We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of People Hostel

Hostel | Rua dos Jerónimos, 16, Lisbon, Portugal 1400-211

73.1% Overall Rating

283 out of 315 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/08/2015)

Mia King thinks…

"The staff was very friendly energetic and helpful. They all spoke multiple languages. I speak English and had no trouble checking in asking questions. The atmosphere is laid back but everyone there…"

Read all People Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.13
  • Towel USD 1.13

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisboa Bungalows
16.90 USD

Apartment 78.0% 13 reviews
Hospedaria Verde Esperança
14.07 USD

Guesthouse 77.1% 3 reviews
Jardim de Santos Hostel
15.77 USD

Hostel 86.7% 30 reviews
PH Lisbon Hostel
15.77 USD

Hostel 77.9% 11 reviews
OLÁ Backpackers
10.14 USD

Hostel 64.9% 203 reviews
Salitre Hostel
11.49 USD

Hostel 85.5% 69 reviews
Oasis Backpackers' Mansion Lisboa
15.98 USD

Hostel 89.5% 613 reviews
Lisbon Dreams Guesthouse
31.91 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 172 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.1%

Overall Rating

283 out of 315 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'People Hostel'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
76.8%
Value
78.4%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 307 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liyang Zhang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Liyang would recommend this property

Liked: The room is very clean and the location is good!

Disliked: WiFi doesn't cover the bedroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alessandra Brooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Tiago is very friendly and helpful; every question I asked he had an answer for, which was fantastic. He goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The atmosphere is really chilled out and it's a great place to meet like-minded people. Close to public transport links, easily taking you wherever you want (very easy to get here from the airport). Free wifi which always works, the rooms are clean and the kitchen has all you need to make amazing home cooked meals, if that's what you like. Excellent prices... couldn't ask for more. Can't wait to go back. Great hostel.

Disliked: Alessandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukasz Greda

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stuff, good breakfast, clean, good location, interesting view. cheap.

Disliked: Lukasz left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, comfy bed, warm shower, friendly staff, good value.

Disliked: Would stay in the city center a next time. Telly was on almost constantly, not adding to the atmosphere in my opinion.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013

Liked: Nice and friendly staff, close to public transport,,situated in Belem, an old part of Lisbon, close to the beautiful monastery and park.

Disliked: Although me and my friend had a private room it was very noisy because of a group making noise until half past two at night. This private room was the only room at the same floor as the lounge where people were talking very loud and where television made noise, where they could stay til 2 at night. It was next to the diningroom, also used for breakfast, that closed at midnight, also close to kitchen that was used by group to sit, drink and talk loud after 2 o'clock at night when the receptionist closed the lounge. Even they washed their dishes at half past 2 with open door! Door bedroom was made of glass, people were phoning and shouting in front of this room. Loud bell aswell and people leaving loud at 5 at night, room close to stairs. If you want to have rest and more privacy don't expect this private room with twinbed is better, certainly not when there is a group that has no interest in discovering Lisbon and uses the hostel to party! Also occupying lounge, kitchen and diningroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Couzens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Wow. Just wow. I wish I could just live here. The place is clean, friendly and fun. We had great nights in the common room and even though I tended to go to bed before everyone else was done, noise was never a problem. I really can't recommend this place enough. For those worried about the position being a bit outside the city centre, Belem is beautiful in its own right and I never had any issues getting to Lisbon or the surrounds.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremie SENG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Jeremie would recommend this property

Liked: ASOLUTELY fabulous staff. It just makes you want to come back again for MORE! Very convivial and friendly atmosphere, some guys there ROCK ;-) Definitely worth a 5 star award. Budget travellers GO FOR THIS!

Disliked: Can't think of any!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is definitely the best hostel i've ever been in Portugal! Excellent staff, always helpful and courteous. The hostel is located in a beautiful neighborhood just a few meters from the monastery. It`s very easy to take a transport from the airport to the hostel, I recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vitor Alves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 vitor would recommend this property

Liked: The Best Hostel in the world. Clean, funny, friendly!!! The Best staff!!!

Disliked: N

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Mendes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are really friendly and very helpful. I recomend this hostel for those who want to discover Lisbon, the city is amazing

Disliked: Joao left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandra Przeworska

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2012 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: We were very well received, the procedure lasted a minute. Friendly service. Clear!

Disliked: A little too far away from the city center.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Carolina de Paula Silva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Ana Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: People Hostel is like a family and u can feel yourself as u were in ur house!

Disliked: On the first night, people were talking so loud and i ca'nt sleep easier that night, but in th following days, everything was ok!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BRUNO RODRIGUES

Alone

Business / conference

13 October 2012 BRUNO would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, i loved the ppl

Disliked: BRUNO left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, VERY cheap, beautiful building, super-friendly staff, out of the tourist zone, so it feels much more authentic, very clean rooms, you have to stay there!

Disliked: Nothing - it really was amazing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pooja Lodwal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Pooja would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and affectionate which helps in planning your trip and also in suggesting the various famous cuisine

Disliked: the bathroom door are transparent

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FELIPE DE SOUSA LOURENÇO

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 FELIPE would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel i've ever being, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, kitchen well equiped but small, nice location close to Belem tower, jeronimos monastery.

Disliked: there is no metro station around here but you can take the bus or the trams, but i prefer the metro.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, would go there again. Staff: was really cool, I liked the 24 hours reception, helped us with everything. Everyone spoke English fluently and were very friendly, I enjoyed talking to them :) Rooms: were good, bed was very comfortable and new, very clean, have lockers Bathroom: cleanness was ok, Terrace: very nice athmosphere, people liked hanging there around, Kitchen: cool, having a stoven and fridge, and 4 hotplates, Location: I really liked it, although it's going 10 or 15 min by bus in order to get to the city center, but Belem is awesome People: In contrast to other hostels you get to know new, cool people from all over the world very, very easily, Price: definitely worth it! would go there again, was awesome:) People were very friendly

Disliked: Rooms: the door was abit noisy, but nevertheless I could sleep very well Bathroom: Just two showers for all the girls, but it worked quite good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Ebel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 August 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel.

Disliked: Wifi was terrible and it's a little out of he way.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anne franzen

Alone

Business / conference

28 August 2012 anne would recommend this property

Liked: I love this hostel

Disliked: anne left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sergei ronfort

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 sergei would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel. Friendly staff.

Disliked: I love people hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter Louis

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent terrace, great breakfast, nice and clean hostel. Perfectly located.

Disliked: I have to come off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah william

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel where I was already. Very clean, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast. Belem is the most beautiful and interesting neighborhood of Lisbon.

Disliked: nothing.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2012

Liked: The breakfast was quite good and much.Also we enjoyed the breakfast in the garden

Disliked: The pillow case was very dirty.There was no toilet paper at every time. The lock was broken.The bathroom was modern, but there was no private atmosphere because the doors were made of transparent glass.They offered food, but there was no food. The sleeping room was very small.Therefore we will never stay there again.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

César Muñoz

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2012 César would recommend this property

Liked: The building is old, but completely redone and improved (2012). The rooms are very clean and they even have a common area with movies. The bathrooms are also brand new! The staff is friendly, specially Filipe is an amazing guy, he really enjoys his job.

Disliked: The facilities are just what you might need, nothing very fancy ... but it was more than ok!


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels