We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of People Hostel

Hostel | Rua dos Jerónimos, 16, Lisbon, Portugal 1400-211

82.5% Overall Rating

270 out of 296 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2014)

Robyn Huenemoerder thinks…

"This hostel was really a mixed bag for me. They have an okay location, right near the train station, you can order pizza and other foods, there is a nice garden"

Read all People Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.29
  • Towel USD 1.29

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisboa Bungalows
19.42 USD

Apartment 79.2% 11 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa - Habsburg
12.82 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hospedaria Verde Esperança
32.37 USD

Guesthouse 77.1% 3 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa – Marquês
15.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Jardim de Santos Hostel
15.54 USD

Hostel 87.1% 27 reviews
PH Lisbon Hostel
19.42 USD

Hostel 75.1% 7 reviews
Orleans Hostel Palace
32.37 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Palace Lisboa - Holstein
15.54 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.5%

Overall Rating

270 out of 296 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'People Hostel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
84.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 289 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tuomo Naskali

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Tuomo would recommend this property

Liked: Superb staff, very cosy place, clean and the breakfast was best I've eaten in a hostel! Slightly cold at night but all the beds had lots of blankets and stuff. Close to the sights but you have to take the tram to Barrio Alto, for instance, where all the bars are. All in all definitely worth the 6e we payed for one night.

Disliked: Tuomo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb staff, very cosy place, clean and the breakfast was best I've eaten in a hostel! Slightly cold at night but all the beds had lots of blankets and stuff. Close to the sights but you have to take the tram to Barrio Alto, for instance, where all the bars are. All in all definitely worth the 6e we payed for one night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

William John Altmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpfull. The rooms are quiet and tidy.

Disliked: The only problem is that there is no key to enter in the room. But is not a big issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the attention of the staff, cleanliness and location. For those who have large luggage, get ready, 'cause they will have to spend more because the buses do not accept that the Lisbon if the load inside. One tip, take little luggage. After all, things are cheaper there!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, had car parking right out the front, good breakfast, friendly staff.

Disliked: The girls bathroom floor was always covered in water as the shower stalls leaked water. In the boys showers the shower hooks are all broken (GET THESE FIXED)There are no keys for rooms, so anyone can walk into ur room at any stage during the day and night. The kitchen is tiny and needs more utensils.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jean-Marc Kock

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Jean-Marc would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a very nice neighbourhood. The hosts are amazing. Easy and cheap ride away with a taxi to and from the airport. They were beyond helpful with any questions we had and really friendly. We honestly felt at home. Definitely want to go back. It has everything you might need. From washing machine to lockers in the room. Really handy that it is open 24/7. I don't think you're gonna find a better hostel and especially for this price!

Disliked: The shower cabines are on the small side. But it wasn't a real problem for us.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Design aesthetics

Disliked: My wife and I ordered a double room and got a room with a bunk bed. The desk said that they had no such rooms when we complained about this, but then we saw that a non-couple were sharing a double bed room. This really upset me. The bathrooms were poorly maintained.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Pert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, we arrived early in the morning so they gave us a free breakfast. We also got a few complimentary beverages while staying there. Good kitchen, lounge area and all very modern. Bed lamps were a nice touch.

Disliked: Location was too far to walk really, but there were buses and trams running from right outside the hostel that went straight to town, so wasnt really a problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Evaldas Naujokas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2011 Evaldas would recommend this property

Liked: Near tram line, no problems getting to center. Near river, Belem

Disliked: We stayed in double room, getting into it you have to cross living-room, full of people, evening and night. Getting to or from WC or shower. For WC you need key, it does not lock from inside. Key you can get from reception:)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I stayed in a shared dorm for five nights. The hostel is amazingly decorated and the staff7receptionists were MORE than helpful!! They have an amazing lounge/common area where you can watch DVDs and tv and meet a lot of people. The hostel is very accommodating!! Clean and good value for your money.

Disliked: Minor detail is that there were only 3 showers and 2 toilets for all the girls and they were pretty small. Although its easy to get to the center, its about 20/25 minutes to get to the center by bus.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cheryl Kong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2011 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: New, nice decor, clean beds. Cozy lounge area. Decent location.

Disliked: Bathrooms were too small and not user friendly (no hooks to hang our towels/clothes). Soundproofing in room was really bad. Our room was on the first level and whenever anyone in the room above us moved around, it sounded like elephants were walking above us. We could also hear people talking in the lounge and kitchen as the room was located right next to it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

IZZAT SAEED

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 November 2011 IZZAT would recommend this property

Liked: the decoration of the hostel

Disliked: the size of the room and the bathrooms

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is so far the BEST hostel I stayed in! For 15€ per night, I had: a very nice breakfast (fresh tasty bread, coffee/milk, croissant, juice, yogurt..), excellent location (so close to the beautiful monastery!!), absolutely secure and calm atmosphere, free WiFi, etc. Besides the staff are so friendly and helpful! I didn't have any difficulty communicating with them in English! Loved this place, and left Lisbon with a very good image of Portugal and the Portuguese people.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing. I loved this place!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011

Liked: Cool, open environment in which it seemed easy to hang out and meet other travelers.

Disliked: Incredibly loud... until 4:30am at which time I left for a flight. I decided to spend one night at the People's Hostel instead of trying to stay all night at the Lisbon Airport, and regretted it. The beds were uncomfortable, and the hostel was so loud, with people singing and talking loudly, until the morning. The administration, which was present all night did nothing to quiet this down. If you're looking for that atmosphere, I'd recommend this hostel, but don't expect to actually sleep very much.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

helena dodd

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 helena would recommend this property

Liked: i like the free internet, nice lounge room, staff helped me with directions to airport. such a cheap price !

Disliked: small showers and toilets, but didnt bother me

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Isaias Ferreira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2011 Isaias would recommend this property

Liked: In my whole way from hong kong to here ( 30 hostels approx.) that was the best. They don't have stupid rules here like other hostels (time to do this, to do that and etc...). Nelson and Felipe are really nice guys. The location is far from the old center, but still a pleasant place.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a really nice location,I really enjoyed staying there the place was nicely decorated,with a lovely garden.The staff were really helpful and with your stay you had breakfast as well. I found the peoples hostel really good value for money,

Disliked: I found the showers and the toilet cubecal a bit on the small side. There was no hooks to hang your towel up and no soap tray in the showers. Also there was no blinds or curtain at the window.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff is great and helpful. location is great...very close to some great sites, good restaurants, and bus stops

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice colourful style, Big TV, very friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paula Leal

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011 Paula would recommend this property

Liked: Eu adorei a minha estadia lá!

Disliked: Cozinha pequena.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesada Temaismithi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011 Jesada would recommend this property

Liked: staff - very friendly and helpful location - practically next to the famous Jerónimos Monastery cleanness - bathroom and bedrooms are clean internet access - free Wi Fi and one computer station available people - nice and friendly community

Disliked: Bathrooms are a little too small.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roxy Whitfield

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2011 Roxy would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a fresh, clean feel and was very good value for money.

Disliked: The shared bathrooms could have been more spacious but were functional and clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, small, but nice and clean rooms, backyard

Disliked: Hostel is not located in the center, but Belem is also a beautiful part of Lisbon, also quite far to go to the airport, some rooms have windows to noisy street, bathrooms sometimes dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joella Scott

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Joella would recommend this property

Liked: Clean! and the location is prime for sightseeing in Lisbon.. where ever we couldn't get on foot there was a bus/tram stop right by that could take you there!

Disliked: It's not labelled well on the street so when we were trying to find it we passed it a couple times.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very kind and helpful regarding whatever you should be wondering. The hostel has a really nice patio and nice common rooms inside.

Disliked: Even though the kitchen is clean, some ants tend to enter the window (only visible on occasions). The bathroom for woman upstairs tend to get really wet on the floor, and its impossible to get any privacy to change / you have to choose between standing in front of the window where the entire neighborhood can see you, or in front of the door where everyone in the hostel can see you if passing. Even though it's possible to ask for the key to the bathroom downstairs (1st floor), it would be much better with improved facilities upstairs (2nd floor).


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels