HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of People Hostel

Hostel | Rua dos Jerónimos, 16, Lisbon, Portugal 1400-211

83.4% Overall Rating

254 out of 275 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

Matteo Ferrando thinks…

"The mood is really "backpackers style", really love it. The receptionists are really good at it"

Read all People Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.38
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Famous Crows
16.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
214.12 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Lisboa Bungalows
17.27 USD

Apartment 81.6% 9 reviews
Hospedaria Verde Esperança
34.54 USD

Guesthouse 77.1% 3 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa – Marquês
16.58 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Jardim de Santos Hostel
16.58 USD

Hostel 90.1% 20 reviews
PH Lisbon Hostel
17.96 USD

Hostel 81.4% 4 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa - Holstein
11.05 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

254 out of 275 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'People Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 268 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

IZZAT SAEED

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 November 2011 IZZAT would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration of the hostel

Disliked: the size of the room and the bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is so far the BEST hostel I stayed in! For 15€ per night, I had: a very nice breakfast (fresh tasty bread, coffee/milk, croissant, juice, yogurt..), excellent location (so close to the beautiful monastery!!), absolutely secure and calm atmosphere, free WiFi, etc. Besides the staff are so friendly and helpful! I didn't have any difficulty communicating with them in English! Loved this place, and left Lisbon with a very good image of Portugal and the Portuguese people.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. I loved this place!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Cool, open environment in which it seemed easy to hang out and meet other travelers.

Disliked: Incredibly loud... until 4:30am at which time I left for a flight. I decided to spend one night at the People's Hostel instead of trying to stay all night at the Lisbon Airport, and regretted it. The beds were uncomfortable, and the hostel was so loud, with people singing and talking loudly, until the morning. The administration, which was present all night did nothing to quiet this down. If you're looking for that atmosphere, I'd recommend this hostel, but don't expect to actually sleep very much.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

helena dodd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 helena would recommend this property

Liked: i like the free internet, nice lounge room, staff helped me with directions to airport. such a cheap price !

Disliked: small showers and toilets, but didnt bother me

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Isaias Ferreira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Isaias would recommend this property

Liked: In my whole way from hong kong to here ( 30 hostels approx.) that was the best. They don't have stupid rules here like other hostels (time to do this, to do that and etc...). Nelson and Felipe are really nice guys. The location is far from the old center, but still a pleasant place.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a really nice location,I really enjoyed staying there the place was nicely decorated,with a lovely garden.The staff were really helpful and with your stay you had breakfast as well. I found the peoples hostel really good value for money,

Disliked: I found the showers and the toilet cubecal a bit on the small side. There was no hooks to hang your towel up and no soap tray in the showers. Also there was no blinds or curtain at the window.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is great and helpful. location is great...very close to some great sites, good restaurants, and bus stops

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice colourful style, Big TV, very friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Leal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Eu adorei a minha estadia lá!

Disliked: Cozinha pequena.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesada Temaismithi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Jesada would recommend this property

Liked: staff - very friendly and helpful location - practically next to the famous Jerónimos Monastery cleanness - bathroom and bedrooms are clean internet access - free Wi Fi and one computer station available people - nice and friendly community

Disliked: Bathrooms are a little too small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roxy Whitfield

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Roxy would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a fresh, clean feel and was very good value for money.

Disliked: The shared bathrooms could have been more spacious but were functional and clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, small, but nice and clean rooms, backyard

Disliked: Hostel is not located in the center, but Belem is also a beautiful part of Lisbon, also quite far to go to the airport, some rooms have windows to noisy street, bathrooms sometimes dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joella Scott

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Joella would recommend this property

Liked: Clean! and the location is prime for sightseeing in Lisbon.. where ever we couldn't get on foot there was a bus/tram stop right by that could take you there!

Disliked: It's not labelled well on the street so when we were trying to find it we passed it a couple times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very kind and helpful regarding whatever you should be wondering. The hostel has a really nice patio and nice common rooms inside.

Disliked: Even though the kitchen is clean, some ants tend to enter the window (only visible on occasions). The bathroom for woman upstairs tend to get really wet on the floor, and its impossible to get any privacy to change / you have to choose between standing in front of the window where the entire neighborhood can see you, or in front of the door where everyone in the hostel can see you if passing. Even though it's possible to ask for the key to the bathroom downstairs (1st floor), it would be much better with improved facilities upstairs (2nd floor).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room. Staff and reception desk. Design.

Disliked: The size of the bathrooms. Lack of furniters (besides of beds) in the room. Noisy street just outside the windows.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

wojtek gajda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 wojtek would recommend this property

Liked: very nice stuff

Disliked: showers and toilets

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011

Liked: The hostel its self is good. really modern with quirky decore. very nice lounge room with austar. Its definately worth the 10euro a night but there were some things that werent as good as we had expected.

Disliked: When we asked the staff questions they looked at us as if why would i know that when it was simply things like how to get to town. Which turned out to be a 6 euro bus ride away not a "stone throw" away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice common areas.

Disliked: few bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard peterson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 richard would recommend this property

Liked: I was in love with this hostel. The staff is excellent, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a real surprise in the morning. A wide variety of fruits, yogurts, breads, pastries, juices, coffee, milk, tea, sweets and delicacies. Belem is the best Lisbon area, all that is most interesting to visit is located in Lisbon are in Belem. it is very easy to reach beaches and Cascais too. The atmosphere is truly spectacular ... I lived in the hostel the best night of my life. The parties are super crazy.

Disliked: I would like stayed more nights but the hotel was full. I went to another hostel, in last night, which was completely different, much more expensive and without quality.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers clean rooms breakfast was awesome

Disliked: shit kitchen not big enough

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Banafsheh Kashan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2011 Banafsheh would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is one of the most beautiful hostel that I have ever stayed but unfortunately the kitchen and bathroom is not always clean. The owners are very welcoming and helpful also their staff.

Disliked: dirtiness of the kitchen and bathroom

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super clean, comfortable bed.Great staff.

Disliked: Toilets and showers rather cramped

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lawrence Pickford

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2011 Lawrence would recommend this property

Liked: I was at this hostel for a week and was extremely happy with every service provided. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and all can speak English very well. The rooms were kept clean and tidy, and the beds came with a locker for my stuff. The hostel itself felt quite large, with a big common room making it easy to meet people and a very big back yard with tables and chairs set out to easily hold a lot of people. The hostel is close to local transport to get into the heart of Lisbon but isn't right in the center so there wasn't any noise in the night. Any problems I had were handled straight away in a very good way and I was left feeling very pleased with the service and accommodation provided at this hostel. The staff often went above and beyond in order to help me and other guests staying at the hostel. Would definitely stay here again if I go back to Lisbon.

Disliked: I found nothing about this hostel to dislike.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Langsley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! It's such a lovely place to stay! Loved the beds and the terrace! 5*

Disliked: I liked everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grant Fitzgerald

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

07 September 2011 Grant would recommend this property

Liked: The price is really cheap and the ebds are more than comfortable! Loved the breakfast. Place is clean and welcoming. Staff is really friendly!

Disliked: nothing


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels