We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of The Independente Hostel & Suites

Hostel | Rua São Pedro Alcântara 81, Lisbon, Portugal 1250-238

96.7% Overall Rating

72 out of 72 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/05/2015)

"great atmosphere, really authentic, superb view, nice people and simple but tasty breakfast"

Read all The Independente Hostel & Suites reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

We can only admit guests over 18 years old. Group bookings policy and conditions: This property does not accept groups with more than 20 persons. Regarding large groups, we have special conditions of payments to guarantee the reservation. To assure that the group will actually stay in the dates you referred, it will be necessary to be done two advance payments(50% each) of the total value. One in the moment of the reservation and another one month before the arrival of the group(preferably). At the time of check in, each person will have to give a deposit of 20 euros to assure that magnetic keys and padlocks are not lost or any other reason that could appear during your stay. If there is no reason to activate the deposit, the total value of the deposit will be given in the act of the check out.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

BA Hostel
19.77 USD

Hostel 93.5% 83 reviews
Lisbon Best Hostel
16.47 USD

Hostel 75.6% 11 reviews
Lookout Lisbon! Hostel
19.77 USD

Hostel 97.7% 30 reviews
Equity Point Lisboa
19.49 USD

Hostel 87.3% 553 reviews
Casa de Hóspedes Dias e Dominguez
13.73 USD

Guesthouse 77.8% 158 reviews
GSpot Party Hostel - Lisbon
7.69 USD

Hostel 76.4% 4 reviews
Pensão Pérola da Baixa
20.51 USD

Guesthouse 88.0% 15 reviews
Residência do Norte
20.59 USD

Guesthouse 84.5% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
96.7%

Overall Rating

72 out of 72 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Independente Hostel & Suites'

Atmosphere
98.4%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
98.4%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
98.4%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 72 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and staff were really helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, really authentic, superb view, nice people and simple but tasty breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Knights

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2015 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Without a doubt, the best hostel I've stayed in! The rooms are great, I love the decor, very cool! Hot showers, nice common room, restaurant and bar attached (although the bar was being refurbished during my stay, I believe what they're going to do with it will be incredible! It's really in the middle of everything you'd want to do and the staff and perfectly friendly and willing to help in any means possible!

Disliked: The bacon wasn't my favourite but I've found that southern European countries can't match thew superior bacon skills of the North! Sorry Portugal, you're just not up to British bacon standards! :P

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Horsburgh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 April 2015 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: Really awesome venue with character and a very welcoming vibe

Disliked: We had a problem where the staff had accidentally overbooked our room but they were very friendly in sorting out the issue

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the character

Disliked: the room could be more organized. The steps to the beds were not the best...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Udina

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff really was a standout. I got quiet sick while being there and the man (I forgot his name) really went above and beyond to get me a doctor and to ask me if I was ok everyday. This was on too of the fact that it is a really cleans and spacious hostel. Make sure you try the restaurant downstairs- amazing!

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Elias

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun and friendly atmosphere. Helpful staff. Lively bar. Comfortable and clean rooms.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right next to one of the lookouts. Free breakfast of meat and cheese was delicious. Washrooms are clean and always available. Very beautiful building. Makes you feel like you really are in the heart of Lisbon. Great view from the rooms.

Disliked: Bunk beds are scary

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hernan Cortes

Alone

City break

02 April 2013 Hernan would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, good facilities, location is quite convenient, helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: breakfast is a bit simple but enough for a hostel and start your day ...it can be extremely noisy becuase of the bar in the ground floor (inside the building) and because of the walls too thin.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Nóbrega

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Very charming Hostel! The location it is perfect!

Disliked: Could have some chairs in the bedroom and in the bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

DASOL LEE

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 DASOL would recommend this property

Liked: location and facilities are very nice! very clean and newly everything. Also staff are really kind and friendly ~ breakfast also really nice.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: decorations beds and stairs all the staff

Disliked: a little loud at times

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jayakrishnan Harikumaran

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 February 2013 Jayakrishnan would recommend this property

Liked: All Good

Disliked: Jayakrishnan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

08 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A really nice hostel, friendly stuff, good atmosphere. absolutely perfect for the price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nyiri DuCharme

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 January 2013 Nyiri would recommend this property

Liked: It was AMAZING. Although we were there during the off-season (early January, after the Christmas/New Years rush), there were enough people around to make it sociable and have events like pub crawls. When it's busier, they have an abundance of activities that all look really cool. The staff is incredible beyond words - we took an overnight bus and therefore checked in way too early, but they let us hang out in the common room and store our luggage until we got our room. They asked us how our stay was going, if we needed anything, and asked us for suggestions. This was all done personally, might I add - we weren't given a survey, but the lead PR/Concierge manager came up to the common room and sat with us, hanging out and chatting about the hostel. Not to mention the hostel building itself, a former Swiss Consulate, this is hands down the best hostel I've stayed in, ever.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing - it's across from a beautiful scenic point of the city of Lisbon, and although that means you have to climb a hill to get there, it's more than worth it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua R. de Luzuriaga

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing staff that helped me out a lot with where to go around the town. Great recommendations really.

Disliked: It's on a hill from the main areas, but not really that far up.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere of classic European building

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miriam Dash

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: I have been living in Europe for four months and have visited over 20 cities and this is the best hostel I have experienced. This hostel has everything from a bar, TV lounge (with English channels!), computers and a restaurant. The aura is fabulous. The staff from the night receptionist to the breakfast waitress were all extremely nice and helpful. The location of Independente is immaculate. Right next to the part of town where the nightlife is renowned...yet still quiet enough that I was able to sleep when I wanted to. The beds are very comfortable too and I never had to worry about my stuff even though they provide you with a cuby and a lock. The whole hostel, especially the bathroom and the bedroom, was very clean. Cutest hostel in Lisbon for sure. Anyone that visits must stay here!!!!

Disliked: Miriam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, and the character of the gorgeous building itself was just to die for!

Disliked: Nothing really, had a fantastic stay!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meagan Miller

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Meagan would recommend this property

Liked: it had a great location (and free excersize!) It was a beautiful building, had a great theme/design, clean and open and airy, staff was GREAT. Really helpful, above and beyond in every respect. I had already booked another night before I left.

Disliked: got a bit rowdy at night (I'm at bit of an old lady so 10 p.m is late for me) with the bar crawl meeting there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stephen galloway

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 September 2012 stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Style

Disliked: Washroom facilities could improve

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jasio Szczygielski

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

31 August 2012 Jasio would recommend this property

Liked: it was grate, rooms and toilets were extreamly clean, staff was were helpful, climat nice too, very private beds where assome!!!!

Disliked: you had to have your own lock to the locker, ore buy it, it's detail but allways something :P

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zala Vogrinc

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 August 2012 Zala would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere, super great location and the best staff, especially manuel, who's the best!

Disliked: Zala left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reuben Low

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2012 Reuben would recommend this property

Liked: Massive rooms, very helpful and friendly staff, comfortable beds, very clean and tidy, decent breakfast and a good location

Disliked: Very noisy being next to a main road and parties in the park over the road very night.. It wasn't a great hostel for interacting with other guests..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I stayed in. Beautiful building in a good location with nice dorms and nice common areas. Also the breakfast is surprisingly good for a hostel-breakfast. Staff is absolutely lovely!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels