HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel Edinburgh Hostel

9 Haddington Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 93%

Staff 88%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.98USD
  • Luggage Room 2.82USD
  • Towel 2.82USD

Important Information

The cancellation fee if cancelling less than 72 hours prior to arrival or in the case of a no show the fee is the full cost of the booking.


***Please note our Group booking policy:

• When booking for more than 9 persons, different policies and additional supplements will apply
• Please note that no stag or hen parties are permitted at any youth hostel.
• Full payment will be required within 8 weeks of arrival as otherwise the booking will automatically be cancelled
• Full SYHA Hostelling Scotland Terms and Conditions will apply and be issued to all group bookings.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 93%

Staff 88%

Value 89%

Showing 31-29 of 29 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: This hostel was fantastic, very clean, great location and atmosphere, I was very impressed :)

Disliked: This wasn't a big issue to me but in my room there weren't enough lockers for 6 people but as I said it was fine as I had my own locks for my bag.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice building, environment "more formal" than what you would expect from a hostel, helpful and friendly staff, good facilities.

Disliked: It's quite expensive, you have to pay extra for everything! breakfast is not included, WIFI is very expensive (1£ for 20 min if you don't have your own computer and 1£ per hour if you do), they charge by the hour for lockers and if you have a late flight there is no way you can leave your luggage there because you will have to pay too much! So I had to carry my luggage for a whole day which was pretty bad because it was difficult to walk around since they don't allow them in museums etc.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good hostel

Disliked: mitinglere

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Very clean, very professional

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It is very clean and professional.

Disliked: The fact that you need to pay for wifi, and that there is only lockers that you have to pay for, no luggage room. The little light at my bed didn't work.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cleanliness, location

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hostel was very clean with a great location and spacious rooms.

Disliked: They nickel and dime you for breakfast. Compared to other hostels in the area, you can get much more value for your money if you are willing to walk a few more minutes.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was clean, and a good price.

Disliked: No wi-fi included. Not a huge deal, but free wi-fi is always nice.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Property was very clean and nice and facilities were good. It was nice that beds had own reading lights and little shelfs also.

Disliked: Hostel wasn´t in any guidebooks of Edinburgh, so it was little tricky to find. Fortunately the instructions from the hostel were good.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was so close to everything, very well priced and good facilities. I ended up getting much more value than I expected, I booked an 8 bed dorm and ended up in a 3 bed do with a bottom double bunk. I was very impressed, the rooms were nice and clean and so much better than almost every hostel I've stayed in.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability