We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Brasov hostels

Reviews of Rolling Stone Hostel

Hostel | Strade Piatra Mare 2A, Brasov, Romania 500133

90.3% Overall Rating

296 out of 361 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2015)

MARIO VASILESCU thinks…

"Brand new and very clean with an accommodating and attentive host! (He's still learning what to recommend in the area, but based on Paul's enthusiasm with new things we discovered, we are guessing he…"

Read all Rolling Stone Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 1.12

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Brasov?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Brasov

Gabriel Hostel
11.18 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Old Town Brasov Hostel
8.94 USD

Hostel 78.4% 77 reviews
Boemia Hostel
12.30 USD

Hostel 95.9% 65 reviews
Pantex Hotel
43.60 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Villa Prato B&B
95.04 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Mara Hostel Brasov
13.42 USD

Hostel 88.9% 67 reviews
Casa Terezia
11.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.6% 25 reviews
JugendStube Hostel
12.30 USD

Hostel 91.3% 73 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

296 out of 361 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rolling Stone Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
94.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 244 of 248 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gerard mcartney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2015 gerard would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful staff, pretty great atmosphere and just a really great place

Disliked: gerard left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARIO VASILESCU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2015 MARIO would recommend this property

Liked: Brand new and very clean with an accommodating and attentive host! (He's still learning what to recommend in the area, but based on Paul's enthusiasm with new things we discovered, we are guessing he is going to have collected a long list very fast :) )

Disliked: MARIO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel McGregor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2015 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at the Rolling Stone Hostel was very enjoyable, the area is very beautiful and the people are very friendly. Diana is crazy in the best way and will make sure that you know where and when you would like to explore certain areas. All in all, this hostel had a welcoming atmosphere and I would like to visit Brasov again soon.

Disliked: Lack of lockers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Woods

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2015 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: CLEAN. The no-shoes policy really keeps the place spotless, plus constant cleaning (they even change the sheets every few days of your stay!). The staff is very efficient, and willing to help. I especially has a good experience from Sylvia. Great common area, lots of day trips organized.

Disliked: No lockers or keys, meaning anyone can walk in off the street into your room. The staff also always seems overwhelmed and stressed (peak season) which is no fun for anyone. Kitchen closes at 7:30. Also they always seem to be out of toilet paper :(

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sisi and Diana are incredibly wonderful and helpful. It's clean, location is in the old part of town which is really nice.

Disliked: There were not enough showers and toilets for the number of people staying there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adrian Pritchard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2015 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, loved the building. It's a big sprawling place out in the Old Town. The staff were lovely, really warm and enthusiastic. It's obvious they really care about people having a good time in Brasov and care about their town. Brasov is a fascinating little place too.

Disliked: Internet was bad but they are in the process of fixing it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

28 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff (Diana) was working at the hostel during our stay and she was incredibly helpful and enthusiastic. We were made to feel welcome and she helped us greatly with our travel plans around Brasov and the surrounding attractions. We stayed in a deluxe 2 person (private bathroom) and the facilities were great (ie the shower, the bed, the tv and the wifi connection).

Disliked: Slightly far from the town center (800 meters) but it wasn't much of a problem

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

elena wells

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2015 elena would recommend this property

Liked: A lovely and good value for money hostel. Run by friendly and helpful people. Our room was clean, private and spacious with beautiful views (and a working tv). Good location near to main square and great local restaurants. As a couple in a private room we felt it was everything we wanted and would stay again.

Disliked: Waiting for the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitchell Scott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2014 Mitchell would recommend this property

Liked: Rolling Stone Hostel was amazing!!! Sophie is one of the friendliest and nicest hostel owners I've ever met and it was so much fun staying here. There were tons of cool activities to take part in and they even took us to a massive party at Dracula's castle!! I'd highly recommend staying here if you get the chance. I know I'll be coming back.

Disliked: Mitchell left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

05 September 2014

Liked: Even I have not done any activities this hostel offers a lot nice trips. One of the staff very friendly

Disliked: One person of the staff has sometimes a really bad mood. As you have no key to the hostel, the staff has to open the door in the night. I returned as I told them at 3:30. She said that she was very angry that people are coming home every half an hour and that cannot sleep. If they don't have have locker system and want to have a 24 h reception they should have one shift just for the night. Sry that's how it is in most hostels. Further I booked a sixbed room. I did wanted to be distrubed too much. But when I arrived they said there some people who wanted to stay a night longer in the 6 bed room and aked me if I could go in the 10 bed room. They said there also just 5 other people in there. What they did not say was that behind this room there was another room with at least 8 beds and that the door to this room squeaks.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An excellent location for reaching the place by any mode of transportation. Accommodations exactly as advertised, with an option to change the type of accommodation upon arrival. Tons and tons of different activities for a few hours, a day trip, a three day trip, etc. Splendid nature, architecture, food, etc.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Elena Kochetkova

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

03 August 2014 Elena would recommend this property

Liked: It`s a lovely place near the mountains in the historical center of the city. There is a bus stop, restaurants and small shops around. The staff is fine, and they offer cheap excursion and give all the things you need.

Disliked: The house is rahter very old, and some things require repairing. F.ex. the door in my room was difficult to close because of an old lock, and I needed to spend much time dealing with it. Furniture and floors are also rather old and creaking, but on the other hand it might be interesting for knowing more about local life.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2014

Liked: Sylvia was very nice and helpful and made our stay as comfortable as possible. Good location. It was the cheapest option.

Disliked: The kitchen closes kind of early. Nothing was locked, so anyone could have walked in. I just personally don't care for hostels where the family/workers use the same area for living as the guests.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ugo James Silva de Araujo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Ugo James would recommend this property

Liked: It`s an average hostel, location and staff are great.

Disliked: Breakfast.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super friendly.

Disliked: It was a bit difficult to find.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ecsy Monica

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 August 2013 Ecsy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location

Disliked: Ecsy left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Paul Deering

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Got into a argument that could have been dealt with easily and professionally. Instead it resulted in myself being backed into a corner of a room, (with door closed) and being physically assaulted by (Greg) who is employed by the hostel as a tour operator. He grabbed at my keck and grabbed my hand in a extremely aggressive manner. This was in the presence of the manager and the co manager in the kitchen of the hostel they made no effort to intervene. It was one of the scariest experiences of my life and I felt very vulnerable as a tourist in a foreign country. I have traveled all over Europe and have never had any problems. I know this sounds dramatic but it was genuinely scary. I no i haven't gone into details of what the argument was over, however this kind of behavyer is not acceptable from anyone associated with the hostel and should not be condoned on its premisses . I can understand verbal altercations but ones that became physical cross a line for me they are not acceptable and there are not excuses that make them so. Dormitory were basic lacking plugs beside beds, kitchen had what you would expect for the price. Staff were helpful they called the train station to reserve us tickets but when we entered argument they demanded that we pay them the cost of the phone call. Internet was fast. Price was very competitive! Overall this hostel has what you would expect for the price but personally I would not recommend staying there after having one of the scariest experiences of my life. I recommend extreme caution when booking this hostel. This is the first review I have written for a hostel but felt obliged to write it after my experience there.

Disliked: Already outlined

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrea forliano

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 andrea would recommend this property

Liked: l'ostello è ubicato in posizione centrale,c'è una bellissima atmosfera,si gode di una bella vista sulle montagne,e pulito e il personale è competente e amicovele

Disliked: niente

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Diana was working at the hostel during my stay - she was incredibly friendly and helpful and was able to answer any questions very well. The hostel was in a good location, close to the old centre of Brasov. Also the tour arranged by the hostel to Bran and Peles castles was really good - although it is a bit more expensive than doing it by yourself it was well worth it as it allows you to do both castles in one day and you get a very personal experience as you go in a car to and from the castles so can learn a lot talking with the driver too.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juan Manuel Rodriguez Porta

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Juan Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: Staff friendliness.

Disliked: The breakfast was really bad/poor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are extremely friendly and helpful. One can easily chat with the staffs there about travelling and beyond. The rooms are clean and cosy.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The most helpful staff i've ever met!

Disliked: The location is a little far from the central bus station... although the bus tickets aren't expensive, it still adds up!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Holloway

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Diana is awesome - so nice, so much fun and we felt completely at home in the hostel. Beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were very clean. They arrange trips to Bran Castle and Peles Castle which were good value too.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christine vaughan

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 October 2012 christine would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff Felt really at home Lots.of.organised trips available Very helpful staff

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalia Espinoza Chaves

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Great workers!

Disliked: nothing


See all Brasov hostels