HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Urban Garden Hostel

Hostel | Rua Camilo Castelo Branco n 2c, Lisbon, Portugal N/A

90.9% Overall Rating

120 out of 123 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/08/2014)

Tingkai Shi thinks…

"very big bed, spacious room, friendly and helpful staff. This hostel is for people who want to social and have fun, or just a bed."

Read all Urban Garden Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note: Check in time: 12pm. Check out time: 12pm. Breakfast Included. Taxes Included. We have 24hr reception and no lock out time, so feel free to arrive at anytime. We understand traveling is never 100% and we are here for you, often with a cold beer. Please Note, must be 18years or older. Cash or credit cards payment accepted on arrival. Please note, cancellations must be given 24hrs in advance.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Tagus Palace
12.02 USD

Guesthouse 76.2% 3 reviews
Residencial Dublin
25.30 USD

Hostel 58.1% 9 reviews
Tagus Home
12.33 USD

Hostel 83.0% 106 reviews
Lisboa Central Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 98.4% 332 reviews
Baluarte Citadino Feel Good Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 85.6% 117 reviews
EasyLisbon Hostel
22.14 USD

Hostel 87.6% 3 reviews
Hotel Dom Carlos Park
56.51 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Backpackers House
13.92 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

120 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Urban Garden Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 108 of 121 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Mit meinen Ehegatten / Partner

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität
Strand/ Sonne
Städtereise
Sightseeing & Kultur

21 October 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: We paid for a private bathroom and did not have one in the end. The whole hostel is a joke, it might be nice if you're drunk the entire time but for a couple this is NOT recommendable! The showers are in terrible condition (not much privacy as well) and the toilets smelled terrible. You couldnt even lock one of the two that were available for us. The wooden floor was super dodgy and quite dangerous. You could hurt your toes pretty bad if you stepped into the bits that were loose and cracked! The room did not have one SINGLE hook to put your jacket away or your towels. The free pancake breakfast was pretty poor, nothing really to boast about. We contacted the Hostel after our stay asking for reimbursement and warned them about the possible negative review. They never got back to us!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleine

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität

13 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Very well organised

Disliked: Snoring of my room mate :)

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Tingkai Shi

Alleine

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität

14 August 2014

Liked: very big bed, spacious room, friendly and helpful staff. This hostel is for people who want to social and have fun, or just a bed.

Disliked: I couldn't figure out how they recevied a 95 score on ratings, it is pretty average on facilities. certainly they need more bathrooms, as well as keep them cleaner

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleine

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING was fantastic

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adolfo Silva

Alleine

Freunde und Familie besuchen
Arbeiten / Ehrenamt

06 August 2014 Adolfo would recommend this property

Liked: First thing i look in a place to stay is cleaning and wifi, both were perfect, plus the staff is extra friendly and boss who cares is looking after everything to make sure you are happy and satisfied, loved the welcome beer, looks like they read my mind , yes that was the first thing i needed after traveling 9000 miles on a plane and carrying two bags. They have a dinner everyday for a special price and people can get together and talk, enjoy meal and save some money, it includes a beer also..

Disliked: Adolfo left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

peter crossley

Alleine

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität
Feiern / Nachtleben
Sightseeing & Kultur

05 August 2014 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpful, really good social environment, big chillout area.

Disliked: Rooms get hot, need better pillows

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Constance Hardie

Mit meinen Ehegatten / Partner

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität

29 July 2014 Constance would recommend this property

Liked: My stay at urban garden was absolutely awesome! I have been traveling for a month now and this is the best hostel I have ever nice. Will, the manager, and his team are super friendly and eager to help. They have family dinners each night for only five euros and they give you huge portions. Also, the complimentary breakfast is pancakes and Nutella, does it get much better?! The atmosphere is chilled and relax and everyone is down to get to know each other. Oh, and beers are only a euro! If you are traveling from the airport, I would reccomendations taking a taxi, it's about 8 euros, better than dealing with bags in the metro. It is located a short walk from where the red bus yours operate, which is great for seeing all of Lisbon in one day.

Disliked: No dislikes! :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Mayr

Mit Freunden / anderen Reisenden

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität

25 July 2014 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, nice familiar atmosphere, funny drinking games, overall i just loved this hostel

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Williams

Alleine

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität
Städtereise
Sightseeing & Kultur

28 June 2014 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The fantastic staff and laid back vibe.

Disliked: They'd just opened, so they were still working out some kinks, but I have every confidence that they'll take care of those in no time.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxim Duquesne

Alleine

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität
Strand/ Sonne
Städtereise
Veranstaltungen/ Festivals
Feiern / Nachtleben

26 June 2014 Maxim would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect hostel! Clean hostel, great atmosphere, dinners are fantastic and the staff is wondefull! Close to the metro station which can take you anywere and close to the city centre and nightlife.

Disliked: Maxim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Zanatta

Alleine

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität

28 May 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: The property is really well located! The room and bathroom were always clean. The staff is the most helpful ever! The staff even did a free barbecue in the day I stayed! The decoration is amazing.. I would recommend for quiet travelers or for the ones looking for party, as I did!

