HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of People Hostel

Hostel | Rua dos Jerónimos, 16, Lisbon, Portugal 1400-211

83.4% Overall Rating

254 out of 275 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

Matteo Ferrando thinks…

"The mood is really "backpackers style", really love it. The receptionists are really good at it"

Read all People Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.38
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Famous Crows
16.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
214.24 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Lisboa Bungalows
17.28 USD

Apartment 81.6% 9 reviews
Hospedaria Verde Esperança
34.55 USD

Guesthouse 77.1% 3 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa – Marquês
16.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Jardim de Santos Hostel
16.59 USD

Hostel 90.1% 20 reviews
PH Lisbon Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 81.4% 4 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa - Holstein
11.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

254 out of 275 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'People Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 267 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Le Ho Bao Chau

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Le would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is good and the receptionists are nice.

Disliked: A little bit far from the center, but can easily get there by bus.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Fox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: Simple, but fulfilled all of the requirements. Breakfast was great - there was yogurt, cereal and milk, breads, fruit, coffee, and tea - much more than you usually get at a hostel. Great value for the money.

Disliked: It's very centrally located for the Belem sights, but kind of far from downtown Lisbon.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

YIXO WANG

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 YIXO would recommend this property

Liked: very helpful staff

Disliked: YIXO left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is perfect. Close to one of the main tourist attractions in Lisbon such as the Mosteiro dos Jerónimos and Belem Tower. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and the place had a nice backyard. I will strongly recommend the place.

Disliked: Actually nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anis Basri

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2012 Anis would recommend this property

Liked: I definitely recommend People Hostel! The hostel is amazingly decorated with really brilliant designs and the location is PERFECT! Its literally 10 minutes walking to the major attractions in Lisbon such as the Mosteiro dos Jerónimos, Belem Tower and the Monument of discoveries. The staff is really friendly and helpful and they are willing to go extra miles to help you with anything. I lost my passport when I was in Lisbon and they helped me through a lot including calling the French embassy in Paris for free! The breakfast is a also amazing! They served bread, croissant, yogurts, cereals, fruits, coffee and tea and you can eat as much as you want. People Hostel is definitely a must-stay place!

Disliked: Anis left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danilo Smolovic

Alone

City break

03 April 2012 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever.

Disliked: Danilo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Casey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 March 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful (bilingual staff). They even called a cab for me to take me to the airport. Everyone is super nice and the amenities are great. The breakfast is also a nice addition and I didn't expect it at the price. It's in a great neighborhood for some sightseeing.

Disliked: Although in a great neighborhood it is far from downtown Lisbon

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, the breakfast was good, and the rooms were colorful and new.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What I'd liked the most about this hostel was the staff. They were super nice and willing to help people out! It was great!

Disliked: What I didn't like about this place was the bathroom stall's size and the size of the showers. It was very small. Also, I recommend that they put some cubbies so that you are able to place your belongings when taking a shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good staff, breakfast, localization.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was very cute, the recepcionist was very kind and complitly helpful. I hope I can return one day to lisboa, and I quite sure, I would chose again people hostel.

Disliked: The only thing what can be a problem, the hostels name plate wasn't so big, just a sheet of letter on the door.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie MacDonald

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: the staff at People Hostel are so amazing and helpful and the place was absolutely amazing!

Disliked: Julie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tuomo Naskali

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Tuomo would recommend this property

Liked: Superb staff, very cosy place, clean and the breakfast was best I've eaten in a hostel! Slightly cold at night but all the beds had lots of blankets and stuff. Close to the sights but you have to take the tram to Barrio Alto, for instance, where all the bars are. All in all definitely worth the 6e we payed for one night.

Disliked: Tuomo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb staff, very cosy place, clean and the breakfast was best I've eaten in a hostel! Slightly cold at night but all the beds had lots of blankets and stuff. Close to the sights but you have to take the tram to Barrio Alto, for instance, where all the bars are. All in all definitely worth the 6e we payed for one night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tuomo Naskali

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Tuomo would recommend this property

Liked: Superb staff, very cosy place, clean and the breakfast was best I've eaten in a hostel! Slightly cold at night but all the beds had lots of blankets and stuff. Close to the sights but you have to take the tram to Barrio Alto, for instance, where all the bars are. All in all definitely worth the 6e we payed for one night.

Disliked: Tuomo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb staff, very cosy place, clean and the breakfast was best I've eaten in a hostel! Slightly cold at night but all the beds had lots of blankets and stuff. Close to the sights but you have to take the tram to Barrio Alto, for instance, where all the bars are. All in all definitely worth the 6e we payed for one night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

William John Altmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 William would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly and helpfull. The rooms are quiet and tidy.

Disliked: The only problem is that there is no key to enter in the room. But is not a big issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the attention of the staff, cleanliness and location. For those who have large luggage, get ready, 'cause they will have to spend more because the buses do not accept that the Lisbon if the load inside. One tip, take little luggage. After all, things are cheaper there!

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, had car parking right out the front, good breakfast, friendly staff.

Disliked: The girls bathroom floor was always covered in water as the shower stalls leaked water. In the boys showers the shower hooks are all broken (GET THESE FIXED)There are no keys for rooms, so anyone can walk into ur room at any stage during the day and night. The kitchen is tiny and needs more utensils.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jean-Marc Kock

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2012 Jean-Marc would recommend this property

Liked: It is in a very nice neighbourhood. The hosts are amazing. Easy and cheap ride away with a taxi to and from the airport. They were beyond helpful with any questions we had and really friendly. We honestly felt at home. Definitely want to go back. It has everything you might need. From washing machine to lockers in the room. Really handy that it is open 24/7. I don't think you're gonna find a better hostel and especially for this price!

Disliked: The shower cabines are on the small side. But it wasn't a real problem for us.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Design aesthetics

Disliked: My wife and I ordered a double room and got a room with a bunk bed. The desk said that they had no such rooms when we complained about this, but then we saw that a non-couple were sharing a double bed room. This really upset me. The bathrooms were poorly maintained.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Pert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, we arrived early in the morning so they gave us a free breakfast. We also got a few complimentary beverages while staying there. Good kitchen, lounge area and all very modern. Bed lamps were a nice touch.

Disliked: Location was too far to walk really, but there were buses and trams running from right outside the hostel that went straight to town, so wasnt really a problem.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Evaldas Naujokas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2011 Evaldas would recommend this property

Liked: Near tram line, no problems getting to center. Near river, Belem

Disliked: We stayed in double room, getting into it you have to cross living-room, full of people, evening and night. Getting to or from WC or shower. For WC you need key, it does not lock from inside. Key you can get from reception:)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I stayed in a shared dorm for five nights. The hostel is amazingly decorated and the staff7receptionists were MORE than helpful!! They have an amazing lounge/common area where you can watch DVDs and tv and meet a lot of people. The hostel is very accommodating!! Clean and good value for your money.

Disliked: Minor detail is that there were only 3 showers and 2 toilets for all the girls and they were pretty small. Although its easy to get to the center, its about 20/25 minutes to get to the center by bus.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cheryl Kong

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2011 Cheryl would recommend this property

Liked: New, nice decor, clean beds. Cozy lounge area. Decent location.

Disliked: Bathrooms were too small and not user friendly (no hooks to hang our towels/clothes). Soundproofing in room was really bad. Our room was on the first level and whenever anyone in the room above us moved around, it sounded like elephants were walking above us. We could also hear people talking in the lounge and kitchen as the room was located right next to it.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels