HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel Edinburgh Hostel

9 Haddington Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 93%

Staff 88%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.51USD
  • Luggage Room 2.63USD
  • Towel 2.63USD

Important Information

The cancellation fee if cancelling less than 72 hours prior to arrival or in the case of a no show the fee is the full cost of the booking.


***Please note our Group booking policy:

• When booking for more than 9 persons, different policies and additional supplements will apply
• Please note that no stag or hen parties are permitted at any youth hostel.
• Full payment will be required within 8 weeks of arrival as otherwise the booking will automatically be cancelled
• Full SYHA Hostelling Scotland Terms and Conditions will apply and be issued to all group bookings.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 87%

Location 91%

Safety 93%

Staff 88%

Value 89%

Showing 21-28 of 28 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Basic accommodation but better than I expected a hostel to be

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable accommodation in a great location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: A bit warm in the room but not unbearable.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Value for money.

Disliked: No kettle in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Excellent hostel and was perfect for what we were looking for. Staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Only thing we didn't like was that the hostel was exceptionally hot!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very helpful staff

Disliked: nothing was free... no internet, no baggage area... most hostels offer that for free, this hostel charged for everything!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The food was nice

Disliked: We were not asked to pay the remaining cost on arrival on the first night. We went out for the day and came back, our key cards were disabled. The manager was quite rude about the fact that we had not paid when it was in fact the staff who did not request payment on arrival. The staff were not very professional.This was my first time at a hostel and will probably be my last.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Good location, clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Our checking in was just great, later we needed help with information re travel around Edinburgh, the staff were just so helpful. For value the accomodation was very good, would have no hesitation returning.Another point, we are older yet surrounded by younger people who made no difference to us.

Disliked: We cound not say that there was anyhing that we dislked about the property.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was great!

Disliked: The wifi was charged for and as the price of accommodation was fairly expensive it should have been included we thought!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The staffs are very nice and kindly.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability