HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel Edinburgh Hostel

9 Haddington Place, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 93%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Housekeeping
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Important Information

SYHA is a charity aiming to inspire all, especially young people, to broaden their horizons, gain knowledge and independence through new experiences of adventure and discovery. In support of this aim, all bookings will include a temporary membership fee per person per night which is displayed as an inclusive rate. (Full, existing members of SYHA and HI using this booking engine are not entitled to a membership refund).

Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel reception is open 24 hours, with check-in from 15.00 and checkout by 10.00. You’re welcome to arrive at any time, though rooms are accessible only after 15.00.

Continental or Scottish breakfast is available from 7.30-10.00 and our licensed Haddington Place Cafe is open from 7.30-23.00, serving snacks and meals from 10.00-21.00.

From the age of 5 to 15 years, young people must be accompanied by a parent or guardian and may be accommodated in a single-gendered shared room with the parent or guardian and other guests, at the discretion and responsibility of the parent or guardian. The young person/people, the parent/guardian and the other occupants of the room must be of the same gender.

SYHA advise that additional notice be given to the destination youth hostel when travelling with children, to ensure that suitable accommodation is available. Contact details can be found on your booking confirmation.

Parties with young children (under 5 years) will only be accommodated in designated family rooms, where available. There is no capacity for extra beds or cots in a shared dormitory or private accommodation.

When booking for more than 9 people:
• Full prepayment is required within 8 weeks of arrival as otherwise the booking will automatically be cancelled
• The following cancellation charges will apply to the entire booking:
57 days or more - 20% of total cost
56 to 29 days - 55% of total cost
28 to day of arrival - 100% of total cost

No stag or hen parties are permitted at any youth hostel.

SYHA does not accept American Express cards as payment or guarantee.

If you’re looking to explore Scotland you can book sightseeing tours to suit your budget on-site with our partner Timberbush. We can also book youth hostels for your onward journey at reception.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 86%

Location 90%

Safety 93%

Staff 87%

Value 89%

Showing 21-30 of 57 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: n/a

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Basic accommodation but better than I expected a hostel to be

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable accommodation in a great location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: A bit warm in the room but not unbearable.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Value for money.

Disliked: No kettle in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Excellent hostel and was perfect for what we were looking for. Staff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Only thing we didn't like was that the hostel was exceptionally hot!

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: very helpful staff

Disliked: nothing was free... no internet, no baggage area... most hostels offer that for free, this hostel charged for everything!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: The food was nice

Disliked: We were not asked to pay the remaining cost on arrival on the first night. We went out for the day and came back, our key cards were disabled. The manager was quite rude about the fact that we had not paid when it was in fact the staff who did not request payment on arrival. The staff were not very professional.This was my first time at a hostel and will probably be my last.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Good location, clean.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Our checking in was just great, later we needed help with information re travel around Edinburgh, the staff were just so helpful. For value the accomodation was very good, would have no hesitation returning.Another point, we are older yet surrounded by younger people who made no difference to us.

Disliked: We cound not say that there was anyhing that we dislked about the property.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was great!

Disliked: The wifi was charged for and as the price of accommodation was fairly expensive it should have been included we thought!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability