We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of CubaHostel

Hostel | Kazanskaya str. 5, St Petersburg, Russia 198255

87.1% Overall Rating

260 out of 294 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2015)

Maria Guiver thinks…

"I absolutely loved Cuba hostel. The staff are exceptional. They speak excellent English and are really helpful, they were able to write some things out in Russian for me so I could swap some train…"

Read all CubaHostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to St Petersburg?

Contact us directly

See other properties in St Petersburg

Griboedova 29 Hotel
28.10 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.9% 52 reviews
Lime Hostel
9.68 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Friends Hostel - Bankovsky
13.61 USD

Hostel 80.0% 5 reviews
Nevskiy hotel Aster
75.20 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Koma Hostel
8.32 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Central Street Hostel
6.79 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Friends Hostel - Griboedova
5.29 USD

Hostel 92.2% 27 reviews
Nevskiy Grand hotel
75.20 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

260 out of 294 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'CubaHostel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
86.4%
Value
84.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 196 of 208 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Guiver

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2015 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved Cuba hostel. The staff are exceptional. They speak excellent English and are really helpful, they were able to write some things out in Russian for me so I could swap some train tickets at the station. I also extended my stay by 2 nights which was no problem at all. There is wifi, free tea and coffee and the free towel was rally soft in comparison to the one they gave me in Moscow which was the texture of sandpaper. If you are a first time Russian traveller, you should note that in Russia you cannot flush toilet paper down the toilet as their sewage system isn't able to cope with this so put your used toilet paper int he bin next to the toilet. You'll get used to it fairly quickly. Facilities at this hostel were fairly basic but there is everything you need and I cooked here with no problems on my first night. I was a little worried by the signs everywhere asking you to use hot water wisely but I had no need to fret as all of my showers were hot and had good pressure (hopefully I didn't use all the hot water). It's a big hostel with 2 floors but there are about 4 showers on each flower and 2 toilets on each so I never had to wait. There are free maps of St Petersburg at the front desk for you to take and they are also able to print out any bookings you might need at the front desk. I am writing this review on the PC in the lounge area of the hostel which anyone can use. Once again, can't recommend this place enough. They really made me feel at home during my short stay in this amazing city and the hostel is great value for money. Once again, Большое спасибо to the girls at the front desk for all of their help. :)

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Baris Dogan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 Baris would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere. ..very central located. ..you can access many sightseeing in walking distance.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

13 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: A little hard to find as house 5 is quite long on the street.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2015

Liked: friendly staff, washing machine

Disliked: crowded, over-full fridge

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Francesco Innocenti

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2015 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: The services offers by the property and the location really near to eveything.interesting in this city

Disliked: The staff is really unpolite and totally not hepfulness

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very nice place, well situated very close to the city center. Staff working there is very helpful and friendly, they know what's going on in the city. The atmosphere is great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aagje vos

Alone

City break

04 May 2015 aagje would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic, central location, friendly and helpful staff. Nice common spaces, too.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clarisson Rizzie Canlubo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2015 Clarisson Rizzie would recommend this property

Liked: The people are all friendly, when i return to St. Petersburg I will definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Clarisson Rizzie left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people, very central

Disliked: no signs on the street to find the hostel. it was very difficoult to find, we had to ask the neighbours to call the service number to find the entrance...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Gibson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely love Cubahostel, would recommend it to everyone. Staff are amazing, really friendly, fun and helpful and they all speak many languages. Great hostel atmosphere and facilities and good value for money. It's located right in the heart of St. Petersburg so you are literally on the doorstep of Nevsky and all the tourist attractions. Really enjoyed my stay here!

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alexander Darby

Alone

City break

09 April 2015 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff!

Disliked: Not much.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loacation is absolutly good.

Disliked: A little noisy.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nilton Gradella

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2014 Nilton would recommend this property

Liked: Good location,secure and the girls at the reception are really friendly and helpful! Hot showers!It's a good place to make friends!But it's not a new hostel, needs a lot of refurbishment! But it's worth if u are young!

Disliked: Toilets and showers are a bit old, not much cleaned! The guy wearing glasses at the reception should work in funerals, not even a smile!Not a nice welcome! Rooms hot if u go on summer!Not even a fan!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joanne Pendlebury

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Cuba hostel is so well located, has all the basic amenities and it's really good for socalising. SOME of the staff are very helpful. I had a good time here partying!

Disliked: There's a funny smell in the rooms/in the corridors (maybe from the drainage?) and the shower curtains could do with changing as they are kinda disgusting and smell.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very loud at night (party people)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very polite & friendly providing advice on St Petersburg & Russia. Great atmosphere in the common room to socislise & meet other travellers

Disliked: Better directions on how to get to the hostel would be useful to other travellers & each traveller getting own key to the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great hostel just in the heart of the city. Everything is really close to the hostel, just 10 walking min to Hermitage museum and Admirality. People who are working there are great and really helpful. Thank you guys, hope to see you again soon!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alia Alhafny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Alia would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very friendly, well located, good price, roomy dorms, always clean

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

FAREEZ MOHAMAD

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2014 FAREEZ would recommend this property

Liked: i like the morning staff(girl girl) friendly Room is nice as a hostel (comfortable bed) Location is very good quite near to most of the places of interest

Disliked: Their this smell I cant describe but ist quite unpleasant A lot of stairs to climb but wasnt much a problem unless if you have a lot of baggage

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Phenomenal staff!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Daddo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2014 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff I have seen I a Hostel so far. Very friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Couldn't stay long enough

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Teemu Rahkola

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2014 Teemu would recommend this property

Liked: Ok place to stay. Hard to find. Thrre is just small sign.

Disliked: We have to ask and argue about visa registeration. First they said that they do not do that and next was price. After all they didbit with correct price.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013

Liked: The common area is nice. The showers are good. It is well situated.

Disliked: The staff was not friendly at all, except for the person who greeted us on the night of the 26th who was really nice to us. The mattresses of one of the 2 bunk beds were in very bad condition, and all the duvets were dirty. The kitchen was not working properly.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ertem Gulen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013 Ertem would recommend this property

Liked: all of the staff are really helpful and good. they really wanted to help us in every ways.

Disliked: Ertem left no negative feedback.