HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Alpha Hostel

Hostel | Liteynyy prospekt, 64, St Petersburg, Russia 191025

90.1% Overall Rating

34 out of 37 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/07/2011)

"Honestly, the only thing that was good about staying here was the price and the cute little cafe right next door downstairs."

Read all Alpha Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 22.75

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Credit cards not accepted, cash payments only.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to St Petersburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in St Petersburg

hostel rest
17.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
City Hostel
40.00 USD

Hostel 67.8% 7 reviews
Good Morning Hostel
36.40 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Life
12.80 USD

Hostel 91.6% 18 reviews
Stella Hostel
14.22 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Missis Hudson Hostel
9.95 USD

Hostel 85.2% 18 reviews
Right on Nevsky
15.64 USD

Hostel 78.5% 23 reviews
Babushka House
22.75 USD

Guesthouse 89.6% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

34 out of 37 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Alpha Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 32 of 37 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet and relaxing and the kitchen facilities were good.

Disliked: The bunk beds weren't that stable and very creaky.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: The showering-water and the water in generall

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011

Liked: Honestly, the only thing that was good about staying here was the price and the cute little cafe right next door downstairs.

Disliked: The faculty was not helpful and not friendly. The beds made so much noise and it was hard to sleep. The AC was broken. No one told me about the amenities when i got there, as in the free tea or coffee. It was just like you are here pay us, we don't care. When i first came in one of the faculty members was watching porn and I do not think he realized I had seen him. It's your job don't do that, wack off in your own time. I would not recommend it.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011

Liked: It is not a great hostel, don't understand why is one of the first ones... Staff was ok, but just ok. The location was great and the kitchen big. Have been in so many hostels myself and this is not the worst but is nit very good neither.

Disliked: Very uncomfortable beds and not enough bathrooms at all. Very small common area. It's ok for a couple of nights but I really thing you can find sthing better in town.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, interesting place, has character.

Disliked: Difficult to find.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Miguel Pinto

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Jose Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly place. Excelent to meet locals and other backpackers.

Disliked: Nothing bad to declare!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people! I had a great time over there!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hendrik Meye

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2011 Hendrik would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff, ideal situation

Disliked: no atmo label in front of the building

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly Stuff, great atmosphere, good location

Disliked: Difficult to find where the entrance is (apparently they were painting the door so the number was not visible)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karl Zammit

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2011 Karl would recommend this property

Liked: In this hostel, me and my friend we almost liked everything.. Great staff, great location, safe, secure and very clean.. I strongly recommend this hostel to everyone, the best hostel I ever stayed in during all my travelling. Try it and you won't regret it for sure.

Disliked: Practically nothing. Here we found ourselves at home. We were always helped when we needed something and about from that the place is very very clean and secure.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendlyness of staff

Disliked: a bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A goo d place to stay at St. Petersburg!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relatively new and small hostel with friendly and english speaking staff. Good location to Nevsky Prospekt. Showers, kitchen and living room were tidy. Had a great sleep because of the quiet location.

Disliked: They should have more than one public computer. The stairway to the hostel was a bit freaky and the stairs in a bad shape.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Butler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2010 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Very helpful staff which is needed in Russia, and great place to meet people and have fun. I highly recommend staying at Atmo

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome place. no comments...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Very laid-back and friendly atmosphere. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Gets my recommendation.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hielke de Vries

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

07 August 2010 Hielke would recommend this property

Liked: I could stay here just for the kebab joint downstairs. Great people, great helpfulness. Good location. These guys know where to go out.

Disliked: You're going to stay longer than you'd decided before you came.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and very security. Thx staff!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Milena Moressi

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2010 Milena would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really well located, the staff were super friendly and helpfull. We felt safe there, we left the bags in the room and we had no problems. There is a kitchen were you can cook and store your food, microwave, nice sofas to hang out, internet access and so on. The interior of the building is old and a bit scary if you get there in the middle of the night, since there is no lights on the stairway, but once you get inside of ATMO you can relax imediatelly, it's clean, we felt welcome. It has a very friendly atmosphere.We totally recommend it :)

Disliked: The only thing is that you can hear a lot of noise from the street at night and maybe they could have one more WC. There are 2 available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Byrns

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2010 David would recommend this property

Liked: It's fantastic place in St Petersburg centre. I am assured, we will return again

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, relatively clean rooms, big place, shower was always available. Good to meet people if thats what you want, but you can also keep to yourself.

Disliked: Toilets not very clean, and the common room is dirty. Why did everbody hang out in the kitchen and drink there?

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Dominic Rogers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2010

Liked: Generally an ok hostel

Disliked: Due to the current climate none of the rooms had fans or mosquito nets - so was bitten to hell. We did swap out to hotel after two nights to get some AC. If the hostel added mosquito nets then I would recommend it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice area. Extremely helpful staff. Had a great stay there, would definitely come back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.