HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Sunset Destination Hostel

Hostel | Cais do Sodré Station, Second Floor, Lisbon, Portugal 2715-311

94.1% Overall Rating

64 out of 64 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/07/2014)

Cynthia Ong thinks…

"Great hostel with great facilities very close to nightlife and the centre of Lisbon. Would highly recommend this place to anyone!"

Read all Sunset Destination Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For groups of more than 8 people please contact the Hostelbookers group department, otherwise we won't be able to take your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Boho Cais do Sodré - Guesthouse
33.57 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Lisbon Calling Hostel
26.86 USD

Hostel 95.5% 113 reviews
Lost Inn Lisbon
21.49 USD

Hostel 97.1% 4 reviews
Lisb'on Hostel
22.83 USD

Hostel 94.9% 113 reviews
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
25.51 USD

Hostel 91.8% 345 reviews
PH in Chiado
21.49 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Passport Lisbon Hostel
21.49 USD

Apartment 93.4% 47 reviews
Evidencia Light Sta. Catarina Hotel
20.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.5% 31 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

64 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunset Destination Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 49 of 63 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Nice atmosphere especially at the pool area.

Disliked: Beds were very firm with flat pillows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cynthia Ong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with great facilities very close to nightlife and the centre of Lisbon. Would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very centrally located and has a great terrace with a great view and little swimming pool. Also, the staff is soooo nice!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kyle dionne

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location (easy access to/from airport, supermarket located downstairs and short walk to centre), helpful staff (especially Felipe and Izabella ;-), great atmosphere, clean facilities, spacious rooms… Has it all! Would go back if ever in Lisbon again!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Troy Blake

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2014 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff...good standard room....good location....if I go back to Lisbon in the near future I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Everything was a good to high standard...if I'm nitpicking I would say the breakfast could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: roof terrace, great location, friendly staff

Disliked: Conor left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Bond

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The hostal is in such a good location, the staff were amazing

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kin Ho Teric Cheung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Kin Ho Teric would recommend this property

Liked: Location is almost perfect. Also the atmosphere is relaxing and youthful. The decoration and design of the hostel, a bit nostalgic yet he room is modern and clean. The roof deck is wonderful.

Disliked: Too many doors to push before you get through to the room! But with the knowledge that it's the ex-office/ dorm of the train station, this is understandable. If the room with private bathroom could provide with hairdryer, it will be perfect!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alan Meadowcroft

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Outside the room the facilities were excellent. The evening meals with Ida were great, so much that I never left the hostel at night.

Disliked: The steps up to the top bunk were too sharp, you had to put footwear on to climb up. Needs some sort of covering on them. The shower in my room would switch off every 10 secs and the drainage in shower did not work .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: building & location

Disliked: There was a lot of staff always running around, but when you needed something it took them hours to be done. The friendliness seemed to be trained and not very authentic. They didn't even ask if it was your first stay in Lisbon before they gave you a 10-minute-standard explanation about the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maximilian Ruf

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 March 2014 Maximilian would recommend this property

Liked: rooftop terrace is just awesome

Disliked: I liked everything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Angel Ruiz Diaz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Miguel Angel would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent. From the staff, June and Miguel, really helpful and nice attitude.

Disliked: Portuguese girl that knows spanish but didn´t want to talk in spanish, i don´t have a problem talking in english but i´m the costumer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davide Garassino

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Davide would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing time in this hostel. First of all, my room and the common area were very clean. The location was also very good, since Cais de Sodre is so close to the most interesting and visited places in Lisbon, such as Praca do Comercio and the Bairro Alto. Moreover, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. If not for them I would have certainly missed my flight back home. The night of NYE in Lisbon was in fact a mess and neither cabs nor other public services were available. Fortunately, a guy from the staff (Carlos, thanks again!) on his way home offered to take me to the airport with his car and really saved the day! Just choose this place, I'm sure you won't regret! Davide

Disliked: Davide left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christian Bächinger

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 December 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, nice room

Disliked: Little bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EVA ROZMAN

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 EVA would recommend this property

Liked: Actually this was the best hostel which I ever stayed. I came there with 2 friends from my Erasmus just for the weekend and we said that we want to stay longer just to spend one day more sitting on the terrace catching some sun. Amazing atmosphere, friendly stuff, everything so clean, the best panacakes for the breakfast... Hostel is looks like second home. And on the top amazing terrace with bbq, chairs, swimming pool...Really all the best guys, I hope that I can come back soon.

Disliked: There is nothing bad to said ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Location was convenient to sights, public transportation, and full grocery store with take-away. Breakfast included crepes. Yumm! Some staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Lots of procedures and keeping track of little slips of paper. Couldn't get into my dorm room until 3 pm despite arriving by overnight bus at 7 am. Can no arrangement be made to clean a needed room first? The owner has an office there and when he was there he didn't seem in the best of moods which set a certain tone. Nice that an evening meal was offered but way too expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, staff were super friendly and helpful. Literally on top of the train station, which is pretty tough to beat location-wise. Activities were a decent value for the price, and were quite a lot of fun (definitely recommend the bbq and pub crawl). Would absolutely come back to Sunset!

Disliked: The rooms facing the street/water can be a bit loud at night as the sounds of the people down on the sidewalk below seem to echo up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone on staff was SO friendly! All those who work at the front desk speak English well, so you'll have no problem if you don't know Portuguese. This is my favourite hostel in Europe so far and comes highly recommended!

Disliked: Jesse left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Better than many hotels, cheaper than many hostels.

Disliked: They really want you to leave a review and might be pushing this too much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, it's very close to the river, the city center, Commercial Square, and the pink street so there are plenty of things to do in the area. Having the hostel right on top of a train station made traveling around Lisbon very easy as well. The double room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. They have a very nice terrace on the roof overlooking the river as well as a great kitchen and dining room. Everything about it was fantastic.

Disliked: I can't think of a single thing that I disliked. Easily the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this hostel. The staff was amazing from Pedro who showed us the city to Joao who was so full of energy and helpfulness to the breakfast hostess who made us pancakes in the mornings. There is probably no better hostel you can choose in Lisbon, the location is perfect, the roof terrace is adorable and the staff makes you feel at home from the very first minute :)

Disliked: If you are sensitive to noise and don't want to join the hostel parties they have maybe twice a week you should maybe go for another hostel. Some rooms also have noise from the train station which is located below the hostel, it didn't disturb us but if you want complete quiet you should go for another hostel in town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregor Povse

Alone

City break

13 November 2013 Gregor would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, a cody living room, excellent daily meals provided by a lovely danish chef

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

abby martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2013 abby would recommend this property

Liked: This was my favourite stop on my 4 month european holiday. This hostel should be commended. It is different to everywhere else I've stayed and the staff are a major part of this. Besides falling in love with everyone i met there because of the beautiful happy nature the hostel breeds, it was an amazing place to meet and chill with fellow travellers. I checked out all three hostel and all where equally great. Sunset destination has the most breathtaking view from the roof every night accompanied with a gin and tonic made by the one and only Elliot it is an experience that i am finding hard to sum up in words. Extra credit to the beautiful kitchen staff and the handsome Pedro who stole my heart. xx

Disliked: abby left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonas Ohlsson

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 October 2013 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Location, on top of train station, easy to find, easy to see the surroundings, close to the city centre. Roof top terrace for breakfast, dinner and hanging out at the pool. Acitvities, great fado tour! Clealiness! Helpful and fun staff! Good beds.

Disliked: Would like to see some more rooms with private bath. Would like better sound-proofing of the doors. Would like eggs at breakfast. The pool could be warmer in october when we visited.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, nite room!

Disliked: Needs a clearer sign on the door


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels