We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Dundee hostels

Reviews of Dundee Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 71 High Street, Dundee, Scotland DD1 1SD

90.3% Overall Rating

76 out of 78 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/09/2013)

"Clean, modern and unbelievable value for money. No curfew! Guests allowed from 10am till 1am"

Read all Dundee Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • 24 hour hot showers

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Dundee?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

76 out of 78 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dundee Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 70 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, modern and unbelievable value for money. No curfew! Guests allowed from 10am till 1am

Disliked: Some inconvenient rules;no computers in the dining area, no food in the rooms etc

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Carina Neumann

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 September 2013 Carina would recommend this property

Liked: located directly in the city center, nevertheless not loud and nice and friendly staff

Disliked: Carina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Doroshenco

Alone

Business / conference

07 July 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: It exceeded my expectations, really! I stayed just one night, but I'd love to stay more. The facilities are amazing, way beyond the value of money. The staff is super friendly. The security system is outstanding. In just couple of hours I had a nice chat with the manager, I met many new people, I went out with some of them that night. All you need to have is a towel and a toothbrush, everything else you will find there :) The kitchen is lovely. I didnt cook anything, but I saw that it's well equipped: microwave, kettle, toaster, 4 fridges, 1 freezer, a big, long, stove, even an oven, cups, pots, everything and the most importantly coffeeeeee!!!! :D Guys I really recommend it!

Disliked: My only objection is the dirty windows. The hostel is situated in a gorgeous area, it's a shame you practically cannot see anything through the window

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, lots of common room space, great bookshelf

Disliked: price a little too high

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Daniel Uteau Puschmann

Alone

Business / conference

27 July 2012 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Old historical building in the center of the city. Rooms are big and staff was very nice. The kitchen is five stars and badrooms are clean and ordered.

Disliked: Dining room was a little too small and dark (but still ok). One shower was out of service, so at my floor there was only one shower left for all men...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

József Kiss

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 József would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, clean and new baths, conforable beds

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: more facilities than other hostels

Disliked: no 24 hours check-in

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great, and the information stuck here and there to tell about the houses, who're part of a heritage thingie. Also, the beds were comfortable and the kitchen very clean.

Disliked: No wifi.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. The building has lots of character.

Disliked: Mine was one of the rooms without a locker. Would have been nice to lock up my personals when out and about.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

25 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location and character of this hostel. It's very charming.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Keith Paterson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2010 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, price and value for money

Disliked: Paying 1 pound for 30 mins of internet is alittle harsh

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 May 2010

Liked: Our stay at the Dundee Backpackers Hostel was not a good one. We were staying in an eight bedroom dorm, whose other occupants had left it disgustingly messy and were obviously smoking in the dorm. Likewise our bathroom looked as if it hadn't been cleaned in a long time, which is a pity because the hostel looks to had been newly fitted out. Our dorm-mates came and went at all hours in various states of drunkeness, sometimes with girls they had picked up in town. Although I can't really fault the management on this, it did mean we got very little sleep during our stay. Also, the person at reception who checked us in insisted that Hostelbookers.com hadn't taken a deposit from us on booking. I had to go back and ask for a refund once I was able to check my booking email. Not a huge deal, but a bit sloppy.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice big kitchen. I liked the peaceful reading room. staff was rather formal, which was fine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and quiet hostel....

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house was really interesting but the girls' showers was out of order and there wasn't another one on the floor. The kitchen was a bit messy. There was a TV room with DVDs and even a reading room and games room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and new, lots of space.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

26 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fresh and new decor

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chulachat Kanjana-oransiri

21 February 2010 Chulachat would recommend this property

Liked: It's right on the high street, so easy to get around. The kitchen, the TV room were OK. The dining room was a bit dark but the reading room was really cosy. When I stayed, there was no one else in the 8-bed dorm and the bathroom was next door so I felt like staying in an en-suite room!

Disliked: Chulachat left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: After being at quite a few hostels that were alright, you can really notice when one stands out. Very cool entrance way, secure entrance door, the whole place was clean and painted and looked in shape. NIce big kitchen and dining room. Bathrooms have been the nicest ones i've used since I've been in Scotland.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: exellant hostel, bathroom clean, big room, spacefull but no breakfast and kitchen not clean // superbe hotel, sdb propre chambres spacieuses mais pas de petit dej et cuisine pas tres propre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A lot of students from all over Europe. Quite nice atmosphere. Thanks a lot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

colin branson

14 September 2009 colin would recommend this property

Liked: place was great staff were good room very clean great place

Disliked: colin left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

JAVIER CORTES

05 September 2009 JAVIER would recommend this property

Liked: very close to the town centre & friendly

Disliked: JAVIER left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Lloyd

25 August 2009 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Can't be more central then this place. Nice beds though not much headroom if your on the bottom bunk. Have to pay for the internet but good tv room and kitchen areas.

Disliked: Lee left no negative feedback.


See all Dundee hostels