HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel San Marino

Hostel | Via 28 Luglio, 224, Borgo Maggiore, San Marino, San Marino 47893

78.7% Overall Rating

34 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2013)

Carlos Elías Franco Ruíz thinks…

"It's an awesome hostel! Definitely liked it! Has a lot of things in the kitchen, the staff is awesome (though it's difficult to find them), rooms are spacious enough and staff offers lots of things,…"

Read all Hostel San Marino reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bar(s)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 4.03
  • Towel USD 2.01

What's Included

  • Breakfast

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Marino?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

34 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel San Marino'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
64.8%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
84.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 39 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They have a nice common area with table tennis etc.

Disliked: There's a bar downstairs so on the weekends it might be a bit noisy, but for me it wasn't a problem.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carlos Elías Franco Ruíz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Carlos Elías would recommend this property

Liked: It's an awesome hostel! Definitely liked it! Has a lot of things in the kitchen, the staff is awesome (though it's difficult to find them), rooms are spacious enough and staff offers lots of things, information and tips. Restaurant, bar and supermarket are really close to the hostel

Disliked: It's immediatly in front of the Rimini-San Marino bus stop, which is good. But the buses run really rarely during the day and walking towards the funicular station in Borgo Maggiore takes 20 - 25 minutes uphill all the way.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anthony Ryan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, near enough to get to San Marino centre on foot or by bus.

Disliked: Finding it. Keep an eye out the left side of the bus until you see a yellow model of a bull on top of the roof , thats it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anastasiia Zarudna

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Anastasiia would recommend this property

Liked: Maurizio and the hostel crew were really friendly and they were trying to ease and make our stay better in every way. When we did the booking, there was a mistake with the website so we actually got a private room with a panoramic view for 18 euros/night and they admitted that it was their fault - which is, in fact, amazing. Then, I had problems with my credit card later and I needed to buy the flight tickets back to Ukraine, so they lent me theirs to do it, thanks to them I'm not wandering in the middle of Europe now. It's really beautiful the view around and even though the hostel is located below San Marino, more on the way to Rimini, it is very easy to get around by bus. If all the hostels were like this one, the world would be a happy place, I mean it!

Disliked: I just liked EVERYTHING. If there was some space for cooking, it would be simply perfect, but you guys had breakfast included and it was nice of you.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Barnaby Davies

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2013 Barnaby would recommend this property

Liked: A bar with music downstairs and the kebab restaurant next door

Disliked: There is ONE toilet for a dozen or so dormitories. This was inconvenient to say the least; on the day I stayed (out of season), two of us were queuing just to clean our teeth. And there is no tap for drinking water. Also, I dislike not having a reading light above the bed.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jim harmer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 jim would recommend this property

Liked: best showers in italy!

Disliked: directions could be better but i did arive when foggy so not suprising i struggled to find it

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeff Olshan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Great value, could have great character if anyone was actually there.

Disliked: Far from old town. I was perhaps one of three people in the whole hostel. I only ever saw one person behind the reception desk the whole time, and that was when I checked in.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Vincent Bullard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012

Liked: They had a free coffee machine, available from 7-12am every day. They had lockers to lock your valuables, which seems to be a rarity in hostels around Italy for some reason. Very nice, large commons room with a great view of the surrounding area. Right next to a grocery store. Friendly staff. Good, fast internet connection.

Disliked: I think the reason most people get hostels is for a place to sleep at night. This place will do their absolute best to ensure you won't get a wink of sleep. The hostel is literally DIRECTLY above a live concert area and a bar. When the band is playing, the music is so loud that the floor and walls literally shake, it is deafeningly loud. And the bands play late, late into the night. The hostel at least mentions this hideously annoying trait in their self-description (which I stupidly didn't read before coming), but be ready for long, sleepless nights if you stay here. I also had a roommate in the dorm who got so drunk, he was loudly groaning and hiccuping all night, then proceeded to throw up all over the floor (which I stepped in) and kept me up the rest of the night (after the loud music had finally, mercifully stopped). Because of this crap, I got maybe 8 hours of sleep total in 2 nights in this place. The hostel also has no kitchen to use, although there is a small refrigerator you can put food in. No free breakfast in the morning, and the bar/restaurant downstairs is very overpriced. Not many more negatives, but the one major negative (essentially not being able to sleep at night, which is the reason I booked the hostel in the first place) is HUGE.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012

Liked: Free unlimited coffee from the machine from 7a.m to 12a.m.

Disliked: You need to pay 2€ for bed sheets and towels. The walls are made of paper and my room had for neighbors : the common toilets, and the common shower. No need to say I could not sleep until 1 or 2 when everybody had gone to bed already...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, very cheap for San-Marino.

Disliked: It was a little bit cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karel Vostruha

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2011 karel would recommend this property

Liked: It was great XP to be guest in hostel San Marino. I can only recommend this hostel for other travelers!!!

