We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Porto hostels
See all Porto hotels

Reviews of Residência Pedra Antiga

Guesthouse | Rua de Santa Catarina - 830, Porto, Portugal 4000-446 Porto

90.5% Overall Rating

253 out of 264 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2014)

Ida Griffiths thinks…

"Very well decorated and the staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English. Room was clean, decent sized with an ensuite and great shower :) Had my first full nights sleep in peace and quiet in…"

Read all Residência Pedra Antiga reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Porto?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Porto

Porto City Studios
31.63 USD

Apartment 84.8% 6 reviews
Linden's House
25.30 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Porto Spot Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 97.6% 776 reviews
Residencial Solar
14.55 USD

Guesthouse 83.4% 72 reviews
Residencial Santa Clara Guest House
14.86 USD

Guesthouse 83.5% 49 reviews
Hotel America
31.63 USD

Hotel 3 star 79.3% 13 reviews
Andarilho Oporto Hostel
13.92 USD

Hostel 91.4% 38 reviews
Porto Riad - GuestHouse
11.01 USD

Guesthouse 88.5% 65 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.5%

Overall Rating

253 out of 264 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Residência Pedra Antiga'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 184 of 250 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ida Griffiths

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Ida would recommend this property

Liked: Very well decorated and the staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English. Room was clean, decent sized with an ensuite and great shower :) Had my first full nights sleep in peace and quiet in Portugal - Thank you!

Disliked: Nothing.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 November 2013

Liked: Hostel was in walk distance from a city center with a possibility to park a car in the street.

Disliked: Room without a window, with humid and mildew smell. Hostel staff tried to hide it before us using a ventilator, did not work. Worst hostel we have ever been to.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Victor Cohen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: The twin room was large and confortable, but then we changed to a double room that faced the street, which was smaller and very noise. Breakfast was good and the woman at the reception was very nice.

Disliked: Central location, but we didn't feel that it was very safe at night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, a room with private bathroom, free wifi, security, very nice breakfast and towels included in the price.

Disliked: Stairs with no lift. However, the staff helped me with one of my suitcases (without me having to ask). It is a small disadvantage as the type of the building doesn't allow a lift.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and comfort.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You could feel really confortable here, you get your own keys to the main door, so you can come back to the hostel at any time you want.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness of the room and surrounding areas. Breakfast was reasonable for the value of the room.

Disliked: It's a few blocks uphill from the Bolhoa Metro station.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Butera

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

16 November 2012 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Hands down, the best place I've stayed at in my three month trip throughout Europe! Beautiful rooms and big! Awesome shower and water pressure plus they provide soap and shampoo. The breakfast in the morning is delicious! Finally a place that does breakfast right! ( bread, sweet bread, ham, cheese, cereal, muffins, hot chocolate, tea, coffee, and orange juice). It's right on the main shopping street and couldn't be in a better location! Loved it here! Staff is great too!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julia Mewes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice room, family atmosphere

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, feeling like at home... Value for money.

Disliked: Single room needs more fresh air, double room was too noisy from the street.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Caroline Baker

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: The room had good facilities including fridge, microwave, plenty of storage space, nice decor with pictures of safari animals above each bed. The breakfast was good - ham and cheese, bread, croissants, cake, juice, tea, coffee etc.

Disliked: The coffee at breakfast time was not good. The stairs up from the street to reception, the breakfast room and the bedroom were very steep.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the city centre and metro. Friendly staff. PC with internet access. I could check in earlier than was expected.

Disliked: My single room (EUR23 a night) didn't have a window facing outdoors, but it faced to the staircase, so no privacy and fresh air. Perhaps also take out the smelly carpet. In Lisbon I stayed at Happy Chiado and got a huge room with a separate lounge and balcony for only EUR20 a night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the woman who works here is very warm and friendly, the breakfast is really good, the room is nicely decorated. the location is good, near the grocers, pharmacy, and small eateries and metro station

Disliked: the wireless wasn't working the whole time, but when it was working, the reception was quite good and accessible from the room.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Radi Nikolaev

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Radi would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, the atmosphere and the rooms were awesome

Disliked: nothing specific

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly, location is excellent

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vytautas Poskus

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

24 January 2012 Vytautas would recommend this property

Liked: It was really nice place, good value for money.

Disliked: Vytautas left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucia hajna

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 lucia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect, beautiful house and excelent room, nice people, good breakfast, great location in a beautiful city with wonderful people! We would love to come back!

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

JORGE GOMEZ RENDON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2011 JORGE would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money.

Disliked: Perhaps the noise of my room which looked to the main street.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was simply charming with those walls with beautiful stones and those warmth colours, I really liked the arrangments of the house, it's much prettier than some hotels and, you feel comfortable at once. I warmly recomend it!

Disliked: nothing really, i loved it

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Yana Karliner

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

30 October 2011

Liked: Very nice rooms with great design. You can really see the designer did a good job, from furniture to playing with genuine stone walls of the building. Breakfast included in the price was fairly good: bread rolls, cheese and ham, butter/jam/honey, orange juice/tea/coffee/milk. There's a common kitchen with a fridge you can use. And of course the price (33 euros/double) was attractive.

Disliked: Actually, i really loved this place if it weren't for one thing that has completely ruined my positive experience. On the first night of our stay my husband saw ants crawling on his cookies. The next morning we were totally disgusted to see hordes of ants marching along the wall and onto my suitcase. There were thousands of them swarming among my belongings. After a short examination we found that ants were attracted by an opened bag of muesli I had thoughtlessly left in my suitcase. We brought the manager (he didn't speak English but the entire picture was quite self-explaining) who mumbled something, then brought a pest killer and sprayed ants with it. "Sucre," that's all he had to say. We asked for another room and got a much bigger and comfortable triple instead of a double. The second night was OK and we even thought it was a kind of bargain. But on the third morning we found ants again on the small bed and in my backpack. This time there were no hordes, just 20 or 30 of random explorers. Thank god it was our last night so we just left without mentioning this to the manager. To tell the truth, I was surprised to see that they treat this so easily and do not take any major activities to eliminate the insects because in fact it's a serious problem that may drive away customers. Guess I'd never stay there again unless they do something about this issue but actually that's a pity because otherwise the place is pretty nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The host doesnt speak English very well, but they are very nice!!! Wifi is fast and can use in the room! They have laundry service,and great breakfast included! They clean my room everyday! Easy to get to attractions by foot and metro station!

Disliked: nt many information I could ask

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Similar to a hotel

Disliked: Nothing


See all Porto hostels
See all Porto hotels