HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Oasis Backpackers' Mansion Lisboa

Hostel | Rua de Santa Catarina, 24, Lisbon, Portugal 1200-402

91.1% Overall Rating

566 out of 582 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/03/2014)

"We've been backpacking all around, but this place is the best hostel I have ever stayed at hands down!! Great atmosphere, great people who are super welcoming and love lisbon, unbelievably delicious food, with the…"

Read all Oasis Backpackers' Mansion Lisboa reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.14
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Evidencia Light Sta. Catarina Hotel
20.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.6% 28 reviews
Hostel Inn Bairro Alto
20.72 USD

Hostel 97.7% 15 reviews
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
15.20 USD

Hostel 95.3% 338 reviews
Stay Inn Lisbon Hostel
20.72 USD

Hostel 96.5% 58 reviews
Lisbon Calling Hostel
19.34 USD

Hostel 95.4% 111 reviews
PH in Chiado
27.63 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lisb'on Hostel
18.79 USD

Hostel 95.5% 108 reviews
Lost Inn Lisbon
16.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.1%

Overall Rating

566 out of 582 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Oasis Backpackers' Mansion Lisboa'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 406 of 453 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 16 | 17   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We've been backpacking all around, but this place is the best hostel I have ever stayed at hands down!! Great atmosphere, great people who are super welcoming and love lisbon, unbelievably delicious food, with the perfect facility. The patio was perfect to chill out and the music was always beautiful. The people who work here and the ones who decided to stay here were so friendly and fun loving!! Just so much love :) definitely coming back.

Disliked: Nothing!!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: They have a bar that they operate until late into the early morning. They music as if it's a club, loud and loud. They don't attempt to keep noise down even when people are screaming. The rooms are hot because if you open the windows, the noise gets louder. There is only one shower in the whole building. And two toilets where one toilet is in the bathroom with the shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredible atmosphere. It's small enough that all of the guests can get to know each other. Christina the cook makes amazing Portuguese food, all of the staff are friendly, and activities to see Lisbon and meet other travellers were great. I booked 2 nights, stayed 5!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing people, amazing vibe. It was recommended to me and as soon as I got here I knew I would be recommending it to others. The tours are great, staff is so friendly, willing to go above and beyond, you can tell they care and it creates the welcoming atmosphere. really a great experience. also the dinners are wonderful!

Disliked: honestly, nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Enrique Barquera Lozada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2013 Enrique would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, easy to meet new people

Disliked: Enrique left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and a great view if you get lucky and stay in the main house on the top floor! You definetily don't get lonely @ oh Lisbon and there's always some entertainment offered (walking tours, pubcrawls, barbecue, etc.)

Disliked: Even though it is nice that you can have your meals prepared for you, it makes using the kitchen a little complicated at some times of the day. But the staff is really friendly and you can always work it out! And we did have some trouble getting the lockers to actually lock things- but that might be due to personal inabilities :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. We stayed with the oasis group before and they seem to know what there doing. Rooms are spacious and there are kitchens for every block. Walking tour was great. Just like to give a shout out to he guys who make the breakfast. You guys know what your doing! Also the communal dinner is a nice touch and good food for what we saw.

Disliked: The stairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NerIda Hyett

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 NerIda would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostel experiences we have had in my two trips through Europe in the past 3 years. Our private room was very clean, good decor, no issues with noise or bathroom. We had a private double room with shared bathroom, which was located approx 100metres from the main residence, but also had a lounge, kitchen and computers/wifi facilities. Better wifi here than I have at home in australia. The hostel staff were all friendly and knowlegable, most had lived in Lisboa for a long time and knew alot about the history, food, party and tourist options. I usually don't do too many hostel dinners or tours as I like to do my own thing although there was a good vibe here, ended up extending our stay by an extra night on our second day and would have stayed longer if we could have. Hostel was in a prime location, the breakfast was really good. I enjoyed the social atmosphere of this hostel (great bar 6E jugs fresh sangria and cheap tasty 3E breakfast) and the opportunity to meet other like minded travelers who were there to have a good time but also to appreciate the history and culture of the city.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Graham

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic Hostel! Great vibe, easy and open to meet new people. Walking tour a MUST as off the beaten path and alternative. Thank you for having me!

Disliked: Carly left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2013

Liked: Friendliness of the reception desk

Disliked: It was like sleeping on top of 24-hr bar: loud music, loud voices throughout the night. If you like partying then this place is for you, but if you are only for 1-2 days in Lisbon and prefer sightseeing then DONT choose this place. There is so much to see in Lisbon and good sleep was a must have for me. But I could hardly sleep in this hostel. Another disappointment is location: a bit far from public transport and the area itself is not so good and safe at night time.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Ac was Not working

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bai Jia Tang

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2013 Bai Jia would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff and very helpful with any local information, food, place to visit and things to be aware of etc. walking tour through the city with Taylor is definitely recommended. if you want to see the Jesus statue and having a picnic afterwards on a quiet riverbank, then you should go with Jacob.

Disliked: wish there was couple of more toilets/ showers in the big shared room and slightly more space on the top bunk bed

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sara Oliveira

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

22 June 2013 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: "Oasis is a hostel in the real sense of the word. A hostel should be a hostel. We don't think that it should be a boutique hotel designed by Philippe Stark." This is how Oasis presents itself, and this is what you get. If you're a real traveller and you're aware of what a real hostel is about, this will definitely be your Oasis. Specially in Portugal , every hostel starts looking more and more like a 6 star hotel, and a lot of these are forgetting what this whole thing is about! Oasis is the real prove that experience matters, and that much wisdom can be found in such a diversified staff. These are true-real-people that move the world to help you (even if there're always so many things happening around). It doesn't matter if you get a silver bed..because you'll definitely have a golden stay.

Disliked: Sara left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Morgan Bryant

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013 Morgan would recommend this property

Liked: Organised social events made it easy to meet people and the 'home' style of the hostel was nice. Free use of computers and good location.

Disliked: The bathroom was dirty, especially the shower and there was problems with the drainage. There was a kitchen and you could use the fridge but could not use the kitchen cooking facilities.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location and atmosphere, the staff and other travelers we met there were very cool!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenna Bourke

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

04 June 2013 Jenna would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Great facilities and garden area. Breakfast was excellent. The walking tour with Taylor is the best we've had in Europe. Amaaaaaazing. Love from Jenna, Ryan and Heather from Australia :)

Disliked: That we had to leave

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's one of the best hostels i have ever stayed at!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convivial atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Location is just slightly out of the way, but the staff are quick to point out great restaurants and nightlife options nearby

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andreas Holzinger

Alone

City break

17 April 2013 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and really helpful and sympatic staff. They taught me how to cook "drunk pears" which is an awesome side dish for BBQs. Each guest has an assigned safety deposit box that opens with a pin number. They have a small bar with reasonable prices.

Disliked: the only small point that I could possibly critizise is that in my room, there were no power outlets closeby to the beds to plug in your phone which I use as an alarm clock during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matej Stokelj

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2013 Matej would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed athmosphere, cool staff, cheap drinks, wonderful "living room" 7 common room, good security, good location

Disliked: we were in 4th floor without elevator - but this is good for exercise ;-) and to sober-up a bit after a party

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damien Peters

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 Damien would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was amazing, great help, fun and eventful!! Walking distance to town centre and to river and the park! The staff all chilled with us at night while we were having a drink, it was just awesome place.. I would recommend it for sure!!

Disliked: There's only 1 shower between a 10 bed dorm, which I think is a bit hard sometimes. But it was ok!'

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Debbie Nicholls

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013

Liked: The man on reception was really helpful and friendly. The hostel was in a really good location

Disliked: The rest of the staff were pretty unhelpful. You often had to search to find someone to get help or a drink. The street art tour got cancelled 45 minutes after it was meant to start because the girl was hungover! We couldn't get breakfast half an hour before it was supposed to end because the staff were too busy. We were surprised that our room wasn't in the main hostel building which made us feel segregated and a bit vulnerable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good and I would like to stay more days next time ^_^

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Polly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: nice place ...

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly and helpful staff, helped breaking the ice between travellers. Cheap and amazing dinners. I loved the showers! Lots of activities.

Disliked: the hostel is near a lot of restaurants and bars, but there were a lot of strange people in the dark streets nearby. I didn't feel safe at all walking from the metro station to the hostel.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels