We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kick Ass Hostels

Hostel | 2 West Port, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2JA

88.0% Overall Rating

71 out of 74 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/11/2014)

"Very close to city centre, and from window we had view for the Edinburgh Castle :)"

Read all Kick Ass Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we do not permit stag or hen parties. Please note that this hostel has a strict age limit of 18 and over. Any customers arriving who are under this age will unfortunately not be allowed to stay because of Scotland’s strict licensing regulations and will be charged for the first night accommodation. We will contact you at the time of booking for the CVV code in order to verify the card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

City Centre Hostel Apartments
24.34 USD

Hostel 70.6% 164 reviews
Portsburgh Square
40.57 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
69.78 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
Castle Rock Hostel
17.85 USD

Hostel 90.2% 1914 reviews
Unite-1 Portsburgh Court
68.97 USD

Apartment 87.2% 50 reviews
Budget backpackers
12.17 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1811 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
64.10 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Code Hostel
19.47 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.0%

Overall Rating

71 out of 74 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kick Ass Hostels'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 63 of 73 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to city centre, and from window we had view for the Edinburgh Castle :)

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

timothy reese

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2014 timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Great pub crawl! Hot chicks

Disliked: Our free tour guide was new and had no idea what he was talking about. LOL, I never actually slept in the hostel a single night, but it was great during the day

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff and awesome atmosphere

Disliked: Hot water in the showers were notoriously variable; the hostel needs a better hot water system

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Theresa Körner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Theresa would recommend this property

Liked: Big, clean rooms, great location.

Disliked: Kitchen was hidden (no sign showing were it is)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mariano Canciani

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

14 September 2014 Mariano would recommend this property

Liked: Phenomenal hostel, likely the best I've stayed in, has done everything right.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

14 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness and neatness to very good level. All necessary facilities available - kitchen with availability of fridge, freezer, pantry items storage and cooking facilities. Extra storage facilities in a separate room. A cupboard per person in each bedroom that can be locked and can be used to store valuables.

Disliked: Shower rooms were a bit tiny and did not allow any temperature control.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

steven riecken

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 steven would recommend this property

Liked: Phenomenal hostel, likely the best I've stayed in, has done everything right.

Disliked: Hard to find stuff... No sharp knife in the kitchen and the door closes a little loudly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felipe Tobal de Matos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities, very clean, and a good atmosphere.

Disliked: It was located on a loud, busy street. But that's to be expected at a hostel in the center of town.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Athena Oldfather

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 September 2014 Athena would recommend this property

Liked: Really fun! Great activities and staff.

Disliked: Athena left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: l

Disliked: l

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter dooley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

26 August 2014 peter would recommend this property

Liked: good wholesome and a proud hostel full of splendour and hard to find pleasure. it moored my senses and patalabha the pootka. i nuive sa badasa a gren titiata.

Disliked: well it was a hostel and a hostel and a hotel in the koona buraita biq and all that pootna namhata

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rowan Ellis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Rowan would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, clean. Excellent location.

Disliked: Showers were hit and miss. Water pressure sucked.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great rooms. Comfortable beds, large, spacious and clean room. Modern.Great location. Good bar/cafe upstairs with snooker, table tennis, piano, and little booths.

Disliked: On the website it said you could rent locks for £1 but when we got there were none, and the option for renting seemed to have changed to purchasing locks for £4. I didn't like the fact that loos and showers are unisex. Loos could have been cleaner but generally OK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arnold Reed Durant

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Arnold Reed would recommend this property

Liked: View and locaton, clean and comfortable.

Disliked: No free breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the location is amazing. You can have breakfast in the hostel and it fairly cheap .

Disliked: I have nothing to complain about

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super new, extremely clean, contemporary style, has its own bar with good selection of food, fair priced beer, lots of activities, large tv, games, pool table........... list goes on

Disliked: nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are comfy, the front desk staff is very helpful. The upstairs bar is convienent for meeting ppl in the hostel. They do trivia night which is fun.

Disliked: The shower in our room didn't get warm. No proper common room except the bar. We stayed here at 2 different times, and they literally jacked the price by double by our second stay. $50 for a dorm bed is a bit excessive and out of most backpackers price range.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip Boyack

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Everything except my dislikes was really good.

Disliked: Showers were too hot with no temperature control. Wifi had a homemade authentication system on it that would take a minute or two to log in, then disconnect you after ten seconds or so and you'd have to log in again.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014

Liked: There were no rats/serial killers/flesh eating monsters

Disliked: Lying to us about rooms and not updating us of changes in bookings. My friend had her tag designating her bed removed whilst we were out and thrown to the side. When we returned someone else was in her bed and staff did nothing but offer a half hearted apology and told us to take other bed. Other bed appeared recently made but duvet smelled of sweat. Stuffy rooms. Showers have no little shelves so nowhere to put shower stuff

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Johnson

Alone

Business / conference

02 August 2014 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: lovely old building tastefully renovated with attention to travellers needs. clean, comfortable beds, good showers, big busy bar open til 12 a.m, smoking area (yaaay!), fun atmosphere, no silly rules, excellent location...i've been to 4 hostels in Edinburgh and this is my favourite.

Disliked: errrrrrm...struggling here...towels cost £1!!! no padlocks for lockers so bring your own or you will have to buy one or risk it for a biscuit...errrrm.... could do with a nice comfy lounge area for relaxing in. i was only there 1 night but didn't find one...otherwise the bar is where it's at for chilling out

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fabio Capotosti

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2014 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: I like that the hostel is new, clean, beautiful, with friendly multilingual staff

Disliked: I think they must pick more seats, more fridges and more cooking desk in the kitchen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: early book in time good comfortable bunk, bunk reservation system and storage lift luggage lockers free access 24/7

Disliked: my room in noisy position on Grassmarket Door locks impossible to keep quiet mixed toilets and far away from room initial confusion over which room I was in

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The concept is unique, can easily get food from the opposite food street but it's kinda far from railway station.

Disliked: Shared bathroom. I never thought of shared bathroom could be shared by both men n women. Please be very calm if you see an opposite sex in the toilet. But, no worries, their separation of bathrooms and toilets are very good, so no peeping is allowed. =)