HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels

Reviews of People Hostel

Hostel | Rua dos Jerónimos, 16, Lisbon, Portugal 1400-211

83.4% Overall Rating

254 out of 275 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/04/2014)

Matteo Ferrando thinks…

"The mood is really "backpackers style", really love it. The receptionists are really good at it"

Read all People Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Pets allowed
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.38
  • Towel USD 1.38

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Lisbon?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Lisbon

Famous Crows
16.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
214.41 USD

Hotel 5 star Not yet rated
Lisboa Bungalows
17.29 USD

Apartment 81.6% 9 reviews
Hospedaria Verde Esperança
34.58 USD

Guesthouse 77.1% 3 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa – Marquês
16.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Jardim de Santos Hostel
16.60 USD

Hostel 90.1% 20 reviews
PH Lisbon Hostel
17.98 USD

Hostel 81.4% 4 reviews
Hostel Palace Lisboa - Holstein
11.07 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.4%

Overall Rating

254 out of 275 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'People Hostel'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
86.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 268 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ANZHI JIAN

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 ANZHI would recommend this property

Liked: The location is not far to some famous sightseeings in Belem district. The staff in reception in the dat tine offes useful information. The staff in reception at night treated me very well: he gave me blanket and ask me whether the light is turned on when I was in the living room at 3 am. Only 10 Euro per night and could stay in such well atmosphere and equipment. Highly recommend this People Youth Hostel in Lisbon.

Disliked: ANZHI left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is helpful and quite clean.

Disliked: Poor sound proof.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice and friendly staff, one of the best breakfasts I have had in a hostel. The location is a bit far from the city centre but really close to the major museums in the city.

Disliked: nothing really

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and they have the most adorable dog in the world! Rooms were clean, breakfast was terrific considering it was free. Staying in Belem means you have to take public transport though (save some money and get the viva viagem card), but since the hostel is next to jeronimos monastery and pasteis de Belem it has its perks too.

Disliked: The bathrooms are nice to look at but really unpleasant to use. They stink so badly - you guys ought to install some heavy duty air fresheners - and as everyone has mentioned, the doors are pretty much see through. If the doors aren't going to be changed I at least suggest an automatic door closer for the bathroom door - if you're showering in the cubicle closest to the door and some idiot leaves it wide open, your naked body is on display to EVERYONE walking by. Also I didn't really think this was a good place for meeting people - it seemed to attract an older crowd/non-English speakers and the atmosphere wasn't all that social, at least not when I was there. You'd probably want to get a hostel in the centre for that.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The superfriendly staff, the interior design of the hostel, the atmosphere and finally-finally a hostel where good quality breakfast is served.

Disliked: I wouldn't say I disliked, but it's a fact (what I noticed after booking only), that the hostel is not in the center: because however the Belem area is a famous part of the city, but it's 20 minutes away from the real center of the city, it means you have to take the bus / tram there, and however the public transport is also good at night, still you have to calculate with extra few euros / day. Anyway I would stay that concerning the price-quality factos, even considering the travel part, it worthed to stay in this nice hostel:)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not far from bus station. The price was good. Not close to center, but I can still go for sightseeing around here. And around here is also nice!

Disliked: At the time, when I was staying, the staffs were too busy. Not that easy to get help. I wanted to get some informations, but I needed to wait 30 mins or more. And it should be served us breakfast from 800am, but Sometimes I needed to wait until around 8:30. The doors of bathroom are close to transparent , of course not really clear to see. But we can see,other people were taking shower, I mean their naked bodies, quite much. Inside of the bathroom,There are no place to leave clothes or so, either.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marijan Glavaš

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2013 Marijan would recommend this property

Liked: Hi all, my girlfriend and I have recently stayed at People Hostel and have good reviews to share with you. The Hostel is very clean, our room was tidy with clean sheets and comfortable bed. The Hostel location is also very suted for tourists because it is literaly 50 foot steps away from S. Jeronimus Monastery and very close to Belem and bus station. Besides all above mentioned, we would like to give a special thanks to the Hostel's receptionist, Fabio, who is one of the nicest and friendliest hoste we have ever come across to. Thank you for all instructions and help with getting to know Lisbon!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liyang Zhang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2013 Liyang would recommend this property

Liked: The room is very clean and the location is good!

Disliked: WiFi doesn't cover the bedroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alessandra Brooke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Alessandra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! Tiago is very friendly and helpful; every question I asked he had an answer for, which was fantastic. He goes the extra mile to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The atmosphere is really chilled out and it's a great place to meet like-minded people. Close to public transport links, easily taking you wherever you want (very easy to get here from the airport). Free wifi which always works, the rooms are clean and the kitchen has all you need to make amazing home cooked meals, if that's what you like. Excellent prices... couldn't ask for more. Can't wait to go back. Great hostel.

Disliked: Alessandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lukasz Greda

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stuff, good breakfast, clean, good location, interesting view. cheap.

Disliked: Lukasz left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, comfy bed, warm shower, friendly staff, good value.

Disliked: Would stay in the city center a next time. Telly was on almost constantly, not adding to the atmosphere in my opinion.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013

Liked: Nice and friendly staff, close to public transport,,situated in Belem, an old part of Lisbon, close to the beautiful monastery and park.

Disliked: Although me and my friend had a private room it was very noisy because of a group making noise until half past two at night. This private room was the only room at the same floor as the lounge where people were talking very loud and where television made noise, where they could stay til 2 at night. It was next to the diningroom, also used for breakfast, that closed at midnight, also close to kitchen that was used by group to sit, drink and talk loud after 2 o'clock at night when the receptionist closed the lounge. Even they washed their dishes at half past 2 with open door! Door bedroom was made of glass, people were phoning and shouting in front of this room. Loud bell aswell and people leaving loud at 5 at night, room close to stairs. If you want to have rest and more privacy don't expect this private room with twinbed is better, certainly not when there is a group that has no interest in discovering Lisbon and uses the hostel to party! Also occupying lounge, kitchen and diningroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Couzens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Wow. Just wow. I wish I could just live here. The place is clean, friendly and fun. We had great nights in the common room and even though I tended to go to bed before everyone else was done, noise was never a problem. I really can't recommend this place enough. For those worried about the position being a bit outside the city centre, Belem is beautiful in its own right and I never had any issues getting to Lisbon or the surrounds.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremie SENG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Jeremie would recommend this property

Liked: ASOLUTELY fabulous staff. It just makes you want to come back again for MORE! Very convivial and friendly atmosphere, some guys there ROCK ;-) Definitely worth a 5 star award. Budget travellers GO FOR THIS!

Disliked: Can't think of any!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is definitely the best hostel i've ever been in Portugal! Excellent staff, always helpful and courteous. The hostel is located in a beautiful neighborhood just a few meters from the monastery. It`s very easy to take a transport from the airport to the hostel, I recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vitor Alves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 vitor would recommend this property

Liked: The Best Hostel in the world. Clean, funny, friendly!!! The Best staff!!!

Disliked: N

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joao Mendes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Joao would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff are really friendly and very helpful. I recomend this hostel for those who want to discover Lisbon, the city is amazing

Disliked: Joao left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aleksandra Przeworska

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2012 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: We were very well received, the procedure lasted a minute. Friendly service. Clear!

Disliked: A little too far away from the city center.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ana Carolina de Paula Silva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Ana Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: People Hostel is like a family and u can feel yourself as u were in ur house!

Disliked: On the first night, people were talking so loud and i ca'nt sleep easier that night, but in th following days, everything was ok!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BRUNO RODRIGUES

Alone

Business / conference

13 October 2012 BRUNO would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, i loved the ppl

Disliked: BRUNO left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing breakfast, VERY cheap, beautiful building, super-friendly staff, out of the tourist zone, so it feels much more authentic, very clean rooms, you have to stay there!

Disliked: Nothing - it really was amazing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pooja Lodwal

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Pooja would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and affectionate which helps in planning your trip and also in suggesting the various famous cuisine

Disliked: the bathroom door are transparent

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

FELIPE DE SOUSA LOURENÇO

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 FELIPE would recommend this property

Liked: best hostel i've ever being, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms and bathrooms, kitchen well equiped but small, nice location close to Belem tower, jeronimos monastery.

Disliked: there is no metro station around here but you can take the bus or the trams, but i prefer the metro.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, would go there again. Staff: was really cool, I liked the 24 hours reception, helped us with everything. Everyone spoke English fluently and were very friendly, I enjoyed talking to them :) Rooms: were good, bed was very comfortable and new, very clean, have lockers Bathroom: cleanness was ok, Terrace: very nice athmosphere, people liked hanging there around, Kitchen: cool, having a stoven and fridge, and 4 hotplates, Location: I really liked it, although it's going 10 or 15 min by bus in order to get to the city center, but Belem is awesome People: In contrast to other hostels you get to know new, cool people from all over the world very, very easily, Price: definitely worth it! would go there again, was awesome:) People were very friendly

Disliked: Rooms: the door was abit noisy, but nevertheless I could sleep very well Bathroom: Just two showers for all the girls, but it worked quite good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing


See all Lisbon hostels
See all Lisbon hotels