HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel FirePlace

Hostel | Zagorodniy pros. 23 apart 36., St Petersburg, Russia 000

73.1% Overall Rating

32 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2013)

"Nice apartment, kitchen, washing machine. Good size room for three people. Not a bad location near the metro and restaurants. Breakfast was good."

Read all Hostel FirePlace reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.40

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to St Petersburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in St Petersburg

Hostel Underground Hall
13.15 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostel Yes
12.59 USD

Hostel 88.0% 5 reviews
3 Mosta
55.95 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Soul Kitchen Junior hostel
25.43 USD

Hostel 99.2% 83 reviews
Nevskiy Breeze hotel
63.16 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Admiralteiskiy Hostel
13.99 USD

Hostel 91.4% 21 reviews
Location Hostel
16.78 USD

Hostel 79.7% 25 reviews
Hotel Sonata Gorokhovaya
96.74 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

32 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel FirePlace'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
74.4%
Facilities
66.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
74.4%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 33 of 36 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jonas Petri Svenningsen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 March 2014 Jonas Petri would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast fine. Okay room, with a lot space.

Disliked: No hot water in shower. No livinroom for guests.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2013

Liked: Nice apartment, kitchen, washing machine. Good size room for three people. Not a bad location near the metro and restaurants. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: We had booked into the hostel. It was difficult to find and the directions on the website aren’t that clear. We think we rang the bell to someone’s apartment when a very sleepy lady answered the door. No sign on the door that it was Hostel Fireplace. Were told to leave our bags and come back at 2pm to check in. Very difficult to understand the lady as she spoke no English. Upon return, we were booted out of the hostel and moved to an apartment further away. Difficult to understand what was happening because of the language barrier and inability to communicate. The room we were moved to looked like someone’s apartment that we were going to be staying in while they were away, seriously, they had their clothes there, kitchen products, everything. Think that this apartment is just a side operation in conjunction with Hostel Fireplace. Probably when people book at the hostel and it is full, they move them into this apartment…. We booked a room with private bathroom but the apartment was shared by others so the bathroom was not private. It was also tiny. No ability to pay by credit card. All in all, not a bad stay at the apartment but BOOK THIS PLACE AT YOUR OWN RISK.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eva Maria Bille

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Eva Maria would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the breakfast! We walked to the ermitage, it was so close to a metro station and we felt quite happy with the place in general. It was hard to find at first, but the instructions were good!

Disliked: The breakfast was better on some days than others, but overall it was pretty great :)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, clean room, breakfast included

Disliked: Difficoult to find (follow direction provided in the previous references),the staff does not speak a word of english, walls of rooms are very thin therefore it can be noisy from time to time

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite central, only 5 minutes to Metro Zvenigorodskaja, the price is low. Everything clean and people helpful.

Disliked: The walls are thin and almost evertyhing is to be heard, if somebody is walking on the corridor. The descrition of how to find the place is a bit confusing. I can speak Russian and i had russian sim card, and could get to know how to walk, but for foreigners, who could speak only english and who should pay high roaming fees for mobile telephone, it would be quite challenging to find it. Try it like that: Go by metro to station Pushkinskaja/Zvenigirodskaja, it where meet purple and red line. If you arrive at Pushkinskaja, go through Zvenigorodskaja station out to the street, the sign "Vyxod v gorod" leads you to the street out. Then you are on Zvenirodskaja uliza (name of the street). Go left until Zarodnij prospekt (the big street). it is just some meters. then there you right on zagorodnij prospekt in northeastern direction. You go past Borodinckaja uliza and pereulok Dzhambyla. then there will be house number 23 on the left side. Anyway this is not our goal. Straight on. after the entrance there is a furniture store, directly after the furniture store you left into "Sozialicticheckaja uliza". I think there was no name written of the street. It is small street, that has dead end. There are a lots of cars parking. You go just until the very end of that street, until you reach the end and it is not possible to go further. Then exactly at the lft side, there is an entrance. You find a small field to type numbers. You must press "2009B", then you can open the door and go up to 4th floor, where should be written 36 at the door. There You are, good luck :-)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean (rooms cleaned daily), large and well furnished rooms, decent free breakfast, 5min walking to 4 different metro stops, 30-40 min walking to Ermitage.

Disliked: It is indeed a bit hard to find. But, if you have a good map of location (check out the map provided by the hostel) it is not a problem. Hint: Once you enter the dead-end street, the entrance to the building is the last one on the left.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Hermia Sant

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 June 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Impossible to find without help from locals. No signage, hostel manager did not answer phone. Charged us 22 Euros extra per night because the manager said that hostelbookers had a technical fault and the price was wrong. Spoilt our holiday. There was no lift and the apartment is on the 4th floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

31 December 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: room had old furniture, old maintenance

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rafael Monteiro

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: i did like the atmosphere is really good

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Dreyer

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 August 2011 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: It felt like home and they made me feel welcome since the moment I arrived.

Disliked: Was difficult locating it!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

hacer YILMAZ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 hacer would recommend this property

Liked: clean,

Disliked: ı dont like the breakfast......

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Davide Livraghi

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 July 2011 Davide would recommend this property

Liked: Great room and location for a good price

Disliked: One of the staff members wasn't very friendly but was soon replaced by a very nice one

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy, relaxed and small place. Very tasty breakfast and very friendly staff. Not an ordinary hostel and quite nice place to meet and mingle with locals.

Disliked: Quite difficult to find, no names, signs or what so ever. Not all staff spoke English. Seemed like staff were not expecting us at all. Also, we are still not sure what's the actual name of the property.. Fire Place seems like a cover name for a set of rooms owned by Sabrina Guest House which actually handled reservations, payments and phone calls..

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staf, very helpfull, could leave our luggage the latest day for free till the evening. Clean and cosy.

Disliked: We had to pay the amount we payed in advance on the internet once again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Tasty Russian breakfast (even though with the selection of food is very limited)We got a discount because the room we had rented was not available (see below)

Disliked: The housekeeper is very friendly but does not speak English and understands only some (she's working on it though) Even though the hostel is clean, it's not well maintained technically: Computer - "Ne rabotaet" ("does not work") TV - ne rabotaet Toilet in the private bath - water is constantly running WiFi - works but we had to find out for ourselfes how. Hint: go to the properties of the wireless network "sabrina". on the tab "authentication" unceck the box for "Enable IEEE 802.1x authentication for this network"; on the tab "association" use the following settings: Network authentication "open", Data encrypion WEP. The network key is written on a paper on the pin-board.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was a very clean place.

Disliked: It was written that credit cards are accepted. That was not true - unfortunately.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Good value with breakfast. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Hostess doesn't speak english that much.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendliness of the staff.

Disliked: There was a temporary lack of towels.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Good bed.

Disliked: Was extremely hot. No aırcon or fan. The other room was about to cancel theır accomodatıon but complaıned and got a fan. Impossıble to sleep. To add to that mosquıtos are rampant

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Galambos Márta

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

29 June 2010 Galambos would recommend this property

Liked: The double rooom is very big, nice and clean.

Disliked: The double room is very big, nice, with massage shower. But the button of the shower is missing. The hostel should fix it!!!! Its a very nice shower, but you easily can get burn without the proper button! They really have internet, just its not working!!!! A traveller needs internet very very much!!! The hostes should fix the internet as welll!!!!! Please give more details how to find the hoste. There is no sign at all... You can not find the hostel!!!! The code which was given is wrong. They have a new code as well....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location. The only problem was the difficulty of finding it and then the fact that the staff didn't speak English

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Michael Pavey

02 June 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. Rooms are big, the shower was excelent, the hostel is clean, and it has a kitchen where you can make your own breakfast etc. The wireless internet was slow at times but worked well overall. (NB I had to disable certification to get it to work. Hope this helps someone!) Didn't notice any air con but didn't need any either! Main concerns were the entrance hall to the building which stank of urine and was covered in graffiti, but the hostel is a separate part which is fine inside. Also, the manager speaks no English and insisted on taking our passports for the fairly pricey (450 rubles) registration even though I insisted -- correctly as it turned out -- that we didn't need it. (It only applies if you are there more than 72 working hours. Weekends don't count.)

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davide Livraghi

29 March 2010 Davide would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very nice and helpful staff, very clean, good value for money

Disliked: Davide left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great with some variation from day to day - they had for example some delicious small cakes and bliny. The staff was friendly, though they don't speak much English. In general this is a peaceful place well suited for those looking for a laid back and relaxed atmosphere. Definitely not a "party hostel" - though as you can come and go with your own keys, there is really nothing stopping you going clubbing and returning in the wee hours, if that's what you're into.The only complain I have is that the entrance to the hostel is quite hard to find, as there is absolutely no sign outside the building and no sign even inside the staircase. I found the right building at Zagorodnyj 23 straight away, but nevertheless spent 15 minutes looking for the hostel. I already started to doubt if it exists at all. Finally I just called the hostess and arranged to meet with her in front of the pharmacy near by.You should definitely be certain that you have written down the phone number you get when booking. The hostess told us there used to be a sign, but recently some hooligans have destroyed it, and they are yet to make a new one.Here are my step-by-step detailed directions to the place: Coming along Zagorodnyj from metro Dostoyevskaya, when you reach the crossroads of Sotsialisticheskaja, turn right to the dead-end mostly filled with parked cars. There is a pharmacy ("Apteka") on the corner here with a big cross sign. Go along the left side of this dead-end alley almost to the end of it. The numbers of apartments located in each staircase are visible on top of the doors. The door you are looking for is the last on the left side. You know you've find the right staircase when you see number "36" amongst the numbers on top of the door. Use the code to get in. When I visited (26.3.2010) the code was 2009B - according to the booking information it should have been 259, but the hostess told that was the old code. Anyway, call the hostess, if the code has changed again. When you get in, don't be put off by the general dirtiness of the staircase, it doesn't indicate the condition of the actual hostel premises. Climb to the fourth floor and look for the door number 36. Ring the bell or knock.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabrina Bauernfeind

08 January 2010 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was great - every day!!accomodation was really clean!people were sooo nice!We (my partner and me) enjoyed our stay in a great way! :)we will definitely come back!

Disliked: Sabrina left no negative feedback.