HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of People Hostel

Hostel | Rua dos Jerónimos, 16, Lisbon, Portugal 1400-211

88.1% Overall Rating

265 out of 287 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/07/2014)

"Excellent location 2 minutes away from the Jeronimos monastery. Also half way between the city centre and the beaches in Caiscais and Estoril. Hostel is also located near the very famous patisserie Pasteis de Belem. Few…"

Read all People Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.34
  • Towel USD 1.34

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Famous Crows
18.80 USD

Hostel 96.4% 4 reviews
Lisboa Bungalows
24.84 USD

Apartment 83.4% 10 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa - Habsburg
13.29 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hospedaria Verde Esperança
33.57 USD

Guesthouse 77.1% 3 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa – Marquês
13.29 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Jardim de Santos Hostel
18.80 USD

Hostel 88.2% 25 reviews
PH Lisbon Hostel
20.14 USD

Hostel 76.0% 5 reviews
Orleans Hostel Palace
18.80 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

265 out of 287 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'People Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
90.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 183 of 280 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jean-Marc Kock

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Jean-Marc would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a very nice neighbourhood. The hosts are amazing. Easy and cheap ride away with a taxi to and from the airport. They were beyond helpful with any questions we had and really friendly. We honestly felt at home. Definitely want to go back. It has everything you might need. From washing machine to lockers in the room. Really handy that it is open 24/7. I don't think you're gonna find a better hostel and especially for this price!

Disliked: The shower cabines are on the small side. But it wasn't a real problem for us.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Design aesthetics

Disliked: My wife and I ordered a double room and got a room with a bunk bed. The desk said that they had no such rooms when we complained about this, but then we saw that a non-couple were sharing a double bed room. This really upset me. The bathrooms were poorly maintained.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Pert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, we arrived early in the morning so they gave us a free breakfast. We also got a few complimentary beverages while staying there. Good kitchen, lounge area and all very modern. Bed lamps were a nice touch.

Disliked: Location was too far to walk really, but there were buses and trams running from right outside the hostel that went straight to town, so wasnt really a problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Evaldas Naujokas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2011 Evaldas would recommend this property

Liked: Near tram line, no problems getting to center. Near river, Belem

Disliked: We stayed in double room, getting into it you have to cross living-room, full of people, evening and night. Getting to or from WC or shower. For WC you need key, it does not lock from inside. Key you can get from reception:)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I stayed in a shared dorm for five nights. The hostel is amazingly decorated and the staff7receptionists were MORE than helpful!! They have an amazing lounge/common area where you can watch DVDs and tv and meet a lot of people. The hostel is very accommodating!! Clean and good value for your money.

Disliked: Minor detail is that there were only 3 showers and 2 toilets for all the girls and they were pretty small. Although its easy to get to the center, its about 20/25 minutes to get to the center by bus.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cheryl Kong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2011 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: New, nice decor, clean beds. Cozy lounge area. Decent location.

Disliked: Bathrooms were too small and not user friendly (no hooks to hang our towels/clothes). Soundproofing in room was really bad. Our room was on the first level and whenever anyone in the room above us moved around, it sounded like elephants were walking above us. We could also hear people talking in the lounge and kitchen as the room was located right next to it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

IZZAT SAEED

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 November 2011 IZZAT would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration of the hostel

Disliked: the size of the room and the bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is so far the BEST hostel I stayed in! For 15€ per night, I had: a very nice breakfast (fresh tasty bread, coffee/milk, croissant, juice, yogurt..), excellent location (so close to the beautiful monastery!!), absolutely secure and calm atmosphere, free WiFi, etc. Besides the staff are so friendly and helpful! I didn't have any difficulty communicating with them in English! Loved this place, and left Lisbon with a very good image of Portugal and the Portuguese people.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. I loved this place!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Cool, open environment in which it seemed easy to hang out and meet other travelers.

Disliked: Incredibly loud... until 4:30am at which time I left for a flight. I decided to spend one night at the People's Hostel instead of trying to stay all night at the Lisbon Airport, and regretted it. The beds were uncomfortable, and the hostel was so loud, with people singing and talking loudly, until the morning. The administration, which was present all night did nothing to quiet this down. If you're looking for that atmosphere, I'd recommend this hostel, but don't expect to actually sleep very much.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

helena dodd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 helena would recommend this property

Liked: i like the free internet, nice lounge room, staff helped me with directions to airport. such a cheap price !

Disliked: small showers and toilets, but didnt bother me

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Isaias Ferreira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Isaias would recommend this property

Liked: In my whole way from hong kong to here ( 30 hostels approx.) that was the best. They don't have stupid rules here like other hostels (time to do this, to do that and etc...). Nelson and Felipe are really nice guys. The location is far from the old center, but still a pleasant place.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a really nice location,I really enjoyed staying there the place was nicely decorated,with a lovely garden.The staff were really helpful and with your stay you had breakfast as well. I found the peoples hostel really good value for money,

Disliked: I found the showers and the toilet cubecal a bit on the small side. There was no hooks to hang your towel up and no soap tray in the showers. Also there was no blinds or curtain at the window.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is great and helpful. location is great...very close to some great sites, good restaurants, and bus stops

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice colourful style, Big TV, very friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Leal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Eu adorei a minha estadia lá!

Disliked: Cozinha pequena.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesada Temaismithi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Jesada would recommend this property

Liked: staff - very friendly and helpful location - practically next to the famous Jerónimos Monastery cleanness - bathroom and bedrooms are clean internet access - free Wi Fi and one computer station available people - nice and friendly community

Disliked: Bathrooms are a little too small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roxy Whitfield

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Roxy would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a fresh, clean feel and was very good value for money.

Disliked: The shared bathrooms could have been more spacious but were functional and clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, small, but nice and clean rooms, backyard

Disliked: Hostel is not located in the center, but Belem is also a beautiful part of Lisbon, also quite far to go to the airport, some rooms have windows to noisy street, bathrooms sometimes dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joella Scott

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Joella would recommend this property

Liked: Clean! and the location is prime for sightseeing in Lisbon.. where ever we couldn't get on foot there was a bus/tram stop right by that could take you there!

Disliked: It's not labelled well on the street so when we were trying to find it we passed it a couple times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very kind and helpful regarding whatever you should be wondering. The hostel has a really nice patio and nice common rooms inside.

Disliked: Even though the kitchen is clean, some ants tend to enter the window (only visible on occasions). The bathroom for woman upstairs tend to get really wet on the floor, and its impossible to get any privacy to change / you have to choose between standing in front of the window where the entire neighborhood can see you, or in front of the door where everyone in the hostel can see you if passing. Even though it's possible to ask for the key to the bathroom downstairs (1st floor), it would be much better with improved facilities upstairs (2nd floor).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Common room. Staff and reception desk. Design.

Disliked: The size of the bathrooms. Lack of furniters (besides of beds) in the room. Noisy street just outside the windows.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

wojtek gajda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 wojtek would recommend this property

Liked: very nice stuff

Disliked: showers and toilets

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011

Liked: The hostel its self is good. really modern with quirky decore. very nice lounge room with austar. Its definately worth the 10euro a night but there were some things that werent as good as we had expected.

Disliked: When we asked the staff questions they looked at us as if why would i know that when it was simply things like how to get to town. Which turned out to be a 6 euro bus ride away not a "stone throw" away.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice common areas.

Disliked: few bathrooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

richard peterson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011 richard would recommend this property

Liked: I was in love with this hostel. The staff is excellent, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a real surprise in the morning. A wide variety of fruits, yogurts, breads, pastries, juices, coffee, milk, tea, sweets and delicacies. Belem is the best Lisbon area, all that is most interesting to visit is located in Lisbon are in Belem. it is very easy to reach beaches and Cascais too. The atmosphere is truly spectacular ... I lived in the hostel the best night of my life. The parties are super crazy.

Disliked: I would like stayed more nights but the hotel was full. I went to another hostel, in last night, which was completely different, much more expensive and without quality.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels