We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Red House Hostel

Hostel | Liteyny prospect 46, St Petersburg, Russia n/a

91.2% Overall Rating

47 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/05/2014)

Cheuk Yin Lam thinks…

"It is awesome! It is so well decorated, everything is so clean, although the kitchen is a little bit small, it has everything you need. The staff is very friendly and helpful."

Read all Red House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that registration costs 150 RUB per person, and it's made once for the whole period of staying in the hostel. It's obligatory for every foreigner and can be asked on the Russian border. This is payable on top of the confirmed balance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to St Petersburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in St Petersburg

Luna Hostel
10.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Liteiny 51
19.00 USD

Hostel 93.6% 29 reviews
Melisa Mini-Hotel
15.20 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Missis Hudson Hostel
7.10 USD

Hostel 85.2% 18 reviews
Right on Nevsky
12.67 USD

Hostel 79.2% 24 reviews
hostel rest
13.94 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Stella Hostel
10.14 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Good Morning Hostel
17.74 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

47 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Red House Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
92.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 50 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew m

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: happy staff

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cheuk Yin Lam

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2014 Cheuk Yin would recommend this property

Liked: It is awesome! It is so well decorated, everything is so clean, although the kitchen is a little bit small, it has everything you need. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: It's difficult to find my room the first time, but it's not really a problem. More toilets would be easier for everyone...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and big common area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Marquez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, 30min walk from main tourist attractions and 15min to train or metro stations. Nice place, cheap, good kitchen, TV (only in Russian though). They sell beer and fizzy drinks at supermarket price, big plus!

Disliked: Nothing really. They charge about 200 rubles to foreigners for a registration card or something but never needed it. I suppose all hostels do the same anyway.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lavinia Colzani

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 Lavinia would recommend this property

Liked: I've been staying in many hostels around the world, and this one was one of the best I've stayed in. The people of the staff are really really kind and helpful, too!

Disliked: nothing. Was lovely.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patrick Wong

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013

Liked: everything is good to me, just the sign at the street entrance might be a little hard to spot if first arrive at night

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, save and cheap. There is a nice modern common room with fast WiFi, a TV and sofas and a clean and well equipped kitchen. The staff was extremely friendly and could speak English very well. I felt to be welcome and enjoyed my stay in this hostel. It is located in the city center, so it was even not necessary to take the bus or metro to go out for sight seeing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, good location...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ezra Nash

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2013 Ezra would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place and had an amazing night out with the staff. Close to everything you need to see, good wifi, very clean, nice breakfast, good social area. STAY HERE!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yutriz Pernia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2013 Yutriz would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good facilities, very friendly staff, great atmosphere. Seriously stop looking and just stay here!

Disliked: Yutriz left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christian Marin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: All

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jonathan Glen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, clean and comfy enough. Brilliant staff and kitchen. Not the liveliest place

Disliked: Bit tight in the dorms with some seeming as though they live there, not a massive problem though

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chih Wei Lin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

04 June 2013 Chih Wei would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Best

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel. Great facilities and such generous and helpful staff. Would love to go back!!

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Cole

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 May 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Generally speaking, I would rate this hostel for the following reasons: 1. Location is good, 2. Staff are awesome (especially the administrator who gave us free vodka). 3. Place has a good atmosphere when there are other westerners there. 4. Its cheap. 5. Beds are really comfy. 6. Washing is free and drinks are cheap. 7. Breakfast is basic but also free. 8. Theme is good.

Disliked: As with any stay, there are some improvements which could be made in order to make this a top notch hostel. 1. Better / bigger lockers. I could only fit a few things in my locker, and it wasn't the sturdiest thing ive ever used. 2. Better security on the door. Generally speaking, the hostel IS safe, but more safe guards such as a door code or dormitory key would be better and give peace of mind. 3. Long stay guests. The hostel has a significant proportion of long stay guests paying a reduced rate (they are all Russian). As nice as they can be, they can be very anti social and have really odd sleeping patterns. After the hostel was full they ended up sleeping in the lounge meaning 'i' as a paying guest could not use it. I think the hostel needs to put its foot down and tell them to leave when it is full. Despite this, I would still reccomend this hostel, I met some truly wonderful people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrea Borgonovo

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: everything is great there....nice staff, good location, nice decoration and always good vibe...i would reccomend this hostel to all....

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013

Liked: The actual hostel itself was great. Facilities were good but could have been a little cleaner.. NO maps or anything of the kind and they couldn't even offer you tours or anything of the like which does not help if you are a tourist - I am guessing it is more aimed at the people that live there.. Not the best place to meet people if that is what you are after..

Disliked: The people that live there!!!!! NOT COOL!! They were never nice and took over the place. There was continuously people sleeping on the couch and even the floor in the common area every night. Also, the people that do live there were rude and would suddenly wake up at 2am, turn the lights on and start reading a book - or otherwise you have people moving in at 6am and turning the lights on and going through their bags.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013

Liked: The staff were helpful. They have a small locker (not a very strong one but they are there for you). A washing machine for guests to use for free but bring your own power otherwise it's 30RUB.

Disliked: There were only two toilets and two showers, one "nice" shower and one not so nice. Also both toilets get pretty steamy if anyone takes a shower. Not too many people takes a shower so the dorm gets a bit smelly but that's not the hostel's fault. There were people who seems to be staying there for long term, one person playing online game with headsets and another with a security jacket. The bunk beds weren't that stable. I booked an 8 person dorm and was put into a 10 person dorm, once I checked and contacted the staff they gave me money for the differences but it'd have been nicer if they told me at first and not let me doubt myself for a night. Also there were some people sleeping in the common area on both nights of my stay, a bit weird really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

joshua wiffen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 joshua would recommend this property

Liked: good location, spacious, comfortable, friendly/helpful staff, clean, free breakfast

Disliked: it was a little tricky to find the entrance once you entered the courtyard super early morning in the dark. turn left and there is a short set of stairs with rope lights. other than that there was nothing really to fault

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harta Kesuma

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013 Harta would recommend this property

Liked: very nice n modern...i lov it

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Interesting theme.

Disliked: Difficult to find at first, tiniest sign by the main arch (look for the main arch at bld 46, and remember the hostels logo and you'll have no prob). Really annoying that there were a bunch of Russians living in the hostel. I understand that it's winter, low season, but residents by and large completely ignore you, take the better beds, have random sleep scheds, etc etc. takes away from the experience and its frustrating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Federico Keane Gomez Henderson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2013 Federico Keane would recommend this property

Liked: Recomiendo encarecidamente este sitio a TODOS sin excepcion, muy limpio, nuevo, salon donde puedes tocar la guitarra, jugar a la ps2 o tumbarte tranquilamente, mmuy buena cocina ( desayuno incluido ). Un amable senyor , una chica muy guapa y amable y un chico musico muy gentil, hacen de San Petersburgo un lugar idoneo para visitar. Si vuelvo, repito al Red House Hostel.

Disliked: Puede que la gente sienta desconfianza con algunos clientes que estan todo el dia practicamente borrachos, pero si hablas con ellos , son gente muy buena igualmente, asi que, no tengo nada malo que decir =)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: From the moment I stepped into the hostel, I felt welcome by the very friendly and helpful staff. The place was clean and well-decorated. There are lockers in the rooms, and they are big enough to store your valuables. Breakfast while simple (just cereal and bread) is good enough and a big plus compared to other hostels. They also don't allow drinking of hard liquor and ensure that the place is quiet after 11pm, which is very good for travelers who aren't looking for such entertainment. There were none of these problems while I was there in the non-peak season, so overall my stay was very pleasant.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen, girls, silence

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like you are in a big house party all the time. Everybody is friendly and helpfull. I really liked it here. The kitchen is perfect. In the common room there are two laptops which is great. You can play video games and listen to music or watch the tv. the lockers are good and the curtains for each bed are awesome. Do not worry about the cold because they have an extra heating that you can turn on when you want it.

Disliked: The breakfast is only cereal and toast with nothing to put on.