Disliked: nothing, I was absolutely satisfied

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, convenient, cheap and decent café downstairs. Concerts on weekends may be a pain if you want an early night, but I enjoyed the free music. Very clean, plenty of room and storage space, safe and secure. Spacious common room with nice view. Right near bus stop to Rimini and about a 20-30 minute walk to the funicular to the Old City of San Marino, or there’s a free local bus.

Disliked: A bit cold in winter—in addition to your own sheets, bring your own blanket/sleeping bag! Not much going on in the neighbourhood (except a good gelatteria.) Couches, carpets, etc. might make the common area a bit cozier.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MIRAN SINKO

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 October 2011 MIRAN would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money, quiet place to stay, plenty of free parking, nice views of Monte Titano just around the corner from the property, free coffee in the morning. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Directions to the hostel could be a little clearer...but we found it at the end!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011

Liked: Friendly staff who speak english and give all touristik information.

Disliked: there is nothing special in san marino -2 hours is enough. and it is easy to go there from rimini that is more connected to the rest of the world. I had to wait 1 hour bus to go to rimini from san marino.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice enough place to crash

Disliked: It is somewhat far away from the historic center, but about what you'd expect for the price.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2011

Liked: The rooms were clean and spacious.

Disliked: It was pretty far from the actual interesting part of San Marino. The bathroom could have been cleaner. The people at the front desk were friendly when they were actually there, but there was no telling when that would be. They just mysteriously came and went. Also, it was rather strange that when you arrive, you have to tell the people in the restaurant downstairs, and then they radio in to the people in the hostel upstairs. Then they take you to this elevator that says it is out of service but actually works. Unfortunately that is the only time you are allowed to use the elevator.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was cheap and a good for a place to crash after exploring San Marino. Some staff spoke english and were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The hostel is quite a ways from the old city of San Marino, and as public transportation is sporadic you must plan accordingly. A bus stop is just across the street, or a 15 minute walk to the cable car to the old city.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Claire Newman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, quiet, and had a restaurant downstairs.

Disliked: Not the easiest location, but definitely manageable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Goncalo Figueiredo

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

21 August 2010 Goncalo would recommend this property

Liked: When we first met Sybilla, the manager, we felt immediately connected to the place. She was very helpful and welcoming and made our stay so much better. We were traveling as a couple, and we booked 2 beds on a 6 bed dorm. We thought we were going to be separated in different dorms, but Sybilla gave us a 6 bed empty dorm... all for ourselves.The dorms are very modern and comfortable, with lots of space and an airy environment. AC and lockers are provided. Linen and towels are paid separately.The Hostel has a really practical self-service restaurant/pizzeria on the bottom level, with one of the best pizzas I ate during my trip around Italy, and certainly the most comprehensive breakfast. All for a fraction of what you would pay anywhere else.San Marino is a must, a delightful destination, a place to wonder and dream. And Hostel San Marino is just the right place to stay during the visit. And I'm sure Sybilla will take good care of you.By the way, thanks for the Umbrellas. :)

Disliked: Goncalo left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

david shuttleworth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010 david would recommend this property

Liked: own bar, right next to bus stop, not too far from san marino village, dorm to myself, not strict about check out time, en suite bathroom

Disliked: deserted, though it was august

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ilja Musulin

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2010

Liked: This place has a good rastaurant on the ground floor whic is open until very late at night so you will have no problem with finding food and drinks. The place looks happy inside.

Disliked: The real problem with this place is that buses stop next to it only once in 90 minutes! Furthermore, the bus drivers who sometimes seem oblivious to the little stops between San Marino and Rimini, don't seem to know the hostel or the name of the little bus stop next to it, so there is a danger that even the bus that is supposed to stop there may not stop (This happened to one of the persons who stayed there with me. That person was therefore forced to wait for almost three hours!). There are no taxis passing by at all, and if you specifically call one to come and pick you up, you end paying as much as your accommodation fee just to get to the San Marino castle. Therefore, it actually pays more in terms of time, and possibly money, to stay overnight in Rimini and come to the San Marino castle fortress by some tourist bus for only 4 euros one-way, and then return to Rimni with the same bus with out having to worry wether you will ever find a bus, where that bus will drop you off, and how you're going to find the way to your hostel in fog and rain with visibilty close to zero (stress that me and my friends had to endure).

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 March 2010

Liked: Hostel war schwer zu finden, da schlecht beschildert. Eingang durch die Küche einer Döner-Grillstube. Markierung auf Karte stimmt nicht genau, daher mußten wir unnötig suchen. Nachts Lärm durch laute Diskomusik. Personal gleichgültig. Zimmer aber tadellos sauber.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Justine Greve

21 February 2010 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was nice and clean. Only negative was that I didn't get breakfast--but this may be because I was just about the only guest there!

Disliked: Justine left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they have a canteen that serve hot meal with reasonable price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hostel near San Marino and not far from Rimini, perfect location if you have a car, cheap and clean, friendly staff, located near the pub ''Il Birraio'' and the disco ''DNA''. Good place to meet people!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.