HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Life

Hostel | Nevsky 47, St Petersburg, Russia 191025

89.5% Overall Rating

17 out of 19 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/03/2014)

Mark Brodie thinks…

"The staff are really helpful and the place is just as described. I would definitely recommend this place."

Read all Hostel Life reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

"All Citizens who do not have Russian citizenship must make the registration of staying in Russia. According to the federal Law of 18 July 2006 ? 109-FZ "On Migration Registration of Foreign Citizens and Stateless Persons in the Russian Federation" The cost of this service is 300 rubles per person.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to St Petersburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in St Petersburg

City Hostel
40.00 USD

Hostel 71.8% 8 reviews
Good Morning Hostel
34.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
hostel rest
14.89 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Missis Hudson Hostel
7.58 USD

Hostel 85.2% 18 reviews
Elegy hotel
32.48 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Babushka House
21.66 USD

Guesthouse 89.9% 32 reviews
Stella Hostel
10.83 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Right on Nevsky
13.54 USD

Hostel 79.2% 24 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

17 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Life'

Atmosphere
79.0%
Location
97.9%
Facilities
86.3%
Cleanliness
94.7%
Staff
87.4%
Value
89.5%
Safety
91.6%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 19 reviews
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Brodie

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful and the place is just as described. I would definitely recommend this place.

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antoine Bulthuis

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Antoine would recommend this property

Liked: Location and very clean

Disliked: No bar inside

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bathroom

Disliked: Bad smell in the room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best location ever. Many restrooms and showers and great kitchen.

Disliked: Internet works only in a few places and it is blocked for email clients such as outlook

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YUSUF ÇERIBAS

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 February 2013 YUSUF would recommend this property

Liked: Location, safety, cleanliness, helpfulness. They take their job quite seriously and you feel at home there. It is kept quite after 11.00 pm. It is close to many attractions, you don`t even need to take the metro or trolleybus to visit most of the locations. Probably one of the best hostels in St. Petersburg.

Disliked: They can serve better breakfast; only jam and butter. They are very stingy in this sense.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wing Chung Wong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2011 Wing Chung would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and friendly helpful staff. I would strongly recommend this to travellers who really want to experience 24-hour life here. Very close to main sights.

Disliked: So far no.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luciano Ariel Bianchi Godard

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Luciano Ariel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sibel burcer

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 sibel would recommend this property

Liked: Hi, First of all, ı would like to thank to your site that you have a very nice hostels in your site. I am very pleased staying two nights in Hostel Life in St. Petersburg.Secondly, the Hostel is located well know street and your description is perfect that made us found it with public transport very easly. I visited all famous building by walking and and took boat tour through canal. The hostel was really very cleaned and staff was very helpfull. Receptionist was described all famous building on the map that help us to save our times. There is a grocery (acorss the street)where you can buy all kind of food and beverage then use the hostel's kitchen. I cant belive such a perfect kitchen that you can use all dishes to prepare your meal. Kitchen is big enough, bright and tidy. Computers are provided for guests. It is amazing. What else ı could say that bathroom is really big and you can use a iron and washing machine too . Every thing which is shown on the site is true... I must say that ıf you choose The Hostel Life would not be regret.. Best wishes, Sibel Ps: Could you please describe The Hostel adress on your site not only from airport to the Hostel as well as who is coming from Baltic States to St. Petersburg by bus.

Disliked: I was lucy that ı had no problem while ı was there...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, staff are very helpful and speak good english. its very clean, nice kitchen and communual area and free fast internet. Dorms are nice and bright, lots of space and comfy beds.

Disliked: lacks atmosphere as was very quiet and people keep to themselves. no communual breakfast or dinner offers, so people do their own thing. rather strict on wearing slippers inside, and you get told off if you walk around in your socks. but guess it makes for a nice clean hostel! great place to stay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and airy, lovely decoration, facilities and location all excellent. Helpful staff, cheap visa registration. Spacious lounge, kitchen and rooms.

Disliked: Very quiet, but this is probably a result of low season etcetc. this also had an upside in that there were no queues for the bathroom and so forth.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
City break

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely the best Hostel we've ever been in. Worthed for everything. Thank you people, our trip was more comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Coraline Vallet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2010 Coraline would recommend this property

Liked: the bathroom is really nice

Disliked: nothing special

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

putra adhiguna

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2010 putra would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay, 15 minutes walk from Moskovsky railway station. The staffs were very pleasant and helpful indeed :) . Place is clean, plenty of showers and toilet, best kitchen i've seen in a hostel. Clean and tidy, and their slipper only policy does help a lot. Highly recommended. Great value for money

Disliked: Can't think of any.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and bright hostel, never had to wait for toilets or showers, free wifi was really helpful, staff tried hard to help us with our journey. Great central location, close to everything, and excellent 24 hour access. Lockers for your shoes in the main area and for valuables in your room were great. Large dorms with lots of floorspace for your bags was a godsend.

Disliked: No air-conditioning was really horrible as we were there in the middle of summer. Not a great place to meet people, most of the travelers were Russian and not interested in talking to you. Quite a few family groups were annoying during the day. Although the laundry was free, there was only one machine and one small hanger, meaning we couldn't do our washing anyway. Elevator really needs an upgrade! We could barely fit our bags in!

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tatyana Prokhorova

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

16 August 2010

Liked: Nice locationNice kitchen and chilloutNice roomsNot very clean but ok

Disliked: slow and quirky staff I payed for 2 nights but told them that in fact a leave at 11pm because my train at midnight. but when I reterned at 2-d deay I found my stuff on the chair and my bad was occuped!!! what a shame!! I was in veryveryvery goood mood and did not say them anything rude about this situation. BUT I dont't want to recommend this hostel only because of the STUFF

The property's response is...