HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel Muntean

Hostel | Vadu Izei, no. 505, Sighet Marmatiei, Romania 435500

93.3% Overall Rating

9 out of 9 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/06/2013)

Matthew Lee thinks…

"Florin and his wife were friendly and relaxed. On the tour he picked good restaurants and had a good idea of where to visit. The room was really cosy, and hot water all day long. Plus, really nice…"

Read all Hostel Muntean reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 30.07
  • Breakfast USD 4.51

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sighet Marmatiei?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

9 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel Muntean'

Atmosphere
91.1%
Location
86.7%
Facilities
91.1%
Cleanliness
95.6%
Staff
97.8%
Value
97.8%
Safety
93.3%
Refine your results Showing 9 of 9 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Lee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Florin and his wife were friendly and relaxed. On the tour he picked good restaurants and had a good idea of where to visit. The room was really cosy, and hot water all day long. Plus, really nice food on-site.

Disliked: It's a far 45min walk from Sighet downtown, but that's not a dis on the property.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a simple pension like you will find all over Romania. Nothing fancy but has all the important things you need. The owners are very attentive to your needs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great, beautiful family, lots of joy! Go!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Har Looi Lee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011 Har Looi would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed thoroughly our 2 nights stay at Casa Muntean. We had a comfortable and clean room in a nice big traditional wooden house. Florin, our host cum tour guide did a wonderful job in catering to our every needs including fetching us from Campulung at short notice driving through bumpy mountainous roads for 8 hours! Our hostess, Ioana, made us delicious hot meals. We are glad to have made our decision to stay in Casa Muntean while exploring those interesting places in Maramures. Thanks to Florin and Ioana for making our stay an enjoyable and memorable one.

Disliked: None

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place to stay, more like a homestay than a pension. I took all the extra food options and extended my stay to 3 nights from 1. Food was lovely the best and most real Romanian food in my whole trip to Romania. Very lovely family to stay with I felt well cared for and enjoyed the day trip around the sights of the region. This region feels like the REAL Romania, worth the crazy bus trip. Take the train its more comfy!

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Chee Ming Pua

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Chee Ming would recommend this property

Liked: It feels like homestay rather than hostel. Cozy.

Disliked: Alignment of the rooms door could be adjusted to prevent banging of the door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lynn hardy

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 lynn would recommend this property

Liked: must have been early season as we were only guests.so 4 rooms to choose from and a large middle landing with armchairs to relax in and an outside space.clean, colourful and large balcony, laid back atmosphere, very private. quiet.liked the experience of an extented familys home being there.the owner offers a flexable tour of the area at a reasonable price and its very informative and worth going on.there are no restaurants except barely one in the area.you can eat at the property and the breakfast is well worth having.

Disliked: would like a kettle to make a cuppa.nice tohave a tea or coffee in room when you want.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Muntean family was very helpful in all aspects and I really enjoyed staying, even adding on an extra night to enjoy the area. The rooms were quiet, very clean, sunny and comfortable. Location was great, too. In addition, we were able to purchase a guided car tour courtesy of the proprietor and saw so very much of the countryside as well as visited local artisans for a reasonable price per day. We were picked up from the train station and brought back at the end of our stay free of charge. Very nice and I'll go back!

Disliked: I wish that there were a coffee pot in the rooms or in the common room, but other than that nothing at all was missing. They even had televisions in our rooms!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thierry gach

As a family with children

Family Holiday

19 August 2010 thierry would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Very good breakfast.

Disliked: The pre-booked rooms were not available at our arrival but the staff managed very well to find an other solution.