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Lyons

Alleine

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität
Feiern / Nachtleben
Sightseeing & Kultur

17 October 2013 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: an absolutely great hostel. very relaxed and great for partying. The queen size bunk beds are great but dont be surprised if there is a bit of movement and noises coming from another bed at night. they do 1 euro dinners which are reasonable and power hours and drinking games where everyone in the hostel gets to know each other before taking us on a pub crawl. I have stayed at many many hostels but this is definitely one of the funnest

Disliked: the staff assured me that it is a very secure hostel with no reports of theft as they have to walk to the door to let people in and you have to have a wristband. but it has the biggest security oversight that i have ever seen at a hostel. the latch on the bag lockers is held on with nuts and bolts that are finger tightened. When i arrived i instantly noticed it and challenged myself to break into my locker which i was able to do in about 20 seconds. I really hope the staff fix this soon as it is not hard to do at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Mit meinen Ehegatten / Partner

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität
Städtereise
Feiern / Nachtleben
Einkaufen
Sightseeing & Kultur
Arbeiten / Ehrenamt

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FREE PANCAKES!!!! cheap family dinner. The double beds are the best. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. The common area is very welcoming with great couches and TV for chilling. Even the room names make you laugh. Everything is great nothing to complain about

Disliked: Having to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nikki Somers

Mit Freunden / anderen Reisenden

Feiern / Nachtleben

28 August 2013 Nikki would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff, the double beds, the pub crawls, the beer pong, BBQ, trivia night, the atmosphere, the social side was amazing great place to make friends with everyone else in the hostel!

Disliked: Leaving! I wish i never had to leave.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nicholas Baker

Alleine

Strand/ Sonne
Städtereise
Sightseeing & Kultur

14 August 2013 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is awesome. Parties are crazy. Great people, great times, great memories.

Disliked: Sometimes the rooms were a little hot.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Katie Sastre

Alleine

Feiern / Nachtleben
Sightseeing & Kultur

05 August 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: It couldn't have been in a better place for a hostel. Tucked away inside apartments, a patio in the middle, lots of windows and a big communal room.

Disliked: Katie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Kossovski

Mit Freunden / anderen Reisenden

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität
Feiern / Nachtleben
Erholung/ Wellness
Sightseeing & Kultur

03 August 2013 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing. Everyone makes sure your look after. Great atmosphere. The pub crawls and drinking games were really well done. All in all easily the best hostel I've stayed in.

Disliked: Greg left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Mit Freunden / anderen Reisenden

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität
Feiern / Nachtleben

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly. Very safe as you have to be let in. But didn't feel my possessions were overly safe.

Disliked: Not exactly what was described on the website so was quite disappointed.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

adam bishop

Alleine

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität
Feiern / Nachtleben
Sightseeing & Kultur
Freunde und Familie besuchen

07 July 2013 adam would recommend this property

Liked: really good fun atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff, good pub crawls and drink deals, decent internet and good family dinners and queen beds

Disliked: little annoying to have to wait everytime for some1 to walk down and open the door, no cooling so pretty stuffy and hot, bathrooms/showers too small/too few but nothing here would stop me staying here again and again

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Matheus Freitas

Alleine

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität
Städtereise
Feiern / Nachtleben
Einkaufen
Sightseeing & Kultur
Freunde und Familie besuchen

25 June 2013 Matheus would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was really amazing and helpful! The city is pretty easy to explore and they were always inviting me to the pub crawl and the parties. The pancake breakfast and the family dinners were amazing!

Disliked: Bathrooms were not really clean... As it was weekend, everyone went party and left a mess that was not cleaned up that quick.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vincent O'Flynn

Alleine

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität

16 June 2013 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: staff were awesome. people staying here were great

Disliked: Vincent left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alleine

Städtereise
Feiern / Nachtleben

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the other guests, the queen size beds. Just about everything

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Mit Freunden / anderen Reisenden

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are so friendly!! I felt at home as soon as I walked through to door. I love the family dinner idea, and all the nightly activities, it's so sociable

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Russell Gardiner

Mit Freunden / anderen Reisenden

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität
Städtereise
Feiern / Nachtleben
Sightseeing & Kultur
Freunde und Familie besuchen

19 May 2013 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Really great vibe, good areas to relax in the common room, lots of movies to chill out to, good outdoor space for socialising. Amazing social family dinners, evening beer pong and drinking games. Overall a really fun place.

Disliked: Having 13 people sleeping in our 8 bed dorm, having no idea who actually works at the hostel, having the staff not have a clue who is in each bed and being ridiculously poor at giving directions, the ambiguous 12am lights out in the common room rule when it is evident nobody lives in the compound, the lack of sign out front the door suggests something fishy going on, the stairs in the hostel to nowhere... the 2 mile walk to the "pubcrawl"

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay Macleod

Mit Freunden / anderen Reisenden

Backpacking / Jahr zwischen Schule und Universität

28 April 2013 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is like a home! best hostel to stay in, you feel completely welcomed and at home. Staff is great, and they offer awesome services and facilities. best hostel ever! and they have queen size beds!

Disliked: nothing, maybe the location.. which wasn't even that bad.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels