HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Kick Ass Hostels

Hostel | 2 West Port, Edinburgh, Scotland EH1 2JA

88.9% Overall Rating

60 out of 62 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/08/2014)

peter dooley thinks…

"good wholesome and a proud hostel full of splendour and hard to find pleasure. it moored my senses and patalabha the pootka. i nuive sa badasa a gren titiata."

Read all Kick Ass Hostels reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.66
  • Towel USD 1.66

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that we do not permit stag or hen parties. Please note that this hostel has a strict age limit of 18 and over. Any customers arriving who are under this age will unfortunately not be allowed to stay because of Scotland’s strict licensing regulations and will be charged for the first night accommodation. We will contact you at the time of booking for the CVV code in order to verify the card.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Edinburgh?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Edinburgh

City Centre Hostel Apartments
24.88 USD

Hostel 70.6% 164 reviews
Portsburgh Square
41.46 USD

Apartment 86.7% 3 reviews
The Grassmarket Hotel
71.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.5% 12 reviews
Unite 4 - Chalmers Street
71.31 USD

Apartment 79.8% 13 reviews
Castle Rock Hostel
21.56 USD

Hostel 93.5% 1903 reviews
Unite-1 Portsburgh Court
48.09 USD

Apartment 87.2% 50 reviews
Budget backpackers
16.58 USD

Hostel 88.9% 1800 reviews
Royal Overseas League Hotel
53.07 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

60 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Kick Ass Hostels'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
91.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 53 of 61 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

26 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: l

Disliked: l

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter dooley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

26 August 2014 peter would recommend this property

Liked: good wholesome and a proud hostel full of splendour and hard to find pleasure. it moored my senses and patalabha the pootka. i nuive sa badasa a gren titiata.

Disliked: well it was a hostel and a hostel and a hotel in the koona buraita biq and all that pootna namhata

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rowan Ellis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2014 Rowan would recommend this property

Liked: Modern, clean. Excellent location.

Disliked: Showers were hit and miss. Water pressure sucked.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great rooms. Comfortable beds, large, spacious and clean room. Modern.Great location. Good bar/cafe upstairs with snooker, table tennis, piano, and little booths.

Disliked: On the website it said you could rent locks for £1 but when we got there were none, and the option for renting seemed to have changed to purchasing locks for £4. I didn't like the fact that loos and showers are unisex. Loos could have been cleaner but generally OK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arnold Reed Durant

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014 Arnold Reed would recommend this property

Liked: View and locaton, clean and comfortable.

Disliked: No free breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bedrooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the location is amazing. You can have breakfast in the hostel and it fairly cheap .

Disliked: I have nothing to complain about

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super new, extremely clean, contemporary style, has its own bar with good selection of food, fair priced beer, lots of activities, large tv, games, pool table........... list goes on

Disliked: nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds are comfy, the front desk staff is very helpful. The upstairs bar is convienent for meeting ppl in the hostel. They do trivia night which is fun.

Disliked: The shower in our room didn't get warm. No proper common room except the bar. We stayed here at 2 different times, and they literally jacked the price by double by our second stay. $50 for a dorm bed is a bit excessive and out of most backpackers price range.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip Boyack

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Everything except my dislikes was really good.

Disliked: Showers were too hot with no temperature control. Wifi had a homemade authentication system on it that would take a minute or two to log in, then disconnect you after ten seconds or so and you'd have to log in again.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014

Liked: There were no rats/serial killers/flesh eating monsters

Disliked: Lying to us about rooms and not updating us of changes in bookings. My friend had her tag designating her bed removed whilst we were out and thrown to the side. When we returned someone else was in her bed and staff did nothing but offer a half hearted apology and told us to take other bed. Other bed appeared recently made but duvet smelled of sweat. Stuffy rooms. Showers have no little shelves so nowhere to put shower stuff

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Johnson

Alone

Business / conference

02 August 2014 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: lovely old building tastefully renovated with attention to travellers needs. clean, comfortable beds, good showers, big busy bar open til 12 a.m, smoking area (yaaay!), fun atmosphere, no silly rules, excellent location...i've been to 4 hostels in Edinburgh and this is my favourite.

Disliked: errrrrrm...struggling here...towels cost £1!!! no padlocks for lockers so bring your own or you will have to buy one or risk it for a biscuit...errrrm.... could do with a nice comfy lounge area for relaxing in. i was only there 1 night but didn't find one...otherwise the bar is where it's at for chilling out

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Fabio Capotosti

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 July 2014 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: I like that the hostel is new, clean, beautiful, with friendly multilingual staff

Disliked: I think they must pick more seats, more fridges and more cooking desk in the kitchen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: early book in time good comfortable bunk, bunk reservation system and storage lift luggage lockers free access 24/7

Disliked: my room in noisy position on Grassmarket Door locks impossible to keep quiet mixed toilets and far away from room initial confusion over which room I was in

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The concept is unique, can easily get food from the opposite food street but it's kinda far from railway station.

Disliked: Shared bathroom. I never thought of shared bathroom could be shared by both men n women. Please be very calm if you see an opposite sex in the toilet. But, no worries, their separation of bathrooms and toilets are very good, so no peeping is allowed. =)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun atmosphere, good facilities and in a great location to explore Edinburgh from.

Disliked: The showers did not allow for continous flow of water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Meredith

With friends / other travellers

City break

14 July 2014 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: I can't get over how fantastic this hostel was, plus it's so reasonable. It's in an amazing location right next to the grass market! It exceeded all my expectations.

Disliked: I can't actually think of anything I disliked if I'm honest

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Regina Cseh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2014 Regina would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, modern, safe, kind and very helpful staff, plus excellent location. Free walking tour, pub crawl and several other occasions to meet new people from all over the globe.

Disliked: It was no problem for me at all but room 106 might as well considered to be noisy given that the popular and always crowded 'Smoking area' terrace is was right next to it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Minerva Llor Pacheco

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Minerva would recommend this property

Liked: In front of a beautiful and characteristically scotish square you can found the energetic and still friendly slogan of the Kick Ass Hostel, whose door is once opened makes you feel immediately at home again -maybe better!. The staff is ridiculously warm and welcoming and will make you enjoy your stay with jokes and helpful information -even free maps!- all at once. Also, if you don't want to waste your night you can always get a drink at its own bar at the top floor, then get a comfortable shower and go to sleep as much as you wish in a soft bed. It's incredible because even the showers are beautiful and every door has its numbers and colours in a funny way. Extremely recommend!

Disliked: Minerva left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vicki Marais

Alone

Family Holiday

30 June 2014 Vicki would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff, looks out onto Edinburgh castle. Great food in their bar

Disliked: Stairways and hallways not properly policed at night resulting in a very disturbed sleep due to noisy chats. But that's hostels for you :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was absolutely fantastic! Great vibes, super location, very friendly staff, great bar with amazing prices on food and drink. Bedrooms and bathrooms were great size and cleaned regularly. Can't fault this place at all!

Disliked: Can't think of anything to even say here!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place and awesome staff.

Disliked: The shower in our room didn't work which was a slight inconvenience.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, comfortable, good location.

Disliked: This sounds stupid, but I'd just finished a reeeaaaally long race and my legs were killing me. The only bad thing about my entire stay was lugging my bag upstairs while so tired. Not even their faults, it was mine.