HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of Lisbon Destination Hostel

Hostel | Estação do Rossio, Second floor, Previously Rossio Patio Hostel Lisbon, Portugal 1200

97.7% Overall Rating

223 out of 224 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/03/2014)

Justin Blau thinks…

"The staff was AWESOME. Hugo, Pedro and the gang were all awesome. The rooms were clean and we loved our stay."

Read all Lisbon Destination Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.07

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

For groups of more than 8 people please contact the Hostelbookers groups department through the website, otherwise we won't be able to take youer reservation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Altis Avenida Hotel
127.78 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Downtown Hostel
34.54 USD

Hostel 88.9% 8 reviews
AWA Lisbon Hostel Imperial
14.92 USD

Hostel 69.9% 51 reviews
Goodmorning Hostel
22.10 USD

Hostel 98.6% 103 reviews
Pensão Lafonense
20.72 USD

Guesthouse 78.5% 226 reviews
Pensao Modelo
20.72 USD

Guesthouse 79.7% 428 reviews
Aparthotel Eden Vip Executive
43.17 USD

Hotel 4 star 88.7% 21 reviews
Pensão Residencial Portuense
55.26 USD

Guesthouse 86.4% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
97.7%

Overall Rating

223 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lisbon Destination Hostel'

Atmosphere
99.2%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
96.8%
Cleanliness
98.4%
Staff
96.0%
Value
96.0%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 158 of 219 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Clydesdale

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Would just like to say a huge thankyou to Maddy. She is by far the best hostel worker I´ve had to deal with. That girl works her butt off to make sure everyone has an amazing time. The hostel was great too. Very friendly atmosphere and the pancake breakfast is a great way to top it off!!! Would definately recommend this to anyone travelling through lisbon.

Disliked: The rooms did get a little warm as the air con wasn´t on all the time but you can´t have everything in a hostel so not too much to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location (don't be put off by the train station bit - you won't hear a thing), great common area, comfortable, large beds, fantastic staff (particularly Miguel, who was always free to chat), great breakfast included, very clean showers (water always hot). A top hostel.

Disliked: One minor tip - I walked straight past the train station entry in the middle of the day - maybe mention the Starbucks in the directions, just so people know they are in the right place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is fabulous! Really lives up to all the reviews - clean, friendly, chilled, great location, beautiful building, spacious, airy - they're thought about everything. It's great value with events, breakfast, bed linen and towels all included - it's the best hostel I've stayed in! Thanks Lisbon Destination!

Disliked: Nothing at all - everything was so good!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justine Morgan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2012 Justine would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this hostel is perfect - it is very easy to get to by any method of public transport and is very central so makes exploring Lisbon easy. The rooms are beautifully designed and the beds are very comfortable, also the bathrooms are extremely clean, there are lots of activities and meals on offer and the views from the rooms (even the bathroom) are amazing! Overall a great stay!

Disliked: It was quite noisy - there was loud music coming from within the hostel and street noise coming from the window.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Bedford

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2012 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The communal room is ace, as was the room.

Disliked: The showers and toilets are too far from some of the rooms, and really you should be able to get to the toilets without having to walk through the shower and sink rooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, good facilities, good value tours, dinner available every night, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

qi kang

Alone

Relaxation/spa

07 July 2012 qi would recommend this property

Liked: it is comfortable and clean,the atmosophere is wonderful,and the staff are helpful! nice staying there!

Disliked: qi left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, staff are very friendly and great breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location. The staff were really helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location,modern design,very clean rooms and bathrooms ,helpful staff,friendship,nice breakfast...The hostel is inside of Rossio train station and this is perfect..

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top Lage, man kommt in alle Bairros der Stadt gut zu Fuß, auch die Anbindung an Öpnv ist gut. Toller Aufenthaltsraum, sauber und nette und engagierte Mitarbeiter.

Disliked: Es fehlte ein wenig am familären Flair.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iva Modric

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Iva would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever been to! The best value for money you can get! Great location, helpfull staff, really clean and relaxing.

Disliked: Iva left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really great hostel, awesome atmosphere, very nice and clean, great location, good staff. Did not want to leave, highly recommended.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, lovely staff. Central location.

Disliked: The hostel was a bit too chilled, boderline sleepy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clinton Connelly

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2012 Clinton would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location and amazing variety's of entertainment. A real friendly atmosphere and a interesting design layout.

Disliked: The (free for use) guitar and me had some personal issues, otherwise it was a perfect hostel

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Colley

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Although I was only here for an overnight stay, I would've loved to have stayed for longer. There was clearly a great atmosphere about the place; it was spotlessly clean with great facilities, and the beds and dormitories were comfortable. Beautiful location too, inside the stunning Estacao do Rossio building.

Disliked: Matt left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanda Golcea

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Sanda would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at a lot of hostels and I have to say the staff here is the Best I know, I can't thank you enough: always happy smiling and in a good mood, and the advices : priceless, you really made my stay. I'd really recommend this hostel for lonely travelers, it's perfect for getting to know people, the atmosphere here encourages it, and if you're a bit on the shy side, you can join the activities: every night at 8 dinner(not free but worth it), pub crawls, Fado nights, Sintra trips in the weekends, guided walking tours everyday, and some more things I can't recall now.. Not to forget the location is the best you can get, and it's amazingly quiet for where it is, also: they let you play their piano. So: good location, nice place, a lot of activities and an amazing staff Definitely redefined my hostel standards.

Disliked: I disliked having to leave :(

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanda Golcea

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Sanda would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed here both as a single traveler and in a couple. In a couple I must say thank you for the tips: we've went to the places you've recommended, and had a very romantic time and we've remade the walking tour and it was absolutely great, valuable info; and got to socialize at the dinner. We got info and help every time we needed it and everyone, both the staff and the owners, was very kind to us so both me and Jair had a great time :)

Disliked: King size bed pleeeease!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shasha Xia

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Shasha would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, definitely the best hostel ever!!!!!!

Disliked: I hate its been too perfect, i'll complain about any other hostel...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alfredo Costa

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 June 2012 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel! Not just because of the super nice staff, Mafalda, Sophia, Chef Mariana (who cooked us an amazing dinner), Laura, Paulo, Raquel (gorgeous!), and our guides Carlos and Gastao, but also because of the cleanness, safety, super comfortable beds and linen, free towels, huge breakfast and a really fast free wi fi. I would definitely recommend it! And also: VISIT LISBON, IS A GREAT CITY!

Disliked: Nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kath Harlow

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012 Kath would recommend this property

Liked: I was lucky enough to choose this hostel a couple of months ago for my first trip since becoming disabled and needing a mobility scooter. It was a fairly scary prospect, getting back out there, but confidence is everything and this hostel was not only stunning inside and out but run and operated by the best bunch of people I've met at any hostel around the world. They made all the difference. The hostel itself is very accessible and the owner had plans to make it even more so, though the upstairs rooms were only accessible by stairs. But upstairs doesn't have the awesome views! The showers weren't fully accessible yet, but I can stand for short periods so it was ok. The lower bunks were quite high and a wheelchair user may struggle, but both of the rooms I was in had a low day bed that could be used for sleeping. The building management had made some crazy decisions while I was there, making the building itself (a major train station!) difficult to access. The hostel owner João was so outraged and embarrassed that I'm sure that has been changed! The kitchen was very well equipped and there's always someone around and genuinely happy to help, whatever the request. Especially memorable for going above and beyond and making my stay so easy and successful were Mafalda, Zsofi, and Penelope. I plan to go back! Maybe for a rock festival next year.

Disliked: The only negative experience I had was with the building management and security staff. My second ever conversation in Portuguese was an argument with a security guard who wouldn't let me use the most useful elevator with my mobility scooter. No way. Further ridiculousness ensued. But this was not the hostel's fault and they went out of their way to sort it out. I'm sure it's sorted now.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eileen Murphy

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 May 2012 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, all warm, friendly and ultra helpful. Special thanks to Mufalda who was just great. Lovely airy hostel, clean, fresh, funky. Great showers. Spacious rooms. View from window was fab. Excellent breakfast and evening meals are wonderful too. Location to die for right in the heart of town but also with train to Sintra literally on your doorstep. Fabulous. Stay here.

Disliked: Not one thing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kindly staff, clean, beautiful hostel

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gina Iacurto

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

02 May 2012 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: This is honestly the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Our stay was great from start to finish, we arrived very early and they let us check in. The staff were very friendly and helpful with everything- nothing was a problem!. Penelope told us the best spots to shop and eat, and Bobby showed us where to go out. Both nights we had an amazing dinner the hostel puts on for very cheap! Extremely clean, new, and comfortable- I would definitely stay here again

Disliked: Nothing to dislike!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed two nights. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, the 1st towel is for free, location is just perfect. The stuff organizes many events, which are very helpful for those who travel alone to find new friends and enjoy the stay in Lissabon at its best merit. I've joined the walking tour, which lasted 2,5 h. We managed to explore the city center (Bairro Alto, Chiado and probably smth else, but I can't keep all the names in mind), tried Ginjinha, learned many historic facts and made new friends...I'd like to specially thank Vera for giving us this great excursion! In the evening we've been to Fado night with Paolo, which was also very nice. He brought us there by car, so it was also very relaxing after all day walking. I can also recommend to take a cab for those who depart early in the morning - I've paid only 11 EUR.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels