HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sintra hostels

Reviews of Almaa Sintra Hostel

Hostel | Caminho dos Frades, Quinta dos Lobos, Sintra, Portugal 2710-560

94.3% Overall Rating

17 out of 18 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/04/2013)

Kat Wczesniak thinks…

"It is a fantastic hostel with exceptional atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful and we have had a fantastic time there. It is a bit of a walk from the centre of the village, but it is well…"

Read all Almaa Sintra Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sintra?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sintra

Nice Way Sintra Palace
24.88 USD

Hostel 95.4% 68 reviews
Quinta das Murtas
85.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Portuguese Hostel
15.90 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
People Hostel Sintra
15.90 USD

Hostel 81.7% 63 reviews
OH CASA. Sintra Rooms & Suites
29.37 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Surfiberia Lodge
25.57 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.1% 37 reviews
The House Of The She-Pine-Tree
27.64 USD

Guesthouse 89.8% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.3%

Overall Rating

17 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Almaa Sintra Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.7%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
90.0%
Cleanliness
98.9%
Staff
97.8%
Value
95.6%
Safety
95.6%
Refine your results Showing 16 of 18 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kat Wczesniak

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2013 Kat would recommend this property

Liked: It is a fantastic hostel with exceptional atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful and we have had a fantastic time there. It is a bit of a walk from the centre of the village, but it is well worth it and there is a lovely pub just next door. I have really enjoyed it.

Disliked: NA

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

10 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It really has a ´new age´vibe and atmosphere without ´corner cutting' one finds in some Marakesh-trail hostels. It deserves a massive score for offering a healthy soy-rice milk, alone, unique in my experience. It s ideally situated for tranquility as well as easy reach of ´civilisation. It s a walkable 1.5km from station. Furniture optimally and ingeneously recycled-reconfigured

Disliked: My first impression of one of the staff was that he seemed unreceptive, but he wasn´t bad at all I discovered a bit later.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Depelteau

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2012 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet and lots of trees and nature...

Disliked: Nothing in particular...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was described as a retreat and it was. I love it's distance from the busy tourist centre, it's like staying with friends in the country whilst surrounded by palaces and gardens to explore. The staff are outstandingly helpful and willing

Disliked: Nothing it was perfect

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, wonderful staff! Really enjoyed our stay.,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2012

Liked: The hostel is clean and tidy, a quiet place to stay but quiet far away from the center of the town

Disliked: The location is too far away from the train station.The location mentioned in the web is misleading, the hostel should tell us to take the bus 435 from train station to the gate of Regaleira and walk another 10 mins . We spend almost one hour to walk from train station to the hostel and with two large luggage with us.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great and typical Quinta, this was really amazing. The breakfast was delicious (local products).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely relaxing place, very helpful staff and lovely dog!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Bennett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Everything- helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere, clean, wonderful location if you like the countryside and walking or have a car.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

seng keat tan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 seng keat would recommend this property

Liked: Sintra is one of the most beautiful town in the world. Friendly local people and they always try to help for direction even they only speak in portugese. Next time will spend more time there for sure.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good for peace, quiet and the sights. Not so good for the downtown area though. Owner gave personal tour of property. Staff gave me a personal fire. Cool place, hopefully the ower will have a new, better router by now or when you stay there. He is very receptive to guest comments.

Disliked: Wifi, signal strength and location, speed was acceptable. I think its also a bit difficult to be quiet at night, but those could be fixed in the future or by the time of this review.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Todd king

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Todd would recommend this property

Liked: What an amazing place to stay! Set on 3 acres of beautiful gardens and forest, this hostel is perfect for a relaxing and peaceful getaway! The staff are brilliant, so nice and helpful, the rooms are large and clean, lockers in each room, beds are comfortable, and the resident dog will be your new best friend!

Disliked: Nothing - everything was great!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxing stay. Perfect for so quite vacations.

Disliked: A bit far from the town center.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic! So relaxing, what a beautiful property. The owners were so helpful and kind. I would recommend this hostel VERY highly. The mid-night swim in the ancient pool was so fun!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The surrounding areas

Disliked: Absolutely nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James roebuck

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

28 June 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Has to be a leading contender for best hostel in Portugal... Beautiful building, well furnished (enviro friendly also), cool owner and manager and dog!, outstanding location buried in the countryside but near to Sintra old town. Having just stayed in the relatively hectic downtown of Lisbon we probably appreciated it more but it is a real gem. We are Fällung in again on our way Home Next week.

Disliked: Bed could have been bit comfier but Not a major


See all Sintra hostels