HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Sintra hostels

Reviews of The House Of The She-Pine-Tree

Guesthouse | Rua Nossa Sra. da Piedade 25, Sabugo, Sintra, Portugal 2715-300

89.8% Overall Rating

30 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2011)

"Original artwork displayed throughout the house made She Pine Tree a fascinating place to stay. Excellent service and welcome from a friendly and very international staff."

Read all The House Of The She-Pine-Tree reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Sintra?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Sintra

People Hostel Sintra
15.90 USD

Hostel 81.7% 63 reviews
OH CASA. Sintra Rooms & Suites
29.37 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Portuguese Hostel
15.90 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Quinta das Murtas
85.69 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Nice Way Sintra Palace
24.88 USD

Hostel 95.4% 68 reviews
Almaa Sintra Hostel
22.11 USD

Hostel 94.3% 18 reviews
Surfiberia Lodge
25.57 USD

Hotel 1 star 69.1% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.8%

Overall Rating

30 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The House Of The She-Pine-Tree '

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 31 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff.Tasteful decoration,

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: grreat art

Disliked: the showers downstairs were a bit smelly

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Original artwork displayed throughout the house made She Pine Tree a fascinating place to stay. Excellent service and welcome from a friendly and very international staff.

Disliked: For a traveller without independent transport access is not easy . The bus service to Subtract is reliable but not very frequent.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Burmeister

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2011 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: She-Pine-Tree was absolutely excellent! The service, the facilities, the cuisine...all absolutely excuisite! It was the highlight of our trip to Portugal and we will definitely recommend this pplace to ALL our friends. Thanks for your excellence!xx

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James roebuck

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

28 June 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: Very cool Place - totally different experience from other hostels loads of character and charm. If weather is nice just Hang out on the balcony and enjoy the amazing view.

Disliked: Not for us to dislike Since we had a Car but if you didnt then i don't See how you would easily get there

48.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Chia Chen Hsieh

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2011

Liked: I didn't like it

Disliked: I had very bed experience First, for I arrived around 8 o'clock while the worker was preparing dinner for other customers. There is no body answer when we arrive, no body answer when we rain the doll or even knock the doll, and no body answer when I make a phone call. We had waited in front of the door and had no idea if there is any body there for more than half hours, and the weather is cold. We even tried to ring the neighborhood doll bell but in vain. Finally, there was a man help us to find the neighborhood, and the neighberhood help us to find the worker, we are very hungry and ver cold then, and there was no even apologize. Besides, because we order the private room, it was 500m away from She-Pine house, without internet and the kitchen cannot work. At the next morning, we need to back to She pine house for breakfirst. Maybe I arrived at a wrong time but it was the worst appearance of my travel,

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very beautiful rooms, great ideas throughout the whole place, perfect view on Sintra and a little bit of the Atlantic. Dinner was awesome and self-made by the owners. Thank you a lot!!!

Disliked: Absolutly nothing!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a lovely apartment of 3 bedrooms and balcony with nice view. Breakfast was good and it was served in the mainhouse. Enjoyed our stay very much, a quiet night after staying in Lisbon for few days.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Cook

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

22 April 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Truly wonderful people and a wonderful house. The best food we ate in Portugal and the most romantic and rustic time possible.

Disliked: It's 30 mins from Sintra, which is fine, if it would be a quiet village. It's not so quiet. But this is a minor quibble.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good, but not easy to find

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast (included) was great and the home cooked dinners were delicious and very good value for money. The property was really cosy and the artwork around the walls really added to the uniqueness of the property. Felt like we were at home.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luísa Batista

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2011 Luísa would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and I stayed at the Olavo suite, and it was very, very comfortable! The bed was huge and really comfy, the room was warm despite the bad weather, etc. As for the meals, the breakfast was great and the dinners we chose to have there were absolutely delicious as well. Not to mention the staff, which was outstandingly friendly and helpful!

Disliked: The hostel is located in a very isolated spot pretty far from the actual town of Sintra, so, unless you have a car, you'll have to rely on the bus service, which was pretty scarce when we stayed there (the last bus back was at 5:10pm on weekends and around 6pm on working days).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Daniell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel my girlfriend and I have stayed at in 4 months of backpacking Europe. It was quiet so they upgraded us to their best suite at no extra cost. Amazingly friendly and accommodating staff. Cooked scrambled eggs just for us, totally free! Amazing homemade dinners for a great price. Free pickup from the train station and even gave us a lift back to Lisbon since a family member was headed that way. Free WiFi. Incredibly furnished property with breathtaking views over the countryside. Quite simply a perfect budget hotel.

Disliked: 30 min ride from center of Sintra by bus. Staff are very helpful with the bus timetable and the stop is a 1 min walk from front door of hostel.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a really friendly and homely atmosphere. The rooms are really lovely, warm and clean. You can honestly spend your whole time in the room if it wasnt for the inviting town of Sintra.

Disliked: Its a bit difficult to get to if they are not able to pick you up or take you to the train station.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalie Porse

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

15 November 2010 Natalie would recommend this property

Liked: The family who runs this guesthouse are amazing!! So helpful and sweet and always there with a smile on their faces and more than willing to help with any queries you might have. Even if they're not entirely sure....they'll go out of their way to try to figure it out for you. The entire house is just gorgeous....and cosy with the fireplace blazing on chilly nights. Love this place and would definitely encourage people to come and visit.

Disliked: It was a tiny bit out of Sintra village where all the castles and palaces are. But there's a bus that runs once an hour that takes you right to where you want to be. Depending on the speed of the bus driver...it takes around half an hour each way. Which isn't too bad. We got to meet and chat to some locals along the way.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great house, a real museum plenty of painting and vintage objects, really a great athmosfere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dominik Lauter

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

26 August 2010 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing experience. We really had a very good time with the most romantic sunsets. The house is run by a fabulous bunch of people. Staying at the She-Pine-Tree felt like coming home. Thank you very much for a beautiful holiday and your support!

Disliked: The second pool will be ready soon!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

28 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!We spend a wonderfull time. Breakfast was at top level.We liked the room, it have a terrace and in the evening you can do nothing just sit down and admire the view.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What an amazing place! The House of the She Pine Tree is a fantastic experience, not only because of the friendly team, great atmosphere, interesting history and delicious dinners, but also because it presents a different experience to other hotels/b&b's. Really felt like part of the family, very helpful team working there, and it really is a "museum" to the late Olavo d'Eca Leal's works. Beautiful. For a relaxing break away from it all, I really recommend this place. Great dinners on offer too! Mmm!(A car is useful because it's quite out of the way, though we managed on the local bus - a car would have given us greater flexibility with timing. The staff were all very helpful regarding timetables and getting us to the train station.)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The house is fantastic, the staff are all so helpful and friendly, it's really an amazing experience to stay and I can't wait to go back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the house was beautiful and the owners were very kind. Being a museum, every room was full of atmosphere and looked more like home than a guest room of a B&B

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

07 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really recommended to other travellers. This place has a very nice atmosphere in a very beautiful house. The staff is very gentle and welcomes you as your family!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Verschragen

01 August 2009 John would recommend this property

Liked: The artistic atmosphere and the kind people we've met.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Hudd

26 July 2009 David would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome place to stay! Enjoy the great veiws from the terrace after the home cooked meal with free sangria!! Easy bus ride to Sintra and surrounds. Bernado and his team will take great care of you! Highly reccomend to stay here!

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice property on a busy road

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Sintra hostels