HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Downtown Design Hostel

Hostel | Rua dos Sapateiros N.º 231 3º, Lisbon, Portugal 1100

82.2% Overall Rating

121 out of 131 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

CIBELE RODRIGUES TOLEDO thinks…

"The location is excelent. It is near of everything! You can go to the main turistic points walking. The staff is so friendly."

Read all Downtown Design Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.22

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

City Center Hostel
15.80 USD

Hostel 81.7% 10 reviews
Goodnight Hostel
23.71 USD

Hostel 95.9% 31 reviews
Living Lounge Hostel
21.07 USD

Hostel 98.7% 210 reviews
Pensao Royal
32.93 USD

Guesthouse 98.1% 183 reviews
Sweethome Lisbon
22.39 USD

Guesthouse 88.8% 182 reviews
Golden Tram 242 Lisbonne Hostel
23.71 USD

Hostel 94.5% 56 reviews
Lisbon Lounge Hostel
23.71 USD

Hostel 95.1% 320 reviews
Travellers House
26.34 USD

Hostel 97.0% 936 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

121 out of 131 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Downtown Design Hostel'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 76 of 131 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CIBELE RODRIGUES TOLEDO

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 CIBELE would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excelent. It is near of everything! You can go to the main turistic points walking. The staff is so friendly.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location!

Disliked: no real hostal atmosphere and it could be a little bit more clean ;)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Carlos López Gallardo

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2014 Carlos would recommend this property

Liked: The living room is tastefully decorated and has nice views. The girl working at reception was very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: We were not very happy with the location because there was a noisy peep show bar downstairs and the main entrance smelled of piss. Above the door to our room, there was a window to the corridor that did not have any kind of a curtain. Therefore when our neighbors turned on the lights in the corridor and bathroom at night, the sudden light we woke up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is an amazing place to stay. The satff are super friendly and very helpful. They went out of their way to make our trip amazing. It is located right in the heart of the city, so you can travel to most major locations by foot. There are plenty of lovely places to visit nearby. I highly recommend the place. I have been in several hostels and this is by far the best one. I highly recommend it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2014

Liked: Breakfast was decent, staff help by doing washing up for guests in the kitchen. Wifi good, reliable. Location was excellent.

Disliked: Staff were not friendly. Toilet stalls so small that you couldn't close the door without sitting sideways on the toilet to stop your knees hitting the door. No soap. Breakfast disorganised - ran out of bread (an obvious staple) and tea, none early on the second morning either. No elevator with a 3 story climb to hostel. Bed right by door meant that whenever someone came in late at night it opened straight onto my face. Not a great vibe to the place.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014

Liked: The position.

Disliked: It was dirty, decadent and really not like described by the pictures.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mackenna Causier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Mackenna would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING location. Two feet from the main square. Friendly staff, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, cool atmosphere. I've been backpacking for years and this is one of the best hostels ive ever stayed at.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is totally central and the staff is very nice, the breakfast was perfect, we will come again!

Disliked: The bathroom was quiet small and a bit thik air, as there was no window....

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Radoslaw Kakowski

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 April 2014

Liked: The good thing to say about this property is location.

Disliked: Although the room was descripted as "deluxe suite garden view" it was facing Rossio Square with its noise, all day. And almost all night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Fernando Simao

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

18 March 2014 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Well located in city center, the value, the helpfull staff and a large room.

Disliked: It's a shame don't have more WC available compared with the number of rooms that offer.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Special location for hostel in the center of lisbon. very helpfull all the gyus working on it. continue be so polite and smiling as you were in my stay

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Downtown Design is very central right on Rossio square and the window of the common room is looking right at the fountain. The hostel also offers quite nice breakfast and staff are rather tolerant if you happen to be eating your breakfast later than official hours.

Disliked: Some rooms are rather packed and tiny. There were no lockers in my room and I was only offered to use luggage room if I wanted. The common bathrooms are very tiny and it's almost impossible to use the showers there as there are no hangers for towel even.. There is a separate rather large bathroom but obviously not always available.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LuisFernando Paiva Lacerda

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 December 2013 LuisFernando Paiva would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing!

Disliked: .

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its location to to centre of lisbon and rossio square where the airport bus stops and the poximity to the train station where you can take a trip to sintra. However the hostel sometimes runs trips there but not on the occassion I was there.

Disliked: I brought my ear plugs as I had heard that the bin men outside start early. This was the case so glad I wore them although the level of noise is what you would expect in the centre.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of Lisbon! Plaza window view and quick and easy access to public transport. Super clean rooms. Excellent value.

Disliked: It was cold at night! Some heat or blankets would be nice!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: only one real bathroom, two really small cabines, showers without locks uninterested personal

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed at Downtown Design Hostel with a friend for 4 nights. The hostel is quiet charming, the stuff really friendly and helpful. The value for money couldn`t be much better. Where do you get a privat room for 2 people included breakfast for 30 euros?? All in all it is the perfect location to stay for a short trip for people with normal demands who want to be in the heart of Lisbon.

Disliked: Other people complain about the stairs...but the whole city is like up an down:D this you have to consider and the old building has a lot of charm. I only was disturbed a little bit of the toilet - If many people use it, it should be cleaned more often.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, it can´t be a best location, friendly staff and a very good breakfast

Disliked: The stairs :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marc Wilkinson

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013 Marc would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect Location right in the centre. Good breakfast. Nice comfy bed. Good value.

Disliked: We stayed there on a weekend and the noise from the street was so loud. I usually dont mind noise but bring earplugs. In winter it would be fine but there was no air con and it was way too hot to leave the window closed. They gave us a fan on the last night.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Denise Kamyuka

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2013 Denise would recommend this property

Liked: the easily accesible pc and internet.

Disliked: it is hard to find an a little scary on entering.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: poximity to people of guests and property care

Disliked: Some parts of bathroom and unexisting lockers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Artur Gonzalez

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Artur would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location right on the center, the clean sheets and towels and the great breakfast! The staff was also very nice and gave all the informations that i need.

Disliked: There is no elevator. There are many drug dealers near the Rossio square!

31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2013

Liked: Decent wifi is the only perk of this place. Breakfast looked ok but we dared not try it after seeing the rest of the hostel.

Disliked: After an overnight train from Madrid, the man checking us in seemed bothered and annoyed by our early arrival even though we were not expecting a room to be ready. Luggage storage area is basically their housekeeping closet, which is in huge disarray and prompted us to avoid the crusty towels we later received in favor of travel towels we had packed. In the "suite" with "private bathroom", there is no privacy whatsoever - the toilet/shower has no door and is about two feet to the bed - GROSS. If you use the shared restrooms in the lobby area, there is no privacy either - although with "doors", everyone can see/hear your business. What's more, this place just didn't seem legit. There is no sign on the door/buzzer whatsoever (next to a peep show), and you had to climb three or so flights of stairs (often which were completely dark when the sensors failed to trigger) to get to it - again, the only way we knew we had arrived was th open door. (Great security...). Owners only take cash payment which they did not advise in advance. Awful, awful experience in all.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels