HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of The GSpot Hostel

Hostel | Rua Camilo Castelo Branco n 2c, Lisbon, Portugal N/A

94.4% Overall Rating

107 out of 108 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/10/2013)

Benjamin Lyons thinks…

"an absolutely great hostel. very relaxed and great for partying. The queen size bunk beds are great but dont be surprised if there is a bit of movement and noises coming from another bed at night.…"

Read all The GSpot Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.76

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Tagus Palace
13.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Residencial Dublin
27.61 USD

Hostel 58.1% 9 reviews
Tagus Home
13.46 USD

Hostel 83.1% 103 reviews
Lisboa Central Hostel
16.57 USD

Hostel 98.7% 325 reviews
Baluarte Citadino Feel Good Hostel
13.80 USD

Hostel 84.6% 115 reviews
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
57.07 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Backpackers House
15.19 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Dom Carlos Liberty
57.07 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.4%

Overall Rating

107 out of 108 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The GSpot Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
96.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 97 of 106 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Lyons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: an absolutely great hostel. very relaxed and great for partying. The queen size bunk beds are great but dont be surprised if there is a bit of movement and noises coming from another bed at night. they do 1 euro dinners which are reasonable and power hours and drinking games where everyone in the hostel gets to know each other before taking us on a pub crawl. I have stayed at many many hostels but this is definitely one of the funnest

Disliked: the staff assured me that it is a very secure hostel with no reports of theft as they have to walk to the door to let people in and you have to have a wristband. but it has the biggest security oversight that i have ever seen at a hostel. the latch on the bag lockers is held on with nuts and bolts that are finger tightened. When i arrived i instantly noticed it and challenged myself to break into my locker which i was able to do in about 20 seconds. I really hope the staff fix this soon as it is not hard to do at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FREE PANCAKES!!!! cheap family dinner. The double beds are the best. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. The common area is very welcoming with great couches and TV for chilling. Even the room names make you laugh. Everything is great nothing to complain about

Disliked: Having to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikki Somers

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 August 2013 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff, the double beds, the pub crawls, the beer pong, BBQ, trivia night, the atmosphere, the social side was amazing great place to make friends with everyone else in the hostel!

Disliked: Leaving! I wish i never had to leave.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicholas Baker

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is awesome. Parties are crazy. Great people, great times, great memories.

Disliked: Sometimes the rooms were a little hot.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katie Sastre

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: It couldn't have been in a better place for a hostel. Tucked away inside apartments, a patio in the middle, lots of windows and a big communal room.

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Kossovski

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing. Everyone makes sure your look after. Great atmosphere. The pub crawls and drinking games were really well done. All in all easily the best hostel I've stayed in.

Disliked: Greg left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly. Very safe as you have to be let in. But didn't feel my possessions were overly safe.

Disliked: Not exactly what was described on the website so was quite disappointed.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

adam bishop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 July 2013 adam would recommend this property

Liked: really good fun atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff, good pub crawls and drink deals, decent internet and good family dinners and queen beds

Disliked: little annoying to have to wait everytime for some1 to walk down and open the door, no cooling so pretty stuffy and hot, bathrooms/showers too small/too few but nothing here would stop me staying here again and again

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Matheus Freitas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2013 Matheus would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really amazing and helpful! The city is pretty easy to explore and they were always inviting me to the pub crawl and the parties. The pancake breakfast and the family dinners were amazing!

Disliked: Bathrooms were not really clean... As it was weekend, everyone went party and left a mess that was not cleaned up that quick.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincent O'Flynn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: staff were awesome. people staying here were great

Disliked: Vincent left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the other guests, the queen size beds. Just about everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so friendly!! I felt at home as soon as I walked through to door. I love the family dinner idea, and all the nightly activities, it's so sociable

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Russell Gardiner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 May 2013 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Really great vibe, good areas to relax in the common room, lots of movies to chill out to, good outdoor space for socialising. Amazing social family dinners, evening beer pong and drinking games. Overall a really fun place.

Disliked: Having 13 people sleeping in our 8 bed dorm, having no idea who actually works at the hostel, having the staff not have a clue who is in each bed and being ridiculously poor at giving directions, the ambiguous 12am lights out in the common room rule when it is evident nobody lives in the compound, the lack of sign out front the door suggests something fishy going on, the stairs in the hostel to nowhere... the 2 mile walk to the "pubcrawl"

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay Macleod

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2013 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is like a home! best hostel to stay in, you feel completely welcomed and at home. Staff is great, and they offer awesome services and facilities. best hostel ever! and they have queen size beds!

Disliked: nothing, maybe the location.. which wasn't even that bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caitlin Curtis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great place to to meet new people which is important especially if you are traveling with a small group or solo. That being said the atmosphere is also good for groups.

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people! Such a fun atmosphere!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Smith

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: layed back, double beds yes that is right everybody gets a double bed. Free hot breakfast and dinner. amazing common room with cheap beer and a fun atmosphere. Easily the most layed back place i have ever stayed

Disliked: leaving/hangover

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toby Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 April 2013 Toby would recommend this property

Liked: Real nice hostel - lots of friendly people to meet and super enthusiatic staff who were chilled out and helpful. Also they have free pancakes every morning - best hostel breakfast ever.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sin Kei Wong

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2013 Sin Kei would recommend this property

Liked: It is the greatest hostel I have ever been! Perfect and excellent value for money. It has free wifi, a big common room and KING SIZE beds. Also It provides free breakfast and very cheap dinner. And super good atmospheres to meet new friends.

Disliked: The shower is fairly warm but not hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely unique hostel: the ambience of the property is very cool, the staff is so friendly and helpful (you feel like they are your best friends by the end of your stay), the beds are extremely comfortable, and the bathrooms are actually pretty nice! (which is rare for many hostels). Overall, the atmosphere is fantastic, the people are great, and oh yeah, the free meals aren't too shabby either!

Disliked: There's not much to dislike about the G-Spot. It did feel a little far at times from the center of town, but if you buy a metro pass, this isn't too big of an issue. Sometimes the bathrooms were a little gross, but it's a hostel with 40 people staying in it... These things tend to happen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wunmi Alowonle

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Wunmi would recommend this property

Liked: I had the best experience ever at the GSpot! You can read all about the great things that they offer but it truly does not do it justice. The pancake breakfasts, the family style dinners, and queen size beds were just an added bonus, but what really made this the best hostel experience for me was the incredible staff. Nick, Mika, Chris, and Natalia create an atmosphere that makes you feel part of the GSpot family. They are super fun to chill with and go out of their way to make sure you have a great time. They gave us advice on what tours to go on, what sites to see, and what nightlife areas to check out. Lisbon is the best place that I have traveled to thus far and I thank the GSpot for that!

Disliked: Honestly, nothing. I'm mad I didn't make my trip longer!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madeleine Goss

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Madeleine would recommend this property

Liked: Gspot is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. The double beds are so comfortable, free breakfast and family dinner are amazing and the staff are absolutely incredible (Nick, Mika, Natalia, Chris you absolute champions); I have never felt so welcomed and at home. It's impossible not to meet people and make friends here. Everyone is so cool, it was a really safe place to stay, people just left their phones, laptops, iPads and passports lying around and you knew they'd be there whenever you returned. I had the best nights and days in and out there, everyone knows how to party as well as have chilled nights in watching movies or playing kings. And during the days they have all the local know-how to get out and see Lisbon as well as providing a perfect recovery environment to nurse your hangover. Knew I was going to extend my stay as soon as I got there; couldn't possibly have had a better experience.

Disliked: That they made it so hard to leave!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kimberly Weitkamp

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2012 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: Free pancake breakfast and dinner every day. The staff has lots of great suggestions and makes an atmosphere where it's easy to meet people. The dinners are family style so it's easy to strike up a conversation.

Disliked: It was a little far from tourist places, like Praca do Comercio or the castle. There were a few people in my room that didn't respect those sleeping and went out of their way to be loud, obnoxious and actively tried to wake those sleeping, but people in other rooms did not have this issue.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly and makes you really feel like part of a family. It is way easier to get to know people there than at every other hostel I stayed so far. The family dinners are very good and the possibility to hang out together afterwards or go out with the staff to party shouldn't be missed. The beds are fabolous and the decoration of the hostal is unique. The staff can also give you good tips on how to spend your day in Lisbon but if you don't wanna leave the hostal your day will be just as good!

Disliked: The bathrooms are sometimes a bit unhygienig and I would like a chair or something next to the shower to put my clothes while showering.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Kochhar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Nick is the man. This place is literally the greatest hostel i've ever been to in my life. Clean, big beds, good food, friendly community - its literally like being at home. Really comfortable environment with awesome people. You won't feel like youre at a hostel for sure. I WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ERRRBODY - hospital shots 4lyfe

Disliked: Henry left no negative feedback.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels