HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Sunset Destination Hostel

Hostel | Cais do Sodré Station, Second Floor, Lisbon, Portugal 2715-311

96.6% Overall Rating

51 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

Miguel Angel Ruiz Diaz thinks…

"location is excellent. From the staff, June and Miguel, really helpful and nice attitude."

Read all Sunset Destination Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

For groups of more than 8 people please contact the Hostelbookers group department, otherwise we won't be able to take your reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisbon Calling Hostel
19.34 USD

Hostel 95.4% 111 reviews
Lost Inn Lisbon
16.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lisb'on Hostel
18.79 USD

Hostel 95.5% 108 reviews
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 95.3% 338 reviews
PH in Chiado
27.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Passport Lisbon Hostel
13.81 USD

Apartment 92.9% 43 reviews
Evidencia Light Sta. Catarina Hotel
20.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.6% 28 reviews
Oasis Backpackers' Mansion Lisboa
11.78 USD

Hostel 91.1% 582 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.6%

Overall Rating

51 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sunset Destination Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
96.8%
Staff
94.4%
Value
95.2%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 40 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: building & location

Disliked: There was a lot of staff always running around, but when you needed something it took them hours to be done. The friendliness seemed to be trained and not very authentic. They didn't even ask if it was your first stay in Lisbon before they gave you a 10-minute-standard explanation about the city.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maximilian Ruf

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 March 2014 Maximilian would recommend this property

Liked: rooftop terrace is just awesome

Disliked: I liked everything

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miguel Angel Ruiz Diaz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Miguel Angel would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent. From the staff, June and Miguel, really helpful and nice attitude.

Disliked: Portuguese girl that knows spanish but didn´t want to talk in spanish, i don´t have a problem talking in english but i´m the costumer.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Davide Garassino

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 Davide would recommend this property

Liked: I had an amazing time in this hostel. First of all, my room and the common area were very clean. The location was also very good, since Cais de Sodre is so close to the most interesting and visited places in Lisbon, such as Praca do Comercio and the Bairro Alto. Moreover, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. If not for them I would have certainly missed my flight back home. The night of NYE in Lisbon was in fact a mess and neither cabs nor other public services were available. Fortunately, a guy from the staff (Carlos, thanks again!) on his way home offered to take me to the airport with his car and really saved the day! Just choose this place, I'm sure you won't regret! Davide

Disliked: Davide left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christian Bächinger

With my spouse / partner

City break

22 December 2013 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, nice room

Disliked: Little bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

EVA ROZMAN

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 EVA would recommend this property

Liked: Actually this was the best hostel which I ever stayed. I came there with 2 friends from my Erasmus just for the weekend and we said that we want to stay longer just to spend one day more sitting on the terrace catching some sun. Amazing atmosphere, friendly stuff, everything so clean, the best panacakes for the breakfast... Hostel is looks like second home. And on the top amazing terrace with bbq, chairs, swimming pool...Really all the best guys, I hope that I can come back soon.

Disliked: There is nothing bad to said ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Location was convenient to sights, public transportation, and full grocery store with take-away. Breakfast included crepes. Yumm! Some staff friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Lots of procedures and keeping track of little slips of paper. Couldn't get into my dorm room until 3 pm despite arriving by overnight bus at 7 am. Can no arrangement be made to clean a needed room first? The owner has an office there and when he was there he didn't seem in the best of moods which set a certain tone. Nice that an evening meal was offered but way too expensive.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great vibe, staff were super friendly and helpful. Literally on top of the train station, which is pretty tough to beat location-wise. Activities were a decent value for the price, and were quite a lot of fun (definitely recommend the bbq and pub crawl). Would absolutely come back to Sunset!

Disliked: The rooms facing the street/water can be a bit loud at night as the sounds of the people down on the sidewalk below seem to echo up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Matthews

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone on staff was SO friendly! All those who work at the front desk speak English well, so you'll have no problem if you don't know Portuguese. This is my favourite hostel in Europe so far and comes highly recommended!

Disliked: Jesse left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Better than many hotels, cheaper than many hostels.

Disliked: They really want you to leave a review and might be pushing this too much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect, it's very close to the river, the city center, Commercial Square, and the pink street so there are plenty of things to do in the area. Having the hostel right on top of a train station made traveling around Lisbon very easy as well. The double room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. They have a very nice terrace on the roof overlooking the river as well as a great kitchen and dining room. Everything about it was fantastic.

Disliked: I can't think of a single thing that I disliked. Easily the nicest hostel I've ever stayed in.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We loved this hostel. The staff was amazing from Pedro who showed us the city to Joao who was so full of energy and helpfulness to the breakfast hostess who made us pancakes in the mornings. There is probably no better hostel you can choose in Lisbon, the location is perfect, the roof terrace is adorable and the staff makes you feel at home from the very first minute :)

Disliked: If you are sensitive to noise and don't want to join the hostel parties they have maybe twice a week you should maybe go for another hostel. Some rooms also have noise from the train station which is located below the hostel, it didn't disturb us but if you want complete quiet you should go for another hostel in town.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gregor Povse

Alone

City break

13 November 2013 Gregor would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, a cody living room, excellent daily meals provided by a lovely danish chef

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

abby martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2013 abby would recommend this property

Liked: This was my favourite stop on my 4 month european holiday. This hostel should be commended. It is different to everywhere else I've stayed and the staff are a major part of this. Besides falling in love with everyone i met there because of the beautiful happy nature the hostel breeds, it was an amazing place to meet and chill with fellow travellers. I checked out all three hostel and all where equally great. Sunset destination has the most breathtaking view from the roof every night accompanied with a gin and tonic made by the one and only Elliot it is an experience that i am finding hard to sum up in words. Extra credit to the beautiful kitchen staff and the handsome Pedro who stole my heart. xx

Disliked: abby left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jonas Ohlsson

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 October 2013 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: Location, on top of train station, easy to find, easy to see the surroundings, close to the city centre. Roof top terrace for breakfast, dinner and hanging out at the pool. Acitvities, great fado tour! Clealiness! Helpful and fun staff! Good beds.

Disliked: Would like to see some more rooms with private bath. Would like better sound-proofing of the doors. Would like eggs at breakfast. The pool could be warmer in october when we visited.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, nite room!

Disliked: Needs a clearer sign on the door

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome staff

Disliked: Nothing. All good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Hull

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 September 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: great location. staff were really friendly and helpful. the pool overlooking the river is amazing.

Disliked: Chris left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool and roofterrace, great breakfast, nice rooms

Disliked: noise during the night from outside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kevin Troy

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Such an amazing place to stay. Wonderful welcome from the ever bubbly Creusa. Showed me around the hostel and couldn't be any friendlier or helpful. Amazing roof space with a pretty small but very cool swimming pool. Great space for mixing with other travellers, drinking a few beers in the warm Lisbon sunshine. €10 massages. Pool parties. Barbecues in Alfama(old part of Lisbon) and just a genuinely nice vibe to the place. Location is amazing too for getting to tourist beaches or across the river. I've stayed in hostels around the world and I can't remember any better than this place. Muito Obrigado.

Disliked: Nothing to fault.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

12 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The team looked very motivated and friendly. The reception was good and the evening programs looked amazing (cannot judge for other days though, we only stayed one night but enjoyed it quite a lot). It was a clean place with a really nice flair and atmosphere.

Disliked: The pool can only be used until 8 pm (I think, somebody correct me if I am wrong) which is a bit of a pity, because it would be awesome to have late night beers in the pool when it's really hot outside, but it's really a minor thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

29 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! Everybody is really helpful and concerned about your well being. Especially great thanx to Pedro, Manuel and the lady from Capo Verde whos name I forgot. Thank you guys! If I go back to Lisboa, this will definately will be my first choice again!

Disliked: The Internet connection sucks and exists in reception area and kitchen only.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Very comfortable and nice atmosphere - Feels like home - Excellent location

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chrisine Jamo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Chrisine would recommend this property

Liked: Everything; the atmosphere was great, the hostel had character, rooms were large, very comfy beds, great staff, large bathrooms

Disliked: Chrisine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

16 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff upon arival,great location just a short walk from lots of bars and places to eat,all the facilitys are good and the beds were pretty comfy :)

Disliked: everything was great!


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels