HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Norte GuestHouse

Hostel | Rua dos Douradores 159-161, Lisbon, Portugal 1100-205

83.7% Overall Rating

39 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2014)

Kristina Ba?eli? thinks…

"The staff was helpful and cleaning ladies were cleaning every morning. Location is perfect because you are close to metro, trams and to the center."

Read all Norte GuestHouse reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

***ALL RATES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE*** ***TOTAL PAYMENT OF THE STAY WILL BE COLLECTED IN FULL BY THE PROPERTY, the remaining payment is made ON THE MOMENT OF THE BOOKING, and NOT on arrival... *** **Cancellation Policy** Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 60 days before arrival (local time).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

We Love F****** Tourists
23.88 USD

Hostel 98.3% 10 reviews
Hostel Vistas de Lisboa
22.54 USD

Hostel 79.1% 25 reviews
Lisbon Happy Hostel
22.55 USD

Hostel 89.8% 82 reviews
Sweethome Lisbon
22.55 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 182 reviews
City Center Hostel
19.90 USD

Hostel 81.7% 10 reviews
Goodnight Hostel
23.88 USD

Hostel 96.1% 30 reviews
Golden Tram 242 Lisbonne Hostel
23.88 USD

Hostel 95.4% 55 reviews
Downtown Design Hostel
22.55 USD

Hostel 82.2% 131 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

39 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Norte GuestHouse'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
89.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 25 of 44 reviews
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Kristina Ba?eli?

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 May 2014

Liked: The staff was helpful and cleaning ladies were cleaning every morning. Location is perfect because you are close to metro, trams and to the center.

Disliked: Photos are made from a certain angle to cover up bad condition of the building. The hallways were like a scenery from a scary movie and one wall in the room wasn't painted, it looked like in the middle of renovation.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Hot shower did not work, they said that staffs (for fixing the shower) are not working on weekends and you should wait two days for taking the shower. Rooms were also terrible, only location was good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and friendly staff

Disliked: The location and friendly staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to everything and the staff was super friendly and nice. It definitely felt more like a hotel than a hostel. They even provided towels and the bed comes pre-made. They also cleaned the room while we were gone. The room also came with a safe to lock up valuables. The value was amazing.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vladyslava Gorbachova

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2014 Vladyslava would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and helpful staff.

Disliked: Little bit noisy.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Martin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: I found the place very comfortable, clean, and nicely kept. I had a balcony. Having a shower in the room was nice, though toilets are still across the hall.

Disliked: I'm a little surprised at all the positive reviews about location. PN isn't in a bad location, but if I had to pick, I'd rather be in the Barrio Alto. My two-person room was fine for just me, but with a second person I think it would feel small.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very honestly described. Perfect location. Very helpful staff. Everyday cleaning services. Really, didn't feel like hostel, more like a hotel.

Disliked: Smells from behind the window. It's located over a restaurant. Luckily, there is an air conditioning in every room. Requiring full payment up front (upon reservation, not upon arrival) seemed a bit strange, but after all everything turned out to be just fine.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2013

Liked: The bathrooms are very clean and you have a shower and TV in the room.

Disliked: The blanket was velvet!! and it smelled.. Plus note that they charge the credit card you used to book the room and you don't pay in person when you arrive. Plus they ask you to show them the credit card you used to book! Nothing special, just a decent bed to spend the night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pablo Seoane

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2013 Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very well located

Disliked: I didn't dislike anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the room was very comfortable. its a value for money. location is good too -very central

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ella Beltran

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013 Ella would recommend this property

Liked: The best location, nice staff

Disliked: no views from the room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pensao Norte is in a really, really great location, in a smaller street parallel to Rua Augusta, just 1 min away from Praca Figueiras square, and couple of minutes from Baixa/Chiado Metro station. It is near to walk to almost all important points (15 min. to Cais do Sodre train and ferry station, 5 min. to Rossio train station, near to Rossio and Restauradores square, Bairro Alto, river and even 15-20 min walk away from Alfama). We were in Basic double ensuite room, and it was small but nice and clean. We always stayed late and on our way back to the hostel it was safe. It is very good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All things is absolutly perfect - location, price, friendliness of the staff. Only one thing - the kettle in the room would be great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location and value for money

Disliked: windows of our room was to the wall and dow was the restaurant, so we could smell onions all the time

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the staff are both great; plus, the free wifi.

Disliked: It is a little noisy at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

UMUT YILMAZ

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2013 UMUT would recommend this property

Liked: All of the receptionists were very helpful and cheerful. The room was comfortable, wi-fi was okay. The location is the best.

Disliked: If you want to take a shower in the mornings, you may not to find hot water :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Cosfeld

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: location, cleanliness

Disliked: shower was dripping but thats okay ;)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012

Liked: excellent location,friendly stuff,quiet district

Disliked: humidity in the rooms,no heating-have to pay for the air condition,the water in the shower goes off while having one

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The price and localization are awesome,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. If you don't like dorm rooms and want a private room and private bathroom, this is a good choice. There's nothing fancy about it but it's great value for money for a private room, better than a private room in a hostel.

Disliked: Don't stay here if you like the common areas/ social activities/ walking or other tours provided by a hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shower in the room was rather funny but clean, as well as linen and towels. Location is just perfect - in the very heart of old town, but not on the busiest street to keep it too noisy. Reception people were friendly and helpful. Don't expect something fancy - you get what you pay for. But in general it's a great place for budget travellers.

Disliked: Walls between the rooms were quite thin, so have one extra of Porto to make sure you sleep well ;)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Julia Rodrigues

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: The location and staff is great.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

hebatalla elmenabawy

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 September 2012 hebatalla would recommend this property

Liked: The location was the best regarding the hotel, and stuff friendly and helpful

Disliked: i should keep the key in the reception. they do not clean the room properly only cleaning bed and add toilet paper or towels. they charge you more money while calling a cab driver (Taxi) to Airport.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little hotel in the center of the city. Good little bathroom and a balcony. Good value for money

Disliked: The bed was quite lumpy and squeaky and the roomwas a but dusty

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Krížová

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2012 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: We spent there only one night in twin bed room with private bathroom, the place was perfect to have a rest and stay in the very centre of beautiful Lisbon. The room was clean and well equipped. The staff was nice and helpful.

Disliked: The twin bed was about 150cm wide, for some people it might not be enough, but we were OK with that.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels