. Clean kitchen!!! All comum spaces were clean. Truthly recommended.

Disliked: No free wi-fi.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

24 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, we had a cooked breakfast which was really nice

Disliked: lockers are expensive to rent,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Smith

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2015 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean, just what I needed and paid for. The cooked breakfast was amazing...

Disliked: The only complaint I have about the room is that there's no TV in the room...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

andrew small

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

10 March 2015 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,helpfull staff,airey rooms,clean, good facilities, secure, good breakfast,good atmosphere(even for the oldies group I was with)

Disliked: nothing, it is a good quality hostel in a good location, great for a 1/2 night stay..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

10 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cleanliness of the hostel is fantastic from the bedroom to the kitchen. it is not too far from the few attractions in Edinburgh too, about 12 mins walk to Carlton Hill and another 5 mins to the city centre. they have late check out service too.

Disliked: everything was fine. except the fact that the luggage storage facilities is not very considerate as it is based on an hourly rate, not free.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

29 December 2014

Liked: .

Disliked: .

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: n/a

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic accommodation but better than I expected a hostel to be

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Events / festivals

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money.

Disliked: No kettle in the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Fred McGrath

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Fred would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable accommodation in a great location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: A bit warm in the room but not unbearable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel and was perfect for what we were looking for. Staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Only thing we didn't like was that the hostel was exceptionally hot!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff

Disliked: nothing was free... no internet, no baggage area... most hostels offer that for free, this hostel charged for everything!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

16 April 2014

Liked: The food was nice

Disliked: We were not asked to pay the remaining cost on arrival on the first night. We went out for the day and came back, our key cards were disabled. The manager was quite rude about the fact that we had not paid when it was in fact the staff who did not request payment on arrival. The staff were not very professional.This was my first time at a hostel and will probably be my last.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Valerie Heppel

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

14 November 2013 Valerie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our checking in was just great, later we needed help with information re travel around Edinburgh, the staff were just so helpful. For value the accomodation was very good, would have no hesitation returning. Another point, we are older yet surrounded by younger people who made no difference to us.

Disliked: We cound not say that there was anyhing that we dislked about the property.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sara Marlow

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great!

Disliked: The wifi was charged for and as the price of accommodation was fairly expensive it should have been included we thought!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ya ching Chen

Alone

City break

08 June 2013 ya ching would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are very nice and kindly.

Disliked: ya ching left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was fantastic, very clean, great location and atmosphere, I was very impressed :)

Disliked: This wasn't a big issue to me but in my room there weren't enough lockers for 6 people but as I said it was fine as I had my own locks for my bag.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice building, environment "more formal" than what you would expect from a hostel, helpful and friendly staff, good facilities.

Disliked: It's quite expensive, you have to pay extra for everything! breakfast is not included, WIFI is very expensive (1£ for 20 min if you don't have your own computer and 1£ per hour if you do), they charge by the hour for lockers and if you have a late flight there is no way you can leave your luggage there because you will have to pay too much! So I had to carry my luggage for a whole day which was pretty bad because it was difficult to walk around since they don't allow them in museums etc.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

hasan yavuz unsal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2013 hasan yavuz would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel

Disliked: mitinglere

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather Kiervin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

04 January 2013 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, very professional

Disliked: Heather left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and professional.

Disliked: The fact that you need to pay for wifi, and that there is only lockers that you have to pay for, no luggage room. The little light at my bed didn't work.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Said

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, location

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jason Royal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2012

Liked: This hostel was very clean with a great location and spacious rooms.

Disliked: They nickel and dime you for breakfast. Compared to other hostels in the area, you can get much more value for your money if you are willing to walk a few more minutes.