HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Almaa Sintra Hostel Sintra

Hostel

Quinta dos Lobos, Caminho dos Frades, Sintra, Portugal

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 90%

Location 88%

Safety 96%

Staff 98%

Value 96%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.18USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sintra?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 99%

Facilities 90%

Location 88%

Safety 96%

Staff 98%

Value 96%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Without a doubt Almaa is one of the most beautiful hostels I've stayed at - the place is gorgeous. It's an ecological, hippie vibe hostel. I stayed in the big dorm and liked the beds (no bunks here). The free breakfast was good - special points for the nice fresh bread and fruit on offer. I think the location was fine, the hostel is not in the center of the village but it's only a short walk to old town. The staff members were all friendly and helpful if a little distant.

Disliked: The wifi connection was hit and miss - worked perfectly at times and then at times kept cutting every 2 minutes. I'm only mentioning it in case somebody needs to get work done while staying here. There is unisex bathroom with no doors or locks for the showers. Taking a shower just behind a shower curtain in a unisex bathroom wasn't problem when I was there (the hostel was quiet) but I could imagine ways it could be uncomfortable when anyone can walk in... And sometimes as a woman you do encounter men in hostels that you really don't wish to find on the other side of the shower curtain!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It is a fantastic hostel with exceptional atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful and we have had a fantastic time there. It is a bit of a walk from the centre of the village, but it is well worth it and there is a lovely pub just next door. I have really enjoyed it.

Disliked: NA

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: It really has a ´new age´vibe and atmosphere without ´corner cutting' one finds in some Marakesh-trail hostels. It deserves a massive score for offering a healthy soy-rice milk, alone, unique in my experience. It s ideally situated for tranquility as well as easy reach of ´civilisation. It s a walkable 1.5km from station. Furniture optimally and ingeneously recycled-reconfigured

Disliked: My first impression of one of the staff was that he seemed unreceptive, but he wasn´t bad at all I discovered a bit later.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very quiet and lots of trees and nature...

Disliked: Nothing in particular...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was described as a retreat and it was.I love it's distance from the busy tourist centre, it's like staying with friends in the country whilst surrounded by palaces and gardens to explore.The staff are outstandingly helpful and willing

Disliked: Nothing it was perfect

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great hostel, wonderful staff! Really enjoyed our stay.,

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is clean and tidy, a quiet place to stay but quiet far away from the center of the town

Disliked: The location is too far away from the train station.The location mentioned in the web is misleading, the hostel should tell us to take the bus 435 from train station to the gate of Regaleira and walk another 10 mins . We spend almost one hour to walk from train station to the hostel and with two large luggage with us.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Great and typical Quinta, this was really amazing.The breakfast was delicious (local products).

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely relaxing place, very helpful staff and lovely dog!

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything- helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere, clean, wonderful location if you like the countryside and walking or have a car.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability