HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kick Ass Hostels

Hostel | 2 West Port, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2JA

95.2% Overall Rating

44 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2014)

"Fun atmosphere, good facilities and in a great location to explore Edinburgh from."

Read all Kick Ass Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.71
  • Towel USD 1.71

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we do not permit stag or hen parties. Please note that this hostel has a strict age limit of 18 and over. Any customers arriving who are under this age will unfortunately not be allowed to stay because of Scotland’s strict licensing regulations and will be charged for the first night accommodation. We will contact you at the time of booking for the CVV code in order to verify the card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

City Centre Hostel Apartments
25.62 USD

Hostel 70.6% 164 reviews
Portsburgh Square
42.70 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
The Grassmarket Hotel
102.48 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.5% 12 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
73.44 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
Castle Rock Hostel
25.62 USD

Hostel 92.2% 1873 reviews
Unite-1 Portsburgh Court
72.59 USD

Apartment 87.1% 49 reviews
Budget backpackers
17.08 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1786 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
84.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.2%

Overall Rating

44 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kick Ass Hostels'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
96.0%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 44 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere, good facilities and in a great location to explore Edinburgh from.

Disliked: The showers did not allow for continous flow of water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Meredith

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 July 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: I can't get over how fantastic this hostel was, plus it's so reasonable. It's in an amazing location right next to the grass market! It exceeded all my expectations.

Disliked: I can't actually think of anything I disliked if I'm honest

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Regina Cseh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Regina would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, modern, safe, kind and very helpful staff, plus excellent location. Free walking tour, pub crawl and several other occasions to meet new people from all over the globe.

Disliked: It was no problem for me at all but room 106 might as well considered to be noisy given that the popular and always crowded 'Smoking area' terrace is was right next to it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Minerva Llor Pacheco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Minerva would recommend this property

Liked: In front of a beautiful and characteristically scotish square you can found the energetic and still friendly slogan of the Kick Ass Hostel, whose door is once opened makes you feel immediately at home again -maybe better!. The staff is ridiculously warm and welcoming and will make you enjoy your stay with jokes and helpful information -even free maps!- all at once. Also, if you don't want to waste your night you can always get a drink at its own bar at the top floor, then get a comfortable shower and go to sleep as much as you wish in a soft bed. It's incredible because even the showers are beautiful and every door has its numbers and colours in a funny way. Extremely recommend!

Disliked: Minerva left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vicki Marais

Alone

Family Holiday

30 June 2014 Vicki would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, looks out onto Edinburgh castle. Great food in their bar

Disliked: Stairways and hallways not properly policed at night resulting in a very disturbed sleep due to noisy chats. But that's hostels for you :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was absolutely fantastic! Great vibes, super location, very friendly staff, great bar with amazing prices on food and drink. Bedrooms and bathrooms were great size and cleaned regularly. Can't fault this place at all!

Disliked: Can't think of anything to even say here!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and awesome staff.

Disliked: The shower in our room didn't work which was a slight inconvenience.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, good location.

Disliked: This sounds stupid, but I'd just finished a reeeaaaally long race and my legs were killing me. The only bad thing about my entire stay was lugging my bag upstairs while so tired. Not even their faults, it was mine.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, activities for the guests

Disliked: Works still in progress

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bo Kyung Jun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 Bo Kyung would recommend this property

Liked: close to the castle, nice staffs

Disliked: Bo Kyung left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean friendly and fun

Disliked: Only my noisy roomates

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Atilano

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2014 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: las habitaciones son espaciosas, cada cama tiene donde cargar tus electrónicos, el wifi es bueno en todas las habitaciones, baños espaciosos, tienen un área de regadera y otra donde dejar tus cosas, todo es limpio, el bar es espacioso y muy cool. La ubicación es buena, todo esta cerca y tiene una vista hacia el castillo muy bonita.

Disliked: Eva left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, clean rooms, comfortable beds

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Hastenrath

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2014 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is brand new, super clean and in a great location. The mattresses were super comfortable, every bed had two plugs, plus a USB plug. The lockers are big. We had breakfast in the bar, which was cheap and lots of food and very yummy. Wifi is free and works in the rooms. The showers are great, lots of space in front of them and your enough to hooks to hang your things, so they do not get wet. They are still in the process of building a cafe downstairs. I would definitely recommend this hostel and if I go back to Edinburgh I will stay there. Staff were funny and helpful as well. You can leave your luggage in a luggage room and secure it in lockers that cost a pound if you like. I thought that was amazing. I definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Christina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have been in many hostels but this one is the best one I ever have been! All the staff is extremely friendly and helpful; extremely clean and organised; it's placed in an amazing location; and the rooms have space and light.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Magdalena Fryc

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Magdalena would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very clean which was a big advantage. Many entertainment options organised for guests so it's easy to meet new people even when you travel alone. Great location. Fantastic free guided tours.

Disliked: Kitchen area was quite small (only two tables) so sometimes it wouldn't be possible to cook a meal and seat with your friends.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff, great place to meet new people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luise Michael

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Luise would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Walking distance to our tour and Edinburgh castle. The staff was so friendly, and the facilities were so clean! The room was large and I had frontage view of the Edinburgh castle. If you're driving and need overnight parking, there's a secured site around the corner. Love d the experience, and highly recommend it!!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Megan Woolf

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The pub crawls were great for meeting people. The location was so nice, as were the facilities- I think the bed I had there is more comfortable than my bed at home!

Disliked: The kitchen was not open 24 hours.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sathish Suresh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2014 Sathish would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: had to walk uphill from the central train station

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robert Giblett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2014 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern and clean. Good bar and cafe. Good showers

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Rideout

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: I had a short stay here which I find sad because it was fantastic. I got in at 2am and they were SOOO friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone. It was clean, friendly, and in a superb location.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel !! Amazing staff. Charming guy at the reception! Really clean, great pub crawls and tours and hot showers!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.