HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Downtown Design Hostel

Hostel | Rua dos Sapateiros N.º 231 3º, Lisbon, Portugal 1100

88.5% Overall Rating

108 out of 114 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/03/2014)

"Special location for hostel in the center of lisbon. very helpfull all the gyus working on it. continue be so polite and smiling as you were in my stay"

Read all Downtown Design Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Auris Apartments
52.52 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
City Center Hostel
13.54 USD

Hostel 80.0% 4 reviews
Goodnight Hostel
19.35 USD

Hostel 95.9% 25 reviews
Living Lounge Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 98.2% 209 reviews
Pensao Royal
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 98.3% 175 reviews
Sweethome Lisbon
16.58 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 180 reviews
Golden Tram 242 Lisbonne Hostel
23.49 USD

Hostel 95.3% 39 reviews
Lisbon Lounge Hostel
20.73 USD

Hostel 95.1% 319 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.5%

Overall Rating

108 out of 114 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Downtown Design Hostel'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 67 of 114 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Radoslaw Kakowski

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 April 2014

Liked: The good thing to say about this property is location.

Disliked: Although the room was descripted as "deluxe suite garden view" it was facing Rossio Square with its noise, all day. And almost all night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Fernando Simao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 March 2014 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Well located in city center, the value, the helpfull staff and a large room.

Disliked: It's a shame don't have more WC available compared with the number of rooms that offer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Special location for hostel in the center of lisbon. very helpfull all the gyus working on it. continue be so polite and smiling as you were in my stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Downtown Design is very central right on Rossio square and the window of the common room is looking right at the fountain. The hostel also offers quite nice breakfast and staff are rather tolerant if you happen to be eating your breakfast later than official hours.

Disliked: Some rooms are rather packed and tiny. There were no lockers in my room and I was only offered to use luggage room if I wanted. The common bathrooms are very tiny and it's almost impossible to use the showers there as there are no hangers for towel even.. There is a separate rather large bathroom but obviously not always available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LuisFernando Paiva Lacerda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 LuisFernando Paiva would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing!

Disliked: .

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location to to centre of lisbon and rossio square where the airport bus stops and the poximity to the train station where you can take a trip to sintra. However the hostel sometimes runs trips there but not on the occassion I was there.

Disliked: I brought my ear plugs as I had heard that the bin men outside start early. This was the case so glad I wore them although the level of noise is what you would expect in the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of Lisbon! Plaza window view and quick and easy access to public transport. Super clean rooms. Excellent value.

Disliked: It was cold at night! Some heat or blankets would be nice!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: only one real bathroom, two really small cabines, showers without locks uninterested personal

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed at Downtown Design Hostel with a friend for 4 nights. The hostel is quiet charming, the stuff really friendly and helpful. The value for money couldn`t be much better. Where do you get a privat room for 2 people included breakfast for 30 euros?? All in all it is the perfect location to stay for a short trip for people with normal demands who want to be in the heart of Lisbon.

Disliked: Other people complain about the stairs...but the whole city is like up an down:D this you have to consider and the old building has a lot of charm. I only was disturbed a little bit of the toilet - If many people use it, it should be cleaned more often.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, it can´t be a best location, friendly staff and a very good breakfast

Disliked: The stairs :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marc Wilkinson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect Location right in the centre. Good breakfast. Nice comfy bed. Good value.

Disliked: We stayed there on a weekend and the noise from the street was so loud. I usually dont mind noise but bring earplugs. In winter it would be fine but there was no air con and it was way too hot to leave the window closed. They gave us a fan on the last night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Denise Kamyuka

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: the easily accesible pc and internet.

Disliked: it is hard to find an a little scary on entering.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: poximity to people of guests and property care

Disliked: Some parts of bathroom and unexisting lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Artur Gonzalez

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Artur would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location right on the center, the clean sheets and towels and the great breakfast! The staff was also very nice and gave all the informations that i need.

Disliked: There is no elevator. There are many drug dealers near the Rossio square!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013

Liked: Decent wifi is the only perk of this place. Breakfast looked ok but we dared not try it after seeing the rest of the hostel.

Disliked: After an overnight train from Madrid, the man checking us in seemed bothered and annoyed by our early arrival even though we were not expecting a room to be ready. Luggage storage area is basically their housekeeping closet, which is in huge disarray and prompted us to avoid the crusty towels we later received in favor of travel towels we had packed. In the "suite" with "private bathroom", there is no privacy whatsoever - the toilet/shower has no door and is about two feet to the bed - GROSS. If you use the shared restrooms in the lobby area, there is no privacy either - although with "doors", everyone can see/hear your business. What's more, this place just didn't seem legit. There is no sign on the door/buzzer whatsoever (next to a peep show), and you had to climb three or so flights of stairs (often which were completely dark when the sensors failed to trigger) to get to it - again, the only way we knew we had arrived was th open door. (Great security...). Owners only take cash payment which they did not advise in advance. Awful, awful experience in all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mag chambel

Alone

City break

27 June 2013 mag would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and well located! Clean and good breakfast. Private rooms are pretty nice and the staff is really helpful.

Disliked: No air conditioning and no lift, 3º floor.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

tomasz pajakowski

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

24 June 2013 tomasz would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common area with a great view, access to internet, good breakfast.

Disliked: No blankets or duvet, very weak internet signal in room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

City break

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I organised a trip with 11 of friends. Carlos was extremely helpful and informative both before and during the trip. They delivered on all of our requests and were very welcoming. The hostel is is an amazing location, around 5 minutes from the riverfront, Bairro Alto and the tram to the castle. Carlos is happy to configure the room set up for big groups to allow them to be relatively self-contained and you have 24 hour access to the hostel. Breakfast was also a big bonus and there is a lot to eat. Internet / wireless were fast and easy to use, with a computer next to a very cool communal area overlooking the square. There is also a large flat screen/dvd player and self catering kitchen facilities provided another option. In summary, it's a great place to stay, very clean, reasonably priced and nice people.

Disliked: Is on the 3 floor...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sofia Marques

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2013 Sofia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the sympathy of the staff, the cleaness of the area and the view in the room I stayed.

Disliked: Sofia left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel, good location, good price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nuno Alexandre

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

09 June 2013 Nuno would recommend this property

Liked: I was completely astonished! The location was in one of the main plazas in Lisbon.. your very picky to the places you want to go? Its definitely here!

Disliked: Nuno left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rafael Toris

Alone

City break

03 June 2013 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaning of areas, the comfort of the beds, the excellent breakfast and the willingness of staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very central place and I could easily walk to the monuments. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast was very very complete and lasted until 11AM! I think that this is a good option for all those looking for a affordable accommodation in the center of the city.

Disliked: It is not suitable for people with mobility difficulties because they have no elevator. They do not have an area for smokers, you can only smoke outside.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Tessa White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2013 Tessa would recommend this property

Liked: This is a tough hostel to review! It has a couple of very good things going for it - location is excellent. You are in a flat part of the town (no up-hill treking with heavy packs!) and can easily walk everywhere you want to go. The pictures shown are accurate (really good common room area, with one window which looks out over the Rossio Square), but it misses the common bathroom that is the main bathroom for the dorm rooms... which as soon as I saw it, I immediately thought (as a single female traveller) that I needed to find another hostel! This is because the bathroom has absolutely no privacy - there are saloon swing type half doors into it from the common room (so everyone in the common room can hear everything and see over/under the doors), and then the shower cubicles are tiny tiny and again do not have doors tall enough as people can see over them (and no private change area), and the toilets are also ridiculously small (my knees were touching the door when I sat down - I'm only 5'6"!) - you could barely squeeze through the gap to get into them... fortunately the reception person on duty when I checked in said I could use the other bathroom on the other side of the hall, which is a proper bathroom (you can shut the door, have a shower and get changed! - whereas in the saloon "open" bathroom, if you are sharing a mixed dorm (as I was), there is simply no privacy to shower/toilet or get changed). There was also a problem with the electricity while I was there (lights went down on one side of the building, fridge therefore not on, etc), but they did their best to get it sorted, and had some sort of portable cook-top that they set up in the laundry room, so we could all cook something to eat. The breakfast was very good - ham, cheese, bread, home-made cake (very yummy!), some cut up pieces of fruit (banana, orange) and there was also free tea/coffee (including milk and sugar) available 24/7. The staff were helpful, they warmed up a bit as you got to know them (a little formal/stand-offish at first, but actually really helpful and did try to help as best they could - including I saw them print pages for other guests, and offered to do the same for me at one point). They are all boys running things, and it feels a little like a school project in terms of atmosphere, but they were doing their best and if asked for help always tried to do best they could. There is a tourist info kiosk just outside the hostel in the Rossio Square area - go there and get some info and a good map. Very helpful staff there. Finally, the beds (in 6 bed bunk dorm room) were extremely comfortable!! Amazingly good!

Disliked: The shared bathroom facilities - as described above. Absolutely must be fixed so that you can shower, get changed and go to the toilet in privacy! (and not that every almost tall person and anyone sitting in the common room can see/hear everything!) Even some of the boys in my mixed dorm were completely unimpressed. Cleanliness - there were a lot of flies around, and the breakfast food and things in the kitchen were left out to the elements... The kitchen was not that well set up - half the stuff was in the kitchen, and half the stuff was in the common room. eg, kettle, microwave and toaster were in the common room, while the cook-top and cutlery etc were in the kitchen. So you had to run between the two rooms if you wanted to use the things in each - which are across a hall from eachother. There is also not much bench space, so it was a little awkward if you were trying to cook at the same time as others, however as the hostel is not that big/weren't that many people staying at the same time as me (early April), it wasn't too bad. There is no security. No lockers, and the entrance doors to the floors are left open (the main door on ground floor is shut, however this depends on the people leaving to close it - and sometimes it was not closed). I was in a dorm room, and there was no key to the room provided (they didn't have 6 keys to hand out apparently, so no one got one). That being said, there was always someone on duty (24/7) - however they were not always at the reception desk. When I was leaving, I didn't know how to check out and had to run down the 3 floors (which is actually 6 flights of stairs - lots and lots of stairs, no lift!) to ring the bell down there to get someone to come so I could get my stuff out of the luggage room. (no bell at the reception desk!) No heating! It was very very cold, and there were absolutely no heaters - none in the rooms, none in the common areas, none in bathrooms. I feel the cold a lot and asked if there was something, and they got me an extra blanket - which I then proceeded to wear in the lounge! I know it was cold as a number of other guests commented on it too, and we were all rugged up! I would not stay here in winter, but it would not be an issue in summer. Heating, security and privacy are quite key issues to me, however as you can use other bathroom facilities and the beds are very comfy and it includes breakfast, I would recommend it - but be aware of the areas that could use some improvement (and that the high rating level on HostelBookers was agreed amongst all guests when I was there to be overrated).


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels