HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Sunset Destination Hostel

Hostel | Cais do Sodré Station, Second Floor, Lisbon, Portugal 2715-311

96.3% Overall Rating

70 out of 70 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/08/2014)

Katie Lynn Nowaselski thinks…

"The staff were amazing! I loved how friendly and helpful they were from the moment I walked through the door. The bracelet and door can were a great way to make me feel safe and secure during my…"

Read all Sunset Destination Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For groups of more than 8 people please contact the Hostelbookers group department, otherwise we won't be able to take your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Boho Cais do Sodré - Guesthouse
32.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Lisbon Calling Hostel
23.33 USD

Hostel 95.1% 115 reviews
Lost Inn Lisbon
20.74 USD

Hostel 98.1% 6 reviews
Lisb'on Hostel
22.04 USD

Hostel 92.9% 120 reviews
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
20.74 USD

Hostel 92.2% 346 reviews
PH in Chiado
22.04 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Passport Lisbon Hostel
20.74 USD

Apartment 94.2% 48 reviews
Evidencia Light Sta. Catarina Hotel
19.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.9% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 15/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.3%

Overall Rating

70 out of 70 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunset Destination Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
97.6%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
96.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 54 of 70 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Lynn Nowaselski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Katie Lynn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing! I loved how friendly and helpful they were from the moment I walked through the door. The bracelet and door can were a great way to make me feel safe and secure during my stay. Breakfast was delicious! The crepes were to die for! This whole atmosphere from the smiling staff to the fun rooftop terrace was incredible. Would definitely recommend again and again!

Disliked: My only dislike is that the walls in the room are very thin. You could hear everyone walking by in the night which cause some poor sleep. I had earplugs and still got woken numerous times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Williams

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: A beautiful building, with brilliant interior decoration, including the outdoor pool-deck and alfresco dining area. Very friendly, passionate staff.

Disliked: Steven left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Obviously the terrace is the best. Beds and breakfast are awesome as well! Loved it there!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Zych

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Runs like clockwork, very polite and helpful staff

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorren McAuslan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Lorren would recommend this property

Liked: This is probably one of THE BEST hostels in Europe. I cannot amp this place up enough. they have pancakes included in their complementary breakfast PANCAKES PEOPLE!! not to forget the pool and outdoor drinking terrace it's Bloody Brilliant.

Disliked: I couldn't stay longer

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

24 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Nice atmosphere especially at the pool area.

Disliked: Beds were very firm with flat pillows.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cynthia Ong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Cynthia would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with great facilities very close to nightlife and the centre of Lisbon. Would highly recommend this place to anyone!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very centrally located and has a great terrace with a great view and little swimming pool. Also, the staff is soooo nice!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kyle dionne

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location (easy access to/from airport, supermarket located downstairs and short walk to centre), helpful staff (especially Felipe and Izabella ;-), great atmosphere, clean facilities, spacious rooms… Has it all! Would go back if ever in Lisbon again!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Troy Blake

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2014 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff...good standard room....good location....if I go back to Lisbon in the near future I'd definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Everything was a good to high standard...if I'm nitpicking I would say the breakfast could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Conor Hughes

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2014 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: roof terrace, great location, friendly staff

Disliked: Conor left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Bond

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The hostal is in such a good location, the staff were amazing

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kin Ho Teric Cheung

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Kin Ho Teric would recommend this property

Liked: Location is almost perfect. Also the atmosphere is relaxing and youthful. The decoration and design of the hostel, a bit nostalgic yet he room is modern and clean. The roof deck is wonderful.

Disliked: Too many doors to push before you get through to the room! But with the knowledge that it's the ex-office/ dorm of the train station, this is understandable. If the room with private bathroom could provide with hairdryer, it will be perfect!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alan Meadowcroft

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Alan would recommend this property

Liked: Outside the room the facilities were excellent. The evening meals with Ida were great, so much that I never left the hostel at night.

Disliked: The steps up to the top bunk were too sharp, you had to put footwear on to climb up. Needs some sort of covering on them. The shower in my room would switch off every 10 secs and the drainage in shower did not work .

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: building & location

Disliked: There was a lot of staff always running around, but when you needed something it took them hours to be done. The friendliness seemed to be trained and not very authentic. They didn't even ask if it was your first stay in Lisbon before they gave you a 10-minute-standard explanation about the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maximilian Ruf

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 March 2014 Maximilian would recommend this property

Liked: rooftop terrace is just awesome

Disliked: I liked everything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Angel Ruiz Diaz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Miguel Angel would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent. From the staff, June and Miguel, really helpful and nice attitude.

Disliked: Portuguese girl that knows spanish but didn´t want to talk in spanish, i don´t have a problem talking in english but i´m the costumer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davide Garassino

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Davide would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing time in this hostel. First of all, my room and the common area were very clean. The location was also very good, since Cais de Sodre is so close to the most interesting and visited places in Lisbon, such as Praca do Comercio and the Bairro Alto. Moreover, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. If not for them I would have certainly missed my flight back home. The night of NYE in Lisbon was in fact a mess and neither cabs nor other public services were available. Fortunately, a guy from the staff (Carlos, thanks again!) on his way home offered to take me to the airport with his car and really saved the day! Just choose this place, I'm sure you won't regret! Davide

Disliked: Davide left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christian Bächinger

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 December 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, nice room

Disliked: Little bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EVA ROZMAN

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 EVA would recommend this property

Liked: Actually this was the best hostel which I ever stayed. I came there with 2 friends from my Erasmus just for the weekend and we said that we want to stay longer just to spend one day more sitting on the terrace catching some sun. Amazing atmosphere, friendly stuff, everything so clean, the best panacakes for the breakfast... Hostel is looks like second home. And on the top amazing terrace with bbq, chairs, swimming pool...Really all the best guys, I hope that I can come back soon.

Disliked: There is nothing bad to said ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Location was convenient to sights, public transportation, and full grocery store with take-away. Breakfast included crepes. Yumm! Some staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Lots of procedures and keeping track of little slips of paper. Couldn't get into my dorm room until 3 pm despite arriving by overnight bus at 7 am. Can no arrangement be made to clean a needed room first? The owner has an office there and when he was there he didn't seem in the best of moods which set a certain tone. Nice that an evening meal was offered but way too expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, staff were super friendly and helpful. Literally on top of the train station, which is pretty tough to beat location-wise. Activities were a decent value for the price, and were quite a lot of fun (definitely recommend the bbq and pub crawl). Would absolutely come back to Sunset!

Disliked: The rooms facing the street/water can be a bit loud at night as the sounds of the people down on the sidewalk below seem to echo up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone on staff was SO friendly! All those who work at the front desk speak English well, so you'll have no problem if you don't know Portuguese. This is my favourite hostel in Europe so far and comes highly recommended!

Disliked: Jesse left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Better than many hotels, cheaper than many hostels.

Disliked: They really want you to leave a review and might be pushing this too much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, it's very close to the river, the city center, Commercial Square, and the pink street so there are plenty of things to do in the area. Having the hostel right on top of a train station made traveling around Lisbon very easy as well. The double room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. They have a very nice terrace on the roof overlooking the river as well as a great kitchen and dining room. Everything about it was fantastic.

Disliked: I can't think of a single thing that I disliked. Easily the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels