HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Kick Ass Hostels Edinburgh Hostel

2 West Port, Grassmarket, Edinburgh, Scotland

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 85%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 1.49USD
  • Towel 1.49USD

Important Information

Please note that we do not permit stag or hen parties.

Please note that this hostel has a strict age limit of 18 and over. Any customers arriving who are under this age will unfortunately not be allowed to stay because of Scotland’s strict licensing regulations and will be charged for the first night accommodation.

We will contact you at the time of booking for the CVV code in order to verify the card.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 92%

Facilities 90%

Location 94%

Safety 94%

Staff 85%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 109 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Location, modern rooms, great views!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: For £7.5 a night and a great facilities, would rate it 10/10. Affordable and modern. Really hope they make a hostel chain franchise another city.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Liked: This place is beautiful! It is clean, it is spacious, the bed is good. No complaint! Value for money TOTALLY. Except for one tiny thing.

Disliked: The shower's temp is fixed, and it is too hot. Way too hot.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The place is nice and beautiful

Disliked: This place is far from bus stop and the staff is not so friendly

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good size bed.Room and kitchen,bathroom are clean.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The building is awesome and the location even better.

Disliked: Some staffs at the reception were not so helpful giving us information not even about the hostel. We read the hostel could offer us a free walking tour, so we decided to enjoy it on Sunday, as soon as we arrived at the town. When we asked about it to the girl at the reception she just said the hostel were not offering this, so we paid for a tour. On Monday, we found out that there was no tours on Sunday, but if we had waited until the next day we could do it for free.Also, the lift's door is very dangerous, it closes on you because there is no sensor to detect a person.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable beds, spacious rooms

Disliked: Expensive foodNo free padlocks

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your great comments on our Rooms and beds. We try to keep our prices as low as possible as we are aware of our customers tight budget. We sell breakfast from £2 and evening meals from £4.50 . Our pints of Fosters is only £1.95. We are sorry if you found our prices expensive. We recommend guests bring a padlock but we do sell high quality padlocks for £4 just in case they forget. We hope you will visit us again soon. KA Crew :)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All, is awesome

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Right under the castle! The property is well fitted for a modern backpacker. Clean, good sized rooms, a cafe and bar.

Disliked: I'd stayed here before the renovation and the new bar upstairs is far harder to socialise in - low lights and club music don't make it an easy place for a solo traveller to just chat and meet new people.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fantastic place to stay - such friendly staff and a great atmosphere. Will definitely be back!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability