HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of People Hostel

Hostel | Rua dos Jerónimos, 16, Lisbon, Portugal 1400-211

88.2% Overall Rating

268 out of 292 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/08/2014)

Robyn Huenemoerder thinks…

"This hostel was really a mixed bag for me. They have an okay location, right near the train station, you can order pizza and other foods, there is a nice garden"

Read all People Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.31
  • Towel USD 1.31

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Lisboa Bungalows
19.70 USD

Apartment 79.2% 11 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa - Habsburg
13.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hospedaria Verde Esperança
32.83 USD

Guesthouse 77.1% 3 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa – Marquês
15.76 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Jardim de Santos Hostel
18.38 USD

Hostel 87.1% 27 reviews
PH Lisbon Hostel
19.70 USD

Hostel 75.1% 7 reviews
Orleans Hostel Palace
32.83 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Palace Lisboa - Holstein
15.76 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

268 out of 292 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'People Hostel'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
89.6%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 185 of 285 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

06 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very very nice. They still remember my name after 2 days! Although it may be a bit far away from the city center, its easy to get to the metro station to go everywhere I want. And not living in the city center actually makes me feel safer :) Anddddd only €8 for a night with breakfast, what else do you ask for?

Disliked: It seems that the staff do not know much about the city, so they may not be very helpful to answer questions for travelling. Still they are very nice and will try their best to help!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap, and staff is really nice.

Disliked: The bedrooms do not lock. Also there are no hooks to hang things in the shower, and only one was working.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

gustavo gonçalves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

28 September 2013 gustavo would recommend this property

Liked: O hostel e super bom, good atmosfera, os funcionarios são ótimos e o preço e o melhor, o café da manhã uma delicia e os guests são otimos

Disliked: gustavo left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Penelope Salmond

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2013 Penelope would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and cheap accommodation

Disliked: Bathroom and kitchen were a bit grubby and the place was rather crowded and noisy at times

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2013

Liked: Close to bus stop and Belem attractions. Kitchen was good and staff were really nice and helpful. Really good breakfast. Cleaner cleaned regularly (though guests made a mess in the kitchen). Really good value for money

Disliked: Really boring atmosphere, guests were quite old on average, no system for the food in the fridge, wifi coverage not in all rooms, guests didnt clean up after themselves well, glass cubicles for shower and toilets, smelt in shower and toilets

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carl Petterson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2013 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Super helpful and 24/7 staff. Free breakfast buffet of cereal, milk, yogurt, croissants, bread, jam, butter, coffee.

Disliked: Carl left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people are very kind, nice place to meet great people!!

Disliked: Nothing. I dislike it that hostels in other parts of the world are not like this hostel..

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is included in this price. Staffs are very healpful.

Disliked: Bathroom is not so good. Each shower room is narrow and has no hook to hang clothes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANZHI JIAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 ANZHI would recommend this property

Liked: The location is not far to some famous sightseeings in Belem district. The staff in reception in the dat tine offes useful information. The staff in reception at night treated me very well: he gave me blanket and ask me whether the light is turned on when I was in the living room at 3 am. Only 10 Euro per night and could stay in such well atmosphere and equipment. Highly recommend this People Youth Hostel in Lisbon.

Disliked: ANZHI left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful and quite clean.

Disliked: Poor sound proof.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice and friendly staff, one of the best breakfasts I have had in a hostel. The location is a bit far from the city centre but really close to the major museums in the city.

Disliked: nothing really

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and they have the most adorable dog in the world! Rooms were clean, breakfast was terrific considering it was free. Staying in Belem means you have to take public transport though (save some money and get the viva viagem card), but since the hostel is next to jeronimos monastery and pasteis de Belem it has its perks too.

Disliked: The bathrooms are nice to look at but really unpleasant to use. They stink so badly - you guys ought to install some heavy duty air fresheners - and as everyone has mentioned, the doors are pretty much see through. If the doors aren't going to be changed I at least suggest an automatic door closer for the bathroom door - if you're showering in the cubicle closest to the door and some idiot leaves it wide open, your naked body is on display to EVERYONE walking by. Also I didn't really think this was a good place for meeting people - it seemed to attract an older crowd/non-English speakers and the atmosphere wasn't all that social, at least not when I was there. You'd probably want to get a hostel in the centre for that.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The superfriendly staff, the interior design of the hostel, the atmosphere and finally-finally a hostel where good quality breakfast is served.

Disliked: I wouldn't say I disliked, but it's a fact (what I noticed after booking only), that the hostel is not in the center: because however the Belem area is a famous part of the city, but it's 20 minutes away from the real center of the city, it means you have to take the bus / tram there, and however the public transport is also good at night, still you have to calculate with extra few euros / day. Anyway I would stay that concerning the price-quality factos, even considering the travel part, it worthed to stay in this nice hostel:)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from bus station. The price was good. Not close to center, but I can still go for sightseeing around here. And around here is also nice!

Disliked: At the time, when I was staying, the staffs were too busy. Not that easy to get help. I wanted to get some informations, but I needed to wait 30 mins or more. And it should be served us breakfast from 800am, but Sometimes I needed to wait until around 8:30. The doors of bathroom are close to transparent , of course not really clear to see. But we can see,other people were taking shower, I mean their naked bodies, quite much. Inside of the bathroom,There are no place to leave clothes or so, either.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marijan Glavaš

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Marijan would recommend this property

Liked: Hi all, my girlfriend and I have recently stayed at People Hostel and have good reviews to share with you. The Hostel is very clean, our room was tidy with clean sheets and comfortable bed. The Hostel location is also very suted for tourists because it is literaly 50 foot steps away from S. Jeronimus Monastery and very close to Belem and bus station. Besides all above mentioned, we would like to give a special thanks to the Hostel's receptionist, Fabio, who is one of the nicest and friendliest hoste we have ever come across to. Thank you for all instructions and help with getting to know Lisbon!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liyang Zhang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Liyang would recommend this property

Liked: The room is very clean and the location is good!

Disliked: WiFi doesn't cover the bedroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alessandra Brooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Tiago is very friendly and helpful; every question I asked he had an answer for, which was fantastic. He goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The atmosphere is really chilled out and it's a great place to meet like-minded people. Close to public transport links, easily taking you wherever you want (very easy to get here from the airport). Free wifi which always works, the rooms are clean and the kitchen has all you need to make amazing home cooked meals, if that's what you like. Excellent prices... couldn't ask for more. Can't wait to go back. Great hostel.

Disliked: Alessandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukasz Greda

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stuff, good breakfast, clean, good location, interesting view. cheap.

Disliked: Lukasz left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, comfy bed, warm shower, friendly staff, good value.

Disliked: Would stay in the city center a next time. Telly was on almost constantly, not adding to the atmosphere in my opinion.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013

Liked: Nice and friendly staff, close to public transport,,situated in Belem, an old part of Lisbon, close to the beautiful monastery and park.

Disliked: Although me and my friend had a private room it was very noisy because of a group making noise until half past two at night. This private room was the only room at the same floor as the lounge where people were talking very loud and where television made noise, where they could stay til 2 at night. It was next to the diningroom, also used for breakfast, that closed at midnight, also close to kitchen that was used by group to sit, drink and talk loud after 2 o'clock at night when the receptionist closed the lounge. Even they washed their dishes at half past 2 with open door! Door bedroom was made of glass, people were phoning and shouting in front of this room. Loud bell aswell and people leaving loud at 5 at night, room close to stairs. If you want to have rest and more privacy don't expect this private room with twinbed is better, certainly not when there is a group that has no interest in discovering Lisbon and uses the hostel to party! Also occupying lounge, kitchen and diningroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Couzens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Wow. Just wow. I wish I could just live here. The place is clean, friendly and fun. We had great nights in the common room and even though I tended to go to bed before everyone else was done, noise was never a problem. I really can't recommend this place enough. For those worried about the position being a bit outside the city centre, Belem is beautiful in its own right and I never had any issues getting to Lisbon or the surrounds.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremie SENG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Jeremie would recommend this property

Liked: ASOLUTELY fabulous staff. It just makes you want to come back again for MORE! Very convivial and friendly atmosphere, some guys there ROCK ;-) Definitely worth a 5 star award. Budget travellers GO FOR THIS!

Disliked: Can't think of any!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is definitely the best hostel i've ever been in Portugal! Excellent staff, always helpful and courteous. The hostel is located in a beautiful neighborhood just a few meters from the monastery. It`s very easy to take a transport from the airport to the hostel, I recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vitor Alves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 vitor would recommend this property

Liked: The Best Hostel in the world. Clean, funny, friendly!!! The Best staff!!!

Disliked: N

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Mendes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are really friendly and very helpful. I recomend this hostel for those who want to discover Lisbon, the city is amazing

Disliked: Joao left no negative feedback.


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels