HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Aviemore Youth Hostel Aviemore Hostel

25 Grampian Road, Aviemore, Scotland

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 78%

Location 87%

Safety 83%

Staff 91%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Common Room
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.53USD
  • Towel 2.64USD

Important Information

Please note that this Hostel does not have 24 hrs reception. If you are planning to arrive after 23:00 please inform the property in advance!

***Please note our Group booking policy:

• When booking for more than 9 persons, different policies and additional supplements will apply
• Please note that no stag or hen parties are permitted at any youth hostel.
• Full payment will be required within 8 weeks of arrival as otherwise the booking will automatically be cancelled
• Full SYHA Hostelling Scotland Terms and Conditions will apply and be issued to all group bookings.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Aviemore?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 78%

Location 87%

Safety 83%

Staff 91%

Value 82%

Showing 21-13 of 13 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great drying room

Disliked: Well-worn rooms, poorly organised kitchen (few work surfaces, no recycling, not particularly clean)

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It was close to the train station.

Disliked: The showers were way to hot. They were literally scalding which made it impossible to have a proper shower. Staff were not very friendly. Internet was £3 per hour which is outrageous.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location, stuff was helpfull, large common rooms

Disliked: Had to wash dishes myself

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Well-organized and clean, good bathrooms and beds.

Disliked: Staff wasn't the most friendly. Seems over-priced for what it is, probably because it's a ski town.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, very good dryingroom =)

Disliked: Nothing - it was all good :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: This hostel is one of the best I stayed in ever! It's very clean which is a big advantage for me. The athmosphere is great and the communal rooms are spacious and lovely. Great value for money:)

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, nice clean room with sink, enough storage room in the kitchen, everything in a good condition.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The location, had private rooms, own sink in room, quiet.

Disliked: the staff wasn't terribly friendly, didn't introduce us to any of the areas in the hostel, didn't let us know about breakfast etc. The hostel smelled funny, the bathrooms and toilets reminded me of a hospital or clinic.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved this hostel so much that I booked for 3 extra days. Really quite location in wooded area just off the main road. Staff really helpful, especially with information about the local amenities etc. Got great dining area, well equiped kitchen, BIG T.V. lounge and smaller quiet area. Can't really praise it highly enough.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: This was my first time staying in a youth hostel and I must say I was very impressed by the facilities and staff. It was clean and tidy and I would be happy to stay there again

Disliked: I can honestly say there was nothing I disliked about the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability