HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Soul Kitchen Junior hostel

Hostel | Moika embarkment 62/2 app 9, St Petersburg, Russia 190000

99.5% Overall Rating

93 out of 93 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/08/2014)

"Very helpful and friendly staff Very clean rooms, toilets, living room and kitchen Very cosy and familiar atmosphere with people of all ages and countries"

Read all Soul Kitchen Junior hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to St Petersburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in St Petersburg

Bed and Bike Hostel
13.40 USD

Hostel 79.4% 5 reviews
Bonn-apart mini-hotel
28.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.1% 5 reviews
Acme Hotel On Malaya Morskaya
34.83 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Simple Hostel
21.41 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Admiralteiskiy Hostel
17.42 USD

Hostel 91.9% 24 reviews
Hotel Sonata Gorokhovaya
91.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Simple Hostel Nevsky
21.41 USD

Hostel 100.0% 5 reviews
Apart-Hotel Nevsky 78
17.42 USD

Hotel 3 star 88.1% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
99.5%

Overall Rating

93 out of 93 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Soul Kitchen Junior hostel'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
100.0%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
100.0%
Value
99.2%
Safety
100.0%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff Very clean rooms, toilets, living room and kitchen Very cosy and familiar atmosphere with people of all ages and countries

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul McMahon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly & helpful. Good facilities & atmosphere. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ann Isaac

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Ann would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It had to be one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. It was spotlessly clean, quirky, fabulous staff and everything a traveller may need was provided, The kitchen was amazing and there were so many extra touches- piped music in the toilets, a large comfortable area for washbasins with dressing table, hairdryers, arm chairs, a computer room overlooking the canal with comfortable armchairs, a sitting room with games and music, shoe cleaning materials and a great loccation.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vipaporn Sareedenchai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Vipaporn would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, Staff are friendly and nice.

Disliked: Vipaporn left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Jacobson

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel we have stayed at so far in our journey. The staff are great,informative and friendly. The location is awesome and close to everything.

Disliked: Katherine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Beard

Alone

City break

18 June 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: I have travelled a lot and this is definitely one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The place is beautiful and really clean. The dorm rooms are comfortable and spacious .It really felt like it had been designed by travellers for travellers. Really, really nice hostel.

Disliked: nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom Lawrence

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing renovated old building, well designed with cool decor. Great location. Staff friendly and helpful. Best hostel I have stayed in in a long time.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jake wilson

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2014 jake would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel is great

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Cheong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2014 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: loved the bunks in the dorm, they are so spacious and the curtains are great for a bit of extra privacy! The kitchen/lounge and common rooms are simply superb - and the staff so helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Can't think of anything it was close to the perfect hostel. Maybe if you got one of the single beds in the dorm, without the curtain in the open - they are not as nice to sleep in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jake Verano

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. is an incredible place, and in the bathroom sounds classical music.

Disliked: you can not pay by credit card.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Grams

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

11 March 2014 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: it was just the best hostel in my life and i tried over 100. Everything better than expected and as a bonus there were free waffles in the morning and a pancake-evening :) Love it

Disliked: nothing i dislike, but it would be great if you can offer some fruits in the kitchen :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahto Kiskonen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

04 March 2014 Ahto would recommend this property

Liked: Very cosy and friendly. Great location. Great value for money. One of the best if not the best hostel I've been to, and I've been to a few.

Disliked: Ahto left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marian Vidra

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Marian would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place, best hostel we ever stayed. Property, service, staff everything absolutely spot on. Absolutely deserved rating.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARTHA SOLEDAD HERNANDEZ MORA

Alone

Events / festivals

15 February 2014 MARTHA SOLEDAD would recommend this property

Liked: All was Ok

Disliked: MARTHA SOLEDAD left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Kelly

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2014 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I have ever been to! The common areas are spacious, the dorm rooms are private and secure, and the entire place is cleaned at least once a day. It is also close to a lot of great sites, and getting to the metro is easy.

Disliked: Nothing - I will be back!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TOM DAVEY

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2014 TOM would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully and thoughtfully renovated. Excellent location. Brilliant staff.

Disliked: TOM left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Das beste Hostel, in dem ich bislang gewesen bin. Ein besssere wäre auch nicht vorstellbar! La meilleure auberge où j'ai jamais été; 100% satisfait - je ne peux pas imaginer mieux! For me the best hostel ever!

Disliked: Nichts Rien Nothing Nada

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, very good atmosphere.if you are travelling alone, it s the best place to stay. It is very easy to meet other travellers. It has a very nice kitchen and a room for common use to watch movies or play games. Clean, safe and and very friendly staff. You are provided with all ncessary information by the staff.

Disliked: We stayed at a private four bed room, there were no wardrobes in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

THOMAS BALAKSHIN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2014 THOMAS would recommend this property

Liked: Perhaps the nicest hostel I have stayed at. The staff are incredibly helpful and nice. The hostel is incredibly clean and comfortable. Good place to meet a fellow traveler.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chun Pang CHAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Chun Pang would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is extremel helpful and the kitchen is full of useful utensils, free waffles and occasionally free dinners when the staff cooks. A very "home" atmosphere

Disliked: Would be perfect if there is a sauna

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Perez Mollo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect, The beds are cozy and big. The kitchen is huge and you have everything you need. Maria and Alisa from the staff were great and nice.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shi zelei

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2013 shi would recommend this property

Liked: Maybe the best hostel I have ever stay

Disliked: shi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere, friendlinesss, cleanliness, location

Disliked: In some of the rooms the toilets work with noisy pumps and it is forbidden to throw toilet paper in the toilet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Pollock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have EVER stayed at! Just brilliant atmosphere, lovely big chill out lounge area with big tv and selection of movies to watch, kitchen has everything you would need including an oven and enough space to store your food, another chill out area where the computers are....and they are macs! No hostel I have ever stayed at before have provided mac computers for people to use for free, curtains on the beds for privacy. Staff are excellent very helpful and friendly, easy to talk to. Plus they tend to make you food most nights which is just brilliant! The day I arrived there were free cookies that had just been made, the next night was movie night with free popcorn, the next night was handmade cupcakes and the last night was pancakes with lots of topping selections! Sooooo yummy! They don't have to do this but they do and I loved it! The hostel itself is within walking distance to everything. They have a shoes off at the door policy which was one thing I thought I wouldn't like but it actually makes you feel much more at home and far more comfortable with everyone walking around in socks! Hostel is always being cleaned, although I'm not sure it's necessary to be cleaned as much as it is, but cleanliness is never a bad thing and it's nice to know you are staying somewhere that is immaculate!

Disliked: Only tiny gripes, I was far too hot every night in the room so had to have the window wide open, but I'm not sure if you can control the room temperatures separately and obviously the common areas are big and need more heat to stay warm so I guess that may be why. Shower curtain clings to you if you try to keep it inside the shower but if you put it outside the whole floor is soaking afterwards, maybe could put something else there instead. But only very minor things, the actual shower pressure was one of the best I've had in a hostel, perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashlea Wheeler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 December 2013 Ashlea would recommend this property

Liked: I can't speak highly enough of Soul Kitchen Junior Hostel. The location is fantastic, only 10-15 minutes walk from most major sites and 5-10 minutes walk to the nearest grocery store and metro station. The hostel was spacious and had plenty of common space for socialising, which had a projector for movies, computers, a foosball table, and a couch and beanbags. The kitchen was spectacular with everything you could possibly need for cooking your own meals, and there was free pasta and rice for common use. The rooms were amazing, each person getting a double bed with curtains drawn around it for privacy. Everything was kept very clean and tidy. There were plenty of bathrooms so you almost never had to wait to use a shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they also made pasta, cookies, cupcakes, etc every few days for guests of the hostel.

Disliked: Ashlea left no negative feedback.