HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Dundee Backpackers Hostel Dundee Hostel

71 High Street, Dundee, Scotland

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 98%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 87%

Facilities

  • Common Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dundee?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 87%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 87%

Location 98%

Safety 89%

Staff 86%

Value 87%

Showing 1-5 of 5 reviews

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Age Range:
41+

Liked: Single bed dormroom

Disliked: only one shared toilet on my floor

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
41+

Liked: location..kitchen..just a nice place to stay

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
31-40

Liked: The story behind of the property is very great. It showed the hard work to conserve the building by the city council.

Disliked: As it is an old building, there is no lift facility for those who carry large and heavy suitcase.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: Excellent hostel, great location

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The bunk beds are great Wooden and have really good mattress kitchen was great to use so Much stuff was so easy to cook in

Disliked: The Internet was not that good

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: located directly in the city center, nevertheless not loud and nice and friendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Clean, modern and unbelievable value for money. No curfew! Guests allowed from 10am till 1am

Disliked: Some inconvenient rules;no computers in the dining area, no food in the rooms etc

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: It exceeded my expectations, really! I stayed just one night, but I'd love to stay more. The facilities are amazing, way beyond the value of money. The staff is super friendly. The security system is outstanding. In just couple of hours I had a nice chat with the manager, I met many new people, I went out with some of them that night. All you need to have is a towel and a toothbrush, everything else you will find there :) The kitchen is lovely. I didnt cook anything, but I saw that it's well equipped: microwave, kettle, toaster, 4 fridges, 1 freezer, a big, long, stove, even an oven, cups, pots, everything and the most importantly coffeeeeee!!!! :D Guys I really recommend it!

Disliked: My only objection is the dirty windows. The hostel is situated in a gorgeous area, it's a shame you practically cannot see anything through the window

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location, lots of common room space, great bookshelf

Disliked: price a little too high

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Old historical building in the center of the city. Rooms are big and staff was very nice. The kitchen is five stars and badrooms are clean and ordered.

Disliked: Dining room was a little too small and dark (but still ok). One shower was out of service, so at my floor there was only one shower left for all men...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability