We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Aviemore Youth Hostel

Hostel | 25 Grampian Road, Aviemore, Scotland PH22 1PR

83.1% Overall Rating

132 out of 150 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/09/2014)

John Lewis thinks…

"Great location, very relaxed, good facilities and most important, a great night's sleep for tired walkers."

Read all Aviemore Youth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that this Hostel does not have 24 hrs reception. If you are planning to arrive after 23:00 please inform the property in advance!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Aviemore?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

132 out of 150 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Aviemore Youth Hostel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
81.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 98 of 115 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked all of it and would use the facilities again. I found the beds comfy and clean and the staff very helpful when I miss laye'd my wallet.

Disliked: Can be a bit noisy when the the doors are opening and closing to the rooms through the night. Hinges on the doors need oiling.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neil Stringer

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

09 June 2012 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time staying in a youth hostel and I must say I was very impressed by the facilities and staff. It was clean and tidy and I would be happy to stay there again

Disliked: I can honestly say there was nothing I disliked about the hostel

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012

Liked: Kitchen, the room was clean

Disliked: Staff wasn't too pleasant, had to pay extra for internet, no real atmosphere, felt more like staying in a hotel which wasn't what I was looking for, relatively expensive for what you got. I'd suggest staying in a bunkhouse at Aviemore, you get more for your money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Chappell

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The place is simply great! All you need and more - large kitchen area, fantastic common room/lounge with plenty of space and very comfy sofas etc. For the hustlers a pool table is available. Proper hot showers and a drying room that actually drys! You can do a lot worse than base yourselves from this hostel!

Disliked: The fact I could spend more time in it!?

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: handy location on main road in Aviemore

Disliked: bit of a maze getting round inside

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed here with a group of 5 other friends, so we got a 6 person hostel to ourselves and the kitchen facilities were quite nice (multiple burners, dishes and cookware). The hostel is a 3 minute walk from the bus station, and has a pleasant hiking path behind it. Also, about 30 minutes away from the bus station leading you to the cairngorn mountains. It was no five star resort, but it was clean enough and located in a good spot.

Disliked: The showers were warm for about 20 seconds, then freezing, then boiling, then freezing. Not a fun game.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and big kitchen

Disliked: was very expensive and had a septic atosphere

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found the hostel to be clean and welcoming with friendly staff. Ideally located for access to Aviemore town centre and for transport to up the ski road.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

20 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable

Disliked: lacked charactor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lara Oliveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 Lara would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly =)

Disliked: Expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great lounge area to relax after a hard day on the hills. Great drying room with easy access warm and comfortable dorms.

Disliked: Needs more fridge storage.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011

Liked: Good location for walks

Disliked: mould in shower rooms, paper walls, hairs on bedding

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anne Smith

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 September 2011 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great facilities.

Disliked: Nothing. But would have liked a drinks dispensing machine as we were cycling and couldn't carry tea/coffee/milk - and were very ready for a warm drink. Fortunately, very friendly manager gave us a couple of coffee sachets and some milk, but we would have been happy to pay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Bjorn Worpel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2011

Liked: There are some individual showers with their own rooms which is nice

Disliked: Another SYHA hostel - way too tight with everything for what you pay. You have to make your own bed when you come, and strip the sheets off and return them when you're done, the breakfast costs more than it's worth, etc.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Antonio Genovart Cabrer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: proximity to town

Disliked: room smelly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Hieronymus Constantinus van Heck

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011

Liked: location is good

Disliked: Dirty, overcrowded and smelly rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - ideal. Lounge - spacious with great view. Red squirrels and rabbits.

Disliked: In need of refurbishment - a victim of its popularity! Overheated.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The centrality of the location in regards to walking trails and other attractions.

Disliked: The showers, were rather hot, with no ability to play around with temperature, also didnt like the whole having to press the button every 15 seconds.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: perfect place to stay.... big lounge/living room/ really nice kitchen

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joy Brodie

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 May 2011 Joy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in the Highlands. Well designed which made it easy for luggage. Kitchen well set out to make it easy to cook.

Disliked: A bit disorganised when I arrived as to which room I was to go in but that was a minor delay. The weather! Snowed in May when trying to hillwork - shame hostels can't organise this better :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Frank Thielbeer

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2011 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: good location, Aviemore is a awesome place to do lot's of outdoor activities

Disliked: the night life was a little bit boring

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

22 April 2011

Liked: -good location

Disliked: -paperthin walls; could hear everything that was said in the room next door

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Family Holiday

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, very warm in cold weather.

Disliked: Quite outdated furniture, carpets, and bathroom facilities. Would be nice to add more decorations inside and to give a character to the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fits for big companies

Disliked: Queues to bathrooms, early check-out

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge room, the showers facilities, the surrondings. Real cosy place!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.